• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Traditional Singapore Street Names

ram how did you know all of this?

Are you that old or did your elders teach you all this?

I grew up in these areas with territorial gangs. With them, I learned the traditional street names. With the police, I had to schedule patrol sector shift work plans in these areas, I had to match them with the official street names.

Ah yes.

Btw did you ever play a mole either for the cops or for the triads ala infernal affairs?

Since you were in the police force and had such close links to the gangs you could help either side.

Ah yes.

Btw did you ever play a mole either for the cops or for the triads ala infernal affairs?

Since you were in the police force and had such close links to the gangs you could help either side.

You've watched too many HK movies. There's no need for moles. The police and the gangs work closely together anyway. :wink:

Baimi

Don't forget there was a Iron Market along Beach Road.
Police Station, NCO club and SAFE supermarket.

You've watched too many HK movies. There's no need for moles. The police and the gangs work closely together anyway. :wink:

So i suppose not only yourself but other officers could probably recognize gang members or even they might even be frens of family correct?

Did you ever have to arrest a fren or family member? Did you need to tip them off?

Sure police and gangs work together but that's only for the top.

So i suppose not only yourself but other officers could probably recognize gang members or even they might even be frens of family correct?

Did you ever have to arrest a fren or family member? Did you need to tip them off?

Sure police and gangs work together but that's only for the top.

I can only tell what's not within the scope of OSA. Goodnight.

myo539

What do you mean by hiding? The police cannot find them?
Find them for what? There were more pressing problems facing the new nation when PAP came to power. The communist and trade union threats were more serious and immediate than the gangster threat.

They were hiding - not from the police or gahment - but more from rival gang members they had maimed or even killed. How to dig up hard evidence of crime when they piah chwee in groups?

Anyway they are very old liao. Some still return to Singapore periodically for medical treatment and medicine - no problem at all to the authorities. PAP gahment may be often seen negatively as paternalistic, but do not underestimate that the PAP gahment is also a benevolent government.

kingrant

What about :

1. Tau Foo Gai - Bean curd street. I think it was Upper cross street (now no more)
2. Hoi San Gai - New Sea Street. Was Upp or just Chin Chew St. (now no more).
3. Say Yan Gai - Dead Men's street. Sago Lane.

Before People's Park there was Pearl's Hill Night Market, which was burnt down in a fire. It was mainly street vendors under tarpaulin canvas shelters. Like Bugis St now.

radon39

still cannot beat this one pukimak.jpg

Forvendet

Got lah - all Bukits are higher land,or small hills - the original Malay name. Bukit Merah and adjacent Bukit Ho Swee are relatively small hillocks made of sandstone and appeared dusty and red in colour. Around the hills were squatter colonies of congested attap and zinc houses. The hilltops were relatively bare - that accounted for the red colour surface. Pigs used to roam and shit all over the place. Of course, the great Bt Ho Swee fires cleared off the colonies - and with it went the most notorious gangsters of Bt Ho Swee! Even after the fires, the remnants of gangs used to hide their parangs in our small gardens.

Now very old liao - some gang members are hiding in Queenstowns, and even outlying Indonesian islands and Malaysian small towns in Johor. Of course Bukit Ho Swee and Bukit Merah very different - the PAP gahmant has erased the red and coloured it with green trees all over the islands. Much of the land is lowered and levelled.

Only one thing to add. Redhill and Bukit Merah although having the same meaning, aren't exactly the same place. Redill is next to Bukit Merah at the foot of the little old hill. The English name was given by British colonial civil servants living there then, as the area resembled a London suburb also called Redhill.

What about :

1. Tau Foo Gai - Bean curd street. I think it was Upper cross street (now no more)
2. Hoi San Gai - New Sea Street. Was Upp or just Chin Chew St. (now no more).
3. Say Yan Gai - Dead Men's street. Sago Lane.

Before People's Park there was Pearl's Hill Night Market, which was burnt down in a fire. It was mainly street vendors under tarpaulin canvas shelters. Like Bugis St now.

1. wow, bro!
2. yes, i remember that "say yan gai" thing.
3. my family did have some properties back in the 50s and 60s.
4. funeral parlours and undertaker services!
5. as some kid i was literally running in and out of those "facilities" not knowing much.

zikoman

While on the topic of bridges, there're many bridge names that seem to come without a bridge, e.g. Ang Mo Kio (this one everyone knows where), Pek Kio (Rangoon-Owen), Orh Kio (Balestier-Kim Keat) and more funny Orh Kio Tao (Redhill-Queenstown, so far away from Balestier-Kim Keat). I don't see any bridge there. This is not a quiz question since I don't know the answer myself. Those who know the answer, hope you care to share.

I reckoned these names are really related to bridges. In olden days, the old folks came up with their own naming convention for a particular road or location. And the easiest way is to associate it after a landmark or popular event cos even if there are official names, it would be in english, they wouldn't be able to understand nor pronounce it.. and what other easier way than to name it in dialect. In the 60s & 70s, drainage system wasn't so develop & there were many longkangs. And of course with many longkangs there will be many bridges. However these bridges doesn't exist today cos in the process of redevelopment, all were demolished. One example is Ord Bridge (still around though), the old folks called it Cher Kio Tao, so probably the bridge was painted green. :biggrin:

So.....
AMK - probably named after a bridge was built by an ang mo
Pek Kio - white bridge
Orh Kio - black (dark colour) bridge
Orh Kio Tao - similar but not related to the one at Balestier. Btw, i think Orh Kio Tao is at Havelock/Beo Crescent

Some example of naming road/area after landmark/event.......

Kek Sng Kio (Sungei Rd) - the ice factory & bridge over Rochor Canal
Ang Sar Li (Serangoon Estate) - probably there were lotsa houses with red zinc roof
Huo Chen aka Fire City (junction of Kallang Rd/Crawford St) - named after Kallang gaswork (fire sprouting outta chimneys)
Boh Lea Long aka Glass Factory (Henderson Ind Est) - named such cos there was a glass factory there
Ang Sai aka Red Lion (River Valley) - named such cos previously F & N was there

besides Ang Sai, there is an area named Orr Sai... anyone?? :biggrin:

my 2-ct's worth.....:p

lianbeng

besides Ang Sai, there is an area named Orr Sai... anyone?? :biggrin:

my 2-ct's worth.....:p

lianbeng remembers orr sai (black lion) used to be where the current Communicable Disease Centre is located - u can still see that black lion at the entrance.:biggrin: