• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Warning Letter from Traffice Police

Hans168

Got a letter from traffic police advising that their officer on patrol noted that I sped at 64 kph along Orchard B,,,,
ard 8 am. It further advised that I cud be fined "$130 plus 4 demerit points" but I am let off with this warning letter.

First reaction was: wah so kind of the police! However on second thot, why would 64 kph at 8 am (not much vehicular traffic nor pple traffic...) be a concern much less traffic offence? Further time and money is wasted in sending me the warning letter as no sensible motorist would regard 64 kph at that time, "speeding"! Clearly we have traffic police paid to do stupid things. Shouldn't they be catching bike and motorised bikes cycling in opposite direction to traffic flow which is a rampant problem? Also cycling along pedestrian paths?? How about bikers using zebra crossing? AND motorists esp taxis not switching on their indicator lights which is now a bloody big problem NOW?

Clearly a fine of $130 & 4 demerit points is either wrong in "sentencing" or very severe for a small infraction like above. So what is the point of threatening this motorist with clean record?

Want to catch traffice cops in action? Go to their HQ in Ubi Rd & see them shakin balls or twiddling their thumbs in full aircond comfort while their chores are performed by contractor traffic warden!!

Like that,,,,,,,,,, is there still a need for traffic police?

For whatever intention the letter was to serve, it backfired as any little respect I had for them is gone!

wahlaneh...
year-end appraisal n bonus coming liao mah so must wayang abit score some points also good mah. :D

Got a letter from traffic police advising that their officer on patrol noted that I sped at 64 kph along Orchard B,,,,
ard 8 am. It further advised that I cud be fined "$130 plus 4 demerit points" but I am let off with this warning letter.

First reaction was: wah so kind of the police! However on second thot, why would 64 kph at 8 am (not much vehicular traffic nor pple traffic...) be a concern much less traffic offence? Further time and money is wasted in sending me the warning letter as no sensible motorist would regard 64 kph at that time, "speeding"! Clearly we have traffic police paid to do stupid things. Shouldn't they be catching bike and motorised bikes cycling in opposite direction to traffic flow which is a rampant problem? Also cycling along pedestrian paths?? How about bikers using zebra crossing? AND motorists esp taxis not switching on their indicator lights which is now a bloody big problem NOW?

Clearly a fine of $130 & 4 demerit points is either wrong in "sentencing" or very severe for a small infraction like above. So what is the point of threatening this motorist with clean record?

Want to catch traffice cops in action? Go to their HQ in Ubi Rd & see them shakin balls or twiddling their thumbs in full aircond comfort while their chores are performed by contractor traffic warden!!

Like that,,,,,,,,,, is there still a need for traffic police?

For whatever intention the letter was to serve, it backfired as any little respect I had for them is gone!

They perform a very important function

To open roads and look out for the road safety of our ministers and VVIPs.

wahlaneh...
year-end appraisal n bonus coming liao mah so must wayang abit score some points also good mah. :D

Yeah my wife, a civil servant, also said that!
WTF we are now a nation of wayang pple

hahaha...bro hans, it appears that u have not got a summon for a long time.
for some strange reasons, I got summonned quite often.
U should thank your lucky stars that they gave u a warning letter and not a summon.

$130 and 4 demerit points are the min for speeding offences.
For those who don't know, traffic fines in Sinkapore are quite heavy.
Worst if you are booked for certain offences or driving above 1.5X speed limit, u go to court and queue up in line to be sentenced; no chance to even pay compond fine.

What we can complained is the rediculously low speed limit set in some of our roads. Just to refresh, if there is no speed signboards, the speed limit is 50km/h, nvm if it is 4 lane and not even an ant in sight.

Tracy sped on PLUS and look how traumatised she is by the police there. :eek:

Was fined $170 and 12 points for going 115km along
PIE some where after Toa Payoh towards Jurong.
Few months later served with a warning letter for
going 79km along Kallang Basin towards City.
Some of the expressways are fixed with permanent
speed trapped camera.

Was fined $170 and 12 points for going 115km along
PIE some where after Toa Payoh towards Jurong.
Few months later served with a warning letter for
going 79km along Kallang Basin towards City.
Some of the expressways are fixed with permanent
speed trapped camera.

That stretch is camera so big, got sign put 80. Normally exceed below 20km no problem. But you exceed by 35km/h, that's why higher.

Last time I on PIE, few cars in front of me flying on 1st lane, TP don't catch them, catch me, ask me go shoulder. He say I speeding. I ask him by how much. He say 113km/h. Exceed by 23km/h but actually close to 20km/h wouldn't kenna summon also. So its the 3km/h. Moral of the story, next time don't be slowest, must be faster than the cars in front, as the slowest get caught :D kena 4 pts and $100+ fine.

And to TS, if you think traffic police give warning is wayang, I advise you to send in your warning letter and ask them give you a summon instead. Give warning still complain so much. ;)

silve And to TS said:
You are happy that TP wasted time n resources to warn a motorist doing 64 kph ard 8am on a clear road? Would you like to pay my taxes too? I won't complain if you did but since my taxes go towards paying a bunch of monkeys in TP, I have all the right to complain.:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

hahaha...i take it as u r joking.

You sure 64 kph or not? Don't understate your speed just to win sympathy here leh. As far as I can recall, Orchard Road speed limit should be more than 60kph. If you think you have not done anything wrong, you should write to them to ask for explanation.

Early in the morning and no traffic are not excuses for speeding. You mean if I see the expressway no cars in the middle of the night, I can speed?

Just thank your lucky stars that TP decided to give you a warning instead of a fine. The TPs of the yesteryears will not hesitate to give summons. Nowadays still got give chance first... still complain?

Since you are complaining the TP are wasting resources to issue you warning and not give summons, then please go to traffic police dept and tell them they are wasting resources and should issue you summon right away.

Speeding still have to see time? 8am clear road means can speed?

They are indeed monkeys. They should have shoved you with a summon instead of giving you a warning letter.

So next time do the decent thing and challenge them. Morning 8am go and speed above 64km/h and then scan your summon here for us to see. Like that I say you good. No point you challenge them and type your complaint here.

Don't ever think they are wasting time and resources to warn motorist of speeding. One day we never know if its one of our friends or family members walking on that road with motorists dangerously speeding at 8am in the morning.

This is the weirdest complain i've ever seen.

In the first place there is nothing to respect about SG police. Then you have a weirdo who needs to be issued a real summon instead of warning. Reason? He was exceeding speed limit at 8am!

Jesus Christ.

This is the weirdest complain i've ever seen.

In the first place there is nothing to respect about SG police. Then you have a weirdo who needs to be issued a real summon instead of warning. Reason? He was exceeding speed limit at 8am!

Jesus Christ.

He is complaining just to avoid the $$$ and demerit points. He has no basis whatsoever.

A few weeks ago I was changing expressway from AYE to CTE and havent even enter CTE officially but speed was like 70km/hour when this TP in bike appeared out of nowhere and braked, alighted and started blowing whistler and point to my car and a few cars behind to STOP!!

He did not want us to enter the expressway but it was toooo late.. I cant stop in time and so continue driving. A cab behind me stopped but later switched his mind when some VIPs travelled from the main road and past us.. The TP also Lan Lan cant do anything.

Someone need to tell these shitheads, esp the Ministers that they are not Sultans. Once Teo Chee Hean's security Volvo XC90 cut into my lane in Bukit Timah while heading to his workplace in Mindeag through Upper Bukit Timah Road/Hume Ave/Hillview road all of a sudden to PREVENT me from overtaking their convoy. The dickheads inside were STARING at me.

What shit.

And they are still doing this EVERY DAY because this is their route to work

A lowly sinkie like you should just swallow it. He's the defense minister and a admiral. Who are you??? :oIo:

If you drive an expensive car, they might give you some respect! Obviously you don't!

A lowly sinkie like you should just swallow it. He's the defense minister and a admiral. Who are you??? :oIo:

If you drive an expensive car, they might give you some respect! Obviously you don't!

Which war did the Admiral fight in or engaged in or involved in??:rolleyes: