• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

NUS scholar Sun Xu disciplined for online remarks

TwitSeng

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1191310/1/.html

SINGAPORE: The National University of Singapore (NUS) has taken disciplinary action against undergraduate scholarship holder Sun Xu, the Chinese national who came under fire in February for making offensive remarks about Singaporeans online.

In a circular to students from NUS Provost Tan Eng Chye, NUS said 25-year-old Sun Xu's remarks were "improper, insensitive and disrespectful to the community".

Its board of discipline has given him an official reprimand, slapped him with a $3,000 fine and further required Sun Xu to perform three months' community service before he's allowed to graduate.

NUS has also informed Sun Xu that his undergraduate scholarship benefits have been terminated for the final semester as his behaviour was unbecoming of a scholarship holder.

Sun Xu says he has accepted the Board of Discipline's decision.

Posting a message on his profile page of social networking site Ren Ren, Mr Sun said the last month "has been filled with great regrets and remorse".

Writing in both English and Chinese, he said his comments were disrespectful and inappropriate, and that he was very sorry for making those comments.

Sun is an MOE scholar but NUS is the administrator of his scholarship.

The final-year engineering student posted on his blog last month that "there are more dogs than humans in Singapore", describing how some people would stare at him after he brushed against them in public.

NUS said his remarks had stirred up considerable unease, distrust and ill-will within and beyond the university community.

Sun has since apologised for his remarks and removed his blog post.

NUS said the discipline board's decision sends a clear and strong signal that the university does not condone such actions.

- CNA/wm

pegasus

The operative words are "is undergraduate scholarship benefits have been terminated for the final semester"[U][/U]

This means nothing . A slap on the wrist and this guy is laughing all the way. Why was his entire scholarship not revoked and he not asked to pay back very single cent since the day he came to Singapore.

Absolute crap justice!:confused:

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stor...f a scholarship holder. - CNA/wm[/QUOTE]

The operative words are "is undergraduate scholarship benefits have been terminated for the final semester"[U][/U]

This means nothing . A slap on the wrist and this guy is laughing all the way. Why was his entire scholarship not revoked and he not asked to pay back very single cent since the day he came to Singapore.

Absolute crap justice!:confused:

According to Yahoo, MOE is looking into his scholarship. Let's monitor closely, this cocky PRC shouldn't be let off so easily otherwise more PRCs or other foreigners will not be afraid of thei host country.

coolguy

What does this say about this country?
It means that as a foreigner, you are free to abuse at the locals either verbally or physically,
All you need is just spend some "fine $".
Remember that australian angmoh who beat up a cab and a student?
Just need to spend 20K can settle everything. Hohoho.

freedalas

What does this say about this country?
It means that as a foreigner, you are free to abuse at the locals either verbally or physically,
All you need is just spend some "fine $".
Remember that australian angmoh who beat up a cab and a student?
Just need to spend 20K can settle everything. Hohoho.

The Great Supreme Leader LKY had publicly asked S'poreans to be more understanding towards foreigners. To all official institutions in S'pore, this is a decree from LKY to make things easy for foreigners which include more lenient punishment should they ran foul of our laws. Would NUS dare to act otherwise? Or any state agency or enterprise for that matter? Unless you want to commit suicide (career wise). Such is the situation in S'pore where every little thing is decided by one (old) man.

Frankly, the punishment has already been too harsh in such a case. It should be a non-case for everybody on the net who believes in freedom of speech and hurls abuses at PRCs, Malays, Indians and other races on routine basis. Since he's under scholarship, an apology and expression of remorse should have sufficed.

The root of the matter is still the scholarship. Why is Singapore government giving scholarships to foreigners, especially PRCs and Malaysian Chinese instead of citizens? It still comes back to racial politics and racial re-engineering from the disaster of LKY 2-is-enough policy in the 1970s. It's too late and too deep in to revert internally by now. So, what's the next best way? Get in as many Chinese from abroad as possible. The nearest source, Malaysia. The biggest source, PRC.

Unrepented

To replace the descendents of farmer stock with surposedly superior stock. Maybe old man subscribed to Deng little bottle's theory about farmer stock after his visit to sinkieland, as written in the commie party's circular; If descendents of migrant farmers can do it, you guys can do better (rough nutshell translation):o

Frankly, the punishment has already been too harsh in such a case. It should be a non-case for everybody on the net who believes in freedom of speech and hurls abuses at PRCs, Malays, Indians and other races on routine basis. Since he's under scholarship, an apology and expression of remorse should have sufficed.

The root of the matter is still the scholarship. Why is Singapore government giving scholarships to foreigners, especially PRCs and Malaysian Chinese instead of citizens? It still comes back to racial politics and racial re-engineering from the disaster of LKY 2-is-enough policy in the 1970s. It's too late and too deep in to revert internally by now. So, what's the next best way? Get in as many Chinese from abroad as possible. The nearest source, Malaysia. The biggest source, PRC.

deepblue0911

To all who say its too light a punishment, then do you want him to be caned?

Looking beyond Sun Xu is perhaps the issue of foreign scholars. Not sure what are the terms and conditions of these scholarships but I'm sure they're expected to contribute to Singapore upon their graduation. A common knowledge is many of these foreign scholars do not see Singapore as their destination and many of them (anecdotally I must say) have admitted to using Singapore as a springboard to Australia, US, UK and other first world countries. If these scholars come at the age of 16 or 17, I think their loyalty will never be to Singapore and if their hearts are not with us, what can we expect from them?

Maybe we should still attract foreign scholars here, but bring them in when they're younger so that not only they can integrate better but also develop a sense of belonging to this country.

Airlib

I agreed the punishment is too light... Should have revoked his entire scholarship and made him repay back all that was given to him. That is to send a strong signal firstly to foreign scholarship holders to be mindful of what they said in their host country, since the host country is basically providing for them. Then its to protect the already diluted value of scholarship which is being given out to foreigners so freely, while locals have to struggle so hard to even qualify for it.
Yes... In my work, I had come across quite a fair bit of foreign scholars or students who are just using here as a spring-board to jump themselves out to US, UK or Australia, primarily because of our dual language policy where they can leverage on their mandarin while working on their english. Plus our education certificates are pretty recongised.
So the big question is why locals are finding it so hard to get local scholarships while the foreigners are getting it so easily.

The Philistine

The punishment is too fucking light. What are $3,000 and a loss of scholarship grant for one semester to a kid who comes from a wealthy family? What is community service? Giving tuition to needy kids? Too bloody easy.

This whoreson is allowed to graduate with a degree. After graduation he is bonded for six years here, meaning that for this period, a job which could have gone to a Sinkie is taken up by him. If he becomes a manager, is he not likely to hire only Chinese, thereby depriving more Sinkies of employment opportunities?

This case has obviously set a precedent. In future, if foreign trash scholars emulate this dog and insult Sinkies, they can expect to get similar slap on the wrist punishments. More shit to come.

Char_Azn

Was sitting next to some China man tourist during dinner just now.one of them was asking how come make a stupid remark also will kena fine. SG more draconian then China.

The Philistine

Was sitting next to some China man tourist during dinner just now.one of them was asking how come make a stupid remark also will kena fine. SG more draconian then China.

You should have asked him what would happen in China if a Jap undergraduate studying there posted online that the Japs never committed actrocities during WWII.

Fook Seng

TwitSeng said:
Sun has since apologised for his remarks and removed his blog post.
- CNA/wm

I don't need an apology. I only need an explanation why he said what he had said.