• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Yaccob tries to defned his children--but fails

:confused: Anyone can throw some light on this?

"Citizenship by Being Born in the United States

In most situations, any child that is born in the United States or one of its territories will automatically receive American citizenship. However, children born to diplomats and other recognized government officials from foreign countries will not receive U.S. citizenship if born on American soil. You can learn more about this by looking through Title 8 of the U.S. Code."

And this

"Citizenship by Being Born to U.S. Citizens

In a number of situations, if you were born to parents, at least one of whom was a U.S. citizen at the time of your birth, you automatically gained U.S. citizenship through the process of acquisition. It does not matter whether you were born on American soil or foreign. As well, if you have children, those children will also acquire U.S. citizenship through you at their birth."

Did his wife give birth to them with he was in government?

Dun pretend lah... how can you ISD doggie stuffychute not know?

You can come up with links almost immediately when challenged, now bedek-bedek kah?

Did his wife give birth to them with he was in government?

Yacob's son is 16, which means he was born in 1995. Yacob became MP only in 1997. Even MP is not counted as government official.

In any case, it doesn't matter since the mother is an American. There is no "diplomatic official" exception to that situation.

GMS, I think you of all people should know ICA policy better. Dual citizenship is allowed for foreign born persons until the age of 21. After which they are forced to renounce either citizenship. The same questions arose for Xiao Yifei when she was awarded president's scholar.

Please read the Constitution properly. If you apply for the citizenship of the country of birth, you shall not be entitled to Singapore citizenship by descend:

http://statutes.agc.gov.sg/non_version/cgi-bin/cgi_getdata.pl?actno=1999-REVED-CONST&doctitle=CONSTITUTION%20OF%20THE%20REPUBLIC%20OF%20SINGAPORE%0A&date=latest&method=part&segid=931158660-002788

(2) A person born outside Singapore shall not be a citizen of Singapore by descent by virtue of clause (1) unless —

(a) his birth is registered in the prescribed manner at the Registry of Citizens or at a diplomatic or consular mission of Singapore within one year, or such longer period as the Government permits, after its occurrence; and

(b) he would not acquire the citizenship of the country in which he was born by reason of his birth in that country where —

(i) in the case of a person born before the date of commencement of section 7 of the Constitution of the Republic of Singapore (Amendment) Act 2004, his father is a citizen of Singapore by registration at the time of his birth; or

(ii) in the case of a person born on or after the date of commencement of section 7 of the Constitution of the Republic of Singapore (Amendment) Act 2004, either his father or mother is a citizen of Singapore by registration at the time of his birth.

Goh Meng Seng

The point is simple, how did his children ended up with dual citizenship in the first place? Are they born in Singapore or America? If they are born in Singapore, then apparently they would have to apply for American citizenship but why? If they are born in America, then by the Constitution, they are not eligible to be Singapore citizenship if they apply for the citizenship of the place of birth.

Goh Meng Seng

He needs to explain why his wife is NOT a Singapore citizen. Is there a Plan 'B' for the Yaacobs?
The remarks about his children being made fodder is idiotic - comments were made on Wikileaks and it is good that he is coming out to defend.

What sort of Minister in charge of muslim affairs when his own wife was not muslim for decades??? Methinks the muslim community must start to question this charlatan

The point is simple, how did his children ended up with dual citizenship in the first place? Are they born in Singapore or America? If they are born in Singapore, then apparently they would have to apply for American citizenship but why? If they are born in America, then by the Constitution, they are not eligible to be Singapore citizenship if they apply for the citizenship of the place of birth.

Goh Meng Seng

Spot on! As I said our law specifically disallow dual citizenship. Yaacob got special rights????

Re: Yaccob tries to defend his children--but fails

yacob is one...how many others are there having this situation?

We have 3 white horses of TT...dual citizenship of Yakult.

What sort of Minister in charge of muslim affairs when his own wife was not muslim for decades??? Methinks the muslim community must start to question this charlatan

Where did it state his wife not Muslim? Thot marriage to Muslim means non-Muslim must convert? This is Islamic law liao...transcend Sinkie law.

GMS, I think you of all people should know ICA policy better. Dual citizenship is allowed for foreign born persons until the age of 21. After which they are forced to renounce either citizenship. The same questions arose for Xiao Yifei when she was awarded president's scholar.

Why even bother to wait till 18 or 21 yrs to renounce US citizenship when it should be done upfront!....unless there is plan to run road & enjoy his millions in USA.

He just preached to our new citizens garbage he himself does not believe in............ just like PAP to us for decades!

Spot on! As I said our law specifically disallow dual citizenship. Yaacob got special rights????

sinkie children born in the u.s. can be registered by a sinkie parent with the embassy or a consulate office to be a sinkie citizen within 1 year of birth. before 2004, only the sinkie father was allowed to register the child, but after 2004 with the amendment in section 7, sinkie mother also can (too many spg's marry ang mo and run road). the kid will have to register for ns at 16.5 years and serve at 18. however, he can defer ns until 21 at which time he needs to renounce one of two citizenships, either sinkie or u.s. yes, he is a dual citizen until 21. if the kid goes back to sg for pubic school or gets a sinkie passport past 11 years of age, he is deemed to have "enjoyed" sinkie goodness provided for by pappies and therefore is subject to bondage and torture without the benefit of deferment and defacation. die die he has to serve until 21 where he can show his middle finger and fuck off with a celebratory renunciation party. or he can opt for more bondage and torture by not renouncing sinkie goodness. he doesn't have to renounce u.s. citizenship as he is forever a u.s. citizen by birth according to the principle of jus solis in the 14th amendment.

You are right but technically, this is in contradiction to the Constitution which has stated in no ambiguity that any child born in foreign land who has acquired the citizenship of the country of birth shall not enjoy the right to Singapore citizenship by descend.

Goh Meng Seng

You are right but technically, this is in contradiction to the Constitution which has stated in no ambiguity that any child born in foreign land who has acquired the citizenship of the country of birth shall not enjoy the right to Singapore citizenship by descend.

Goh Meng Seng

there is no contradiction if no lawyer nor judge in sg is able to navigate thru' its meandering maze and m&d with crystal clarity and authoritative acceptance from all sides of the legal and judicial profession. if there is no objection, case is dismissed. next!

Yacob's son is 16, which means he was born in 1995. Yacob became MP only in 1997. Even MP is not counted as government official.

In any case, it doesn't matter since the mother is an American. There is no "diplomatic official" exception to that situation.

In 1995 he was lecturer in NUS & surely active in PAP grassroots understudying Ahmad Mattar....
Watz his name? Barthelomew bin Yaacob??????????

Where did it state his wife not Muslim? Thot marriage to Muslim means non-Muslim must convert? This is Islamic law liao...transcend Sinkie law.

was it not in the news lately that she recently converted to islam????? why so long? were children registered as muslim in NRIC or BC or whatever? go to mosque??????????????????????

Not sure whether his children will enlist as white horse or unicorn.

Eh Ah Seng,

Just curious. Your wife is Hongky right? Is your child a HK PR/Citizen?

Please read the Constitution properly. If you apply for the citizenship of the country of birth, you shall not be entitled to Singapore citizenship by descend:

http://statutes.agc.gov.sg/non_vers...ate=latest&method=part&segid=931158660-002788

(2) A person born outside Singapore shall not be a citizen of Singapore by descent by virtue of clause (1) unless —

(a) his birth is registered in the prescribed manner at the Registry of Citizens or at a diplomatic or consular mission of Singapore within one year, or such longer period as the Government permits, after its occurrence; and

(b) he would not acquire the citizenship of the country in which he was born by reason of his birth in that country where —

(i) in the case of a person born before the date of commencement of section 7 of the Constitution of the Republic of Singapore (Amendment) Act 2004, his father is a citizen of Singapore by registration at the time of his birth; or

(ii) in the case of a person born on or after the date of commencement of section 7 of the Constitution of the Republic of Singapore (Amendment) Act 2004, either his father or mother is a citizen of Singapore by registration at the time of his birth.

Goh Meng Seng