• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SBF PE Polls Analysis - Revelation!!

Actually there is an air of expectation that either TCB or TJS is going to bring up the curry issue. This issue is shaking establishment but the man on the street can't see the significance. Shanmugam is turning out to be a bigger clown than Lim Boon Heng who was the resident jester.
the first question i'll raise is this: can i cook curry tomorrow? :p:p:p

It was an always meant to be a PAP check in case of a profligate opposition squandering the accumulated PAP wealth because of populist pressures and policies.

I have another angle of thought. EP was mooted to shut the mouth of skeptics who kept harping the dangers of single party system of govt. To make sure the EP will never need to exercise its power unnecessarily, they had to enforce strict criteria together with a special talented panel to decide who can run to make sure the "right" candidate takes that job, plus of coz, the tightening of the constitution to keep a reign on him. :)

Your short survey has an interesting point which I hope to raise. If all TCB/TKL supporters join hands and vote for TJS, history can happen, however remote.

TCB - Even among PAP grassroots these days, there are alot of new citizens from India, Philippines etc, these people have no idea who is TCB. Your old kakees are getting irrelevant. I think he will come in last. TCB is >70 years, he is talking old topics and is unaware of demographic changes. it is not the same PAP nor Singapore anymore.

TKL - Position himself as non-partisan. In a skewed democracy where parliament seats do not represent proportional of votes won, positioning as non-partisan is missing out on alot of votes.

TJS stands a better chance among the three becos of the opposition effect. For all the good qualities of TKL and TCB, if people of these 2 camps can consider combining behind TJS, things might just work out. I know President is above politics, but we are also looking at a skewed parliament.

Bro, take it easy. This is only forum talk full of speculations, conjecture, guesswork and bullshit. Those with half a brain can pick out the wheat from the chaff and the rest will see things go above their head. What do you need the proof for - apply for HDB flat at discounted rate.

TJS went to Oxford, was a PPS and he struggles with the working language. OTC command of Mandarin was superb but his English was on par and he went to University of Adelaide. There are certain expectation of holding high office even though it is largely ceremonial.

TJS is taking the stand of a vocal anti-establishment. That appeals to many but is the "many" enough? That is the uncertainty. There are some who simply cannot make themselves voting for "vocal anti-establishment" or seeing him win. How large is these "some"?

If it is TT vs TCB, we know for sure TT won't win. The PAP knows it and that is why TJS is granted the COE, to the surprised of many, including TJS. The "higher" the chance that TJS might get voted in, the higher the number who might otherwise voted for TCB might "return" to save TT. That is another unknown.

In other words, the "lower" TCB gets, the "higher" TT gets.

Frankly, I am getting more depressed by the day... coz the chance TT get voted in is improving by the day.... thanks to TJS.

Maybe an element of what you suggested might have come into play.

My understanding is that old man was concerned that a PM within PAP might run wild to get the support of the grassroots as he held considerable power. Many years ago, one of the PAP moderators revealed of factions forming with GCT on one side and Lees on the other. The danger of an incumbent PAP PM not friendly to his line of the family and introducing populist measures funded by the reserves was a possibility. It is also not something new in world politics.

The Thai King has two sovereign funds run by salaried Australians to keep prying eyes away. That is his fighting fund to pay the army and safeguard his power and throne. During the Asian financial crisis, when his funds were depleted, he got the compliant PM to replenish his funds straight from the treasurry. Siam Cement and Siam Commercial Bank belongs to him. These arejust few of his assets.Obviously old man cannot tell this to the public when he came up with the EP idea.
I have another angle of thought. EP was mooted to shut the mouth of skeptics who kept harping the dangers of single party system of govt. To make sure the EP will never need to exercise its power unnecessarily, they had to enforce strict criteria together with a special talented panel to decide who can run to make sure the "right" candidate takes that job, plus of coz, the tightening of the constitution to keep a reign on him.

:)

He getting the COE was indeed surprise. But not sure if it is going according to "plan". TJS is clearly taking on TT and the latter is biting. I hope the pattern holds.
In other words, the "lower" TCB gets, the "higher" TT gets.Frankly, I am getting more depressed by the day... coz the chance TT get voted in is improving by the day.... thanks to TJS.

TJS has one thing going for him - Singaporeans who consider that GE is unfinished business. They have smelt blood, they already got the PM to apologise once. The desire to send a strong message to the PAP/Establishedment/Govt is evident and the PE is a now becoming a proxy.

TJS whether intentionally or otherwise is tapping this potential vein. I think he realised that he has nothing to lose. A bit rough but I think it now par for the course.

TKL however is trying to behave like a future President. He however unlike TCB does not have the skill to send barbed messages.

Your short survey has an interesting point which I hope to raise. If all TCB/TKL supporters join hands and vote for TJS, history can happen, however remote.TCB - Even among PAP grassroots these days, there are alot of new citizens from India, Philippines etc, these people have no idea who is TCB. Your old kakees are getting irrelevant. I think he will come in last. TCB is >70 years, he is talking old topics and is unaware of demographic changes. it is not the same PAP nor Singapore anymore.TKL - Position himself as non-partisan. In a skewed democracy where parliament seats do not represent proportional of votes won, positioning as non-partisan is missing out on alot of votes.TJS stands a better chance among the three becos of the opposition effect. For all the good qualities of TKL and TCB, if people of these 2 camps can consider combining behind TJS, things might just work out. I know President is above politics, but we are also looking at a skewed parliament.

Something funny is happening. Everybody received the pamphlet from TCB via Singpost with the names of all the eligible voters under the same address on the envelope.

Does he have access to such database? Or is the info from Singpost because it is mailing for the Election Dept?....... is he endorsed by the Govt....

At a mall today, there was distribution of free Coke with TCB's card. Did he pay for them or was it sponsored? It is becoming bewildering ....

They take it from the electoral role. You too can inspect the electoral role. If the coke is sponsored, it must appear in the political donation submission.
Something funny is happening. Everybody received the pamphlet from TCB via Singpost with the names of all the eligible voters under the same address on the envelope. Does he have access to such database? Or is the info from Singpost because it is mailing for the Election Dept?....... is he endorsed by the Govt....At a mall today, there was distribution of free Coke with TCB's card. Did he pay for them or was it sponsored? It is becoming bewildering ....

For GE, confirmed candidates can purchase the eligible voters list from the election dept for the constituency they are contesting in. This list is usually used for logistical, verification and even block visit strategy purposes such as sending the greeting cards you normally received.

I supposed there is a similar arrangement for candidates in Presidential election. They can buy additional copies if they want to. For pap, the list is usually handled by senior helpers because of confidential reasons. If you visit your PAP MP in meet-the-people session, the MP have this list they purchased and know how many eligible voters in your family. But of course they do not know your actual vote. People who do not contest cannot buy, but they can check their own names from election dept. Not sure about the coke.

Something funny is happening. Everybody received the pamphlet from TCB via Singpost with the names of all the eligible voters under the same address on the envelope.

Does he have access to such database? Or is the info from Singpost because it is mailing for the Election Dept?....... is he endorsed by the Govt....

At a mall today, there was distribution of free Coke with TCB's card. Did he pay for them or was it sponsored? It is becoming bewildering ....

This question bugs many people during GE and now PE. Hope this will help to answer the question. Attached FB posting by TCB admin.

TCB.jpg

Thank you for all your clarifications. This strategy of timing the polling tickets and the pamphlets to arrive in the mail at the same time is very creative. Some old folks (talking in the market), thought that TCB is the "endorsed" candidate because of the mail. On the other hand, some middle age folks felt that he was sent by the govt and was turned off. So he may gain some and lose some at the end. However, I think the gain is more than the loss.

I am beginning to see the seasoned campaigning of TCB only with the pamphlets. This guy has more than a leg up than even TT. A lot of votes are with the undecided in the heartlands. They don't even want to watch TV for PE. TCB is dipping his hands into this vote bank and the other 3 are not even catching up on this. Brilliant.

Scroo, now I believe you that TCB has done much in the background.

I like what TJS is doing at the moment. But being protrayed as the anti-establishment he will not be the winning ticket. He will be a force in the next GE if he is not destroyed by then.

This GE and now the PE is showing PAP something very important. It shows the PAP how it has lost strategy, discipline and cohesion over the years with little or no competition. The very "studs in your sides" LKY wanted to kick into us. What an irony. I have no illustions that the PAP is re-learning through this 2 exercises. Expect PAP to come back stronger next GE. I don't promise better candidates though. That one is difficult if PAP scouts continue to be weak and let gems like Nicole Seah slip out of sight despite being in the same NUS scholarship just like TPL.

Scroo, I put 7% void votes because every GE the void votes has been around 7-10% I think. If PE does not touch on daily lives like GE, I think we can expect higher void votes.

Thank you for all your clarifications. This strategy of timing the polling tickets and the pamphlets to arrive in the mail at the same time is very creative. Some old folks (talking in the market), thought that TCB is the "endorsed" candidate because of the mail. On the other hand, some middle age folks felt that he was sent by the govt and was turned off. So he may gain some and lose some at the end. However, I think the gain is more than the loss.

TCB has got a lot of professional groups helping him. Lawyers, Doctors, Academics etc. Businessmen on TT side as they have no choice but must appear to support establishment. Behind the scene, not sure if their families will vote for TT.

I got a funny feeling that TJS playing bad cop (confrontational) and TCB playing good cop to bury TT.

Another thing scroo. TT is running on the call that he can help the gahmen in recession time and recession is coming. How long does a recession last? 1 year? 2 year? And what is his value after that given that a President is a 6 year term? If his main or only value is the economy during recession, then why should I vote him in for 6 years when recession is only 1 year? Then I pay him 5 more years for what? I find it strange even TJS did not pick up on this.

Whoever crafted this angle for him is either thinking we are stupid or is a novice.

TCB has got a lot of professional groups helping him. Lawyers, Doctors, Academics etc. Businessmen on TT side as they have no choice but must appear to support establishment. Behind the scene, not sure if their families will vote for TT.

I got a funny feeling that TJS playing bad cop (confrontational) and TCB playing good cop to bury TT.

1. The length of time inwhich a recession last is unpredicable; we may even have tripple dip recession or more during this six years period (if I am allowed to coin a new term:o) Volatility is the common word :)

2. If his campaign thrust is to help garment in recessionary times. IMO, the question is; given his resume, and history of working relations with the civil services....... must be EP than can help garment on such an issue meh:confused:

Another thing scroo. TT is running on the call that he can help the gahmen in recession time and recession is coming. How long does a recession last? 1 year? 2 year? And what is his value after that given that a President is a 6 year term? If his main or only value is the economy during recession, then why should I vote him in for 6 years when recession is only 1 year? Then I pay him 5 more years for what? I find it strange even TJS did not pick up on this.

Whoever crafted this angle for him is either thinking we are stupid or is a novice.

LOL I hope you are not trying to say vote TT will jinx us with triple dip all the way for 6 years!
:D

1. The length of time inwhich a recession last is unpredicable; we may even have tripple dip recession or more during this six years period (if I am allowed to coin a new term:o) Volatility is the common word :)

2. If his campaign thrust is to help garment in recessionary times. IMO, the question is; given his resume, and history of working relations with the civil services....... must be EP than can help garment on such an issue meh:confused:

TCB not only supported by pap grassroot, he is very popular in the western part of singapore (pap vote bank). When he was in ama keng as GP, he is well like by the lowly educated chinese residents. While most of the older folks then had pass on, their children who now in their 40-50s still remember him fondly. I was told by a ex chua chu kang resident that after becoming a MP, TCB clinic was pack with ppl everyday not for medical consultation but residents going there to seek TCB help.

As this is not GE, with no bread & butter issue on the agenda, the share of pap supporters may fall to ard 45% and that will be contested by both TT and TCB. This PE only interest me because it will be the first time in spore history that a politician win an election with minority share of the votes.