• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Xenophobia in Singapore

gingerlyn

Boss leong,
GDP alone is useless if you dont look at the bigger picture such as:
1) high ERP
2) high COE
3) high HDB
4) high medical care
5) 10% gst
6) high education cost
7) high cost of living

in Thailand, u earn 2000$ a month and you can live comfortably

TracyTan866

Boss leong,
1) high ERP
2) high COE
3) high HDB
4) high medical care
5) 10% gst
6) high education cost
7) high cost of living

purchasing power is important

Boss leong,
1) high ERP
2) high COE
3) high HDB
4) high medical care
5) 10% gst
6) high education cost
7) high cost of living

If Thailand is such a fantastic place, why do Thai girls have to become whores and sell their bodies to horny Sinkies?

gingerlyn

If Thailand is such a fantastic place, why do Thai girls have to become whores and sell their bodies to horny Sinkies?

very simple question.
it is because sinkie government legalises prostitution and turning this country to a prostitution heaven
If you read newspapers, almost everyday you can hear people complaining about prostitution.

禁艳女拉客
竖牌‘慰安街
http://wanbao.omy.sg/local/story20131020-14467

very simple question.
it is because sinkie government legalises prostitution and turning this country to a prostitution heaven
If you read newspapers, almost everyday you can hear people complaining about prostitution.

禁艳女拉客
竖牌‘慰安街
http://wanbao.omy.sg/local/story20131020-14467

If Sinkies are so anti prostitution, why do tens of thousands of sinkies log on to sammyboyforum.com daily?

gingerlyn

If Sinkies are so anti prostitution, why do tens of thousands of sinkies log on to sammyboyforum.com daily?

any proven statistics that those log on to sammyboyforum are truly sinkie? could they be hardcore labourers from India, Pakistan, China, Indonesia etc? as more and more people have access to smart phones

Logisex

The data shows otherwise. Singapore has shot ahead of many countries in the last 10 years...

The government has nothing to apologise for. Whatever they're doing it works very well.

http://emergenteconomics.com/2012/03/12/718/

MARCH 12, 2012

tags: Singapore

Just to reinforce how quickly the Singaporean economy has grown, here’s a graph showing GDP per capita since independence in US dollars taking into account inflation and the cost of living. According to these figures Singapore started out as poorer than the world average and overtook Britain in about 1990. The Asian crisis in the late 1990s had a temporary impact, as did the 2008 global financial crisis, but immediately after both these dips the economy resumed its onward march. The steepest part of the whole graph, incredibly, looks like it’s been in the past few years. It’s as if the economy immediately makes up lost ground after each downturn.

GDP per capita, PPP, constant 2000 US$

Data source: World Bank

The right-wing Heritage Foundation, an American think-tank, routinely ranks Singapore as one of the ‘most free’ economies in the world, meaning that public spending appears very low at about 20% of GDP. But this is a superficial reading of the data. If you delve beneath the surface at all, you discover that most land is government-owned and that income from leases go into government coffers. What’s more, super-expensive certificates of entitlement for cars add to government revenues, as do high alcohol and cigarette taxes. A forced savings scheme, the central provident fund, means that government has a ready pool of cash to call upon at cheap rates, and that it doesn’t have to rely so much on the international debt markets. Some commentators have even estimated that public revenues have been as high as 38.5% of GDP, amongst the highest in the world.

The former president, Devan Nair, wrote a book called Socialism That Works: The Singapore Way. In his book A Socialist Economy that Works, the first finance minister wrote: “Taking an overall view of Singapore’s economic policy, we can see how radically it differed from the laissez-faire policies of the colonial era”.

If you actually live in the country you soon discover that not much about the economy is ‘free’, whatever that means. Government linked corporations account for up to half of GDP, and the opaque political system means that Ministers can direct these corporations toward desired strategic areas.

Worth thinking about, in today’s climate of austerity and attempts to shrink government.

The GDP has gone up indeed but at what cost and who has benefited from it? Only those whose KPIs are tag to it.

The GDP has surpassed many countries but have the livability index perform just as well? Are our living conditions better than those countries whose GDP we have surpassed?

Are we also getting better quality FTs as the GDP sky rocketed? If the answer is no, then it must be the locals that has helped to push the GDP to such levels.

The GDP has gone up indeed but at what cost and who has benefited from it? Only those whose KPIs are tag to it.

It is up to each and every Singaporean to take advantage of the rise in prosperity. If they get left behind and they can't compete with the rest, you cannot blame the government for that. It is a failure of the individual for not adapting to the competitive environment.

Char_Azn

Boss leong,
1) high ERP
2) high COE
3) high HDB
4) high medical care
5) 10% gst
6) high education cost
7) high cost of living

Not sure where U get the idea that SG is expensive

1) high ERP - High meh? Still got so many drive into town.
2) high COE - Half of SG household owns a car. Obviously not high enough. In any case take public transport. My monthly EZ-Link top up is about $50 a month nia. Who ask U go buy car
3) high HDB - Compared to what. Home prices in comparable cities in places like Shanghai, London, New York, etc are higher than ours
4) high medical care - Get a Medisave-approved Integrated Insurance Plan, that's how KBW got a $8 heart surgury. Mine cost only $30 a month
5) 10% gst - U living in the same country. I just checked an hour ago still 7%
6) high education cost - High meh. We pay next to nothing from Pri - JC. Only Tertiary studies pay a bit more.
7) high cost of living - My monthly expense works out to about $1000 a month including at least 2 weekly restaurant meal, 1 visit to the cinema, 1-2 cab ride a week, and utility bills/phone bills. Public transport(including cab) works out to less than $100 a month. Meals work out to less than $15 a day(less than $10 if U don't eat big like me). I could afford to visit Australia for 3 weeks while still earning 2.5K a month. These days I can afford to travel further, longer and multiple trips a year(see my travelogue).

TracyTan866

any proven statistics that those log on to sammyboyforum are truly sinkie? could they be hardcore labourers from India, Pakistan, China, Indonesia etc? as more and more people have access to smart phones

LeongSam seems to be losing his coherence and is spraying his bullets all over

Not sure where U get the idea that SG is expensive

1) high ERP - High meh? Still got so many drive into town.
2) high COE - Half of SG household owns a car. Obviously not high enough. In any case take public transport. My monthly EZ-Link top up is about $50 a month nia. Who ask U go buy car
3) high HDB - Compared to what. Home prices in comparable cities in places like Shanghai, London, New York, etc are higher than ours
4) high medical care - Get a Medisave-approved Integrated Insurance Plan, that's how KBW got a $8 heart surgury. Mine cost only $30 a month
5) 10% gst - U living in the same country. I just checked an hour ago still 7%
6) high education cost - High meh. We pay next to nothing from Pri - JC. Only Tertiary studies pay a bit more.
7) high cost of living - My monthly expense works out to about $1000 a month including at least 2 weekly restaurant meal, 1 visit to the cinema, 1-2 cab ride a week, and utility bills/phone bills. Public transport works out to less than $100 a month. Meals work out to less than $15 a day(less than $10 if U don't eat big like me). I could afford to visit Australia for 3 weeks while still earning 2.5K a month. These days I can afford to travel further, longer and multiple trips a year(see my travelogue).

The problem with many anti PAP characters is that they have repeated their anti establishment mantras so many times they've actually started believing their own propaganda.