• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

'Legendary Cop' Dies : Retired ASP Stephen Koh

• Thread starter Thread starter Mdm Tang
  • Start date Start date
We two part-time rotate two shifts. ;)

Paiseh, this job I won't be able to do even if paid 10k per head. I rather be a pimp. I always save and help others. Can't see how hanging relates to saving and helping.

theres only one shift at 5am ;)

Yeah, never see the next sunrise. I mean we rotate some days you do, some days I do. Maybe we can even set up a company to subcontract the gallow.

Yeah, never see the next sunrise. I mean we rotate some days you do, some days I do.

I suspect there is only one hangman at any given point in time. No need for them to employ two. Just my hunch.

A hangman must know how to knot a noose. That's solemn and serious business. I know how to do that. ;) :D

But I think can employ two on rotating shift, in case one goes on leave or on MC.

Yeah, never see the next sunrise. I mean we rotate some days you do, some days I do. Maybe we can even set up a company to subcontract the gallow.

i rather excort the " teaboy " to bring them their last breakfast ;)

A hangman must know how to knot a noose. That's solemn and serious business. I know how to do that. ;) :D

But I think can employ two on rotating shift, in case one goes on leave or on MC.

Basic calculation also needed. Weight and height of condemned prisoner has to be factored in.

before kena hang also have baba ( doctor ) to check their health ....thats crazy ..anyway going to die liao still must check ...

A senior officer is responsible for looking after the methodology and to keep it in line with "international practice". He trains the hangman with the use of sandbags. He himself does not do any execution. There is fair amount of calculation involved to avoid unpleasant incidents such as multiple hangings of the same person (for want of a a better expression) and the severing of the head from the body. There was one incident where the calculations were wrong and there was partial severing of the neck and blood sprayed everyone including the Supt and Doctor.

Just curious - any idea if anyone kena hang but survived coz of miscalculation? If so, what happens? Hang again and hang till death? Or, walk away free?

Not something I heard but rumours of those who took longer to die have circulated. Any change to hanging, its methodology or incidents etc is very sensitive and goes all the way to cabinet and not just MHA. International rep and PR issue. amnesty International have queried about revealing incidents.
Just curious - any idea if anyone kena hang but survived coz of miscalculation? If so, what happens? Hang again and hang till death? Or, walk away free?
e

before kena hang also have baba ( doctor ) to check their health ....thats crazy ..anyway going to die liao still must check ...

That's the last medical checkup on legal and humanitarian grounds. If the doctor certified that the condemned man is going to die anyway within 3 months, a presidential clemency may be appealed for to let him die naturally. However, I've never heard of any doctor daring to do that.

Hang once until death, that's the legal sentence. If the condemned man got off the noose alive, that's the end of the legal case. He walks away a free man. However, I've also never heard of such a happenstance before. The hangman must make sure that the condemned man dies in one hanging.

Sorry forgot to address second part. If scaffolding collapses for example at the time of hanging the event is rescheduled until the sentence is carried out.

That is not the case. The last medical check is not a full blown examination. It a quick and cursory check. Terminal cases if detected long before the hanging occurs will go thru the normal process of seeking presidential clemency. The Doctor is present there for a more important purpose - to certify death so the body can be released to the family.You listen to too many kopi tiam stories.
That's the last medical checkup on legal and humanitarian grounds. If the doctor certified that the condemned man is going to die anyway within 3 months, a presidential clemency may be appealed for to let him die naturally. However, I've never heard of any doctor daring to do that. Hang once until death, that's the legal sentence. If the condemned man got off the noose alive, that's the end of the legal case. He walks away a free man. However, I've also never heard of such a happenstance before. The hangman must make sure that the condemned man dies in one hanging.

Hang once until death, that's the legal sentence. If the condemned man got off the noose alive, that's the end of the legal case. He walks away a free man. However, I've also never heard of such a happenstance before. The hangman must make sure that the condemned man dies in one hanging.

Was told the 'hang until death' came about coz someone walked away a free man before.