• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Save the cyclist! Ban cycling on roads!!

I think, it would be quite foolish to keep bicycles off the roads. The drivers of cars and other auto vehicles need to be aware of the roads, so why should they not be aware of cyclists?

It would be beneficial if bicycle lanes were made ON THE ROADS, and not on the pedestrian footpaths. I don't like the idea of speeding cyclists zooming past me.. if they screw up.. or if i trip.. we WILL collide.

I think cyclists should be made to go thru a simple test, to show that they too, know the road safety, traffic rules, and also pay a small fee for a licence to ride a bicycle. Why do I say this? If they don't pay, how can one get info if and when they get into accidents?

This can also deter younger and possible more reckless cyclists from trying stunts on both the roads and pedestrian footpaths. If they got to pay and get registered, chances are they can't escape if they commit an offence or get into or cause accidents.

Let's face it, if other countries can have bicycle lanes, why not here? You mean Singapore can't adapt and chagne? Roads are built by man, so why can't we chagne and modify it? I can only think of one reason why the govt has been saying "no" for so long.. the COST of doing the changes.

Heck, deduct the minisers' salaries and use that to make bicycle lanes for a start. Why make pedestrians squeeze with bicycles on footpaths?

I think, it would be quite foolish to keep bicycles off the roads. The drivers of cars and other auto vehicles need to be aware of the roads, so why should they not be aware of cyclists?

It would be beneficial if bicycle lanes were made ON THE ROADS, and not on the pedestrian footpaths. I don't like the idea of speeding cyclists zooming past me.. if they screw up.. or if i trip.. we WILL collide.

I think cyclists should be made to go thru a simple test, to show that they too, know the road safety, traffic rules, and also pay a small fee for a licence to ride a bicycle. Why do I say this? If they don't pay, how can one get info if and when they get into accidents?

This can also deter younger and possible more reckless cyclists from trying stunts on both the roads and pedestrian footpaths. If they got to pay and get registered, chances are they can't escape if they commit an offence or get into or cause accidents.

Let's face it, if other countries can have bicycle lanes, why not here? You mean Singapore can't adapt and chagne? Roads are built by man, so why can't we chagne and modify it? I can only think of one reason why the govt has been saying "no" for so long.. the COST of doing the changes.

Heck, deduct the minisers' salaries and use that to make bicycle lanes for a start. Why make pedestrians squeeze with bicycles on footpaths?

" I think cyclists should be made to go thru a simple test, to show that they too, know the road safety, traffic rules, and also pay a small fee for a licence to ride a bicycle. Why do I say this? If they don't pay, how can one "

I fully agree with your statement But please don't give the government anymore idea to rob any group of Singaporean again . Some poor uncle or auntie don't have money to pay .

Driver in blue camo uniform flees after hitting cyclist at Mandai, leaving her in ICU

bicycle.jpg

10th April 2013

STOMPer Lim's sister saw a driver in blue camouflage uniform hit a female cyclist and then drive off. When her sister caught up with the
driver to confront him, he denied that he had hit anyone, before driving off again.

This was despite the fact his windscreen had been smashed on the left side from the collision.

Another driver at the scene of the collision said that the man had already been driving unsteadily along the BKE before the Mandai Road
exit, prompting him to high-beam him at the time.

The STOMPer also sent in a picture of the cyclist's damaged bike, along with a shoe belonging to the woman.

STOMPer Lim wrote:

"This incident happened last night (Apr 9), along Mandai Road.

"A black Honda Accord hit a female cyclist and drove off without stopping.

"My sister was driving behind the car and saw the whole incident. She went after the guy in her own car.

"When he pulled over, he claimed that he did not hit anyone even though the left side of his windscreen was smashed.

"My sister told him to go back to the accident scene, but he simply drove off again.

"The poor female cyclist's daughter called for information just now. She is now in ICU due to a spinal injury and a blood clot in the brain.

"God bless the cyclist who got hit. May the driver be caught and severely punished."

A spokesperson for the Singapore Police Force said:

"Police received the call on Apr 9 at 9.55pm informing of an accident along Mandai Road towards Yishun Avenue 1 before Mandai Avenue.

"Upon police arrival, it was established that an accident involving a car and a cyclist had occurred.

"The female cyclist was conveyed conscious to Khoo Teck Puat Hospital.

"Investigations are ongoing."

Very good suggestion. Cyclists don't pay road tax, slows down traffic and treat congested Sinkie roads as some vineyard path in Marseilles, France.

Those who doesn't cycle or exercise must be fat ass, look like a 55 gallon barrel
u ppl will die of heart attack while walking on the foot path
...so gahmen should ban you
ppl from walking on the foot path or the street!

I am I right??

Come on don't be an idiot over here!! don't pay road tax crap!!
Next time PAP will asked to pay for the air u breath!!

What is this crap talk about cycling for fitness? Can't jog, swim or do yoga? Anyway cyclists sure die or half dead if they get involved in accidents. Not the people driving cars.

Yeah, lets all do the same thing cause doing what everybody else does is so much fun!

Oh right. Cycling is such a unique sport that one in a billion does it. Cyclists have the worst reasons on why they enjoy being a road hassle. Hopefully more accidents and deaths of cyclists will remind these very assholes on why cycling on Sinkie roads is simply retarded.

Aiya. Singapore is just too crowded that even a simple desire to cycle to work is not feasible. All of you sinkies are giving up the good things in life so that we FTs can make a quick buck from the landlord by farming on your soil.

Those who doesn't cycle or exercise must be fat ass, look like a 55 gallon barrel
u ppl will die of heart attack while walking on the foot path
...so gahmen should ban you
ppl from walking on the foot path or the street!

I am I right??

Come on don't be an idiot over here!! don't pay road tax crap!!
Next time PAP will asked to pay for the air u breath!!

I can visualize all these people who are anti-cyclists are obese and they'll probably kick the bucket before age 60.

" I think cyclists should be made to go thru a simple test, to show that they too, know the road safety, traffic rules, and also pay a small fee for a licence to ride a bicycle. Why do I say this? If they don't pay, how can one "

I fully agree with your statement But please don't give the government anymore idea to rob any group of Singaporean again . Some poor uncle or auntie don't have money to pay .

I did mentino a "small fee". But you are correct in pointing out that this SG govt seems to "steal" ideas and use them to "suck money" from ordinary folks like us. The meals on wheels thing was one of them.. and many mre.

Let's see how they want to deal with mre and mre hit n run incidents and cyclists who flaunt rules.

I did mentino a "small fee". But you are correct in pointing out that this SG govt seems to "steal" ideas and use them to "suck money" from ordinary folks like us. The meals on wheels thing was one of them.. and many mre.

Let's see how they want to deal with mre and mre hit n run incidents and cyclists who flaunt rules.

Mate , usually government will suck a bit of money from you at the beginning just like ERP , cigars .ect . And when Singaporean stop kpkb get used to it and forget the whole thing then government will start to increase the price . It always been like that . That's why never give those bastard any chance of robbing you from the start .

I can visualize all these people who are anti-cyclists are obese and they'll probably kick the bucket before age 60.

Then we can safely assume you are some spandex wearing retard cyclist. There are numerous sports beside cycling.

That's like saying anyone who does not go to NUS is illiterate. How old are you? Probably older. You sound like those old bitter men who are suffering from midlife crisis. Probably fat and need to cycle to work that shit off your tummy.

Very good suggestion. Cyclists don't pay road tax, slows down traffic and treat congested Sinkie roads as some vineyard path in Marseilles, France.

Look at this post carefully. It show that this person is a full blown sinkie.

When there is a problem, one thing come to his mind is dun pay tax.

Most likely, when he sees someone make a mistake, the thing that comes to his sinkie mind is to fine that person or jail that person. That is why i stay away from such low class sinkies. He got no brains to think of way to solve a problem so that everyone wins , he only thinks of fine or jail and punished others. What a sinkie loser. It is because he got no brain to handle things and the only way is to bend down and let other screw. Oh pls.. if you are a loser, it does not means other people behaves like you.

This type of person does not go far in life and usually jealous of other people success. What a pathetic low life sinkie shit losers, bend down more and get screw by PAP bigger rod. that is what you are only successful in.

Oh right. Cycling is such a unique sport that one in a billion does it. Cyclists have the worst reasons on why they enjoy being a road hassle. Hopefully more accidents and deaths of cyclists will remind these very assholes on why cycling on Sinkie roads is simply retarded.
Don't confuse matters. Most of cyclists only cycle on weekends or less crowded roads like lim chu kang, mandai and changi coast roads. And sadly many accidents occur along these sparsely used roads because drivers are either drunk, using mobile devices or sleepy.

In fact this case illustrate the problem. It happens along mandai road where there are few vehicles. And why do you think the driver fled the scene? Probably drunk and he knew the consequences.

So why do you think drivers don't give a flying fuck about reckless driving? Because the punishment is so light, itis a global joke.

Certain roads can have designated cycling lanes, like mandai, changi coast, lim chu kang, old Thomson, rifle range etc.

Most importantly the law must punish reckless drivers more severely. Manslaughter charges should be use if the driver is drunk or using mobile phones while driving.

Are you dyslexic?

Question.......Are road lane widths narrower in Singapore than in Japan?

Singapore are risking sideswipes while driving on our roads with narrow spaced lanes everyday and some dumb motherfuckers want a lane demarcated for their use?

Those motherfuckers only asking for special lanes on less used roads like rifle range, changi coast etc. too much for you?