• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Sammyboy Runroaders

Is Jomtien as nice place for retirement ? Any big departmental stores such as Central or The Mall ?

The last time I went to Hatyai via bus from golden mile was almost 20 years ago during my NS time (clearing our leaves before ROD). Was fortunate that we went in a big group of 13-14 people and so the journey was quite entertaining. Most of the journey was sleep or playing Dai Di all the way to MY/TH border. Stop a few times for toilet and smoking break. At the MY/TH border, bought some duty-free ciggies and whiskly. Journey from the border to Hatyai town was less than 2 hours. Scenery is nice.

Upon arrival at Hatyai town, some already lose everything on Dai Di. Immediately, everyone checked in hotel. Was 2 pax per room. After quick shower, one 'old bird' of the group organise 3 tuk tuk to go for chicken farm tour. Have to come back to hotel in 5 tuk tuk due to the additional partners. Some did not opt for partner so went back hotel PCC. At night, went to disco, supper, return to hotel and bonk. Damage was THB 1,200 per day. Did not change partner and so have the same partner for the 2 nites. Trip was also partial disturbed with persistent calls to resume Dai Di. Did resumed Dai Di on one of the guys room. Ended up, played Dai Di non-stop until morning before everyone go back to ZZzz. Quite an experience as 2 PAX in one room, meaning bonking beside your friends. But girls very steady, strictly no change of partners. Someone tried unsuccessfully and received a warning from the pimp at the lobby the next morning. Second day, went jalan jalan and eat Bak Kut Teh. As expected, the die hard Dai Di khakis tried to initiate Dai Di session again but ended up with Pok Ten session taught by the girls. Same room, this time Pok Ten, girls very sporting. One guy lose everything and someone wager he do a live show in front of all. His girl willing but guy chicken out. And follow by dinner and disco an bonk.

Overall, a nice trip. Can be better if there are less gambling components.
RTF: yes, but not by coach. Also, more fun to go with like mind Khakis.

hahaha, me really old dinosaur liao. My last trip was almost 20 years ago and took almost 20 hours. Seat until backside tear. Sorry for the outdated info. I remember, some hours were lost as we have to wait at the border until 6am even though we arrived at the border at around 3am. Not sure if this is still the same practise.

Arriving at the border at 3 a.m. is stupid miscalculation by the overspeeding driver. The border is not 24-hour open. 12 to 6 a.m. closed., even till today. But they don't mind and don't care. They usually use the time to gamble among other coach drivers also arriving early. :D

Thailand is a good place but bangkok is getting expensive, still sticking to Thailand but planning to move away from BKK.

you can consider Prachuab Kirikhan, mid south 3-4 hours drive, seaside town not much of nightlife (or even daylife ,as a matter of fact) but should be a nice place to wait for the last days :D

Jomtien is the "hi-so" area in Pattaya. Yes, there is one Central in Pattaya, called Central Festival @ beach located between Pattaya Central and South, along beach road. Hilton hotel is also in the same building. Jomtien, in general, caters to the "hi-so" group. It's more exclusive than the Pattaya counterpart. Make up of mainly wealthy expats and Thais. It's only 5-15 mins away to Pattaya depending on which part of Jomtien you are staying. In my opinion, not so exciting to cheong but pleasant place to stay. At least you know the standards of your neighbours.

For retirement, Jomtien is a good place. If you are willing to look a little further, Bang Saray (15 km) from Pattaya will even be better. Much quieter and nice scenery. Most of my non-Thai friends stay in Jomtien.

"They usually use the time to gamble among other coach drivers also arriving early"

HAHAHHAHAHA. This is so true! In one local talk show, the host asked the audience "What is the most common thing to find in "Sip Lor" and "Rot Tour") , meaning 10 wheels lorry and Tour Bus? Answer is poker cards. Other answers are Condoms, Yaba and Red Bull. But the best one is Poker Cards!

"They usually use the time to gamble among other coach drivers also arriving early"

HAHAHHAHAHA. This is so true! In one local talk show, the host asked the audience "What is the most common thing to find in "Sip Lor" and "Rot Tour") , meaning 10 wheels lorry and Tour Bus? Answer is poker cards. Other answers are Condoms, Yaba and Red Bull. But the best one is Poker Cards!

You're a real Thai veteran. A lot of gambling Chinese think that gambling is a Chinese tradition. Wait till they live among Thais. :eek: :D

Hey Guys need some info here. I travelled to Phuket from bkk by getting on a plane but I want to getback via either bus or train from Phuket back to bkk. Is it better to take 1 direct bus or take a bus then train from Surat Thani?

I think can include Alamaking. :D

scyj37.jpg

Maicon : Where is Alamakqueen?
Dani Alves : That loser must have committed suicide over some pussy.

Have not tried the bus/train route for BKK/Phuket. Tried other train routes. It is much slower than bus/coaches. Even slower if the train is the non-express, meaning stopping every now and then at almost every small town along the way. Good if you want to enjoy the scenery of countryside and not in a rush. If a/c option is available, take the a/c option. In short, go for the a/c and express options. Overall, journey longer and comfortable than bus even if it is express train. Thai trains are surprisingly quite clean.

Bus/Coach, is cheaper and faster with the exception of mini-bus (Rot Tu). There are also more bus arrival/departure so you can return BKK without wasting time waiting for the next train. Avoid mini-bus at all cost. It is the faster of all and also most dangerous. Mini-bus drivers are very notorious for over speeding.

When Thai Airlines started cutting flight services to Hatyai, it really hit the Sporeans. Not many Sporeans could afford to spend 30 hours on the road to get to/return from Hatyai. I suspect the reduction of Spore visitors also had an adverse impact on the Hatyai economy.

On the contrary. It was PLUS that caused the upturn in coach travel business and downturn in airline business in the Singapore-Hatyai route. Let me ask you. Average of 2 hours in advance to check into airport for departure, 1 hour to check out on arrival, 2 more hours average for taxiing to departure and taxiing from arrival, air fares, taxes plus taxi fares. Only psychologically weak people who think in terms of exact traveling time and fare takes flight from Singapore to Hatyai (or anywhere in Malaysia) when coach sends you downtown doorstep to downtown doorstep with a goodnight's sleep on first class broad reclining seats installed on the coach at a cost of about airport tax. There's a reason for the decline of the air business between Singapore and Hatyai, there's also a reason for the popularity of the coach route. The myth of the 2-hour flight and hundred dollar airfare as I've explained abundantly above, well understood by psychologically and practically sensible people. It'll cost you a few hundred dollars and still more than half a day with very few hours saved by the time you're done and there.

On the contrary. It was PLUS that caused the upturn in coach travel business and downturn in airline business in the Singapore-Hatyai route. Let me ask you. Average of 2 hours in advance to check into airport for departure, 1 hour to check out on arrival, 2 more hours average for taxiing to departure and taxiing from arrival, air fares, taxes plus taxi fares. Only stupid people takes flight from Singapore to Hatyai (or anywhere in Malaysia) when coach sends you downtown doorstep to downtown doorstep with a goodnight's sleep on first class broad reclining seats installed on the coach at a cost of about airport tax. There's a reason for the decline of the air business between Singapore and Hatyai, there's also a reason for the popularity of the coach route. The myth of the 2-hour flight and hundred dollar airfare as I've explained abundantly above. It'll cost you a few hundred dollars and half a day by the time you're done.

Not everyone can afford to sleep for 15 hours lah.
I for one sleep better in a bed & not in a coach.

Time spent at the airport & in the air is only about 5 hours vs 15 hours by bus. Of course it's cheaper to take a bus but some of use have work commitments & would prefer to maximise our holiday time:)

Not everyone can afford to sleep for 15 hours lah.
I for one sleep better in a bed & not in a coach.

Time spent at the airport & in the air is only about 5 hours vs 15 hours by bus. Of course it's cheaper to take a bus but some of use have work commitments & would prefer to maximise our holiday time:)

I don't know where you get your 15 hours from. Total journey is about 12 hours with PLUS, including crossing both Malaysian and Thai borders, dinner and supper stops. Maybe half an hour longer if your coach allows DFS stop.

And it's not only about the hours spent in airport and on flight. The time and cost to get to the airport and from the airport too. After the demise of Kowloon Kai Tak in HK, I don't know which airport is in downtown, certainly not Hatyai too.

I don't know where you get your 15 hours from. Total journey is about 12 hours with PLUS, including crossing both Malaysian and Thai borders, dinner and supper stops. Maybe half an hour longer if your coach allows DFS stop.

9 hours from BKK to Chiangmai I already buay tahan. The bus seats got auto massage your back somemore. They're all double-deckers, and these days I avoid the upper deck at all costs.

Perhaps we look at things from different perspective and experience. In the US, I spent three to four days on Greyhound coach in a single trip. And trust me, Malaysian coaches plying between Singapore and Hatyai are far more comfortable and yet far more cheaper too.I love the experience. It's when I get to see the real country.

Can you find a Dutch team 1? I dun like Brazil, they lose to the Dutch, losers, hur hur hur

World Cup 1974 2nd Group Round - Holland 2 Brazil 0 (Holland still went on to LOSE the World Cup)

World Cup 1994 Q-Final - Brazil 3 Holland 2 (Brazil went on to WIN the World Cup)

Silly Alamaking in orange jersey: Oh is it? I have no idea. I was sucking a pacifier then.