• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Tak Boleh Tahan 18 mentioned in The Washington Times

chinkangkor

there were no support for them unlike places like hk, taiwan, malaysia and thailand.

does that mean that the majority peasants were wrong?

Once it is legal, you will see more peaceful protests. For example, the minbond investors coming to Hong Lim park, NTU student activists etc.

Not all people will be interested in participating in a peaceful protest. However, this should never be the reason to deny our rights to peaceful protests even if only 0.1% of the S'porean population is interested.

chinkangkor

if the gov is bad, the peasants will naturally rise up against them. however, if the gov is good, we definitely do not need one to instigate the peasants to create troubles.

We do not wish to have a system where a change of government can only be done by a violent overthrow of govt.

We want a competent govt but at the same time, claim back our rights to peaceful protest to voice our concerns.

locky2ky

if the gov is bad, the peasants will naturally rise up against them. however, if the gov is good, we definitely do not need one to instigate the peasants to create troubles.

chee had tried. there were no reaction from the ground. he should ve understood. why didn't he understand? could he be beholden to foreign entity who would love to see a messed up singapore?

you've been brainwashed by pap who are forever branding critics or anyone who speaks up against them as trouble makers. were those tbt 18 trying to create troubles? they were just trying to let the authorities know that we were fed up with the rising cost of living.

guavatree

if the gov is bad, the peasants will naturally rise up against them. however, if the gov is good, we definitely do not need one to instigate the peasants to create troubles.?

chao ah kwa you're one heck of a cheebai kia that's creating trouble!

haha you kena diabetes and even your fucking kidneys kaput liao

fucking moron you claimed to be a Buddhist so karma bounced and karma kicked you in your rotten karchng ... LOL

when did your doctor said must go for amputation?

PAP dog did asked your PAP MP Ah Baey to get you discounts for amputation?

LOL

Porfirio Rubirosa

Did not dismiss human rights per se, just the melodrama writing of Cooper. Perhaps Chia Thye Poh appeared to be a true "prisoner of conscience" but not Dr Chee.
Don't just dismiss human rights as western. Basic human rights are universal and there is no such thing as western or eastern about it. If not for the struggle to uphold human rights, Singapore would still be under British imperialist domination..

Was Jaslyn's lawyer, Thiru only alluding to Yap when he made the sarcastic "Tak Boleh Tahan" quip?

Your reference to the 154th mouthpiece ST is most telling. First, it's the propaganda mouthpiece, owned and controlled by the fascist dictatorial PAP regime, notorious for omissions and distortions. Notwithstanding, the counsel is entitled to give his view on the clownish act of the agent provocateur Yap.

Porfirio Rubirosa

Hiazz, that is why I say melodrama with 'christmas wrappings' following on from Safire, Levin and oh the TI 'misunderstanding':p

Notice that Tim Cooper left out the 19th person who is still fighting in the courts while 2 others have dropped out. Looks to me like the article was ghost written with him tidying up the rest.

Porfirio Rubirosa

That sounds quite fair and reasonable. Now how do we get there?:wink:
We do not wish to have a system where a change of government can only be done by a violent overthrow of govt.

We want a competent govt but at the same time, claim back our rights to peaceful protest to voice our concerns.

We need first and foremost an independent judiciary to curb excessive executive power.
Thats putting the cart before the horse. The issue is not the courts but the executive. We need to remove the executive interference of the courts. For you need to get seats via the legislative arm to pressure or remove the executive.

Your point does paint an interesting picture. Over the last fews years, it appears that they are fighting the courts rather than the people who manipulate the courts. Again a tactical failure and a lack of political acumen.

You can only have an independent judiciary by removing the present government. How would you get an independent judiciary without removing the government?

chinkangkor

Thats putting the cart before the horse. The issue is not the courts but the executive. We need to remove the executive interference of the courts. For you need to get seats via the legislative arm to pressure or remove the executive.

It's a chicken and egg problem.

How do you get more people into the Parliament when the court has been converted into a political instrument of the state to suppress political opposition and perpetuate a dominant one party state?

chinkangkor

Your point does paint an interesting picture. Over the last fews years, it appears that they are fighting the courts rather than the people who manipulate the courts. Again a tactical failure and a lack of political acumen.

The ruling party and the court have merged to become one and the same. Fighting a compliant court is fighting the ruling party's hold of an instrument of political terror.

This is the correct strategy. How to execute this strategy successfully will depend on the array of tactics employed.

chinkangkor

You can only have an independent judiciary by removing the present government. How would you get an independent judiciary without removing the government?

How do you ensure that the next political party which forms the new government not to exert undue influence on the court?

You may well end up getting a worse form of authoritarian government, with economic mismanagement to boot.

How do you ensure that the next political party which forms the new government not to exert undue influence on the court?

You may well end up getting a worse form of authoritarian government, with economic mismanagement to boot.

1) Who enacts the laws of the land
2) Who decides on Judicial appointments
3) who decides on tenure of the bench
4) Who decides on judicial remuneration
5) Who formulates the punishment structure for crimes committed
6) Who provides protection from executive interference

These are questions that you might want to ask.

actually, what the peasants want is a COMPETENT opposition or alternative voice in parleement. it has to be COMPETENT and TRUE TO THE CAUSE. how long has chee been ranting all these years? he even contradicts his own tagline, "COURAGE TO CHANGE". does he dare to change himself? if he doesn't, how does he expect the gabramen to change like he wishes?

Even Jaslyn's lawyer, Thiru appears to be of view that Dr Chee should have gone for Judicial Review when the police refused to approve the permit instead of still going ahead with the TBT procession.:wink:

if chee knew that "approval" should be given to him whenever he asked for it, then might as well just go ahead and do whatever he wants. save the trouble, time and anguish to apply for such "approval".

the guy just does not respect the law and would conveniently politicised it to his advantage and hidden motive.

Did not dismiss human rights per se, just the melodrama writing of Cooper. Perhaps Chia Thye Poh appeared to be a true "prisoner of conscience" but not Dr Chee.

Was Jaslyn's lawyer, Thiru only alluding to Yap when he made the sarcastic "Tak Boleh Tahan" quip?

jaslyn loves going to court just to "have fun".:cool:

you've been brainwashed by pap who are forever branding critics or anyone who speaks up against them as trouble makers. were those tbt 18 trying to create troubles? they were just trying to let the authorities know that we were fed up with the rising cost of living.

when things turned really bad like in thailand or elsewhere in the region, it would be too late.

rising cost of living is worldwide. other neighbouring countries' gov couldn't resolve the problem as efficiently as ours. hence, we witnessed protests in those places.

we have to be fair and observe what's really been happening around us. by the way, i hope u saw what kind of products they were compraining about...canned abalone and very expensive milk powder. maybe those were their personal consumable products but generally it wasn't the greater majority's daily needs.