• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The problem with democracy in Singapore

It’s just the sheer laziness of sinkies. They are to blame for this lack of democracy in our country. In countries with established traditions of democracy, free flowing ideas and communications are exchange and debated and acted upon. In these countries, the citizens do not have to do too much. All the information is present by the media and the political parties themselves for electorate to make their decision at election time. Just look at the US Presidential election process. Months before the actual elections all the candidates, from both the Republican and Democratic parties are publicly and prominently presented. Whether it was in the form of campaigning at various locations, or nationally televised TV debates, or just plain interviewing with the many independent newspapers and publications, the public gradually know all the candidates very well. By now, most Americans know what Donald Trump stands for, what his personality is like, and what policies he wants to put in place. Likewise, they are pretty familiar with the other candidates and their viewpoints too. Without too much effort, US voters have all this information streaming into them from various sources.

Sinkie voters on the other hand have to really work to get information on any other candidate or party that is not PAP. In fact, Sinkies have to go even deeper than that. They have to independently assess the viability of each party and their policies before they can vote for that party. They have go back to basics and examine the very system they have in Singapore and how it can survive without the PAP. They have educate themselves between what is the PAP and what is the civil service and the Government. They have to evaluate whether the opposition party they vote for can run a good government. The American voter does not have this problem. They are not worried that Obama has no experience, not even as a Mayor or Governor, to run the country. They are not worried that Obama has no military experience. They know that voting in any President that has no such experience does not mean the end of the world, like the PAP would like Singaporean voters to think. Singaporean voters have to work all of this out themselves.

Singaporeans need to ask themselves basic questions that American voters do not. Questions such as “Is running a Town Council effectively, a pre-requisite to runing the country”? “Will the whole country break down the next day if the PAP loses the elections?” These and many questions have to be asked and answered in a logical way without emotions and prejudices. But unfortunately, this is beyond the current ability of the Singaporean voter. Well, at least 70% of them. This is hard work. This requires thinking and asking hard questions. Sinkies are averse to this and frankly are too lazy.

In the past, there might have been justification because of the tight control over all traditional media such as print, radio and TV exercised by the PAP. But today, there are many independent bloggers who voice their views at the risk of jail time, and many alternative news websites such as this one, TRE, The Real Singaporean, etc. All a voter has to do is spend some time at these websites, keep an open mind, and get an alternative point of view. There is nothing subversive about it. And they are educating themselves and if after viewing these websites, they still want to stick with the PAP, that’s fine by me. Unfortunately, this does not happen often enough. Singapore is the one country where you really have to work for it and at it to be more democratic. The laziness of Singaporeans and the desire to be just spoon fed the information is the reason for the gradual demise of true democracy in Singapore. In the absence of a real press freedom, any spoon feeding will simply be the PAP’s version. In this sense, Singaporeans deserve what they get. All the ills of the current system (over crowded trains, breakdowns in the MRT, job loss, cost of living increases, inability to withdraw CPF, obscene politician salaries, etc.) can all be traced to this laziness to even do some minimum research to get an alternative viewpoint. Singaporeans are truly screwed.

You missed the point entirely. Not about Town Council, not about PAP hiding information. It is very simple. Would your life be better after voting the Opposition? The answer is obvious so why so stupid ownself go to the back of the upgrading queue?

Also, many chumps including some here KPKB about PAP 365/24/7.

But when GE comes, they and their family gwai gwai vote for PAP.

The opposition cannot be trusted to run a decent lemonade stand, let alone a town council. WP's mismanagement of their GRC and the shabby conditions of Hougang SMC are good evidences of their incompetence.

bigboss

But unfortunately, this is beyond the current ability of the Singaporean voter. Well, at least 70% of them...

Voters in sinkie land do not bother to think about democracy. They would just vote according to rumours spread by pappies' porlumpars. Vote oppo parties and they would get booted back to their slumland. How many imported foreign shits would bother to vote oppo parties? None.

Democracy is here in sinkie land, one man, one vote but pappies are smart magicians. Put in GRC plus more imported foreign shits and they will remain in power.

Voters in sinkie land do not bother to think about democracy. They would just vote according to rumours spread by pappies' porlumpars. Vote oppo parties and they would get booted back to their slumland. How many imported foreign shits would bother to vote oppo parties? None.

Democracy is here in sinkie land, one man, one vote but pappies are smart magicians. Put in GRC plus more imported foreign shits and they will remain in power.

Jiuhookias who turned into sinkies mostly voted for PAP. Many of them hated living as 2nd class citizens under apartheid Malaysia.

In the 1970s, RM 1 was roughly equal to S$1. Today, S$1 is worth about RM 3. That tells you a lot about how PAP has managed Singapore these few decades, as compared to UMNO's Malaysia. You not happy, feel free to migrate to Malaysia or Indonesia. I hope your family doesn't get raped and slaughtered when it is time to make the chinks as scapegoat again. I don't think any of the Indon murderers and rapists were jailed.

hsienloong

There is never a real democracy in this World. It's just a notion, an ideology, a belief nothing but a figment of a so called Humanity. Humans will always be bonded by the Seven Big Sins. Eventually the lust for Power overwhelmed whatever notion, an ideology, and or belief.

The opposition cannot be trusted to run a decent lemonade stand, let alone a town council. WP's mismanagement of their GRC and the shabby conditions of Hougang SMC are good evidences of their incompetence.

Assume that your bs is true, why don't you tell us the billions wasted by the PAP?

For example ...why do we need a Municipal Office in the PMO, a mayor, a ministry, a town council to run a precinct? When we just had the HDB running the estate, it was cheap and good. Now, we are spending millions more paying fat cats? Getting rid of the town council, the mayor, the MO will save us at least a few millions. When HDB purchases services in bulk, it saves another few millions. These tens of millions can be put to better use for the people instead of feeding the PAP fat cats.

hsienloong

What this World and Singapore need is a balance of Power. Russia, China, India, North Korea serve as a balance to the Western Powers. Workers Party, SDP, NSP, SDA, Singfirst, PPP, and SPP needs to work harder in order restore a balance of Power in Singapore. Singaporeans should not just packed up their bags and leave, stay put and help realize a true Singaporean Dream.

blueRad

I disagree with you that the electorate don't think at all.

The cold hard truth is that opposition is simply not up to par with the PAP.

It isn't that the electorate didn't think but rather they thought hard about it and decided that PAP is still the best choice.

Just look the GenY. This is the generation that were supposedly more likely to vote for the opposition but the huge mandate that PAP got at 2015 was also possible with votes of young people.There were many GenY Millennials that openly supports the PAP on Facebook and sharing links from Calvin Cheng or FAP. A few are already doing grassroots with PAP MPs, helping them out in distributing food to the lower income and helping out at MPS sessions.

The ability to think about governance was actually a bane than a boon to the opposition.

Look at opposition figures like TJS and GMS. Always jumping from party to another. It's so obvious they are in politics to appease their ego. Or KJ's reform party with their out of tune populist policies. Then there is the looney fringe of Roy and HHH. WP is still being plagued by their TC issue.

Rhetorics and promises are easy to say during election but it is far harder to back those up.

The opposition needs to understand they cannot keep pandering to the core 30% of supporters. They need to understand the majority of sinkies don't give a shit about human rights or liberal democracy. Bread and butter will always be the main concern about for the majority of Singaporeans.

The only way that opposition can get into parliament is to be better than the PAP itself.

blueRad

What this World and Singapore need is a balance of Power. Russia, China, India, North Korea serve as a balance to the Western Powers. Workers Party, SDP, NSP, SDA, Singfirst, PPP, and SPP needs to work harder in order restore a balance of Power in Singapore. Singaporeans should not just packed up their bags and leave, stay put and help realize a true Singaporean Dream.

To be fair, I do believe that counterbalance is a good thing because it forces entities to compete and it is through competition that we improve ourselves. Tharman himself had said that a strong opposition is good for Singapore.

But the emphasis is on "strong". We don't have a strong opposition at all. Not even the WP is on par with PAP in terms of governance.

Jiuhookias who turned into sinkies mostly voted for PAP. Many of them hated living as 2nd class citizens under apartheid Malaysia.

In the 1970s, RM 1 was roughly equal to S$1. Today, S$1 is worth about RM 3. That tells you a lot about how PAP has managed Singapore these few decades, as compared to UMNO's Malaysia. You not happy, feel free to migrate to Malaysia or Indonesia. I hope your family doesn't get raped and slaughtered when it is time to make the chinks as scapegoat again. I don't think any of the Indon murderers and rapists were jailed.

Sinkapore survives at the pleasure of Indonesia. You better keep your arrogance in check.

To be fair, I do believe that counterbalance is a good thing because it forces entities to compete and it is through competition that we improve ourselves. Tharman himself had said that a strong opposition is good for Singapore.

But the emphasis is on "strong". We don't have a strong opposition at all. Not even the WP is on par with PAP in terms of governance.

We need a people's revolution to tear the PAP build system apart and start anew.

I disagree with you that the electorate don't think at all.

The cold hard truth is that opposition is simply not up to par with the PAP.

It isn't that the electorate didn't think but rather they thought hard about it and decided that PAP is still the best choice.

Thank you for illustrating the perfect example of what I am trying to say. Your's is the lazy thinking I am talking about with poor logic and failed reasoning. The lazy way is to simply say the opposition is not up to par and leave it at that, and justify voting the PAP. No analysis needed.

Consider this hypothetical situation I put to you. We are in the Olympic Games. We are in the finals of the 100m. There are sprinters from all over the world in this finals. Lets say we take the sprinter from Jamaica, and we break his leg and tie his arm behind him. When the starter gun goes off, the Jamaican sprinter, not unexpectedly, comes in dead last. We then point at him and loudly announce to the world that all Jamaicans cannot run, and that they are simply not up to par with the rest of sprinters. Fair or not? True or not?

This is what happens to singapore opposition. They are also similarly handicapped by lawsuits, bankruptcies, jail time, intimidation, etc. Not to mention other election shenanigans like gerry mandering, one sided press coverage, short campaign period so that they are not able to get their message out to the masses, etc. There are many bright and smart singaporeans. Many have simply left or are not bothered to put up with all the threats and intimidations. And then you have idiots like you who say they are not up to par? I can tell you one think. No opposition member has ever in the history of singapore lost $40 billion of our CPF money and national reserves. The PAP cannot say the same. Who is really on par here?

Again, you can ask "How can a black man, one of the most despised and distrusted race in the US, with no experience running anything bigger then his law firm, with no military or foreign policy experience, no experience in large scale finance and budget, not an economist by training, etc..........how can such a man run the most powerful country on earth? Surely, he is not up to par by your logic.