• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The 70's Thread - Anything until the Dec 1979.

What about the logarithm tables?
Hehehe. That's the "log book" I was talking about before calculators came in. "Log books" were allowed during test and exams but useless to me cos' I don't know how to use it effectively. By the time I found the answer, the invigilator said "Pens down, no more writing................"

kingrant

Yea, then there was the anti-log stuff that drove us nuts..luckily slide rules came along, after that, HP calculators that could be programmed..

Hehehe. That's the "log book" I was talking about before calculators came in. "Log books" were allowed during test and exams but useless to me cos' I don't know how to use it effectively. By the time I found the answer, the invigilator said "Pens down, no more writing................"

erection2015

Alfrescian (InfP) + C
hahaha its ok la bro...i too had poor exam discipline....if you know what i mean.

Yeah, life as student was tough then, many have to tear pages of the history text book and smuggled the torn pages. I did not study hard so have to hid the text book inside my pants. :p

If I remember correctly, one of the better imitation is call Cubic or Cubix. And during the early days, pirated software can be obtained in People's Park Complex.
Cubic99 was one of sim wong hoo's first foray into IT.
There were also the taiwan's pineapples and oranges.

hahaha its ok la bro...i too had poor exam discipline....if you know what i mean.
Recalling those days, it's actually quite fun. Test and exam supposed to be very quiet but many activities took place. Even have throwing crumbled paper with answer across the classroom. Kaki was too excited so did not aim properly and land on wrong spot. knn, another classmate 'kio dio'.

Cubic99 was one of sim wong hoo's first foray into IT.
There were also the taiwan's pineapples and oranges.
Yes, bro. It's Cubic 99. I remember memory during that time is 16Kb or 32Kb. When buying memories, have to buy in one long transparent tube of IC chips.Think the diskette is 5x5 inches big and storage is 360KB per diskette.

erection2015

Alfrescian (InfP) + C
ya but a lot also depended on which teachers were doing the invigilating. Kena strict one then lan lan lor.

Recalling those days, it's actually quite fun. Test and exam supposed to be very quiet but many activities took place. Even have throwing crumbled paper with answer across the classroom. Kaki was too excited so did not aim properly and land on wrong spot. knn, another classmate 'kio dio'.

Toys:

Anyone remember - Pogo sticks, coca-cola yoyos black version the most expensive, the weekly contest at MPH etc, Mastermind, Risk,

yinyang

Smuggled soft porn books like Fanny Hill and Lady Chatterley's Lover (lit, no?) in brown paper innocuously labeled on cover as Tom Sawyer's Adventures.

VHS tapes were our intro to porn (lousy quality). Deep Throat etc. Until mould rendered tapes unviewable.

Smuggled soft porn books like Fanny Hill and Lady Chatterley's Lover (lit, no?) in brown paper innocuously labeled on cover as Tom Sawyer's Adventures.

VHS tapes were our intro to porn (lousy quality). Deep Throat etc. Until mould rendered tapes unviewable.
Porn tapes during that time is known as "Blue Film". Any idea why it's blue and not other colors?

kingrant

Then I started reading vociferously Masters and Johnson's Human Sexuality Response, Joy of Sex by ??, Playboy, Penthouse..

Fishypie

Getting invited to 'functions' at friends' b'days.GirLs seated neatLy on a row of chairs, and the guys opposite..aLL
awaiting for that 1st move.You wiLL tag your buddy aLong to go over and 'excuse' the girLs of your pick for dance.
Knn, at Last your friend got his, and your choice pick rejected you !..then you LL go back to where your seat was.
:eek::biggrin:

Sex boat, Emmanuel for blue films....literature is penthouse forum letters in paperback that was sold in MPH

verlioux

Sex boat, Emmanuel for blue films....literature is penthouse forum letters in paperback that was sold in MPH

Also got Electric Blue, think it was a british soft porn series

In late 70s/early 80s there was a video shop in Coronation Plaza which rented normal movies in the front, but at the back...

yinyang

GirLs seated neatLy on a row of chairs, and the guys opposite..aLL
awaiting for that 1st move.You wiLL tag your buddy aLong to go over and 'excuse' the girLs of your pick for dance. Knn, at Last your friend got his, and your choice pick rejected you !.
Blokes try to look macho 1 end, some with ciggies (actually trying to rev up guts):o

Controlled the guy doing the music (cassettes or vinyl?), play slooooow songs to have chance for 'grab'. Alas, gals got wise up and taichi. Once, after fast song played ...whilst waiting for our que to rubba, gals did a runner kns. So us blokes adjourned to Bugis St to drown our sorrows in Tiger beers (actually more fun!)

looneytan

And slide rules?

SlideRule.jpg

ya, man _ slide rule ( pain in the ass )

wonder they are still using this nowaday

Merl Haggard

Anyone remember the body in the chest story that came our circa 1977.

British Referigeration expert and expat murdered his Thai wife in one of the hotel in Orchard Road. He cut her up and placed her parts in a chest and sealed it airtight due to his background. Subsequently when he found permannent accommodation he took the chest with him and kept it in his home. He raised his only son by himself and told relatives the wife had run away.

Years later, when he was on his death bed in SGH, he told his son who then called the Police and they found the body parts in the chest in their home in Cairnhill.

The American, a refrigeration expert killed his Thai wife at the Hilton hotel, chopped her up into pieces and moved them to his apartment on the 6th floor of Cairnhill Court
which he rented from the GM of Hilton hotel, the late Mr Lim Ewe Hin.

Poor Ewe Hin got to know him as a long staying guest of the Hilton hotel and was happy to rent to him his Cairnhill Court apartment.

He summoned his son who was living in the USA to his deathbed in Melbourne and confessed the killing of his Thai wife and concealing her body parts in a chest in Cairnhill
Court. After his funeral in Melbourne his son came back to S'pore to report to the police and according to the Pinoy maid she was surprised that there was not stench of smell
during the 5 years she worked for him.

After the discovery of this gruesome murder, poor Ewe Hin couldn't sell nor rent out the apartment for about 8 years and eventually had to sell it to an Indonesian for $290,000
in the late 80's.

In 2003 Cairnhill Court was sold en-bloc to Li Ka Shing and each owner collected $4m.