• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Putting retirement savings in equities pays off in long run

You can replicate the same thing mah using your 401k ...it is easy to invest in something that gives you 2.5 percent.

lost big on paper on 401k during the bear market last couple of months. market is recovering now but don't know for how long.

Vast majority of investors don't get 7 percent long term. If they did, the world by now would have been flooded with people who became millionaires from investing in the main indexes or blue chips of the stock market.

Most investors end up losing money in investing; overpriced blue chips, rubbish penny stocks, ostrich farms, forex trading, MLMs, land banking, gold shares, time-share companies, and whatever harebrained investment schemes you can think of.

If you think Malaysia's EPF or some other sovereign retirement fund is that good, by all means migrate to that country and put your retirement money into their funds.

Who say no 7% over long term? My whole life insurance policy already proven return of 4.5% over long term, and that's after providing for insurance coverage. Australia CPF equivalent also 8% return over long term for median/average returns of the funds.

lost big on paper on 401k during the bear market last couple of months. market is recovering now but don't know for how long.

You should have continued investing regularly ...didn't you learn from the 2008 crash?

I bought lots of oil stocks ...and I am just sitting on tidy profits. Will keep them for a while ...maybe two to three years.

Now, it is the time to look at biotech with your speculative dough.

Stick to your five etfs for your retirement.

So, are you taking up my $888 per month room?

Vast majority of investors don't get 7 percent long term. If they did, the world by now would have been flooded with people who became millionaires from investing in the main indexes or blue chips of the stock market.

Most investors end up losing money in investing; overpriced blue chips, rubbish penny stocks, ostrich farms, forex trading, MLMs, land banking, gold shares, time-share companies, and whatever harebrained investment schemes you can think of.

If you think Malaysia's EPF or some other sovereign retirement fund is that good, by all means migrate to that country and put your retirement money into their funds.

dont be stupid,do u know how huge index funds have become?vanguard the first index fund tracking the snp 500 for the first time started in 1974 with less than 3 billion under management.....in the 90s index funds have grown to nearly 500 billion,today equity index funds is estimated to be around 4 to 5 trillion dollars of the market,nearly 35 percent of private or institutional investors equity are now in index funds.......the stats and evidence have swung overwhelmingly in favour of index investing versus active management.

You should have continued investing regularly ...didn't you learn from the 2008 crash?

I bought lots of oil stocks ...and I am just sitting on tidy profits. Will keep them for a while ...maybe two to three years.

Now, it is the time to look at biotech with your speculative dough.

Stick to your five etfs for your retirement.

So, are you taking up my $888 per month room?

my room is free if i provide services to the landlady.

while i may enjoy the benefits of 401k as i contribute the max amount permissible per year plus up to 6% matching contributions from the employer, there are many americans who cannot enjoy or benefit from it.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/09/03/wealth-inequality-401k-retirement_n_3860549.html

http://www.benefitspro.com/2013/09/03/epi-says-rise-of-401k-worsened-retirement-inequali

we're talking about more than half the working population. 10% of the contributors have at least us$200k of tax sheltered value in their accounts. the majority have an average of less than us$10k in their accounts. about 50% have nothing or zero balance in their retirement accounts. how can americans retire with such paltry sums? and talking about your favorite topic of inequality, 401k actually creates a deep chasm between the have's and have-not's. you either have hundreds of thousands of dollars in your account or you don't. anything less than us$500k these days do not even guarantee a no-frills retirement based on frugality and subsistence. americans are basically screwed with this system.

adding fuel to fire, it hugely benefitted wall street, investment banks, hedge fund managers, institutional investors....the so called 1% who are holding everybody's money hostage by leveraging and gambling huge sums of money in the trillions in the stock market. when 401k was first enacted, it sent hundreds of billions of newfound money to wall street. now, much of the cash flow that's fueling speculations (a.k.a. gambling) at the dow, nyse, nasdaq are hard earned money from 401k accounts.

if i time it well together with huge rallies on the stock market i can benefit from an appreciation of my 401k portfolio to over $500k. i constantly contribute to it whether the market is up or down. on a down market, i potentially get more value out of each contribution as i buy more at lower prices. the real crunch happens when i cash out and sell, and it must have the right timing. while i'm lucky to be in the 10% wrt to 401k, there are 90% of americans who will face ruin and desperation in retirement. you don't want that to happen to sinkies.

Lucky you. But if you ever lose your appeal to the lady, there is alway $888 per month room available for you.

while i may enjoy the benefits of 401k as i contribute the max amount permissible per year plus up to 6% matching contributions from the employer, there are many americans who cannot enjoy or benefit from it.

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/09/03/wealth-inequality-401k-retirement_n_3860549.html

http://www.benefitspro.com/2013/09/03/epi-says-rise-of-401k-worsened-retirement-inequali

we're talking about more than half the working population. 10% of the contributors have at least us$200k of tax sheltered value in their accounts. the majority have an average of less than us$10k in their accounts. about 50% have nothing or zero balance in their retirement accounts. how can americans retire with such paltry sums? and talking about your favorite topic of inequality, 401k actually creates a deep chasm between the have's and have-not's. you either have hundreds of thousands of dollars in your account or you don't. anything less than us$500k these days do not even guarantee a no-frills retirement based on frugality and subsistence. americans are basically screwed with this system.

That's why I think the Scandinavian countries have the best system ...pay 50 percent tax and you can live a carefree life with the government providing free childcare, healthcare, living wage unemployment insurance, pension and education with decent stipend. These are the major expenses in life and it is all taken care of. No wonder the Danes are the happiest people on earth.

adding fuel to fire, it hugely benefitted wall street, investment banks, hedge fund managers, institutional investors....the so called 1% who are holding everybody's money hostage by leveraging and gambling huge sums of money in the trillions in the stock market. when 401k was first enacted, it sent hundreds of billions of newfound money to wall street. now, much of the cash flow that's fueling speculations (a.k.a. gambling) at the dow, nyse, nasdaq are hard earned money from 401k accounts.

Manage your own money ...vanguard provides a good range of etfs for you to setup a portfolio that is well diversified.

if i time it well together with huge rallies on the stock market i can benefit from an appreciation of my 401k portfolio to over $500k. i constantly contribute to it whether the market is up or down. on a down market, i potentially get more value out of each contribution as i buy more at lower prices. the real crunch happens when i cash out and sell, and it must have the right timing. while i'm lucky to be in the 10% wrt to 401k, there are 90% of americans who will face ruin and desperation in retirement. you don't want that to happen to sinkies.

Forget about timing the market. Go safe ...five etfs and you can sleep well, giving you long term returns of 7 pct.

i think u are getting the cause and effect mixed up,401k doesnt cause the inequality,it is merely a tax sheltered investment savings account.rather it shows the effects of inequality.the inequality comes from the fact that everybody has different earning capacity,and everybody has different ability to save.....not to mention the fact that most americans are loaded in debt anyway,they believe in spending more than saving.their savings rates are probably one of the lowest in the world.and also the fact that lets face it most americans are stupid,half the population have iq below 100 and vote for donald trump.what the fuck would these idiots know about financial literacy let alone english literacy.their only idea of making money is to work a job for money.unfortunately for them,economist thomas pikett has verified that the return on labour is much much worse than the return on capital(money).

but u are right most of the money and resources in life will go to the people who care about money,knows how money works,knows about business,finance and economics and a little math,and pursues money vigorously.the lion's share will ultimately end up in their hands....and unfortunately its up to the rich to feed the rest of the dumb world.which is why its better to be in a welfare socialist country when u are poor,and then to be in singapore or america when u are rich......if u are born the opposite way round,u are shit on luck.

which is why i am glad i am a chinese,the money grubbing jew of the oriental,the scent of money and mercantilism runs in my dna.

between if u are talking about timing the market during ur withdrawal age,theres a simple solution,as u grow older u should be shifting a larger percentage to bonds and preserving ur income and capital.......hold ur age in bonds percentage.either that or grow ur portfolio to such a immense size that u can withdraw only 1 or 2 percent per year and live on it.

i think u are getting the cause and effect mixed up,401k doesnt cause the inequality,it is merely a tax sheltered investment savings account.

didn't say it was the cause, but it definitely added fuel to the fire or exacerbated the problem in the 80s.

There's no need to make any bets.

Have you been following your own advice - Use of dollar cost averaging for long periods of time in the stock market (STI or S&P)??

For most sinkies, if they wish to make money from investing, they should buy HDB flat at BTO. After 10-20 years, the value of their BTO should be at least 20-30% higher at resale value. For other generation sinkies like myself, many of us have personally experienced our HDB properties increase in value by several hundred percent.

Every generation finds the price of property too high, including those who bought in the 1970s and 1980s. Years later, those same people are kicking themselves for not investing in property. It would be the same today for young sinkies who bitch that property prices are too darn high.

If you are just an average sinkie, your best investment is likely to be your HDB flat. Please kneel and suck PAP's cock for looking after you.

most of the hdb price appreciation happened in the last ten years when Clown Lee opened the floodgates and began mass importation of garbage.....if u looked at the hdb price index,the mass importation pushed the housing market way beyond the means of 100 which is defined as the optimal number of years to pay off a mortgage to nearly 220 percent in 2014.....without the 1.4m cockroaches pushing the prices up most of ur hdb flats would be languishing at less than half the price today.....rock bottom after the 1997 asian financial crisis,u will never be able to smell the prices today.anyway this ponzi scheme cannot be sustained forever,sooner or later people will run out of money to fuel the property bubble or PAP will run out of room to import more trash,sooner or later the bubble will burst.

You are a gigolo. Go and invest in insurance against impotency to protect yourself from being homeless when kick out by landlady for failure to perform service.

most of the hdb price appreciation happened in the last ten years when Clown Lee opened the floodgates and began mass importation of garbage.....if u looked at the hdb price index,the mass importation pushed the housing market way beyond the means of 100 which is defined as the optimal number of years to pay off a mortgage to nearly 220 percent in 2014.....without the 1.4m cockroaches pushing the prices up most of ur hdb flats would be languishing at less than half the price today.....rock bottom after the 1997 asian financial crisis,u will never be able to smell the prices today.anyway this ponzi scheme cannot be sustained forever,sooner or later people will run out of money to fuel the property bubble or PAP will run out of room to import more trash,sooner or later the bubble will burst.

I think there are two waves of big price appreciation. The earlier one from late 80s or early 90s up till 1997 or 1998 when the property crashed.

Hey up this number one important way to improve lives for sinkies. Increase the CPF interest rate.

Property prices in most cities increased over the years. London, KL, New York and HK would be good examples. It's not just Singapore.