World Cup Qualifying Live Update: S'pore Vs Iraq

There seems to be a lack of footballing intelligence, I think. I rather they switch back to the old style of kick-and-chase. Sinkies just don't have the skill to pass the ball on the ground or the defensive nous to organise a defence. Best is to just put 8 man behind the ball, no need to bother with defensive positioning. FAS should sack Raddy and bring in Tony Pulis. :)
True, Raddy shld be sacked!

Our players are simply not good enough.... physically, skills, teamworks.... alamak.......

spend so much money to disgrace the whole team and yet still not good enough... SInkies.... money isn't everything... Pride and integrity too.

i guess your sinkie govt just do not understand this.

spend so much money to disgrace the whole team and yet still not good enough... SInkies.... money isn't everything... Pride and integrity too.

Shut up lah chao ah gua, who cares about what you think? LOL

err...ur beloved Thailand team..playing who?

They've just beaten Oman actually. :D

Thailand beat Oman 3:0. My Thai girlfriend in Bangkok was SMSing like hell just now everytime Thailand scored.

spend $$ on angmo and ah tiong players still lose, might as well just get local players who may also lose but at least save some $$.

Lions my ass... pussy cats also better than them. pui..pui...

japan as nos 1 in asia, nearly loses to Uzbeks

Japan, Uzbekistan draw in World Cup qualifier
The Associated Press Last Updated: Sep 6, 2011 3:20 PM ET Read 0 Comments0 Recommend this0
Shinji Okazaki scored a second-half equalizer to secure a 1-1 draw for Japan against Uzbekistan in a World Cup qualifier on Tuesday.

Bahodir Nasimov headed the ball on for Server Djeparov to fire past Japan goalkeeper Eiji Kawashima from 10 yards out after eight minutes.

Okazaki equalized with a diving header in the 64th from Atsuto Uchida's pinpoint cross.

The result leaves both teams on four points in Asian qualifying Group C, and extends Japan coach Alberto Zaccheroni's unbeaten record to 15 matches since taking over last year.

Uzbekistan controlled the pace for most of the match, as Asian Cup champion Japan struggled against much lower-ranked opponents.

Japan was again without standout midfielder Keisuke Honda, who was unable to play because of a right knee injury he picked up playing for CSKA Moscow on Aug. 28.

After Djeparov opened the scoring, Uzbekistan nearly doubled its advantage in the 16th minute through a Victor Karpenko lob that Kawashima only just managed to tip away.

Japan came close to equalizing when Tadanari Lee's left-foot strike hit the post in the first half.

Okazaki made no mistake in the 64th and Japan almost stole a winner in the 72nd but Uzbekistan goalkeeper Ignatiy Nesterov made a good save from Shinji Kagawa.

Japan's next qualifier will be against Tajikistan in Osaka on Oct. 11, while Uzbekistan travels to Pyongyang to take on North Korea the same day.

Asian groups

Iraq got its World Cup qualifying campaign back on track with a 2-0 away win at Singapore on Tuesday, as did North Korea with a 1-0 home victory over Tajikistan and Thailand with a 3-0 win against Oman.

Iran drew with Qatar 1-1.

Bahrain swept past Indonesia 2-0 while Lebanon left the United Arab Emirates' World Cup hopes in tatters after it defeated the Gulf team 3-1.

Iraq, coached by former Brazil great Zico, suffered an upset home defeat by Jordan on the opening match day last Friday, but made up for that with a much-needed win at Singapore.

The Iraqis controlled play throughout the game, missing several close-range chances in the first half. It kept the pressure on at the start of the second half and broke through in the 50th minute when striker Alaa Abdul-Zahra headed home.

Captain Younis Mahmoud sealed the visitor's win with a second goal in the 86th minute.

Iraq has three points from two games, while Singapore — which lost 2-1 at China on Friday — has no points.

North Korea also took its first points of the campaign by defeating Tajikistan in Pyongyang. North Korea, which qualified for the 2010 World Cup, had been cruelly denied an impressive away draw at Japan in its opening game, conceding the sole goal deep into stoppage time.

North Korea's winner came from Pak Nam Chol in the 14th minute and the hosts then used their trademark strong defence to maintain the advantage.

The win gave North Korea three points from two games, while Tajikistan —which only advanced to this stage after Syria was disqualified for fielding an ineligible player in the previous round —has lost both its games.

Thailand was another team eager to make up for defeat on the opening day and maintained that good form by beating Oman 3-0 on Tuesday.

The biggest hurdle Thailand faced was visiting goalkeeper Ali Al-Habsi of Premier League club Wigan, but Sompong Soleb beat him in the 35th minute, and striker Teerasil Dangda doubled the advantage in the 41st.

Oman, coached by Paul LeGuen, could not cut the deficit and an own-goal in stoppage time in the second half by Rashid al Farsi completed the scoring.

Thailand has three points from two games while Oman, which drew 0-0 at home with Saudi Arabia in its opening game, has one.

Teenage midfielder Sayed Dhiya Saeed put visiting Bahrain just before halftime and Ismaeel Abdullatif netted the second goal in the 71st.

Having been held to a scoreless home draw by Qatar in its opening game, Bahrain has four points from two games in Group E and its early form suggests the potential repeat of the previous World Cup campaign when the small Gulf nation went all the way to the intercontinental playoff against New Zealand for the last spot in South Africa.

i guess singapore never going to world cup, if pap thinks FT is solution to everything under the sun.

Thailand was another team eager to make up for defeat on the opening day and maintained that good form by beating Oman 3-0 on Tuesday.

The biggest hurdle Thailand faced was visiting goalkeeper Ali Al-Habsi of Premier League club Wigan, but Sompong Soleb beat him in the 35th minute, and striker Teerasil Dangda doubled the advantage in the 41st.

compare to

Thats it... All Nippon Ref blew for the final whistle... Final score.. Iraq beat Spore by 2 goals to nil... A dissapointed trip to the stadium for our VVIP Tony Tan... We shall see more of of him attending football games at the Jalan Besar stadium from now on.... Thanks alot to all Bros for your contributions in this thread... A trip to Rio in 2014 looks impossible now for the Lions.. Thank you all once again.. Goodnite..

Spore 0 - 2 Iraq

Final score...

check my signature!!!!

Who the fuck give care
Who care give the fuck
Who give care the fuck
Who the give care fuck
Who give the fuck care

of what you think

Thats it... All Nippon Ref blew for the final whistle... Final score.. Iraq beat Spore by 2 goals to nil... A dissapointed trip to the stadium for our VVIP Tony Tan... We shall see more of of him attending football games at the Jalan Besar stadium from now on.... Thanks alot to all Bros for your contributions in this thread... A trip to Rio in 2014 looks impossible now for the Lions.. Thank you all once again.. Goodnite..

Spore 0 - 2 Iraq

Final score...

sinkie's hard truth. pay so much tax money on FT players and that is as far as sinkies can go and in the expense of sinkie's integrity and pride. wahhahah!!! I am right to stay away from sinkies.

They've just beaten Oman actually. :D

Thailand is one of the best team in SEA.

For Singapore, we need to be consistently beating Thailand before we realistically look at progressing further.

Just take this as a experience gathering trip...until we can claim to be king of SEA then we look further to progress.

Thailand is one of the best team in SEA.

For Singapore, we need to be consistently beating Thailand before we realistically look at progressing further.

Just take this as a experience gathering trip...until we can claim to be king of SEA then we look further to progress.

King of SEA and made up of UN players.. wahhahahahahh!!!!!!! and at the moment with UN players, still cannot make it??? What the fuck is wrong?

thnks to the FT policies. U thailand oso have FT coach what...LOL

It was painfully obvious we were missing the 2 China born players last night. Qiu Li was out of sorts during the first half we look more dangerous when Shi Jiayi came in during the 2nd. The attack was going nowhere until he came in and we seriously need Haris Harun back. Our team has no bench strength. No major complains about last night, Iraq just outclass us. They look far stronger then China