• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

[Singapore] - PSLE students cried, vomited and flipped their exam desks over a super difficult Math paper

nayr69sg

Staff member
View attachment 124069

https://forums.fuckwarezone.com.sg/threads/psle-maths-qn.6611578/

I have always felt that the Singapore education system is crap. This is an example of a created math problem with no real life application. More like a quiz riddle nonsense.

In real life why in the world would Helen and Ivan not know how much they have in money albeit coins? They cannot count how many 50 cent coins there are? Need someone to go weigh and dunno what shit?

Even if you need to weigh the coins....just weigh the damn coins then!

Solving this type of fantasy questions does nothing to help you in real life.

More appropriate things to learn and test would be

You are going to buy a home. The cost will be $1.5m you currently earn $4,000/month. The banks are offering mortgages at SIBOR + 0.5% rates. Given that you only can put 30% of your income towards paying for the home. Do you think you can afford it? And why.

Why the fuck they dont have questions like this?

No need to study so hard nowadays. Things are going to be more tough for our kids in 10 years time. Our retrenched highly educated PMETs driving Grab, doing Food Panda delivery are good examples for our today's school going kids.

Patriotmissile

A question should be: if an institution uses cpf monies to invest in companies that go bankrupt, should u allow the person to continue to do so or put your money in a bank that gives you 0.1% interest per year? Which is a better deal?

I have always felt that the Singapore education system is crap. This is an example of a created math problem with no real life application. More like a quiz riddle nonsense.

In real life why in the world would Helen and Ivan not know how much they have in money albeit coins? They cannot count how many 50 cent coins there are? Need someone to go weigh and dunno what shit?

You are going to buy a home. The cost will be $1.5m you currently earn $4,000/month. The banks are offering mortgages at SIBOR + 0.5% rates. Given that you only can put 30% of your income towards paying for the home. Do you think you can afford it? And why.

KNN my uncle say lansai lah set all these questions for fuck KNN better just ask will you give bank account lumber to strangers KNN
KNN your question is the 10marks one while my uncle one is the 2marks one

Why study Maths until siao, gila, mad for what-want to work in finance and banking?
A lot of these cushy jobs already taken up by CECA whose kids are are happily playing in our playground while our kids are going cranky studying for exams.
Finance and banking don't really require complicated maths. Hence jobs taken over by software.
Some local banks uses software by Malaysian company. Silver lake axis.
CECA's in banking are there for indian customers. Its either sinkie or dubai for them.
Chinese culture to torture is the root of the problem.
In Europe, they test on understanding the subject.to get aces, maybe twist it about more to get the brilliant students into better universities. The normals ones get to normal universities and do normal jobs.

PSLE exam should test sinkie kids on their proficiency in Grab and OnlyFans apps since CECA FTA restricts them to earn a living as Grab drivers and cam whores. The apps will even calculate their daily earnings automatically so no need any math skills

covertbriar

According to the voluminous rants posted on the Ministry of Education's Facebook page this year's PSLE Maths exam (recently held on 1 October) was an utter abomination; numerous parents recounted how their kids teared up on the spot or pummeled their desks out of severe frustration because of the inexplicably tough questions encountered, then there were those who shared that some candidates literally "begged" for a time extension so they could complete their papers. Even more lamented how they had to assiduously prop up crushed spirits and inconsolable souls during the immediate aftermath of the exam itself, in certain cases to no avail. Did the education ministry go overboard, or were folks just making a mountain out of a molehill? Have a gander at the screenshots provided below, and decide accordingly. Regardless, here's hoping the remaining papers wouldn't end up being as eventful as this.

https://www.domainofexperts.com/2021/10/this-years-psle-maths-exam-has-left.html

LordElrond

Or something like this:
If the probability of winning a bet in casino is 50%, are you guaranteed a win if you double your stake each time you lose and keep placing the same bet?

Better to get used to being broken and dejected early in life than when you become a sinkie working adult

ChanRasjid

View attachment 124069

https://forums.fuckwarezone.com.sg/threads/psle-maths-qn.6611578/
The one setting the paper needs to take a test in English (from a lousy school?):
(a) should be: "Who has more money and by how much? "; no need "... more money in coins.."
(b) should be :"Given that..." with a capital "G" for consistency.

I think this question may be considered difficult for the average 12-year-old; at their age, they are still not too quick.

Answer: Ivan has excess 40 x 20 ct coins; Helen has excess 40 x 50 ct coins.
Ivan has more money by 40 x 30 ct = $12.00.

I don't weigh coins except for a physics experiment.
[edit]"What is the mass of coins in kilograms?"; wrong; '' mass of coins in kilogram? ", w/o any plural . (English from RI?)

"E=mc² Is Fictitious."
http://www.emc2fails.com

Best regards,
Chan Rasjid Kah Chew,
Singapore.

Loofydralb

The melayu bottom feeders chilled out from the exam hall early and hung out together and had a good time that day. The slit eyes threw a fit and now wants to kill themselves.

And they say the melayu is stupid?

The post-exam period was the most fun, everybody would be in holiday mood already. Going to school but no lessons, everyone brought their board games, card games, handheld games... we had a great time while the teachers were busy marking papers. :biggrin:

I imagine the school brats today are probably just engrossed with their phones. And it's not fun when you have to wear a mask. Poor things.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Or something like this:
If the probability of winning a bet in casino is 50%, are you guaranteed a win if you double your stake each time you lose and keep placing the same bet?

Or Company X has announced increase in revenue YOY of 40% but a drop in profit of 10%. Company Y has announced an increase in revenue of 10% but an increase in profit of 20%. Which company should you invest in?

Stuff like that lah.

Or you have a year end bonus of $10,000. Please choose which of the following would be the best way you use your money financially.
A) Pay down your mortgage which has a annual rate of 2.6%
B) Pay down your credit card bill which has usual market interest rates
C) Use the money to buy a Ferrari
D) Treat all your friends to dinner at a Michelin 5 star restaurant

I have a sneaky suspicion that they have been adding nonsense to the curriculum over the years, encumbering the kids with useless things to learn. This makes them feel inadequate in school, which then makes them seek out tuition centres... their certification brings in more revenue for the govt.