• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

New Romance of 3 Kingdom serial drama is out

Subok

话说有一次诸葛亮,刘备,孙权,曹操四人同乘飞机,突然遇到紧急情况,需要跳伞逃生。这时候才发现机上只剩下三个降落伞包。大家一阵紧张,这时只见诸葛亮摇摇羽毛扇、清清嗓子说:“这样吧,山人出几道题,能答上来的,就跳伞,答不上来的只好自己跳下去了。”其他人没办法只好同意。

诸葛亮再摇了摇羽毛扇问刘备:“天上有几个太阳?”刘备一想简单,回答:“一个。”于是拿了个伞包下去了。诸葛亮再问孙权:“天上有几个月亮?”孙权回答:“一个。”他也拿了个伞包下去了。最后轮到曹操。诸葛亮问:“天上有几个星星?”曹操一怔,懵了得回答不上来,只好自己跳下去了。没想到竟然跳在了海里,捡回一条命,曹操暗自庆幸。

第二次又四个人坐飞机遇到紧急情况,四人一商量,得,还是老办法吧。诸葛亮又摇起羽毛扇问刘备:“当年周武王战败纣王的那场战役是?”刘备一想简单,回答:“牧野之战。”诸葛亮点点头,于是刘备拿了个伞包下去了。诸葛亮再问孙权:“那场战役死了多少人?”孙权想了想说:“大概有三四万。”诸葛亮点点头,孙权拿了个伞包也下去了。曹操不禁偷笑想:“诸葛亮呀诸葛亮,本人可是贯古通今,尤其是军事,这次你可是栽了。” 只见诸葛亮问:“战士们都叫什么名字?”曹操一听差点没晕过去,只好自己跳下去了,没想到竟然又跳在了海里,捡回一条命,曹操暗自笑。

第三次同样四个人坐飞机,飞机又遇到紧急情况,曹操一想,诸葛老儿又要整我,干脆我自己跳下去算了,免受侮辱。于是一横心,跳了下去,在空中高速下降中, 只听得上面诸葛亮对他喊:“孟德,今天飞机上有四个降落伞!”

Wang Ye

It's best to read it in original text if you're Chinese. No translation could do justice just as vice versa, no Chinese translation could do justice to William Shakespeare.

We are talking about San Guo Zhi right? Not that easy my friend. While one can get the general idea what is being said there are times it can get very confusing.

Layman mandarin becomes 三国演义 lor, whahaha :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

Funny. :biggrin:

Wang Ye

Okay for those who want to try their hand at reading San Guo Zhi in it's original form, the following are the evluations of Cao Cao, Liu Bei and Sun Quan. Enjoy. :biggrin:

Cao Cao
评曰:汉末,天下大乱,雄豪并起,而袁绍虎摉四州,强盛莫敌。太祖运筹演谋,
鞭挞宇内,閴申、商之法术,该韩、白之奇策,官方授材,各因其器,矫情任算,不念
旧恶,终能总御皇机,克成洪业者,惟其明略最优也。抑可谓非常之人,超世之杰矣。

Liu Bei
评曰:先主之弘毅宽厚,知人待士,盖有高祖之风,英雄之器焉。及其举国托孤于
诸葛亮,而心神无贰,诚君臣之至公,古今之盛轨也。机权干略,不逮魏武,是以基宇
亦狭。然折而不挠,终不为下者,抑揆彼之量必不容己,非唯竞利,且以避害云尔。

Sun Quan
评曰:“孙权屈身忍辱,任才尚计,有勾践之奇,英人之杰矣。故能自擅江表,成
鼎峙之业。然性多嫌忌,果于杀戮,暨臻末年,弥以滋甚。至于谗说殄行,胤嗣废毙,
岂所谓赐厥孙谋以燕冀于者哉?其后叶陵迟,遂致覆国,未必不由此也。

We are talking about San Guo Zhi right? Not that easy my friend. While one can get the general idea what is being said there are times it can get very confusing.

Yeah, 三国志 was written in 文言文 and 三国演义 was written in 白话文。They're as different as Shakespearean English from Dickensian English.

elephanto

After watching 1st episode, I oredy know this production will surely disappoint.

Budget issues. Allocation & application of resources over the entire serial length.... i see the provincial castle wall, sian leow.... see the drama pace, another sianz, like veri slow .... anyway, hear them sing song, lagi sianz....

still a classic is a classic....

Wang Ye

Yeah, 三国志 was written in 文言文 and 三国演义 was written in 白话文。They're as different as Shakespearean English from Dickensian English.

That's note the half of it. Some of it contains characters that are no longer in use and can only be found in specialised dictionaries. Similarly some references are totally different from our modern day ones.

Traditional (and now extinct) Singapore Chinese schools used to teach full 文言文 literacy as a matter of course. Now only the SAP schools teach it at basic level only even though the syllabus is called Higher Chinese.

However, that's not only the trend in Singapore. It's also the trend in PRC, ROC and HK. 文言文 as time goes by, becomes more and more viewed as for higher academics only, just like Latin in the west.

In fact, by today's 普通话 standards, many Chinese even have difficulty understanding 白话文 fully.

elephanto

Reminds me of long long ago, when as a schoolboy in the 70s, bought 封神演义 in 文言文, ok lah, get get by & understand the story though not every word or phrase is understandable....

What still remained in my mind is this classical way of justifying something really happened with this standard qualifier 有诗为证, and then proceed to spout a few stanzas of poetry describing either the person, event or phenomenon.... really cute..

Reminds me of long long ago, when as a schoolboy in the 70s, bought 封神演义 in 文言文, ok lah, get get by & understand the story though not every word or phrase is understandable....

What still remained in my mind is this classical way of justifying something really happened with this standard qualifier 有诗为证, and then proceed to spout a few stanzas of poetry describing either the person, event or phenomenon.... really cute..

Many Chinese speakers take these for granted but don't realise that many modern Chinese terms didn't exist before Qing dynasty. For example, as common as literally mother tongue terms from infancy, 爷爷,奶奶,爸爸,妈妈,老公,老婆,all these terms came into use after 1900s. 祖父,祖母,父亲,母亲,丈夫,妻子 were the original and traditional terms, but we don't use them anymore in daily speech. They'd sound awkwardly formal.

elephanto

they'd sound awkwardly formal.

相公,妾身今宵想敦伦一下,行否? :d

<cc>Contrast with what i found in PRC forum today :-

你坏你坏你真坏,
骗我和你看黄带。
心头激动难忍耐,
光想立马就做爱。
半推半就解衣带,
两腿被你八字开。
又 粗又长那一块,
二话不说插进来。
宝贵贞操遭破坏,
叫我日后咋交待。
转念一想也不赖,
身体感觉很愉快。
反 正己是你的菜,
有种你就使劲来。
招招命中我要害,
姿势千奇又百怪。
娇声娇气催你快,
咱们今天来比赛。
从 今往后不怕赖,
再也不把哥哥怪。
固定资产随身带,
走南闯北挣外块。
睡罢哥哥睡伯伯,
睡过老内睡老外。
投 资不大见效快,
两腿一夹几百块。
卖过以后货还在,
用水一洗接着卖。
反复使用无大碍,
皮不破来肉不坏。
只 要裤子提起来,
谁说姑娘不正派。
</cc>

Maximilian Chua-Heng

In 隆中对,Kongming using backward planning helping Liu Bei plotting ahead (Forward Action).

As Yi Zhong Tian said, 不能成帝业,那就成霸业!No fish, prawn also good!

The key to Objective A was 待天下有变, which didn't happen for them.

BackwardPlanning-Sango.jpg