• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Wild Honey restaurant slammed for favoring foreigners, and what we can learn from it

It was a bad day for Wild Honey, a popular all-breakfast restaurant in Mandarin Gallery, Singapore.

A customer named Gary Tan posted a complaint on the company’s Facebook Page alleging that he has been discriminated against.

Apparently, his request to get a corner table for three for himself and a guest was rejected. However, a foreigner that came in later was able to do the same. Think Rosa Parks, 21st Century version.

What really pissed people off, however, was the response from Guy Wachs, the restaurant’s founder. He said: “Dear sir, we have an international staff including many Singaporeans and respect all people. We deeply regret your remark (emphasis mine). Guy Wachs, Director.”

A screenshot was captured of the comments, which was apparently deleted. It caught fire on the forums (examples here and here) since yesterday:

wildhoneyforeigner-590.jpg

BOYCOTT!!!!! :mad::mad::mad:

RonRon

Re: Wild Honey restaurant slammed for favoring foreigners, and what we can learn from

Thanks for the post, I didn't know about this restaurant until the free publicity :smile: I will go there for my meal this weekend.

erection2015

Alfrescian (InfP) + C
Re: Wild Honey restaurant slammed for favoring foreigners, and what we can learn from

..... 'five minutes later' ...this guy should have queried the staff on why he couldnt get the table and then so soon after that the same table was released to

a foreigner. Strange that he didnt opt to address the issue straight off...preferring to post his grievience on the net instead.

erection2015

Alfrescian (InfP) + C

ah Ron ah...can bring me?

Thanks for the post, I didn't know about this restaurant until the free publicity :smile: I will go there for my meal this weekend.

u njoy kena discriminated! ... :eek:

Raiders

I remembered once, my boss took me to a restaurant to have dinner and there were no small table left. What was available were a few tables with a sitting capacity of 10. The captain told us to wait and my boss cooly told him this, "Let us occupy the (big) table. What we (the two of us) order will be more expensive than those tables with full 10 people"
That night I had one of the most expensive meal in my life :biggrin:

Satyr

Posting on the net is better. cost benefit ratio is more favourable than creating a fuss. The restaurant has a right to make their own policies (give ang mos preference). We have a right to know what they are and choose whether to patronize them or not. If you want to know what I think, the ang mo was given the table or else HE would have made a fuss. The restaurant staff knows Asians will just keep quiet.

No dogs and sinkees allowed?

erection2015

Alfrescian (InfP) + C

ah ok...i see your point. This kind of discrimination attempt happened to me before at a restaurant around coronation road. I decided not to let it pass.

I called for the manager and after some effort he managed to resolve the issue by talking to the angmo.

Posting on the net is better. cost benefit ratio is more favourable than creating a fuss. The restaurant has a right to make their own policies (give ang mos preference). We have a right to know what they are and choose whether to patronize them or not. If you want to know what I think, the ang mo was given the table or else HE would have made a fuss. The restaurant staff knows Asians will just keep quiet.

If the service is bad or if the product sucks, the best way to get back at them is to vote with your wallet and spread the word.

I've seen sales people fawning over Ang Mo customers (e.g. lower levels of Sim Lim Square)

http://www.soshiok.com/article/6366

http://www.wildhoney.com.sg/10/index.htm

Not impressed with a breakfast joint at a posh location. If you want to burn cash, hotel breakfast buffets offer better value, quality and variety.

Also, the number one rule with restaurants: if the menu tries to be all things to all people, it's probably not that authentic and not quite good.

But thanks for trying, Mr Wachs.

American expat: Singaporeans behave like ‘chimpanzees’ in the Singapore Zoo

[h=2]American expat: Singaporeans behave like ‘chimpanzees’ in the Singapore Zoo[/h]Posted by temasektimes on April 24, 2012
The ‘Wild Honey’ saga which sparked a massive outcry among Singaporeans appears to take another twist today with one American expat Rob Monaco making derogatory remarks about the behavior of Singaporeans.
One angry Singaporean Gary Tan posted on its Facebook asking why he was not given a corner table by the staff which subsequently was given to a foreigner who came after him:

[Source: Facebook]
Instead of addressing Gary’s concerns, Wild Honey’s director Guy Wachs rapped him for his complaint:
“We have an international staff including many Singaporeans and respect all people. We deeply regret your remark.”
However Rob Monaco who claimed to work in a multinational bank in Singapore defended ‘Wild Honey’ and felt its ‘discrimination’ was justified.
In a comment posted on Temasek Times, Rob wrote:
“The reason why restaurants and hotels discriminate against you is because your behaviour ranks somewhere in between pack wolves and chimpanzees are the local zoo. If you guys don’t smell so bad and learnt some manners, maybe they’ll treat you better.”

His outrageous comment prompted one Singaporean to challenge him to meet up:
“How about it Robert? This Wednesday 25.04.2012. Clarke Quay. At the water fountain. 10:30 p.m. Show up and tell me whatever you have said face to face. C’mon, surely you have the cojones to stand by your statements? You seem very self-assured and very self-confident. As it is oft said, you “talk the talk” but do you “walk the walk”? As you said, grow a pair of balls. Why don’t you show us that you can stand by what you say?”
There are no immediate response from Rob Monaco. Meanwhile ‘Wild Honey’ restaurant continues to ignore the controversy swirling around it as if nothing has happened.
Related articles:
Wild Honey restaurant slammed for favoring foreigners over locals
[h=3]Share this:[/h]

[h=3]Like this:[/h]Like
2 bloggers like this post.

erection2015

Alfrescian (InfP) + C
Re: American expat: Singaporeans behave like ‘chimpanzees’ in the Singapore Zoo

reads like what tonychat would write except that the english is better.

bro , what happen to your stone avatar ? you finish your packet of weed already ? :wink:

seriously when i was in singapore , i dont have any problem with singapore restaurant . they are very friendly towards me and my wife . whatever request i want ...i will get it .

Why dine there when not welcome there? Don't understand why some people die die must show they are more superior by dine in these place and make themself so cheap.

bro...i believe ppl go there for the food .

.........Also, the number one rule with restaurants: if the menu tries to be all things to all people, it's probably not that authentic and not quite good.

But thanks for trying, Mr Wachs.

426806_10150669478307138_826432137_9302218_893711858_n.jpg

Cedele breakfast actually quite nice, the breads are kept warm and you can eat as much as you want. But expect to pay average $15 for it, quite nice lah

bro...i believe ppl go there for the food .

Right, but haven't even order food already kena such 'present'. This already spoil the appetite oredi. But i am also doubtful about the diner. Somehow, i believe he also rude when requesting for the table. He probably demanded instead of requesting.

Honestly, i never run into such problems. Usually a polite request with a smile is all it takes.
My favorite table was taken in one of my regular restaurant. The supervisor not expecting me to turn up requested the diners to change table but i say no and go for another table. Sometimes, cannot to kay kow, very bad for the body. :wink: