• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The Doctor is in:

i realised many of you have a misunderstanding here that we are not able to know fully our body because we did not fully know the genome of human. this is a bit technical, but for education purpose if you want to know... carry on reading.

actually we already politically finished (declared by the politicians, till at later date everyone dig out the shit that it is actually unfinished) mapping the DNA genome of human (actually about 2 percent unfinished and those 2 are the tough nuts to crack). more or less we can traced what happened at genome to transcriptome level if we want. technically doable.

but in recent years, its discovered that many disease are actually epigenetic related, nothing got to do with mutation at the genome. it has more got to do with acetylation, phosphorylation, methylation of histones groups that is warping the chromosome. these epigenetic modification affects genes regulations - making of certain protein or suppression of it. that in terms give rises/maybe give a mechanism of cure to certain disease. epigenetic gives a plastic views of gene regulation that can accounts for environmental factors, like how the environments affects the acetylation, phosphorylation, methylation of histones proteins.

the unknown portion here to us is to know and understand the epigenetic pattern of these histone proteins, healthy vs disease. technically its difficult, eg need to find and developed specific antibodies to recognise those sites we want to study for enrichment.

this the summary

bow.

I'm glad you asked. If you've winds, bloatiness and flatulence at all times of the day, you could be having a gastric reflux.
For example, if you've heartburn or pain that moves around your body and after some days, subside, but you know it's still
there in your body, then you could be having GERD. Now, GERD is dangerous and may lead to cancer of the osophegus and
must be treated with specialized gastric reflux medication. See a doctor.

Using charcoal is treating the symptoms and not the source. If charcoal can cure you, then Actal or any similar products from
Guardian can do so too. Guardian also sell charcoal, but in the remote chance, you could be suffering from gastritis, which culminates
in reflux symptoms, it is time to see a doctor and tell him to treat you for GERD. Google GERD for more info.

Thanks bro for your invaluable advise.I am sure mine's not due to gastrtis; more likely due to smokes' & drinks' factor, which till now i have yet to identify which's the bigger culprit..:cool:

I'm NOT going to start a health Q & A section for the simple reason that I'll be driven round the bend by freakin proponents of Chinese voodoo cures otherwise known as TCM.... bullshit talk about heaty and cooling crap and moronic grandmother stories about how to cure various ailments... all with no scientific foundation, zero evidence that the mumbo jumbo works, no double blind testing and no peer reviews.

It boggles the mind that in the 21st century where the understanding of how the world and the human body works has improved by leaps and bounds and where we have mapped the whole human genome, the absolute bullshit that is TCM can still flourish. It simply proves how dumb the majority of the human race is.

Whatever our different perceptions are; many thanks Boss for suscribing to this Thread..

Wouldn't this Forum be complete if Sam can create such a Sub-folder for people with questions & issues pertaining to health matters ?..;)
Either one can choose to be the Expert in answering the queries, esp if you a have knowledge on a forummer's issue; or you can be the one who's asking for opinions..:)
Boss, what says you ?..

This is sure gd business as there are lots of lau ah pek in this forum with health issue all need advices :D

dr vampok you very cheem to understand....maybe genes play an important part in most of our metabolism...

but again we need to take care of our own body too....okay, you have one diseased gene waiting to kill you...but you also have a modifying gene...a trigger gene....an instigating gene....a helpful gene and so on.....all these deadly genes will kill ONLY IF they are triggered by SOMETHING that is harmful to the body. take for example, smoking....the poison inside the cigarette will trigger the cancer gene to instigate the lung cells to go cancerous or the stomach cells to turn cancerous....and other triggers....

so my humble take is this: live a life of quiet and peaceful moderation. no smoke,no drinks, no excessive intake of meat, no milk, a simple spartan vegetarian diet, plenty of exercises...and good old fashioned wholesome and enjoyable sex...plus a high dose of mindfulness and peace within yourself....i am sure others can add more.

There could well be a scientific basis for some TCM claims. If there is evidence that a particular compound works in curing certain ailments, by all means prove it scientifically via a double blind test regimen and it can then be incorporated into mainstream medicine.

The effectiveness or otherwise of TCM is not found in its scientific dissertation but in its empirical efficacy (or otherwise). You therefore need modern scientific research to determine how effective the TCM treatment is. Even TCM practitioners dare not recommend you to abandon a modern medical treatment if one is available for a critical illness. Under such cases, they will only recommend TCM as a supplement to ease the pain or reduce the side effects of medical treatment.

The claim that TCM has no side effect is a myth. If it has less discomfort on the body, it is because the dosage of active components in the herbal treatment is lower than refined medicine. On the other hand, there are a lot of other active components in the natural herbs that do not contribute to curing the illness but can potentially bring harm if taken in large quantity. But if you don't consume in large quantity how else can you recover from your illness in a short time?

Because of so much of unknown properties in the herbs that you find contradicting concepts like false heatiness or false coldness in herbs which are otherwise not false in any of these properties.

Old Remedies That Actually Work!

1. Yogurt cures bad breath

Studies have shown that live bacteria in sugar free yogurt can suppress levels of bad breath-causing bacteria. If the bad bacteria can't survive, your breath smells sweeter.

2. Olive oil cures Eczema

Olive oil is rich in vitamin E, so it's a great skin moisturizer. Apply extra virgin, unrefined olive oil to your skin after showering, while your skin is still damp. The olive oil seals in moisture and helps soothe painful Eczema

3. Duct tape cures warts

Duct tape: Is there anything it can't do? Some people would go to great lengths to have warts removed. Typically, painful options like cryotherapy, acid preparations, laser therapy, heat, and tape occlusion are the treatment of choice, but even cryotherapy (burning the wart off with liquid nitrogen) has only a 60% success rate. Comparably, the painless practice of applying a small piece of duct tape seems to provide about an 85% success rate.

Simply apply a small piece of duct tape to the wart and leave it on for a week. Then wash the area and use a pumice stone to scour the affected area, and reapply the tape for another week. Repeat until the wart is gone.

4. Biting on a pencil cures headaches

Tension headaches can often arise from unconsciously clenching your jaw. Gently holding a pencil between your teeth forces your jaw muscles to relax, easing your headache.

5. Vodka cures stinky feet

Wipe your feet with a vodka-soaked rag to eliminate foot odor. Vodka contains alcohol, an antiseptic that is very drying. Alcohol destroys odor-causing fungus and bacteria and dries out the moisture that lets these organisms grow.

6. Tomatoes cure acne

Tomatoes have a lot of vitamins C and A, antioxidants and acidic content, so they can be used to treat a variety of minor skin ailments. This cure is especially good for oily skin. Mash one small tomato into a pulp, then spread the pulp on your face and let it sit for one hour. Wash it off with tepid water and pat dry. Repeat once a day for a week.

7. Sugar stops the hiccups

Hiccups are annoying, but now you can stop them within one minute simply by swallowing a teaspoon full of dry sugar. Experts believe that the sudden sweetness on the tongue overloads the nerve endings in the mouth and stops the hiccup spasm.
Read more at http://www.oddee.com/item_98376.aspx#95QQhER5FsTR0Wha.99

dr vampok you very cheem to understand....maybe genes play an important part in most of our metabolism...

but again we need to take care of our own body too....okay, you have one diseased gene waiting to kill you...but you also have a modifying gene...a trigger gene....an instigating gene....a helpful gene and so on.....all these deadly genes will kill ONLY IF they are triggered by SOMETHING that is harmful to the body. take for example, smoking....the poison inside the cigarette will trigger the cancer gene to instigate the lung cells to go cancerous or the stomach cells to turn cancerous....and other triggers....

so my humble take is this: live a life of quiet and peaceful moderation. no smoke,no drinks, no excessive intake of meat, no milk, a simple spartan vegetarian diet, plenty of exercises...and good old fashioned wholesome and enjoyable sex...plus a high dose of mindfulness and peace within yourself....i am sure others can add more.

that why i did that so call chim passage out. epigenetic is not related to mutation at genome level, which is a common misunderstanding that a lot of things like disease are cause by mutation of dna, which in current modern view of science, is wrong.

actually what i did was to summarise out the important points and leave out the rest of the unimportant ones. this version i believe is the simplest and the best i could do, for the sake of at least knowing the general view what is really going on without going into too deep.

My BP is 147/99 w/o medications.Am on regular daily dosages of 50mg Atenolol per day for the last couple of years.
Would like to do away with these dreadful medications one day..any suggestions on working toward this path..
Btw, i was told by my Physician that mine's a heredity condition, which is even harder to eradicate; true ?..:*:

My BP is 147/99 w/o medications.Am on regular daily dosages of 50mg Atenolol per day for the last couple of years.
Would like to do away with these dreadful medications one day..any suggestions on working toward this path..
Btw, i was told by my Physician that mine's a heredity condition, which is even harder to eradicate; true ?..:*:

okay bro. i think you can continue with the medication. 50 mg is okay lah...but your pulse will slow down below 80 i suppose. if you stop taking now, after so many years, you will have some " palpitations" which you complained lately..

147/99 is elevated BP...who recommends the minimum BP 130/90. nowadays, my doctors tell me treating early is to PREVENT complications and cardio-vascular events. what is your reading now after taking atenolol for many years? BP 120/80 or 130/90...and your pulse rate? less than 80 / min ?

my humble suggestion: continue the medication but also reduce your weight ( your BMI > 24 ? ), watch your diet , exercise and do the rest of the good things many brothers have suggested....you should be okay....and also don't forget to watch out for the other co-morbidities like high cholesterol, high uric acid, high sugar level ....cut down stress....take things easy.....take care bro:)

that why i did that so call chim passage out. epigenetic is not related to mutation at genome level, which is a common misunderstanding that a lot of things like disease are cause by mutation of dna, which in current modern view of science, is wrong.

actually what i did was to summarise out the important points and leave out the rest of the unimportant ones. this version i believe is the simplest and the best i could do, for the sake of at least knowing the general view what is really going on without going into too deep.

1 in 4 Sinkies kena cancer. So are we doomed or what? :confused:

there is nothing we can do about it. its an aging issue. however....at the frontier of science, they too discovered how come we age, what is giving the signal to age, slow down the metabolism. due to something call telemar at a end section of the dna. maybe in future, aging might be solvable. maybe but...then that itself will leads to many other issue.

in fact i last heard they test this theory on simpler model like fruit flies (dosophila) and it correspond well to what they hypothesis. but then i think it might be another 200 years before we see something like that on market.

k i better stop, this getting too technical for talking cock and singing song LOL

okay bro. i think you can continue with the medication. 50 mg is okay lah...but your pulse will slow down below 80 i suppose. if you stop taking now, after so many years, you will have some " palpitations" which you complained lately..

147/99 is elevated BP...who recommends the minimum BP 130/90. nowadays, my doctors tell me treating early is to PREVENT complications and cardio-vascular events. what is your reading now after taking atenolol for many years? BP 120/80 or 130/90...and your pulse rate? less than 80 / min ?

my humble suggestion: continue the medication but also reduce your weight ( your BMI > 24 ? ), watch your diet , exercise and do the rest of the good things many brothers have suggested....you should be okay....and also don't forget to watch out for the other co-morbidities like high cholesterol, high uric acid, high sugar level ....cut down stress....take things easy.....take care bro:)

Thanks bro for your write up..guessed finally it's still one's manageability of the 'stress' factor in our daily live..:cool:

k i better stop, this getting too technical for talking cock and singing song LOL

thank you dr vamjok. yes, it is going deeper and deeper into nano and genetics manipulation....the whole genome is going to explode with new things and new discoveries...but no matter what scientists have discovered, we human beings are doomed because of our own destructive ignorance...( hahhaa...just read some of the posts and threads here.maybe their behaviour is genetically predetermined and triggered by environmental stressors )...

thank you and thanks for your very enlightening posts....:)

Did johnny333 post in this thread? He's got some knowlegde on health supplements to take.

u believe in that idiot ? that believe in something call vitamin b17?

Oh, i remembered that.Just like my good Ah Yeo friend who believed in all things organics'; we had our arguments,
but friends are friends after all.To each his own's belief.;)