• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

My top 3 best Nasi Padang in SG

Nasi Padang
I've stayed at Padang before, so Nasi Padang is my fav food of all time, but sadly in Singapore, you seldom find the authentic ones. There's a difference between Indo and Malay food. Indo food are more fragrant and serves with variety of condiments, while Malay food are less spicy, more lemak (thick coconut gravy) and a tad sweet. There are many Malay stalls that pass off as Nasi Padang, so most of the time I left disappointed.

How Nasi Padang originally serves

2s8fv2h.jpg

34hjklw.jpg

These pictures was taken when I was at Padang.

Every food are placed on the table in 1-2 portions, you pay what you eat/touch, if you dun want to eat 1 particular dish, just put it aside.

How to spot authentic nasi padang?

Gulai-Singkong-Jantung-Pisang.jpg

1) They have tapioca leaves with light curry gravy

DSC00652.jpg

2) They have young jackfruit with light curry gravy

3) You can smell the aroma from few stalls away

4) Nasi Padang should not have lemak taste

5) Sambal goreng is not a Padang food

1) Warong Nasi Pariaman
738 North Bridge Road
junction of Kandahar Street
(open at 7:30am, closed at 2pm)

2536341996_a877b209ac.jpg

They are famous for their ayam bakar and rendang, I love their condiments of anchovies with peanuts, awesome red chillies and acar. They serves nangka (young jackfruit curry) and squid curry, which are delicious too. Do not forget to order their beef soup (not display on the stall, have to ask from the waitress). This is the most authentic Nasi Padang I've tried in SG, I strongly recommend you guys go and try.

2) Rendezvous Restaurant Hock Lock Kee
6 Eu Tong Sen Sreet, #02-72 to 75/77/92
The Central

rendezvous07.jpg

Rendezvous is a Nasi Padang restaurant used to be located at Rendezvous Hotel, I was a bit apprehensive when I went there, but the aroma of the curry brings me back to Padang. Their red curry chicken is awesome, you can choose at least 3 types of curry for your white rice and their chicken/beef soup are also great. However, it is not as hot as original nasi padang, and it is EXPENSIVE

3) None, cant find it……. Please do recommend.......

Rejected Nasi Padang
Sabar Menanti
Rumah Makan Minang
Nasi Padang River Valley
(All these are Malay style Nasi Padang)
Garuda Padang Cuisine Restaurant (owned by Tung Lok Group), sucks to the core
Cumi Bali Indonesia Restaurant (more to Balinese flavours)
Sanur Indonesia Restaurant @ Suntec (more to Balinese flavours)
.... and some other stalls which I cant be bothered to remember....

Some signature dishes of Nasi Padang
gulai-kambing-cincang-sederhana-452_l.jpg

Cincang a.k.a Gulai Kambing (Mutton curry)
One of my fav, the curry includes various parts of a goat, from stomach, innards, meat etc etc

DSC01955+copy.jpg

Ayam panggang, this is a curry chicken, add more spices and grilled

Rendang-Telur.jpg

Gulai Telur, Duck eggs cooked in curry, my fav too, hahaha

patinmasak2.jpg

Gulai Ikan (Fish curry) Normally in light curry based, and the fishes are usually fresh water.

2876909563_fb3cd2449b.jpg

Deng Deng (Dried Beef jerky) with chillies, not for the fake teeth people.

That eating house in Beauty World, same level as the food centre. Good food. Is that Padang food?

There's this coffeshop behind Pariaman called Rumah Minang.. Its just located besides the Mosque.. It was recomended by my wife's Malay colleague.. Food very good and there's a variety of padang dishes available.. And the price quite reasonable.. But please don't go to this Nasi Padang restaurant just behind the Rumah Minang coffeshop.. Forgoten the name of the restaurant but its located further up Kandahar St, 5 mins walk from Pariaman.. Once went there kena charged nearly $30 for 4 dishes that I ordered.. Maybe they charged a bit more due to their restaurant concept but it was the first and the last time I went there.. Food not that great either..

There's this coffeshop behind Pariaman called Rumah Minang.. Its just located besides the Mosque.. It was recomended by my wife's Malay colleague.. Food very good and there's a variety of padang dishes available.. And the price quite reasonable.. But please don't go to this Nasi Padang restaurant just behind the Rumah Minang coffeshop.. Forgoten the name of the restaurant but its located further up Kandar St, 5 mins walk from Pariaman.. Once went there kena charged nearly $30 for 4 dishes that I ordered.. Maybe they charged a bit more due to their restaurant concept but it was the first and the last time I went there.. Food not that great either..
Behind Minang there're 2 i think, Sabar Menanti 1 is one of them. Rumah Minang is ok, but its a bit bland for me, Pairiaman still the best there :D

Alamak you can try Geylang Serai market.. 2nd floor stall called Hajjah Mona Nasi Padang,.. This one recommended by my mother in law's Indon maid.. Food quite good.. Very long queue every day and its worse during Sat and Sun mornings.. Reasonable price for their food..

Geylang Serai market move already? or they still at that temporary market? theres a stall called Sinar Pagi there too, I havent go there and try. Will find a chance to go there, thanks ahh :)

Rendezvous now in eu tong sen? Their original at the old site among the 2nd hand book dealers was bestest....then they moved to raffles city.....many years never tried liao.

Warong also good but everyday long queue and close so early...

There's this coffeshop behind Pariaman called Rumah Minang.. Its just located besides the Mosque.. It was recomended by my wife's Malay colleague.. Food very good and there's a variety of padang dishes available.. And the price quite reasonable..

Rumah Minang is my favourite. It has been in the area for a long time, 20to 30 yrs now. Was at a small coffeshop at the other end of Kandahar St, in front of a tombstone carver until the area was redeveloped. Always have to ta pao as the coffeeshop was too small and too crowded from 11am to 2 pm. Used to be frequented by makan pao when the old beach road police station was still around.

Geylang Serai market move already? or they still at that temporary market? theres a stall called Sinar Pagi there too, I havent go there and try. Will find a chance to go there, thanks ahh :)

walau... new market in operation for 2 yrs oreli....

There's one at a coffeeshop at a HDB Block beside Golden Mile Food Centre. Can't remember block no. of name. their ikan bakar quite good.

Block 1 Beach Road. It's been famous there for decades. Another famous one just a few lanes away from Jalan Sultan is at Kandahar Street near Arab Street.

Ikan bakar is one of the hardest dishes to find in SG, is it a nasi padang stall?

15xa994.jpg

Ikan bakar is one of the hardest dishes to find in SG, is it a nasi padang stall?

Yes, nasi padang. Unlike Rumah Minang, this stall bakar the fish only when you orders it, so its hot.

They use mackerel and served with black sauce, chop green chillies and union....

Yes, nasi padang. Unlike Rumah Minang, this stall bakar the fish only when you orders it, so its hot.

They use mackerel and served with black sauce, chop green chillies and union....
Ok, next time I go try, thanks ahh :)

I forgot, theres another Nasi Padang at Jalan Pisang (near Kandahar), just walk along Jalan Pisang and you will see it, quite a big place, lots of varieties, quite nice also, on par with sabar menanti.

Another famous one just a few lanes away from Jalan Sultan is at Kandahar Street near Arab Street.

I think that's Rumah Minang.

Sidetrack a bit, beside Rumah Minang, there's this cake shop, I think call "Rich & good...." sells various flavors of swiss rolls. The durian one is very good.

wow great! another foodie thread.

Alamaking, may i ask if Sayur Lodeh is an authentic nasi padang dish?