• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The 70's Thread - Anything until the Dec 1979.

KopiO

The retro SBS buses with rubber bell contacts and grooved flooring were still in operation until the early 1990s, though most were relegated to becoming feeder buses for MRT stations. By the mid-1990s, the craze was all about the double-decker aircon buses (Super Bus).
Up to the 80s, some of the SBS buses may not have doors - those that have one big entrance inthe middle. By the 90s all the SBS buses had doors and those "single-big-door" buses had been phased out.

KopiO

When you went to the immigration Dept, there was an office which prominenly displayed $1m PR application sign. I saw Koh Boon Hui, his wife and kids coming out of the office.

Ex-Singaporean served NS, completed reservists and posted back to Singapore by MNC requires a mnimim of 6 weeks to get employment pass.

Indian from Chennai get it within a week.
Immigration was still at Empress Place. It was a perpetual mass of people there but I loved going there - for the hawker center just outside it besides the Singapore River with its absolutely authentic non-franchised local food!

KopiO

Remember the Jungle Jim Festival - something about ivory-poaching.

The Little Rascals and Mr Ed & The Talking Horse.

The frequent TV breakdowns and the funny faced cartoon that remained there till the programme commences again.

My dad bought our First Black & White TV. It was ERRES.

You have to switch on and wait till the screen slowly comes to live. The same when you off the TV. They call it "Transistors" tv back then.

I always had to fiddle with the antennae to get the clearest picture.

Luck not to be electrocuted. No circuit-breakers then. Sure mati one...
The 70s were the transition from tubes to transistors .....the German brands were king of the tubes, e.g. Telefunken, Siemens, Graetz and then along came National, Sanyo, Sharp with their "Fully Transistorised" consoles.

The tube TVs were HOT. Literally, and switching one on can take a few minutes before the picture appears on screen.

KopiO

[/
........ The last shop was Bee Loh Camera Shop. From there you have to cross the road and walk towards the Waterloo Street side for the row of Mamak mee-rebus and rojak stalls..

Bee Loh was big in those days. They were the agents for Minolta and Sakura color films - both gone today.

KopiO

Anyone read books from The Liverpool Library? Books that are meant to be read with only one hand while other ......

Yes Bee Loh Camera, now I remember, trying to remember!!, the darn Indian's at the second hand book store are all crooks, you have to bargain hard. used to sell my old books there too & bought lots of comics that fill a large box...National Library Stamford Road, the lady librarian at the air conditioned Reference section, give me the eye, when I loan out "Grey's Anatomy"..LOL I was researching the female parts, ha ha ha so throw a curve I took out Mercado Atlas of Foot Anatomy...and that book by I have forgotten the name on "China History" to read up on the Tai Peng Rebellion, one what's that famous Atlas, oogle at Maps...or than book on Botany..Book on Psychology , philosophy...etc ha ha ha Librarian taught I was a young genius...but it was the one cold oasis in town at that time, anyway the reading which I couldn't understand then... helped later in life...good to read!!

Then Across the street to my 'private library' at MPH Stamford, from anything that I can get my hands in the shelves...short one, bought books by Harold Robbins, Jaqueline Suzanne...etc..and I was very young then! Read page by page of Toikkien books & couldn't understand a darn thing, but I just read...every time I went to MPH I 'bookmarked' that page in my mind, and the location of that book in the shelf..

We never had smartphone distractions like angry birds, where is my water, Cut the rope, Unleashed Amazing Alex..etc reading is fun & educational, what one learn, no one can steal from you..

Allow me to share your recollections:

View attachment 5772

Yes it was Merlin, my favourite eatery at Capitol Annexe, air condition, slightly much more expensive than street hawkers. I love their beef brisket noodle more than their wanton noodle, was down with a glass of soya bean drink, almond flavour. Since they have closed, the nearest to their kind of noodle I could find at one time was at Katong, just after the entrance to Tay Ban Guan, near to Joos Chiat Rd junction. That shop closed too. I couldn't find that taste of "merlin" , but I found one similar in Kuala Lumpur.

Immigration was still at Empress Place. It was a perpetual mass of people there but I loved going there - for the hawker center just outside it besides the Singapore River with its absolutely authentic non-franchised local food!

Empress place hawker centre, The Cahr Kway Teow, ' chng tng', the Malay food stall, the "yong tau foo" stall, that starts at 11am and clear out by 2pm. You go between 12.30 to 1.30, expect to wait more than 20 minutes for your food, & it was very popular.

There was a stall I love to eat there regular in the morning, the Cantonese lady that sells, "yu sang " ( raw fish), " fa sang chok" ( peanuts congee), Cantonese style "Lor mai fan" ( hard to find these days) & friend bee hoon ( Cantonese style, that comes with "tee tau kee" in strips, deep fried); lastly, Cantonese Bak Chang ( dumplings) with the soya bean, dip in powdered sugar..simply mouth watering!!

KopiO

Why didnt you baby boomers do anything about it? Now my generation must suffer

I personally believe "Stop at 2" is good. Housing and travel does not favor more than 2. The biggest issue is those who can't afford don't stop at 2. And many today who can afford don't even get married or have one.

Your generation suffers because you don't even get one.

KopiO

I was a loser. Or my family were. We believed in the superior product - Betamax. VHS won but Betamax was the better product.

If you meant the 3.5" disk, these were in the 80s.
Anybody remembers

1. floppy diskettes? 2.5" and the even earlier ones 5.5".
2. VHS tape

i was thinking about it just a wee bit earLier..Learning COBOL was the in thing.We had the 482,582 cpu's too..:wink:
Exchanging & borrowing VHS tapes was a fave pastime among the aunties & housewives.

KopiO

No-la ..... mould was never our problem ...... the tape jam more than grow mold:smile: And yes, Emmanuel ....which school boy at that time can forget THAT:smile:?

Anybody remembers

1. floppy diskettes? 2.5" and the even earlier ones 5.5".
2. VHS tape

i was thinking about it just a wee bit earLier..Learning COBOL was the in thing.We had the 482,582 cpu's too..:wink:
Exchanging & borrowing VHS tapes was a fave pastime among the aunties & housewives.

Smuggled soft porn books like Fanny Hill and Lady Chatterley's Lover (lit, no?) in brown paper innocuously labeled on cover as Tom Sawyer's Adventures.

VHS tapes were our intro to porn (lousy quality). Deep Throat etc. Until mould rendered tapes unviewable.

Sex boat, Emmanuel for blue films....literature is penthouse forum letters in paperback that was sold in MPH

KopiO

Yes .....used to envy one of my better-to-do friend who had a SRT303b ......I could only drool ..... the SRT303b, which he generously shared with me is still one of those truly memorable experience I had .....the clackkkkk of the mechanical shutter and flip of the mirror .... some of the SLRs I used those days were the Russian Zenit E and the Chinese Seagull SLR which had the Minolta mount.

http://www.rokkorfiles.com/SRT Series.htm

I bought my first SLR from them, now I remember , Minolta!

KopiO

Empress place hawker centre, The Cahr Kway Teow, ' chng tng', the Malay food stall, the "yong tau foo" stall, that starts at 11am and clear out by 2pm. You go between 12.30 to 1.30, expect to wait more than 20 minutes for your food, & it was very popular.

There was a stall I love to eat there regular in the morning, the Cantonese lady that sells, "yu sang " ( raw fish), " fa sang chok" ( peanuts congee), Cantonese style "Lor mai fan" ( hard to find these days) & friend bee hoon ( Cantonese style, that comes with "tee tau kee" in strips, deep fried); lastly, Cantonese Bak Chang ( dumplings) with the soya bean, dip in powdered sugar..simply mouth watering!!

Yes, yes .....all those simple food ..... loved the char kway teow and the chng thng - same as the one you get opposite Bedok Camp .....!

SalahParking

There was a 2nd hand bookshop along Brash Basah Road, cant remember which one, that had a secret chest inside that could only been opened by special request. Inside were "restricted" magazines from the US/UK.