Nicely put. The questions are now being raised.
the first question i'll raise is this: can i cook curry tomorrow? :p:p:p
Nicely put. The questions are now being raised.
the first question i'll raise is this: can i cook curry tomorrow? :p:p:p
It was an always meant to be a PAP check in case of a profligate opposition squandering the accumulated PAP wealth because of populist pressures and policies.
Bro, take it easy. This is only forum talk full of speculations, conjecture, guesswork and bullshit. Those with half a brain can pick out the wheat from the chaff and the rest will see things go above their head. What do you need the proof for - apply for HDB flat at discounted rate.
TJS went to Oxford, was a PPS and he struggles with the working language. OTC command of Mandarin was superb but his English was on par and he went to University of Adelaide. There are certain expectation of holding high office even though it is largely ceremonial.
I have another angle of thought. EP was mooted to shut the mouth of skeptics who kept harping the dangers of single party system of govt. To make sure the EP will never need to exercise its power unnecessarily, they had to enforce strict criteria together with a special talented panel to decide who can run to make sure the "right" candidate takes that job, plus of coz, the tightening of the constitution to keep a reign on him.
![]()
In other words, the "lower" TCB gets, the "higher" TT gets.Frankly, I am getting more depressed by the day... coz the chance TT get voted in is improving by the day.... thanks to TJS.
Your short survey has an interesting point which I hope to raise. If all TCB/TKL supporters join hands and vote for TJS, history can happen, however remote.TCB - Even among PAP grassroots these days, there are alot of new citizens from India, Philippines etc, these people have no idea who is TCB. Your old kakees are getting irrelevant. I think he will come in last. TCB is >70 years, he is talking old topics and is unaware of demographic changes. it is not the same PAP nor Singapore anymore.TKL - Position himself as non-partisan. In a skewed democracy where parliament seats do not represent proportional of votes won, positioning as non-partisan is missing out on alot of votes.TJS stands a better chance among the three becos of the opposition effect. For all the good qualities of TKL and TCB, if people of these 2 camps can consider combining behind TJS, things might just work out. I know President is above politics, but we are also looking at a skewed parliament.
Something funny is happening. Everybody received the pamphlet from TCB via Singpost with the names of all the eligible voters under the same address on the envelope. Does he have access to such database? Or is the info from Singpost because it is mailing for the Election Dept?....... is he endorsed by the Govt....At a mall today, there was distribution of free Coke with TCB's card. Did he pay for them or was it sponsored? It is becoming bewildering ....
Something funny is happening. Everybody received the pamphlet from TCB via Singpost with the names of all the eligible voters under the same address on the envelope.
Does he have access to such database? Or is the info from Singpost because it is mailing for the Election Dept?....... is he endorsed by the Govt....
At a mall today, there was distribution of free Coke with TCB's card. Did he pay for them or was it sponsored? It is becoming bewildering ....
Thank you for all your clarifications. This strategy of timing the polling tickets and the pamphlets to arrive in the mail at the same time is very creative. Some old folks (talking in the market), thought that TCB is the "endorsed" candidate because of the mail. On the other hand, some middle age folks felt that he was sent by the govt and was turned off. So he may gain some and lose some at the end. However, I think the gain is more than the loss.
TCB has got a lot of professional groups helping him. Lawyers, Doctors, Academics etc. Businessmen on TT side as they have no choice but must appear to support establishment. Behind the scene, not sure if their families will vote for TT.
I got a funny feeling that TJS playing bad cop (confrontational) and TCB playing good cop to bury TT.
Another thing scroo. TT is running on the call that he can help the gahmen in recession time and recession is coming. How long does a recession last? 1 year? 2 year? And what is his value after that given that a President is a 6 year term? If his main or only value is the economy during recession, then why should I vote him in for 6 years when recession is only 1 year? Then I pay him 5 more years for what? I find it strange even TJS did not pick up on this.
Whoever crafted this angle for him is either thinking we are stupid or is a novice.
1. The length of time inwhich a recession last is unpredicable; we may even have tripple dip recession or more during this six years period (if I am allowed to coin a new term:o) Volatility is the common word
2. If his campaign thrust is to help garment in recessionary times. IMO, the question is; given his resume, and history of working relations with the civil services....... must be EP than can help garment on such an issue meh![]()