• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

New developments to share

Investor

wow..bro Investor, ard RM8-11k there liao..

err..sound like SemiD got more picker than terraced. :rolleyes:

It all depends on luck, there is a sudden wave of takers for semi-ds lately and the lucky few caught this wave after a few months of 'calmness'.
Low take up rate for terraces recently, one of our forum member here has been advertising his terrace for more than 1 month already.

Investor

will low end properties ie double storey link in these area has the same demand? since they are looking for high end area will they consider a small link house? or they only consider semi or bungalow and above.

Everyone has their own preferences and I can't answer for them.

For my tenant, I know that they viewed 5 semi-ds that day in HH and EL.
My tenant is a mid level management personnel in his company and thus he is only looking at semi-d instead of bungalow because the company is paying(which is also the reason why he is not looking at terrace). He told me that his immediate boss is staying in a bungalow in LH. They are working in a foreign MNC in Nusajaya.

Investor

Unfortunately, the entire MY market for rental & subsales is less than transparent, when compared to SG. In SG, no one can get away from claiming they can rent out for how much, since it's just an internet URA caveat check away.

To aid forumers in their investment decisions, my advice is to use the iproperty or property guru's asking rental prices, as a rental guide. The general rental % yield also helps. There are always outliers, but its more impt to get the average rent.

You made it sound like you're the only honest person in this world who mean well.
Your first sentence = what others say are all doubtful, all are liars.
Your second sentence = You're the only angel in this world who is kind and won't lie.

The question is - If there is a honest 'you' in this world, can't there be others like you? Or do you really think you're the only honest one in this world?

Investor

For eg, I know of a 1 bedder serviced residence in Orchard that is rented out for >S$12k (corporate lease). But it is surely not fair to extrapolate the S$12k to say gd location 1-bedder in SG can be rented out easily for S$12k.

What you've said is true. The outlier in EL is a rent of RM15k for a partly-furnished semi-d and I didn't even mention that outlier in my first post about rental. Instead, I mentioned the lowest partly-furnished semi-d's rent I know of which is 8k.

I actually wanted 12k but didn't get it and I don't think what I've got is really fantastic. No doubt this rent is a surprise to most people, that was why I started my sentences with, 'Most people don't know that... ... ...'. But I didn't expect people to think of RM11,XXX as being totally absurd and out of this world and that the person who 'claimed it' is totally bullshitting. Well in fact, that kinda reaction to the rent is absurd to me instead. What is so unbelievable about RM11,xxx??? It's S$4k+, not S$40k+.

Investor

From my experience, EL, HH can get RM4000 I will be happy, RM 6000 I will be crazy. Maybe I am wrong, anyone in the forum who have their HH, EL, LH rent out for RM8000 or more, do share your experience,, pls enlight, appreciated.

You can just omit your 'Maybe'.
Nuff said and shared, good night!

cheerguan

Looks like foreign talents are better appreciated and well rewarded than local talents in most asian countries. Time for Singaporeans to move out and be FTs too?

Where can one look out for jobs opening ads in Iskander? Something like the classified ads in the Straits Times with remunerations and criterias. Even those not intending to apply can take note and see whether if there are many increasing good job opportunities with better pay and thus can have better confidence to buy more properties for longer term investments. I think the MY authorities should start a daily newspaper with classified ads just for Iskander region itself. Probably easier for many of us to gather more information.

FHBH12

Looks like foreign talents are better appreciated and well rewarded than local talents in most asian countries. Time for Singaporeans to move out and be FTs too?

Where can one look out for jobs opening ads in Iskander? Something like the classified ads in the Straits Times with remunerations and criterias. Even those not intending to apply can take note and see whether if there are many increasing good job opportunities with better pay and thus can have better confidence to buy more properties for longer term investments. I think the MY authorities should start a daily newspaper with classified ads just for Iskander region itself. Probably easier for many of us to gather more information.

I don't think the pay in Johor is fantastic compared to Singapore. Fresh graduate pay in Johor is around $2.5-3k RM, so middle management is probably $5-8k RM and top management >$10k RM. The 2.5x exchange rate really tips the balance unless you are in the top management. A junior technician in Singapore earning around $3k SGD with OT can easily match the middle management pay in Johor, which is why we see so many Malaysians working in Tuas and Woodlands.

wolverine23

Assuming rental at 10K, we are talking about rental yield of 5%. Can we then use this as a benchmark for other projects as well?

Probably for other projects which are less atas, we can minus 1% yield off? hmmm

I only share what I know and won't speculate on what I don't. For all your 3 questions, I can't give you any firm answer.

Out of the 3 units I've mentioned earlier, one of them belongs to myself, that's why now I know for sure that such rent is real. I didn't state the exact figure and didn't mention that one of the units is mine because I've shared info with my neighbours in person. If I reveal too much, I risk exposing my online identity. This is not a totally faceless forum, I know 3 members here in real person and we share info regularly after becoming friends. One other member here rented out his EL semi-d at RM8k(partly furnished) many months ago. I have met his ang-mo tenant and confirmed his rent and it's true. To be frank, I think RM8k is a really low rent when resale price of a semi-d is now at RM2.4-RM2.5mil. I know of 1 partly-furnished semi-d being rented out at RM15k but just like what Reds had mentioned, this is just the 'outlier'. The rest of us are not as lucky as that landlord.

whoami

Personally met few docs fm MY. Earning RM10K and above. Also jabut and came down to Sinkieland. Now earning same and above too but in S$ dollars. Told my chdn. Learn fm our Msian counterparts.

Funniman

Assuming rental at 10K, we are talking about rental yield of 5%. Can we then use this as a benchmark for other projects as well?

Probably for other projects which are less atas, we can minus 1% yield off? hmmm

FD rate in Malaysia is about 3.2% ~ 3.5% pa. Housing loans is about BLR - 2.4%. BLR is about 6.8% currently. Take note of the Local Council assessment rate, the Quit rent, the maintenance costs and other incidentals (repairs to make good after your tenant leave).
Use that as a guide and you should know if your investments is paying off.

DCputeri

Expats are paid on expat terms whether they are in Singapore or Malaysia. They are drawing what they getting in their home country plus expat's allowance, housing, etc. Otherwise, why do they want to come here. They could be getting at 1.5 times of what they are getting back home. I learnt this from my tenants who are expats from UK, USA and France.

Funniman

Expats are paid on expat terms whether they are in Singapore or Malaysia. They are drawing what they getting in their home country plus expat's allowance, housing, etc. Otherwise, why do they want to come here. They could be getting at 1.5 times of what they are getting back home. I learnt this from my tenants who are expats from UK, USA and France.

They have a housing budget. During those days, all had fat budgets but these days, it had smaller allowances. Therefore, it depend on your target market. I do know that those Japanese expats in the senior management have about RM 5k per month in KL. But Europeans may have more.

Eesee

There are some expats who are given fixed allowance/budget by the company eg. their allowance are S$7000 per month for rentals but if they managed to get rentals at S$4000, they will keep the balance. Have done that for my ex bosses. Also have heard of expats who amongst themselves rent each other properties and used their allowances as rentals so as to service their housing loans. For eg. 2 expats, each bought an apt for investment (without their company's knowledge), then will rent out to each other at an agreed price so both rentals will be used to service their housing loan.

Funniman

There are some expats who are given fixed allowance/budget by the company eg. their allowance are S$7000 per month for rentals but if they managed to get rentals at S$4000, they will keep the balance. Have done that for my ex bosses. Also have heard of expats who amongst themselves rent each other properties and used their allowances as rentals so as to service their housing loans. For eg. 2 expats, each bought an apt for investment (without their company's knowledge), then will rent out to each other at an agreed price so both rentals will be used to service their housing loan.

Like that oso can ah??

cheerguan

I don't think the pay in Johor is fantastic compared to Singapore. Fresh graduate pay in Johor is around $2.5-3k RM, so middle management is probably $5-8k RM and top management >$10k RM. The 2.5x exchange rate really tips the balance unless you are in the top management. A junior technician in Singapore earning around $3k SGD with OT can easily match the middle management pay in Johor, which is why we see so many Malaysians working in Tuas and Woodlands.

What about those companies in Sg relocating over together with their existing S'porean staffs? Will the staffs still receive the same equivalent salaries when in Sg previously? Or will the companies prefer to find new hires in MY as cost cutting is the main reason in moving over? Till date, wonder any MNCs already moved over from Sg?

That's why I think it will be good to have Iskander region job adverts in the newspapers.

Investor

It's not just about 'us' landlords(supply) setting the price. If there is no demand, there is no rental.
So it all boils down to supply and demand and a market price will be formed and balanced out.

cheerguan

Personally met few docs fm MY. Earning RM10K and above. Also jabut and came down to Sinkieland. Now earning same and above too but in S$ dollars. Told my chdn. Learn fm our Msian counterparts.

Was told by my GP Malaysian docs can only work in Sg hospitals but not allowed to set up private practice here. Vice versa for Sg doctors too.

FHBH12

What about those companies in Sg relocating over together with their existing S'porean staffs? Will the staffs still receive the same equivalent salaries when in Sg previously? Or will the companies prefer to find new hires in MY as cost cutting is the main reason in moving over? Till date, wonder any MNCs already moved over from Sg?

That's why I think it will be good to have Iskander region job adverts in the newspapers.

I think it is a matter of time the companies will cut down on the expatriates and employ locals. The training will take place first and the relocated staff must always be prepared for plan B.

Investor

Be friendly and talk to all your neighbours when you see them and find out whether anyone has rented out their unit and at what price/s. With that 'rough' guide from real people, next is to go to Malaysia's iProperty and PropertyGuru to do a simple search for units for rent, just key in the name of your development. You can see a range of asking price but don't jump to conclusion when you see some which are very low or very high. I've called many which are very low, including one today which advertised a semi-d for rent at RM6.5k fully furnished and found out that it is a terrace and not a semi-d. Agents always make such mistakes because they advertise many units and they 'copy and paste' details. Some other agents just advertise low price to get callers, he'll tell the caller that the cheap one has been taken and he has another one but the price is higher.

With the range of 'reasonable prices' in mind and canceling out those 'too high' and 'too low' ones. Ask yourself whether you wanna go for lowest price for quick catch, or you wanna add some extras(value add) to your house and ask for the price on the upper end. I did the latter and asked for the higher price. In fact, I have lesser competitors by doing that because many owners are stingy and don't wanna spend a little in advance to attract tenants. They leave their units totally empty with wirings still hanging around and ask for the lowest price which others are asking. End up there are many more like this and you have a big competition. For your info, I rented out my unit at higher price than neighours in just 1 viewing. In fact, my neighbour's bare unit has been advertising for months at RM10k(lower than mine) but still no takers until today. Ask yourself this question, will developers show you bare units with wirings hanging around or beautiful showroom in order to make you interested? Do Not fully furnish your unit, leave that option open to your potential tenants. Install aircons for whole house and turn on the aircons at least 1 hour before viewing. Clean the whole house before viewing. Sweep the garden and clear all fallen leaves and rubbish. It's hard for people to imagine how nice a house can be if you let them view the ugly and dirty sight. Install water heater for all bathrooms. Install simple lightings, don't go for hanging types because everyone like different style. Your house is a product which you are 'selling' to your potential client. See yourself as an entrepreneur and differentiate your product from your competitors by spending some money first(business capital).

Chocolate

Well, if my memory serves me right, I did meet up with this lady named Serena Ong fm UEM Land bhd @ Aug 2009. I dont drive. So she brought me and my frds all the way fm Jurong Pt to East Ledang Nusajaya office. She was promoting on Ujana project tat time. Nice lady and quite honest, imo. She told me tere will be a harbour/jetty which will transport pax fm Sentosa to Nusajaya as there may be a casino in future. Tats wat she said. We juz listen lor. Believe or not, time will tell lor. But one thing for sure PH is tere now. And ferry plying between harbour ft to PH is also true right? It does make sense too for gamblers to go to harbour ft to come over to Nusajaya if teres a casino right? I not a johorean/Msian. Maybe u tell us lor wats the blue print and why they have a harbour tere?

I not interested in LKY or Najib personal life. Neither am i interested in LKS. Cant be trusted.

There is a harbour and according to the schedule there are trips to Harbourfront from PH but I lost interest in it as its pretty pricey and also a very long ride. Not viable for daily commuters.