• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Signs that you are getting OLD (SAF version)

Cthulhu

Still remember the lovely feeling of 1st book out last time. Soft drinks taste like heavenly elixer, no need to queue 20 mins for a pungsai and what are those strange (but pretty) looking humans with long hair and 2 bulges on their chest?

Satan

How come no one mentioned, you had to starch and iron your 'No.3' for drill till it stands when you place it down. For the current generation of guys, I'm not sure if they know what is 'No.3'.:smile:

Cthulhu

Also last time where got bread from Top, the bread was so rough can use them as sandpaper. heard from old birds that the bread were made by inmates of changi prison and the bedsheets and pillow case were also washed by them. Wonder now still got bedsheet I/C or not?:biggrin:

Those bedsheets were horrible. Even when clean, they still had a funky smell and sometimes a discoloured patch down the middle.

Worst army meal I had was "Nasi Lemak" for breakfast. Rock hard rice with some peanuts and chilli. Last time we used to joke about having ice cream for desert and WTF nowadays it is a reality.

The legendary Ali Baba bag is also extinct. Nowadays the recruits have this black luggage case complete with wheels and pulling handle. Simi lanjiao man, NSF suddenly become SIA girl.

The_Latest_H

They still have bedsheet I/Cs these days; I was one during my BMT days. But news of laundry service companies contracted to help SAF to really wash these bedsheets thoroughly will surely make one riled up, especially those who did theirs 10, 20 or even 30 years ago.

The HULK!!

And what about pasting brown papers on the cupboard and throwing water on them to made them taut only to have the NCOs..nebeh... tear one big hole in them the next morning during inspection.:mad:

Frankiestine

How come no one mentioned, you had to starch and iron your 'No.3' for drill till it stands when you place it down. For the current generation of guys, I'm not sure if they know what is 'No.3'.:smile:

or having to polish the boots until "kilat kilat"...

angie II

The then GEB (General Equipment Base) renamed to GSB (General Supply Base) without costing $400,000 :biggrin: (and now what name?) canteen operator's daughter made me drool!

Ah Guan

I really can't understand why recruits have to be ferried on aircon buses to range / exercise.. and aircon in OCS bunks ...

Maybe the NSFs are dropping dead because no aircon

Frankiestine

I really can't understand why recruits have to be ferried on aircon buses to range / exercise.. and aircon in OCS bunks ...

Maybe the NSFs are dropping dead because no aircon

knn no wonder every year they increase the defence budget...

huh is that allowed.....i thought the sheets must be tied at both ends and pull so tight that the sgt will do the bouncing coin test...

the no-safety-pin rule was enacted after qm's and store clerks complained about damaged bedsheets on a massive scale.

Frankiestine

We will never know how transparent the tendering process is for these SAF contracts

well with the clause "We reserve the right not to accept the lowest bid" in...sure leaves the whole thing to abuse...then what the point of a tender..if it is not to call for the lowest bid...

tiulehloumoh

KNN, remember your prick would stand up 18O degrees when you wake up in the cold morning in Mandai..... sadly now only 90 degrees, some asshole here might need viagra managed it......:biggrin:

KKC007

You know you are getting old, if during your NS days:

• You were trained to use M16 and have no idea what SAR21 is.

[*]You used a metal tray for meals, and you had to wash them after use.

[*]You were "served" by army regulars (who will show you a fcuk face and scold you for not holding your tray properly) during mealtimes in cookhouse.

[*]Your sergeant was simply know as "Sergeant", and has only 3-stripes.

[*]You did not hear of any NSman "dying suddenly".

[*]You were known as the "second-generation thinking soldiers".

[*]You had to do "area cleaning" every morning.

[*]You were ferried from one place to another in 3-tonners, not air-con buses.

[*]You had to Q to use the public phone whenever you have to make a call.

[*]Your combat rations consisted of "dog biscuits" + canned sardines + canned pork cubes.

[*]You wear dog-tags because you were told to do so and had no choice; not because it was "fashionable".

[*]You were issued those cheapo china-made black PT shoes (and yet you were able to pass IPPT using them).

You see typewriters in the S1 office.

Satan

or having to polish the boots until "kilat kilat"...

Yeah, that was a pain. The fucking corporals and my platoon seargent were damn fucking on and someone always used to kena show parade.
And yes, the drill boots with metal tarts below were also fucking irritating.

The legendary Ali Baba bag is also extinct. Nowadays the recruits have this black luggage case complete with wheels and pulling handle. Simi lanjiao man, NSF suddenly become SIA girl.

i think those intake after 2000 already no ali baba bag as by then they no longer draw kits from the GSB camp in choa chu kang.

Will always remember the day in 1996 report to CMPB at 0800hrs, load into buses and travel to choa chu kang for equipments. first thing given was the ali baba bag, then open the bag and walk down the lane where the ST people will throw everything into the bag. All the stuffs cannot try which result in half the items cannot wear due to wrong size. Then everybody load up again and travel 1hr+ to reach commando jetty. Reach there can see all the PS and SS, shouting at us to move faster. By the time they sort us into company level, already 1400hr+. Ate lunch there, the worst stuff i ever seen packed inside a steroform box in my 20yrs life. By the time took RPL to reach Tekong, already 1700hrs, from there wait at least 30min+ for tonners to arrive, reach camp 3 already 1830hrs. A whole day gone, yet we had not even reach the bunk. Rush to wait, wait to rush...........:wink:

You were trained to use M16 and have no idea what SAR21 is.

U are obviuosly not old enough if you are talking about M16. Old timers talk about AR-15

only applicable to camp that had muslim soldiers. ie, Infantry and Guards. During my BMT at Tekong also not allow, DI tell stories of kenna process by Hantu because eat pork bun in bunk. But after POP, kenna posted to armour, there can immediately know that racial harmony are bullshit as there no muslim there. There the trainers will indoctrine everyone that cannot trust muslim, a strictly chinese only unit, even the indians are for HQ company only, none in combat team. Even the cookhouse didnt not cater to muslim, always remember that "enemy battlion" NCOs came for briefing for Atec, some of them are malays, which mean no food for them as they refuse vegetarian food so lan lan had to use landrover to send them back to their unit for lunch then come back in the afternoon for additional briefing.Oh yeah, in Sungei Gedong, nobody give a hoot about eating pork inside bunk.

U are not old enough, for sure. For lauchiuo, there is no such thing as ATEC. All gunnery instructors in SOA were Indians, because they can't drive for shit. Many instructors, frontline officers, up to MAjor rank were Indians. There was a good sense of cameraderie and belonging between chinese and Indians. In ROC, Indians and Chinese officers and NCOs, and men always chiong together because the indians needed translators, and we were too happy to oblige. I have attended togo sessions in 46 SAR officers mess where all races except Malays were present. Including Major Sheares, CO of SOA, a Eurasian, Cpt Sorby (Indian) and of course Maj. Lee Hsien Yang (Chinese). Indian cookhouse has the best food, because they cook it in smaller batches. Armour is a very close knit unit. We have really relied on each other regardless of race and religion. I am disgusted to see that some one has fucked it up by your time.