• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Settling old score with MINDEF

running around with hole in the heart is risky depending on the size of the hole. Also having dental treatment without taking antibiotics in advance have a very high risk of heart infection.

Never mind the hole in the heart, a lot of SINgaporeans are running around with a HOLE in their pockets. have extremely high risk to get heart ingection or stroke.:D

Googled this - will be missed often by routine clinical examination:

http://circ.ahajournals.org/content/114/17/1873.long

The patent ductus arteriosus (PDA) is a vascular structure that connects the proximal descending aorta to the roof of the main pulmonary artery near the origin of the left branch pulmonary artery. This essential fetal structure normally closes spontaneously after birth. After the first few weeks of life, persistence of ductal patency is abnormal. The physiological impact and clinical significance of the PDA depend largely on its size and the underlying cardiovascular status of the patient. The PDA may be “silent” (not evident clinically but diagnosed incidentally by echocardiography done for a different reason), small, moderate, or large. Regardless of the size, complications may arise, and it is important for both pediatric and adult cardiologists to have an understanding of the pathophysiology, clinical implications, and management of PDA.

Think mine is VSD. Looks similar. Anyway looks like it is not easily identified so no case liao.. good luck to future recruits :)

Any lawyer or law student here that can advise me my chance of winning if I were to sue MINDEF for negligence.

Case 1
Not too long ago, I was diagnosed to have hole in the heart. My heart consultant confirmed that it is a born defect. He was astonished that I was enlisted for Pes B National Service, and said that he can write me a discharge letter if I were to call for reservist. I told him I had already completed my cycle of NS. I then ask him if I intend to sue MINDEF for negligence, is he able to be the witness. He said he can provide my diagnose report.

Case 2
I had severe back pain and after some detailed MRI, specialist asked me if I had carry very heavy object. I never do any weight lifting in my life. Also I did not do any manual labour work in my career. The heaviest object I ever carried was being forced to caservack my buddy during NS. I was then 58-60kg, buddy was fatty 90-100kg type. After the exercise I started to have back pain and it only get more serious today.

I am more confident on Case1. Case 2 is hard to prove since it happened long ago.
Case 1 is clearly a negligence by MINDEF during the pre enlistment checkup, even though it happened long ago. MINDEF could defend that I am still in 1 piece and alive, but the firmed thing is they were negligent, and I could have lost my life during SOC and IPPT.

I would like to seek for compensation, preferably in monetary form as I am in need of money . I will engage lawyer if chance of winning is medium to high . Any serious advice is appreciated.

chootchiew in my opinion for case 1 , i suggest you take reference from Thai teenager Nitcharee Peneakchanasak.
settle out of court for some amount.If possible get support from your MP ( make them work ).
If really you want go court, then dont use back Nitcharee Peneakchanasak lawyer.

case 2: forget it.most nsmen sure got small or other minor injury.is part of NS.
in school, injury is part of childhood growing up

chootchiew in my opinion for case 1 , i suggest you take reference from Thai teenager Nitcharee Peneakchanasak.
settle out of court for some amount.If possible get support from your MP ( make them work ).
If really you want go court, then dont use back Nitcharee Peneakchanasak lawyer.

case 2: forget it.most nsmen sure got small or other minor injury.is part of NS.
in school, injury is part of childhood growing up

Hey brother, we think alike :) After some thoughts I told a bro I was thinking along this line to settle out of court and get some $3-5k also better than nothing. Better to use the pok tong qing soft approach than hard way, afterall I completed my NS with them.

$3k $5k also song song kao jurong for new year. go court lose must pay more jialat.how to win the mighty kangagroo

Suing Mindef is like taking on Darth Vader with a bow and arrow.

i sympathise with you as alot of mindef doctors are just MO and not specialist. my pro bono advice is that settle outside court as legal fees if lose(high probablity as no garmen agnecies have lost before) would bankrupt you esp when you have to pay the otehr side experts opinion. my understanding is that alot of medical condition can be silent and although congenital , it need not mean it should manifests itself. like heart attack or stroke. No test in the world can predict it and you cannot sue for sudden heart attack or stroke.
the very fact that you pass pes B means you are fit and the hole in heart is not lethal or life threatening , they may argue. nowadays alot of cases (read today papers ST headline) gi to court and the only winner are the lawyers!!!!! even those NS who get into accident or collapsed suddenly and kaput, only a few thousands in compensation. mindef generals are all really good "taichi" masters. you know what i mean

If TS had wanted to get money from MINDEF then during NS time he should have killed himself but made it look like a training accident....his family would have gotten a big fat cheque for $7k

I support TS, can win. can lose, but try! time for sinkees to question liao. cannot be everytime also kena eat.