• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Wild Honey restaurant slammed for favoring foreigners, and what we can learn from it

Re: American expat: Singaporeans behave like ‘chimpanzees’ in the Singapore Zoo

You must be the luckiest guy.

There are 2 main reasons. Firstly local and FT staff tend to take care of foreigners is because of the tip. Many have no clue about the service charge or can't break the habit of tipping. A Singaporean will usually not tip. You see this kind of behavior in restaurants which has a mixed clientele. Another reason why some staff give in to foreigners is the inability to articulate themselves and prefer not to engage in a conversation. Local staff will tell you that Angmo tend to make special request all the time - no gluten, little salt, less sugar, less spicy, not to dry, not to wet, reject dish etc. Seat must be near window, don't bring this plate after 20 mins etc. To avoid all this, they just agree to anything to avoid any further pain.

Angmo is also not afraid to call management. Notice the younger of Singaporeans will not tolerate this nonsense. Look how Gary Tan wrote and then responded, cool as a cucumber. Ang Mo director now stuck.

We owe to our younger generation to speak where our generation has failed. We are only good at fighting with local Malays and Indians.

You should see how Singaporeans behave in SQ Business and first class, any incident keep quiet, other races have to speak up for them.

seriously when i was in singapore , i dont have any problem with singapore restaurant . they are very friendly towards me and my wife . whatever request i want ...i will get it .

Right, but haven't even order food already kena such 'present'. This already spoil the appetite oredi. But i am also doubtful about the diner. Somehow, i believe he also rude when requesting for the table. He probably demanded instead of requesting.

you are right bro ...some singaporean is very rude too .

You must be the luckiest guy.

There are 2 main reasons. Firstly local and FT staff tend to take care of foreigners is because of the tip. Many have no clue about the service charge or can't break the habit of tipping. A Singaporean will usually not tip. You see this kind of behavior in restaurants which has a mixed clientele. Another reason why some staff give in to foreigners is the inability to articulate themselves and prefer not to engage in a conversation. Local staff will tell you that Angmo tend to make special request all the time - no gluten, little salt, less sugar, less spicy, not to dry, not to wet, reject dish etc. Seat must be near window, don't bring this plate after 20 mins etc. To avoid all this, they just agree to anything to avoid any further pain.

Angmo is also not afraid to call management. Notice the younger of Singaporeans will not tolerate this nonsense. Look how Gary Tan wrote and then responded, cool as a cucumber. Ang Mo director now stuck.

We owe to our younger generation to speak where our generation has failed. We are only good at fighting with local Malays and Indians.

You should see how Singaporeans behave in SQ Business and first class, any incident keep quiet, other races have to speak up for them.

you are right about the tipping . bro , not only singaporean will not tip , most japanese also will not give tip . because in japan we dont have to give tips . bro , most japanese also will keep quiet if kenna any incident because they dont want to create any unwanted attention .

guess im always lucky .maybe because of how i behave and dress in public ( i dont want to sound howlian ) . human are very facist , if the first impression is bad ...then you will kenna condem . when i wanted something i always request politely . when you make ppl feel good about their job they will make you feel good too .

Honestly, i never run into such problems. Usually a polite request with a smile is all it takes.
My favorite table was taken in one of my regular restaurant. The supervisor not expecting me to turn up requested the diners to change table but i say no and go for another table. Sometimes, cannot to kay kow, very bad for the body. :wink:

you are right bro , we must be polite when we are requesting something . good post .

vamjok

this is very true, i can never understand how some people can be so rude to those service staff. when i was working part time to fund my studies, deep in the back of my head i was like what the fuck is wrong with these people (esp the rich kids). this is upbringing issue.

And most importantly, is the diner a regular of the restaurant or just a first timer to impress his date?

Restaurant will want to reserve some tables for their regulars.

Z

Zombie

I'm always friendly to the service staff, because I don't want extra ingredients in my food. :biggrin:

The govt had implemented the service charge to eliminate tipping. So, technically, receiving tips from an unsuspecting customer is cheating.

Also, some of the Ang Mo (tourists?) got screwed pretty bad in the lower levels of SLS. Blatant exploitation of a carrot head.
So, if there are Ang Mo lurkers here... good luck and welcome to Singapore.

Common lah, we already have 10% services charge to them, why must we tip somemore?

Nothing to do with being polite. As I said that you are lucky. Local staff can handle Singaporeans but not Ang Mos. They will always persuade the singaporean to take the 2 seater even when the request for the 3 seater is made politely. To avoid any possible confrontation with Ang MO and to avoid explaning, they will readily agree. Its human nature. There is a well known Senior Counsel called Kenneth Tan. His english is so powderful including the way he pronounces / intonation better than Queens English. He always gets what he wants. No intimidation at all. They are struck by his language competency that staff struggle to respond except to nod or say a quick yes. Another champion debater. Even Ang Mo struggle and feel intimidated by him.

About 15 years ago, there was move by many quarters to remove the service charge because the discrimination. They felt that like the US, serving staff will behave when they know 15% of the meal that is due to them is on the line. The Tourism authority turned it down. As we are a society that has lots of tourists and transient angmos, tipping is really big. We have to live with it.

you are right about the tipping . bro , not only singaporean will not tip , most japanese also will not give tip . because in japan we dont have to give tips . bro , most japanese also will keep quiet if kenna any incident because they dont want to create any unwanted attention .

guess im always lucky .maybe because of how i behave and dress in public ( i dont want to sound howlian ) . human are very facist , if the first impression is bad ...then you will kenna condem . when i wanted something i always request politely . when you make ppl feel good about their job they will make you feel good too .

A friend of mine used to be a restaurant manager at this 5 star hotel.. He once had to serve an Ambassador from an Arab country.. Happened that mornin that the Arab Camel's favourite table besides the window was taken up by another hotel guest.. The Arab was fuming mad and cursing in his native Arabic when the restaurant management lead him to another table..

Nothing to do with being polite. As I said that you are lucky. Local staff can handle Singaporeans but not Ang Mos. They will always persuade the singaporean to take the 2 seater even when the request for the 3 seater is made politely. To avoid any possible confrontation with Ang MO and to avoid explaning, they will readily agree. Its human nature. There is a well known Senior Counsel called Kenneth Tan. His english is so powderful including the way he pronounces / intonation better than Queens English. He always gets what he wants. No intimidation at all. They are struck by his language competency that staff struggle to respond except to nod or say a quick yes. Another champion debater. Even Ang Mo struggle and feel intimidated by him.

About 15 years ago, there was move by many quarters to remove the service charge because the discrimination. They felt that like the US, serving staff will behave when they know 15% of the meal that is due to them is on the line. The Tourism authority turned it down. As we are a society that has lots of tourists and transient angmos, tipping is really big. We have to live with it.

being polite is very important if you want favour from ppl . how do you feel if ppl want favour from you and he is rude toward you ? will you give him what he wants ? even if one speaks good angmo but if hes rude , i dont think ppl will give in to his request . all humans like to be treated with respect .

of course The Tourism authority turned it down . singapore goverment will not allow that to happen when money is concern .

vamjok

being polite is very important if you want favour from ppl . how do you feel if ppl want favour from you and he is rude toward you ? will you give him what he wants ? even if one speaks good angmo but if hes rude , i dont think ppl will give in to his request . all humans like to be treated with respect .

of course The Tourism authority turned it down . singapore goverment will not allow that to happen when money is concern .

this i agree actually, many of locals in terms of their manners they are really fuck up. some of them really think their fucking money very big. they really treat service staffs as slaves. i bet they are badly screw in their workplace and thus need to treat others like shit in order to feel good due to their inferior complexes

but seriously its not as bad as the korean, they are one hell of a bastard. ever serve them b4 and eat dinner with them b4, trust me, they really give the service staffs one hell of a time.

this i agree actually, many of locals in terms of their manners they are really fuck up. some of them really think their fucking money very big. they really treat service staffs as slaves. i bet they are badly screw in their workplace and thus need to treat others like shit in order to feel good due to their inferior complexes

but seriously its not as bad as the korean, they are one hell of a bastard. ever serve them b4 and eat dinner with them b4, trust me, they really give the service staffs one hell of a time.

yes , bro . i have seen a lot of rude singaporean behave in japan as a tourist ...i fuck them off in asakusa once in hokkien ...they fuckin surprise first time they thought im japanese yakuza ..hahahaha.

one group of singaporean tourist demand that they wanted to mix their rice cracker although the sign board already stated " 5 pieces of rice cracker is 1000yen ( same favour ) , cannot mix favour " . they kpkb say why cannot chose and pick different favour because all is same price . i talk to those sinkie first in japanese , then english , then hokkien . when i started to scold in hokkien and tell them do not create trouble because that area is control by japansese mafia ...they freak out ( i show them my tattoo and bluff them im a singaporean working for the yakuza ) ..they lan lan pay and go . :wink: .

I also don't like to create a scene. However if I feel that I am not treated fairly I will simply blacklist that business e.g. avoiding SIA:smile: If you have the money you can choose where you want to spend it. Obviously many businesses in Spore can discriminate against Sporeans & still get away with it. How else can you explain all the discrimination that goes on against Sporeans:(

yes...we can chose where to spend our money ...no point creating a scene . i personally think because theres many FT working in FnB and most of those so called FT are dicriminating against singaporean . most of the singaporean working in service line are ok .

Jlokta

Re: Wild Honey restaurant slammed for favoring foreigners, and what we can learn from

No dogs and sinkees allowed?

like that cannot, what if the 超 级 白 want to go there for meals?

should be "No dogs and peasant sinkies / mere mortal allowed". :biggrin:

lee6100

Re: Wild Honey restaurant slammed for favoring foreigners, and what we can learn from

Any business owner who practises discrimination should not be allowed to continue.

they dont want to tip is hidden income cant b tax by PAP..as if PAP really care for the ppl. Also restaurant owners will lose revenue..dont believe ask tat fuck wit besotted