• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

things you miss from the past?

That's where I had my many 'churi-makan' too. I used to take the room facing the small pool.

Ladyhill quite similar to the hotel along Balmoral. Can't recall name of hotel. But half its room also pool view. If turn left from Dunearn Rd, hotel is on the left. There is another on the opposite side. Serves great food. Run by Hainanese. No swimming pool but big carpark in front of hotel.

I may be wrong about Hai Yan!!!

Are you refering the one close to Mohan's Dept Store.

On the ground floor. It was called MUCHO MU CHACHA
OK, let me recall, it should be somewhere in presentday Ngee Ann City/Wisma Atria. One of the places where Taiwanese singers/actress performed.

Ladyhill quite similar to the hotel along Balmoral. Can't recall name of hotel. But half its room also pool view. If turn left from Dunearn Rd, hotel is on the left. There is another on the opposite side. Serves great food. Run by Hainanese. No swimming pool but big carpark in front of hotel.

Ok, baru recall. I think it is Garden Hotel.

Fishypie

Ok, baru recall. I think it is Garden Hotel.

Either this hoteL have been torn down, or sLated for major revamp.Was there some months ago, it was in totaL ruins ! LuckiLy me managed to get a room at the nearby BaLmoraL hoteL.:wink:
SmaLL famiLy owned hoteL run by a Mr.Tan.Great food and reasonabLe room rates.Try it bro next time..

nato33

Ladyhill quite similar to the hotel along Balmoral. Can't recall name of hotel. But half its room also pool view.

Its the Balmoral Hotel. Old styled building. It has a high atrium and you can see entrances to the rooms from the lobby. Not quite safe place to churi makan :cool:

Either this hoteL have been torn down, or sLated for major revamp.Was there some months ago, it was in totaL ruins ! LuckiLy me managed to get a room at the nearby BaLmoraL hoteL.:wink:
SmaLL famiLy owned hoteL run by a Mr.Tan.Great food and reasonabLe room rates.Try it bro next time..

Is Balmoral hotel the one that is still in 'original' condition? Coffee house at lobby? I once had a memorable session in a hotel room there. Mosaic tiles in room or toilet. Never upgraded type. Black and white building?

I checked-in to a room there after chionging a Japanese club in the 90s. Was after 3am. After bonking, too tired. Fell asleep. Knna, woke up and wanted to chaboke but heavy rain outside. Borrowed umbrella from hotel staff. When spouse asked, told her 'police ops' the previous night. But had to apply urgent leave from office coz was too late to report for work. Always recall this incident whenever I drive along Balmoral Rd.

Its the Balmoral Hotel. Old styled building. It has a high atrium and you can see entrances to the rooms from the lobby. Not quite safe place to churi makan :cool:

Same hotel had East Europeans conducting vice activities there years ago. I think a small church used to conduct its services there too.

Any bros recall City Shuttle bus number 3 that used to go through Balmoral Rd and end at Whampoa? Yellow coloured buses. 1970s.

Fishypie

Is Balmoral hotel the one that is still in 'original' condition? Coffee house at lobby? I once had a memorable session in a hotel room there. Mosaic tiles in room or toilet. Never upgraded type. Black and white building?

I checked-in to a room there after chionging a Japanese club in the 90s. Was after 3am. After bonking, too tired. Fell asleep. Knna, woke up and wanted to chaboke but heavy rain outside. Borrowed umbrella from hotel staff. When spouse asked, told her 'police ops' the previous night. But had to apply urgent leave from office coz was too late to report for work. Always recall this incident whenever I drive along Balmoral Rd.
Guessed you got it wrong.Seems to me it's SLoane Court hoteL.The hoteL with the Long Lawn and the retro Lifts.
Hainanese waiters that Looked Like my grandfather...:wink:

Guessed you got it wrong.Seems to me it's SLoane Court hoteL.The hoteL with the Long Lawn and the retro Lifts.

Tiok liao. Kum sia. Sloane Court hotel. Lau liao. Memory fading. Hope later also TIOK - beh pio.

yinyang

SLoane Court hoteL.The hoteL with the Long Lawn and the retro Lifts.
Had many pints there with angmohs there, as they liked the colonial atmosphere and western menu (truth be told, average only). Good ikan bilis to go with draughts in old pimpled fat glasses. Room rates displayed at reception also included 'hourly' then. Was there 2/3 years ago, hardly changed still.

Garden Hotel had a upstairs pool, with sun church service.

Fishypie

Had many pints there with angmohs there, as they liked the colonial atmosphere and western menu (truth be told, average only). Good ikan bilis to go with draughts in old pimpled fat glasses. Room rates displayed at reception also included 'hourly' then. Was there 2/3 years ago, hardly changed still.

Garden Hotel had a upstairs pool, with sun church service.
SmaLL restaurant but cosy, very Laid back..that pLace make you seems Like you're back to the 60's.:smile:

Merl Haggard

It's the Garden Hotel which was developed by Mr Vincent Yong, a prominent stockbroker in S'pore in the 70's & 80's.

Vincent was one hell of a gambler and in the late 80's he died after having a severe heart attack on the baccarat table in Atang Latif's casino in Jakarta.

After Vincent's death, his widow, the Registrar of the Land Titles Office sold the hotel to Alice Chua, a family member of the Cycle & Carriage group.

I believe after Alice Chua's passing six years ago, the property has been sold to some developer for redevelopment into a block of luxurious apartments.

It's the Garden Hotel which was developed by Mr Vincent Yong, a prominent stockbroker in S'pore in the 70's & 80's.

Vincent was one hell of a gambler and in the late 80's he died after having a severe heart attack on the baccarat table in Atang Latif's casino in Jakarta.

After Vincent's death, his widow, the Registrar of the Land Titles Office sold the hotel to Alice Chua, a family member of the Cycle & Carriage group.

I believe after Alice Chua's passing six years ago, the property has been sold to some developer for redevelopment into a block of luxurious apartments.

Noted. Thank you.

verlioux

Any bros recall City Shuttle bus number 3 that used to go through Balmoral Rd and end at Whampoa? Yellow coloured buses. 1970s.

Yeah, turned into Balmoral Rd from Stevens Rd and went all the way through Chancery Lane until coming out at Thomson nr Novena. Used to take it for fun last time just to enjoy the leafy journey, but always confused it with CSS bus number 5