• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Living in JB 3 (Johore)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Arowana88

Jialat already!

Got addicted to this forum! Just now slept for few hours tot its morning already, went for a smoke and look at nite view at balcony, thinking what is happening here, reading posts after posts. Think got addicted already to this place, dun come here seems something amissing!? Maybe getting old already, like to sleep late....

Lord Aragorn

wuqi256 said:
In front of my house and that of my neighbours though, before the rain or in light rain, always a lot of swallows around catching insects. There was a couple of times some flew close enough that i could probably jump (i probably can't jump really high anyway because of my weight) to touch them. There was i think for the Hills in the past but not sure about now. Golf facing ones they had a couple in the Golf which is a semi-d and is 2.5 storey with a basement and a garden.

I would think better to bring your friends/clients to a few more places like East Ledang, etc to show them so that they can make a comparison and be all the more happier with their eventual choice regardless of the development..

I see. Thanks, so it's important to get the right units. But I thought its difficult to make the judgement purely by looking at the models. Can't drive around to see for ourselves due to the security.

East Ledang looks nice. Apart from the very first time I was there more than a year ago, each time I go there the sales will say its fully sold.

Btw, how much are the golf facing bungalows in HH now? What's the land/built?

kopikong99

Of course there are many other factors which will affect price. But the situation of Nusajaya is unique because Singapore is right beside it. In 2010, a RM650k terrace in East Ledang was seen by most locals as a crazily expensive house. But to many Singaporeans, a SGD260k is dirt cheap for a terrace with such a nice living environment and space. When the entry price is dirt cheap, any improve or progress of Nusajaya will mean an increase in price. Thus we really don't need to scrutinize the many other factors which will affect price unless the entry price is high to Singaporeans like say SGD600k.

If there isn't a Singapore beside Nusajaya, then of course we can't judge the future price the same way in 2010. Without a Singapore beside Nusajaya, I would definitely say that a RM650k terrace in Johor is really expensive and the future appreciation, if any, is hard to judge. If that's the case, we'll really need to look hard at all factors in order to make a decision.

Back then, one Sg property can be exchanged for 4 houses of EL phase 1 terrace houses is very attractive. It definitely appears to be a very good opportunity for a good entry to investing. You can always stayed in one and rent the other property for income stream for retirement. It is like Shenzhen to HK back in those days before Shenzhen took off and so can make similar projection and then hopes that it will goes that way.

And looking at the amount of fund that they are putting in for the infrastructures, it would be that it will have a better chances of succeeding in drawing more investments to Iskandar.

Of course, we have to look at our own risk appetite and the amount of risk that we are willing to take, so small player have to take smaller unit instead of semi-D which is close to the psychological 1 mil which is what most local investors would stayed away at that time. Still it presents more investment opportunity than in Sg.

Lord Aragorn

butadesu said:
Just my guess, I don't know Johor well.
If you use google map to look at Johor, you will notice that the east side is more developed with industrial activities in Pasir Gudang etc.
Most of the locals will find their jobs there.
The west side has some new industrial area but not so mature yet. However west side is near to 2nd link which is near singapore Tuas industrial area.
Therefore Singaporeans presence in the west is more obvious.

This is another perspective from an investment and cash flow standpoint.

JB is brown field while nusajaya is green field. Therefore, to develop, JB will have to tear and rebuild while nusajaya will have the space to architect an entire new city. On the flip side, there are more people and activities in JB currently, compared with Nusajaya.

In my opinion, if we take a purely investment standpoint, my feel is that Nusajaya will have relatively higher capital appreciation compared to developments around JB in the long run, provided Iskandar takes off. The disadvantage is that current rental demand (and hence cash flow) is weaker in Nusajaya compared to JB.

Therefore, overseas investors with more cash are likely to take bigger bets with Nusajaya. On the other hand, locals with less cash and relatively risk averse are likely to prefer developed areas around JB.

kopikong99

The biggest mistake he made in his otherwise very convincing post was by saying that he regretted an investment which already made him a handsome profit by now.
Maybe his purpose of investing is to lose money :biggrin:

I mean he should have said that he regretted moving to EL, not regretted investing in EL.

Wah lau, I stayed here for more than one year and he has seen so many electrical breakdowns than the 2 that I have seen. I guess he must be seeing a lot more areas than EL and LH. Except for the 2nd one, the first one was quickly attended to and the 2nd one lasted longer as the Tenaga guys took their time. One good thing from the breakdown is the neighbours just come out to chit chat.

kopikong99

JB is brown field while nusajaya is green field. Therefore, to develop, JB will have to tear and rebuild while nusajaya will have the space to architect an entire new city. On the flip side, there are more people and activities in JB currently, compared with Nusajaya.

In my opinion, if we take a purely investment standpoint, my feel is that Nusajaya will have relatively higher capital appreciation compared to developments around JB in the long run, provided Iskandar takes off. The disadvantage is that current rental demand (and hence cash flow) is weaker in Nusajaya compared to JB.

Therefore, overseas investors with more cash are likely to take bigger bets with Nusajaya. On the other hand, locals with less cash and relatively risk averse are likely to prefer developed areas around JB.

Another point is that there are lots of locals who are not even aware of all the Nusajaya developments when I converse with them. They are surprised that I am more aware than them of many of the developments coming on stream as the West is a new areas to many of the locals, even the business too. One of them is the boss of one of our Vendor and their familar places is Molek.

Investor

Wah lau, I stayed here for more than one year and he has seen so many electrical breakdowns than the 2 that I have seen. I guess he must be seeing a lot more areas than EL and LH. Except for the 2nd one, the first one was quickly attended to and the 2nd one lasted longer as the Tenaga guys took their time. One good thing from the breakdown is the neighbours just come out to chit chat.

He said there was an average of 2 power outages per month, that's 24 power outages in one year but you've only encountered 2 in a year. The other 22 must have happened in his wet dreams :biggrin:

RedsYNWA

No lah, no bullet.
Don't dare to buy, too expensive compared to surrounding area.
Maybe someone can consider buying F&B shop houses beside it, if there are any. haha.

I think the row of shophouses betw Molek & Johor Jaya are all sold out long ago liao.... My dad's friend wanted to buy 1 for his restaurant business but no chance. In general for popular, hot areas in Johor, if you see the shophouses being built, it's probably already sold out liao.....

Molek Pine 3 and 4 still got available units, but honestly, I cant bring myself to pay more for condo than landed.....Haha

butadesu

Malaysia government always prefer greenfield development.
1. they have no lack of land.
2. if greenfield is successful, they can earn more since brownfield will mostly benefit existing property owners.
3. unlike sg, MY govt prefer not buy back existing housing from private owners and rebuild the whole place. Politically sensitive.
4. I think the ability to architect and reorganize their new city is probably the last thing in their mind. haha :P

Someone owing properties in nusajaya please correct me. How is the rental market in nusajaya now?
I'm guessing right now nusajaya rental is alright because there are not so many units for rental.
However, it will be challenging after more condos in the area (eg puetri harbor) are completed.

Regarding investment. If you are talking about new purchase (not subsale), developments like
Straits View Residences http://www.straitsviewresidences.com/
Residence at the Peak http://www.straitsview8.com/
Senibong http://www.senibongcove.my/
Austin etc
are not cheaper than those in Nusajaya.
Therefore, they do not require less cash to acquire.

Risk wise, both sides have their risks.
Nusajaya risk is how the catalyst projects can attract enough attention and how the new industrial area can attract tenants. It definitely has more capital appreciation upside but it is also longer because many of the catalyst projects those in medini still need a long time to realize. I am also not comfortable with JB idea of building "financial center". It basically does not have the requirement to build one.

JB area risk is how the mrt from singapore will turnout. How Lido, danga bay, bukit bintang projects will be carried out.
It does have existing demand from working class across the causeway and local industrial in the east, however those demand cannot support the numerous amount of new developments currently in the pipeline.

I'm not a risk expert to evaluate the risk here but I think nusajaya offers higher risk and higher returns than JB.

Lord Aragorn

butadesu said:
Regarding investment. If you are talking about new purchase (not subsale), developments like
Straits View Residences http://www.straitsviewresidences.com/
Residence at the Peak http://www.straitsview8.com/
Senibong http://www.senibongcove.my/
Austin etc
are not cheaper than those in Nusajaya.
Therefore, they do not require less cash to acquire.

My point about cash is the concept of equity dividend rate, ie. cash on cash return on the property investment, not on the down payment. Most people take a bank loan, and if rental yields are higher around JB currently, the EDR is higher which requires less cash to service the loan.

crystal_tiong

hello wuqi

lunch or tea with u and mrs is anytime ...just tat i am afraid that yr lunch hr is at 4pm , haha ...
anyway i will be at nusajaya tml , so buzz me if u are free ....

butadesu

My point about cash is the concept of equity dividend rate, ie. cash on cash return on the property investment, not on the down payment. Most people take a bank loan, and if rental yields are higher around JB currently, the EDR is higher which requires less cash to service the loan.

Ok i get your point. I have similar concerns too. I felt properties in Nusajaya will be more difficult to rent out as compared to JB after condos units are up and before the town becomes more mature.

Sanur

Finally got my Lego land annual passes at jusco by indah just now. My sis help me as she is there, n later they will go Lego land to check it out. It's open for annual pass purchases to do their photo card... Only can b at the retail

Sanur

Finally got my Lego land annual passes at jusco by indah just now. My sis help me as she is there, n later they will go Lego land to check it out. It's open for annual pass purchases to do their photo card... Only can b at the retail

To add, those hv bought can go Lego land today etc to take your photo there n make the annual pass, only photos taken there is accepted. As of today they claim...

Lord Aragorn

Sanur said:
To add, those hv bought can go Lego land today etc to take your photo there n make the annual pass, only photos taken there is accepted. As of today they claim...

Cool. Is legoland opened? Apart from making the card, what else can one do there?

Sanur

Cool. Is legoland opened? Apart from making the card, what else can one do there?

Signage at jusco bt indah said grand opening 15 September, today selling tickets n annual pass, said can go Lego land today as they open main door for the "making of annual pass" they stressed that photo must be taken by them, our own photo not acceptable. Sis said she will go n check it out. Will let u know

Investor

Here's the link to the info from Legoland;
https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=404689826261325&set=a.341127932617515.86979.334915249905450&type=1&theater

A photo of The Brick Shop which is opened for visitors who are redeeming their annual passes;
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=406586549404986&set=a.341127932617515.86979.334915249905450&type=3&theater

A photo of the queuing area of the redemption booths;
http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=405024519561189&set=a.341127932617515.86979.334915249905450&type=3&theater

Investor

Hi Sanur,

What's the price for their annual passes now? I got mine at RM190 if I remember correctly.

Status
Not open for further replies.