• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

New developments to share

rotikok

and you think only harborfront is going to link to PH ? go read the masterplan la.
I didnt read masterplan, mind telling me where other place they stopped too? I only know they also going to batam, n some other indonesia islands.
Since when has the PH ferry go to Harbourfront?
That time went to the ciq n ask, the route to harbourfront still not yet start. Soon they said, but certainly it will.

Chocolate

U got the point, only if medini able to become islamic financial hub or other high yield industry that also work in normal ordinary day (not just holiday), then it would become businessly vibrant where high earning white collar want to live or rent there to work, enjoy the atas yatching, sentosa cove like life there. No doubt irda aiming for that, but this kind of thing take time and the risk is what if they didnt come despite all the hope? Conventional financial hub is no hope since sg ady a powerful central in the region. Risk certainly higher compare to ulu BI back then where their target is mass audience. Welness center is much more safed target to aim for. What I am risk aware of is that, if majority who bought r investors that intent for holiday use, high end industry didnt come as intended, then my description of the area in future will not b unrealistic. For me uncertainty still far too high at the moment since islamic banking hub still paper talk, its depend on ur risk appetite.

You're right, there is some risk. That is priced in at the moment I believe. If Medini makes it as planned then I doubt prices will stay below 1k psf although its leasehold. That is why this is more for high stakes players who can stomach the risk.Malaysia has an advantage as an Islamic country to become an Islamic banking hub and even Temasek is going in to invest so I believe it has a good chance of succeeding. I don't think Medini will be a popular choice with Singaporeans but what I hear is that the Japanese and Middle Easterners are keen on the zone. Iskandar Residences is half owned by Japanese.Just like Danga Bay, it seems to be attracting PRC. Also , rememeber its likely Medini will be spared the 1M floor price when its implemented for foreigners. That gives it an added advantage. But a lot more needs to eb done, especially in the way of infrastructure, before it can be accessibile.

rotikok

You're right, there is some risk. That is priced in at the moment I believe. If Medini makes it as planned then I doubt prices will stay below 1k psf although its leasehold. That is why this is more for high stakes players who can stomach the risk.Malaysia has an advantage as an Islamic country to become an Islamic banking hub and even Temasek is going in to invest so I believe it has a good chance of succeeding. I don't think Medini will be a popular choice with Singaporeans but what I hear is that the Japanese and Middle Easterners are keen on the zone. Iskandar Residences is half owned by Japanese.Just like Danga Bay, it seems to be attracting PRC. Also , rememeber its likely Medini will be spared the 1M floor price when its implemented for foreigners. That gives it an added advantage. But a lot more needs to eb done, especially in the way of infrastructure, before it can be accessibile.

Googled, despite here n there talking about islamic finance over medini, none is firm n concrete planned by irda (not judge by master plan, just find any bank want to set up there, result is obvious). Really, at this stage talk about basic infra far more realistic. No point IRDA push it now as nothing still there yet. KL seem like much ideal to established a hub than medini, much to catch up yea medini. Middle eastern pull out during GFC, mayb when they back again, hope will ignite again. Im not looking down the area, just there isnt much good news for me to optimism yet. Now still two extreme possibility, either miracally big banks in, or as a boring crowdless area. IRDA want it to be success, but who dont want? Just lots of things not in their control, even planned might not work out well plus they r not sg gov with the resourse talent & capital to force it out. So hope sg gov is the planner, i will show hand in medini for sure.

Chocolate

Googled, despite here n there talking about islamic finance over medini, none is firm n concrete planned by irda (not judge by master plan, just find any bank want to set up there, result is obvious). Really, at this stage talk about basic infra far more realistic. No point IRDA push it now as nothing still there yet. KL seem like much ideal to established a hub than medini, much to catch up yea medini. Middle eastern pull out during GFC, mayb when they back again, hope will ignite again. Im not looking down the area, just there isnt much good news for me to optimism yet. Now still two extreme possibility, either miracally big banks in, or as a boring crowdless area. IRDA want it to be success, but who dont want? Just lots of things not in their control, even planned might not work out well plus they r not sg gov with the resourse talent & capital to force it out. So hope sg gov is the planner, i will show hand in medini for sure.

Are you buying for own stay or investment? Why not just buy somewhere other than Medini since you have so many doubts about the area. If for own stay , just buy somewhere you like, somewhere more residential. These units will also be good investments as more and more Singaporeans look for retirement homes.

Investor

Only one part of Medini is the Welness Centre. There is also a business zone.Am sure more transport infrastructure and links will be bult to make PH and Medini more accessible.With Kota Iskandar( govt offices ) there and the malls of Medini, definitely they have to provide more amenities to bring in the crowds. It will take time but eventually will take shape.As for PH, just like Sentosa it will not be the playground of the average rakyat, how many can afford a yachting lifestyle? But I think there will enough to make it work, just like Sentosa.
Just like BI, a friend of mine who went there when SP Setia launched their first batch of houses told me the place was looking ulu then and also had a bad reputation for crime. She accompanied a friend who booked a unit and was wondering if all this talk abt Tesco and AEON would come to pass.In hindsight now we can say that the early investors did well, but they did go in at a time when the place had not made it yet and had to have confidence it would work out.

Look at it this way, if SP Setia alone can single handedly develop Bukit Indah from nothing to what it is today and is already seen to be so successful by many just because there are Aeon, Tesco and Giant around. How bad do you think Medini will be with the combined forces of 2 governments (Malaysia and Singapore) and many other big developers and committed/ongoing businesses like;
- Pinewood Studio
- Gleneagles hospital by Parkway Pantai
- Legoland theme park and hotel
- Mall of Medini by UEM Sunrise
- Markers, Twin Tower commercial building by Ra Ta Land
- D'Pristine's mixed development (with a 3 storey shopping mall and a hotel) by B&G
- Afiniti Urban Wellness project with corporate training centre etc by Temasek and Khazanah via Pulau Indah Ventures
- iMedini Walk by Tang Group (Singapore)
- 18@Medini by Distinctive Group
- Zhou Yuan China
- 1Medini and Medini Signature by WCT
- Iskandar Residences by Distinctive Resources
- Medini Square
- Avira Resort Wellness by Temasek and Khazanah via Pulau Indah and E&O.
- Medini Lakeside
- Sunway's Medini Mixed development with international schools, theme park, hospital, properties etc
- Medini Empire's mixed development by Mammoth Empire Group (office towers, hotels, serviced apartments, loft offices, retail space, convention centre, concert hall, lifestyle cinema and specialist retail shops)
- Frost and Sullivan
- Japan's Mitsui & Co. bought stake in Medini Iskandar Malaysia
- Not forgetting the very successful Educity by IIB which is strategically 'placed' right beside Medini.
- Educity is so successful that they created EduPark (Educity2) because many more international schools are interested to set up their schools here

Just to name a few;
- NewCastle Medical
- Southampton University
- Netherlands Maritime Institute of Technology (NMIT)
- Reading University
- Raffles University
- Raffles American School
- MDIS (Management Institute of Singapore)
- Johan Cruyff Institute (Sports)
- Marlborough College

Malaysia's government didn't spend more than 1 billion to build Coastal Highway just to link it to East Ledang. If one can think that all these combined forces can lose out to one single SP Setia alone, I have nothing to say. The question is - what are the chances for Medini(a city centre, 'Pusat Bandar' as stated in new street signs) to lose out to Bukit Indah(a township)?

whoami

you belive in sale talk fr sale people? built casino in PH in future to ferry gambles fr setosa . LKY will get out from his grave to bark at Najib you also belive?

Well, if my memory serves me right, I did meet up with this lady named Serena Ong fm UEM Land bhd @ Aug 2009. I dont drive. So she brought me and my frds all the way fm Jurong Pt to East Ledang Nusajaya office. She was promoting on Ujana project tat time. Nice lady and quite honest, imo. She told me tere will be a harbour/jetty which will transport pax fm Sentosa to Nusajaya as there may be a casino in future. Tats wat she said. We juz listen lor. Believe or not, time will tell lor. But one thing for sure PH is tere now. And ferry plying between harbour ft to PH is also true right? It does make sense too for gamblers to go to harbour ft to come over to Nusajaya if teres a casino right? I not a johorean/Msian. Maybe u tell us lor wats the blue print and why they have a harbour tere?

I not interested in LKY or Najib personal life. Neither am i interested in LKS. Cant be trusted.

whoami

and you think only harborfront is going to link to PH ? go read the masterplan la.

Wat masterplan? Already materialise leow lah. There will be ferry plying between PH and Harbourfront. Ferry will be going to Batam and Tj Balai, karimun, Indonesia too. But dont know when will be the official dates.

malpaso

Well, if my memory serves me right, I did meet up with this lady named Serena Ong fm UEM Land bhd @ Aug 2009. I dont drive. So she brought me and my frds all the way fm Jurong Pt to East Ledang Nusajaya office. She was promoting on Ujana project tat time. Nice lady and quite honest, imo. She told me tere will be a harbour/jetty which will transport pax fm Sentosa to Nusajaya as there may be a casino in future. Tats wat she said. We juz listen lor. Believe or not, time will tell lor. But one thing for sure PH is tere now. And ferry plying between harbour ft to PH is also true right? It does make sense too for gamblers to go to harbour ft to come over to Nusajaya if teres a casino right? I not a johorean/Msian. Maybe u tell us lor wats the blue print and why they have a harbour tere?

I not interested in LKY or Najib personal life. Neither am i interested in LKS. Cant be trusted.
my opinion only:
casino in nusajaya i believe is a long shot. malysia is muslim country, to run too many casinos might be frowned upon. furthermore, did you know johor is quite a muslim religious state (i mean, one of the more religious states in peninsula). i remember back in my jb student days, the govt offices weekend was thurs and friday. only a while after i graduated did they change to sat/sun weekends.

whoami

my opinion only:
casino in nusajaya i believe is a long shot. malysia is muslim country, to run too many casinos might be frowned upon. furthermore, did you know johor is quite a muslim religious state (i mean, one of the more religious states in peninsula). i remember back in my jb student days, the govt offices weekend was thurs and friday. only a while after i graduated did they change to sat/sun weekends.

When she mentioned abt casino, I wasnt surprise cos u have casino at Genting Highland. Most of the project which she had mentioned to me tat time, i could see it materialised leow. Int'l schools, Legoland, PH juz to name a few..

Frankly, u tink Msia is really a Muslim country? Not easy to claim as one. Not juz Black or White.

malpaso

When she mentioned abt casino, I wasnt surprise cos u have casino at Genting Highland. Most of the project which she had mentioned to me tat time, i could see it materialised leow. Int'l schools, Legoland, PH juz to name a few..

Frankly, u tink Msia is really a Muslim country? Not easy to claim as one. Not juz Black or White.

malaysia is a muslim country. genting highland different era and story.. lim goh tong live in a different chapter in malaysian history. anyway, as mentioned, is my opinion. i could be wrong.

Funniman

malaysia is a muslim country. genting highland different era and story.. lim goh tong live in a different chapter in malaysian history. anyway, as mentioned, is my opinion. i could be wrong.

There's a planned Cruise Terminal in PH. I won't be surprised if Star Cruise is based there. A floating Casino in the international waters.
Afterall there are too many illegal casinos in Batam and Tg Balai.

Malaysia has always been a country with 2 types of laws. One for the Muslim, the other for the non muslims. If 7-11 in Shah Alam can sell beers, 4D shops all over, I see no reason why casinos are not allowed to operate albiet on a bigger scale. All you need is to display "Muslims NOT ALLOWED".

cow138

Malaysia still has to find the right path to travel. Either religion or secular.
It's a difficult path to negotiate.

malpaso

There's a planned Cruise Terminal in PH. I won't be surprised if Star Cruise is based there. A floating Casino in the international waters.
Afterall there are too many illegal casinos in Batam and Tg Balai.

Malaysia has always been a country with 2 types of laws. One for the Muslim, the other for the non muslims. If 7-11 in Shah Alam can sell beers, 4D shops all over, I see no reason why casinos are not allowed to operate albiet on a bigger scale. All you need is to display "Muslims NOT ALLOWED".

yes, of course. as a good KL friend of mine says "i am sure i will always be able to eat pork". :smile: However i still think a land based casino in johor is unlikely. star cruise casino on a ship in international waters is most likely then.

Funniman

yes, of course. as a good KL friend of mine says "i am sure i will always be able to eat pork". :smile: However i still think a land based casino in johor is unlikely. star cruise casino on a ship in international waters is most likely then.

Me too is against a land based casino. Too many social ill problems.
Casinos are not necessary a crowd puller. The other day, I was in Marina Sands, the crowd is pathetic. At least 50% of the table have no players.

cybermad

Good argument .

Look at it this way, if SP Setia alone can single handedly develop Bukit Indah from nothing to what it is today and is already seen to be so successful by many just because there are Aeon, Tesco and Giant around. How bad do you think Medini will be with the combined forces of 2 governments (Malaysia and Singapore) and many other big developers and committed/ongoing businesses like;
- Pinewood Studio
- D'Pristine's mixed development (with a 3 storey shopping mall and a hotel) by B&G
- Afiniti Urban Wellness project with corporate training centre etc by Temasek and Khazanah via Pulau Indah Ventures
- Zhou Yuan China
- Medini Square
- Medini Lakeside
- Sunway's Medini Mixed development with international schools, theme park, hospital, properties etc
- Medini Empire's mixed development by Mammoth Empire Group (office towers, hotels, serviced apartments, loft offices, retail space, convention centre, concert hall, lifestyle cinema and specialist retail shops)
- Frost and Sullivan
- Not forgetting the very successful Educity by IIB which is strategically 'placed' right beside Medini.
- Educity is so successful that they created EduPark (Educity2) because many more international schools are interested to set up their schools here

Just to name a few;
- NewCastle Medical
- Southampton University
- Reading University
- Raffles University
- Marlborough College

Malaysia's government didn't spend more than 1 billion to build Coastal Highway just to link it to East Ledang. If one can think that all these combined forces can lose out to one single SP Setia alone, I have nothing to say. The question is - what are the chances for Medini(a city centre, 'Pusat Bandar' as stated in new street signs) to lose out to Bukit Indah(a township)?

Funniman

This project is TOO BIG to fail. If it involved just a few parties, then yes, the risks are there.
But if it involved so many parties, private and public institutions, Goverments of UK, Japan, China, Netherland, Singapore, etc, it is very complex structure (counted 30 parties as posted by Bro Investor). From a agro state to become a global investment hub, the train will keep going. Nothing is going to stop it.
More so, it is not just paperwork and talk only. it is the actual implementation and buildings are coming up.

RedsYNWA

This project is TOO BIG to fail. If it involved just a few parties, then yes, the risks are there.
But if it involved so many parties, private and public institutions, Goverments of UK, Japan, China, Netherland, Singapore, etc, it is very complex structure (counted 30 parties as posted by Bro Investor). From a agro state to become a global investment hub, the train will keep going. Nothing is going to stop it.
More so, it is not just paperwork and talk only. it is the actual implementation and buildings are coming up.

My assessment is that Medini needs a 5-10 year gestation period. Cyberjaya and Putrajaya are still waiting to reach their potential. Medini's adv is that it is geographically better than Cyber/Putra. Bukit Indah took 15 years to reach today's std. Medini should need 5-10 years?

rotikok

- Pinewood Studio
- Zhou Yuan China
- Medini Square
- Medini Lakeside
- Frost and Sullivan

Just to name a few;
- NewCastle Medical
- Southampton University
- Reading University
- Raffles University
- Marlborough College

All of that I ady know, legoland->tourism; welness, hospital, condo->retireers. Educity->student, cant expect to rent them ur condo for high yield plus ady have their hostel. Pinewood, still cant say for sure how big the impact will b hopefully can b hollywood of SEA. Banking? UAE sheikh still 1001 nights not coming back. Medini positioning is right, elderly, student and tourists can make up the population there. Talking about vibrant still too early. If it is my first play in iskandar I will buy into it for own use. Investment I will on hold first. But then I am local johorean, got much lubang to squeeze with much higher real visible return with the connection I had...again I think is my problem la as it is my home ground, looking medini n the timing of how long it will take to turn to what u guys hope...I will rather get back later. Mayb when my commitment with other buying group at tj kupang area lesser bit only I will consider medini. Being a cool patient local then kiasu singaporean.

Funniman

Yes.
Medini need 5 years minimum to have all its projects completed.
Then the commercial investors would come in slowly.