• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious PAP's sheer arrogance and contempt

Kopi0Kosong

A television set certainly isn't a necessity. People who live in real poverty don't even have electricity or running water let alone a colour LCD TV. Singaporeans obviously have a very distorted view of what poverty is because 90% of the country lives in relative luxury enjoying all the creature comforts of life thanks to the PAP.

I know what poverty is because I lived through it. I grew up in a house with no electricity, no running water, no sanitation and no proper roof over our heads. It was an attap hut that leaked like a sieve when it rained. I had to personally push a cart more than a mile to collect water from a standpipe and had to shit in a bucket shared by 50 other families.

You don't have a clue what real poverty is and if you classify TV, mobile phone, internet connection etc as necessities you most certainly are living in a cocoon without being even remotely aware of how the majority of the rest of the world lives.

Apology for the late response. Please note that I clearly stated 'it's a basic, must-have tool to have in TODAY's WORLD." and therefore my qualification of my interpretation of the term 'POVERTY'. I respect your own definition of poverty and will not insist on changing your mindset. You are ABSOLUTE while I am RELATIVE...LOL.

You know what poverty is because you lived through it. Are you also implying that I do not know poverty because I did/do not live through it? I don't have a clue what real poverty is? Very presumptuous and full of self-belief? Please accept my sincere apology if I did come across as getting personal. Cheers.

Kopi0Kosong

Thanks Boss Sam for providing all these insights.

I had dated quite a number of sinkie women, mudland chinese women and PRC women. All of them told me that staying in a HDB flat is consider poor :cool:

Personal insights and true insights may differ. We are all learning. It's important in our ever-changing world. Have a Tiger and cheers.

Kopi0Kosong

Now alot of condos are built next to HDB flats. Those staying in condos are poor too? Actually, they are ...because they will slave till they die paying off the loan.

With BTO HDB 99-year RENTAL flats costing more than half a million today, your point of observation applies too. Singaporeans are beginning to fear for their children and grandchildren. Am I wrong to label our PAP LEEders as heartless and cruel? This is happening because some PAP LEEders decided many moons ago that to discourage Singaporeans from going away, one good approach is to 'bond' them to something, a life-long DEBT. Hold on to their money and make them take a loan.
Imagine a LEEder forcing a person/family to rent a pigeon hole but must pay 99 years of rent upfront. The best part is that you are the OWNER and the value WOULD keep increasing. Are Singaporeans stupid? Perceived reaLEEty and true reaLIty!!!

Kopi0Kosong

Please don't forget to mention mice breeding in between those layers of attap leaves... KNN...

Mice, lizards, bats, hornets, wasps and spiders. Vividly, I can still visualise my father having to hide on the struts supporting the attap leaves. Oops, I missed out the deadLEE cobras.

Kopi0Kosong

If you're going with a wide definition, ...
Meritocracy is a beast if left unchecked. It is essentially survival of the fittest and if u die... Who's problem?

Meritocracy is a BEAST if left uncheck.
It's no different with the PAP, especially when its LEEders keep propagating that they are the BEST, with an
A.
PAP is a BEAST if left uncheck.

If you're going with a wide definition, then anything that gives you an edge over the next sucker will be deemed merit. Adderall for rich kids to get a quick cognitive boost to ace the exams. It doesn't end.

One consequence of merit in our capitalist society is the inequitable allocation of resources. Every decision is reduced to dollars and cents, and he with the most merit, has the most cents.

When the PAP first came into power, they embarked on a massive reallocation of resources, nationalizing land and businesses. I do not know what wealth distribution was like pre-PAP, but I'd hazard a guess it was highly concentrated in the top 5% or less; worse than today.

But now we are headed back to those pre-PAP days of great wealth inequality. And merit has a large part to do with this.

There will always be the "losers" in every race. But the real issue is, how much do the winners deserve?

There is no viable alternative to meritocracy (we can't be going back to racial quotas,) but we need to relook at how much the winners of this race should get (to keep; aka taxes.)

Meritocracy is a beast if left unchecked. It is essentially survival of the fittest and if u die... Who's problem?

History has shown that capitalism is still the most efficient way of distributing scarce resources. We tried a system where the state ran the economy and the results were a disaster.

The 80/20 rule holds true in most countries and the winners contribute 80% of the tax take. https://www.wsj.com/articles/top-20-of-earners-pay-84-of-income-tax-1428674384

Even if the top 20% contributed 100% that still would not change the financial state of the lowest common denominators because losers will remain losers no matter how much money was thrown at them.

hofmann

some words from Dr M on Merit:

Asked when meritocracy would be implemented within the government, the Prime Minister said the system could not really determine a person's performance.
"The top is not always the best. Those in the second and third place, if given a chance, (they) can still achieve," he said.
Taking himself as example, he said he was given a chance to study medicine by scoring only 3As in the examination in 1947 whereas his classmates got six, seven or even eight As.

hofmann

Even if the top 20% contributed 100% that still would not change the financial state of the lowest common denominators because losers will remain losers no matter how much money was thrown at them.

yes it will. "financial state" is a relative concept - how much your money is worth depends on how much the next sucker has. Inflation in other words.

if we continue to have income disparity of 100x or 1000x between top and bottom jobs, we are only going to go down the pre-PAP road of highly concentrated wealth.

what's the point of money? resource allocation. leading to power. and concentration of it in the hands of the few under the current system.

Losers should be subject to financial management by the state and deprived of their free will to determine how they spend their money. if not, i will have to bear the tax burden for them.

yes it will. "financial state" is a relative concept - how much your money is worth depends on how much the next sucker has. Inflation in other words.

if we continue to have income disparity of 100x or 1000x between top and bottom jobs, we are only going to go down the pre-PAP road of highly concentrated wealth.

what's the point of money? resource allocation. leading to power. and concentration of it in the hands of the few under the current system.

Losers should be subject to financial management by the state and deprived of their free will to determine how they spend their money. if not, i will have to bear the tax burden for them.

NZ has a comprehensive welfare system where the elderly poor are given heavily subsidised state housing plus a pension of $2200 per month. Yet there are still people living in the streets. The poor remain poor not because they don't have enough money. It's because it slips through their fingers purchasing the wrong things.

Mice, lizards, bats, hornets, wasps and spiders. Vividly, I can still visualise my father having to hide on the struts supporting the attap leaves. Oops, I missed out the deadLEE cobras.
I remember these wonderful guys too

images
images

hofmann

NZ has a comprehensive welfare system where the elderly poor are given heavily subsidised state housing plus a pension of $2200 per month. Yet there are still people living in the streets. The poor remain poor not because they don't have enough money. It's because it slips through their fingers purchasing the wrong things.

Yes, so they should all be subject to financial management by the state. Gazette a list of luxuries (like iPhones) and require them to apply for a permit before they purchase.

If not my tax dollars are going to be funding the shareholders profits in apple.

Yes, so they should all be subject to financial management by the state. Gazette a list of luxuries (like iPhones) and require them to apply for a permit before they purchase.

If not my tax dollars are going to be funding the shareholders profits in apple.

Unless a system like North Korea's is in place there is no way you can stop someone from buying an iPhone. They'll just get someone to purchase it for them.

Kopi0Kosong

LOL you enjoy crossword puzzles a lot?? :thumbsup:

Like many forummers, its only WORDs that we can use to show that we are CROSS and unhappy. How can it not be when Singaporeans have been cheated and lied to, time and time again. How could self-serving LEEders be making personal LEEcisions for individual citizens? Crosswords, one of many tools/weapons, for some and cross swords with others. Sharing is good. Doing it is better. To the LEADers, please walk the talk. Cheers.

Kopi0Kosong

Just return in full CPF as initially agree.

Yes, the CPF issue is a good example of PAP's cheating and lying. Singaporeans should not let the self-serving LEEders get away with their unfairLEE acts. Accept and present the case immediately after the HDB ownership terms and promises; and not at a General Election. General Election should be Judgement Day! Get Singaporeans involved. Cheating and lying LEEders can run and hide with staged fixing but they should not be allowed to get away. Singaporeans are not stupid.

Hypocrite-The

Yes, the true thinking of our uncaring, egoistic and self-serving LEEders. Thank you.
Actually it is just common sense. Humanity needs to rethink its priorities and ideologies. How come there is no education on the true cost of old age? Lets say a person retires at 60 and dies at 90. That is 30 years of no economic productivity. And the old person always sick etc and is suffering,,,who will want to lead that sort of life? But the true cost is never mention because the main beneficiaries of such sufferings are the medical corporations and old age care. Old age care etc are spending huge on expending facilities etc and medical corporations get huge amounts of money to try and 'save lives'. That is why there is no proper debate on euthanasia. There is no proper planning for human well being. We are living longer but our quality of life is poorer. I for one do not plan to burden my next generation with my medical bills etc and enrich those medical corporations. Its high time humans learn, death is part of life, deal with it. And remember, the ones that died are the lucky ones.

Hypocrite-The

Fair enough if you buy into the socialist narrative. However not having enough money to pay for the running costs of fancy electric heaters still isn't the definition of poverty.

Boss Sam, actually in ang mor lands, electricity, running water and internet is part of the basics of life. The problem is in Singkieland and Ozland, such basics are being used by the gahmens for extra revenue. In Ozland, ppl cannot afford to heat their homes, because power prices went up tremendously, and the main reason is half the power bill is actually government taxes. Also the houses are poorly built with poor energy efficiency so it cost more to heat and cool an aust home than a europrean one. In Oz its safe to assume 50% of income goes to direct and indirect taxes and the main working class get back nothing. Its like singkieland taxes without the direct taxation. And only the rich benefit because of the tax loopholes that only they can exploit. I am no commie, but I do support the working class. I believe all who are willing to work should be rewarded and not penalise. I also do not support taxing the rich but I do support they pay their fair share of taxes by removing the tax loopholes they exploit.

Another thing I support is based on the old singapore example. Tax luxuries. In singkieland in the past, there was a luxury category for COEs. Such luxury tax should be expended to raise revenue more effectively as the rich can afford to pay for their Far La Lee etcs...in Ozland should be the same....because the rich will gladly pay for their luxuries,,if they dont want,,they can buy a Kia,,,,No one point a gun to their head to pay tax,,,and they wont feel soo bad if they pay on their own accord for their toys.

I know that I will be bashed from the right and particularly the left wing bleeding heart liberal fuckwits for my stance, but isnt it the left wing that is the main cause of societies ills? Just my rants..,.