• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

'Legendary Cop' Dies : Retired ASP Stephen Koh

• Thread starter Thread starter Mdm Tang
  • Start date Start date
Hi all,

The hangman who gets a bonus with every drop of the trapdoor at Changi on Fridays is an 'executioner'.

An executor is usually someone who is instructed in a will to administer an estate after the will-maker passes on.

ex·ec·u·tor   /ɪgˈzɛkyətər or, for 1, ˈɛksɪˌkyutər/ Show Spelled[ig-zek-yuh-ter or, for 1, ek-si-kyoo-ter] Show IPA
–noun

1.a person who executes, carries out, or performs some duty, job, assignment, artistic work, etc.
2.Law. a person named in a decedent's will to carry out the provisions of that will.

:confused:

I don't think so. The bonus is reported to be in the region of $400 per drop but I stand corrected on that.

Hmm... tks for info... after today reading ST i think the rate

may go up ... too much occupation risks ...:(

The rate will go down, cos they will ask the FT to do it.

March 1, 2010

'Legendary cop' dies

Retired ASP, revered by his peers and hated by criminals, shot dead a notorious killer in 1988

By Tan Weizhen

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_496351.html

Friends and family members paying their last respects to former assistant superintendent Stephen Koh at the Church of St Mary of the Angels yesterday. The retired policeman died in hospital last Saturday after a four-month battle with leukaemia. -- ST PHOTO: AIDAH RAUF

TRUE LEADER OF HIS MEN

'He was always the first man charging ahead. A very responsible, very courageous person, and a man of principle.'

Ms Samantha Lee, police superintendent and goddaughter of ASP Stephen Koh

A POLICEMAN who was famous for shooting dead a notorious gangster in 1988died of leukaemia last Saturday. He was 66.

Retired assistant superintendent Stephen Koh, described as a 'legendary policeman' by his co-workers, died in hospital after a four-month battle with the disease.

The father of two adult sons had also struggled with colorectal cancer 11 years ago - the same year he retired from the force - and won that fight despite the cancer being at an advanced stage.

Read the full exclusive in Monday's edition of The Straits Times.

This guy was a seow on PAP gung ho lackey. Shoot what notorious gangster? If the article is referring to the AH HUat shooting, it was more an execution than anything else. They shot him while he was having breakfast in a kopitiam, and he was unarmed. LOL. That's legendary meh? This gung ho idiot shot a bus hostage taker once, from the outside, with the bullet going thru the windscreen and splitting into 2, with one fragment hitting the hostage taker. He is lucky he did not kill or injure a hostage. I did not know he had ass cancer. Karma?

Every day we hear pappies dogs barking!, don't they cull strays, anymore?:p

Yeah, the last time strays were culled, someone paid for it literally.

Pappy doggies barking is nothing; always makes a din and does very little.:cool:

jilat ahh........

Stephen Koh's full name was Koh Lian Thye. I should be 80% correct here. Yes, I know this man.

He was a hangman after retirement from SPF but donated all the $ to a charity. His wife wasn't aware of his part-time job. Then days before Christmas, his wife spotted a Christmas card from the said charitable home thanking the late Stephen for all his donations. Stephen only admitted to his wife when had no choice as wife was taken aback with the amount involved. He stopped hanging people thereafter and secured a job with AETOS, a security company linked to Temasek.

Stephen was a soft-hearted chap. He may look very garang but deep down, a harmless man. Loved dogs and big motorbikes. One son in Commando, the other a pilot, I think. Met him months before he up lorry.

Wrt to Ah Huat's case at Sunset, not fair for me to comment. I would have done the same. Why give a known gunman the benefit of doubt as to whether armed or not? Another officer, the late SI Boo was slashed while checking a suspect's bag. He lost his life. Who suffers? His family. Fair?

dear bro GD,

tks for update.

No problem, madam. And when are you inviting me to Kranji? Hahahaa. Another policeman with same name Koh Lian Thye was seconded to Turf Club in the recent past. No idea if still around.

Wrt to Ah Huat's case at Sunset, not fair for me to comment. I would have done the same. Why give a known gunman the benefit of doubt as to whether armed or not? Another officer, the late SI Boo was slashed while checking a suspect's bag. He lost his life. Who suffers? His family. Fair?

I didn't know ASP Stephen as a personal friend but yes, he led the mass open fire shoot at will on Ah Huat. I knew SI Boo as a personal friend. He was from Thomson NPP and B Div. I was already ROD and in US when I received news that he was killed in line of duty. And yes, everybody fucks police for police brutality when we win fights against criminals but fucks and mocks police when we lose fights against criminals. When they encounter criminals, what the fuck? Still call police.

I attended funeral wake of Boo. So sad to see his young son running around not knowing what lies ahead for his mum. Hope they are doing alright. Boo remains one of the few Chinese officers who could converse in Tamil. Don't know if fate played a role here. Boo spoke to his commander and sought advice whether to get pension then get another job outside or continue serving. Sad case.

You sure you got your facts right ? The police who gunned down Ah Huat not Ang CT meh ?

I attended funeral wake of Boo. So sad to see his young son running around not knowing what lies ahead for his mum. Hope they are doing alright. Boo remains one of the few Chinese officers who could converse in Tamil. Don't know if fate played a role here. Boo spoke to his commander and sought advice whether to get pension then get another job outside or continue serving. Sad case.

I know only two Chinese officers who could speak Tamil. Boo Tiang Huat and Choi Kam Kong, both around same age and rank.

You sure you got your facts right ? The police who gunned down Ah Huat not Ang CT meh ?

Ah Huat body was riddled with bullets by 9 officers ambushing him and opening fire at the same time. Whose bullet actually killed him, even the pathologist didn't know.

What Legendary?

After retired he become a part time executioner.
Hang people every Friday for 1 year till he kana colon cancer.

Let this be a warning to any one who want to consider taking up that job.

not surprise ...christains love to self-praised ....

Obviously it was an execution. He was a known gunman, he killed a detective in cold blood. Do you want to take a chance with such character. Bear in mind the whole operation was meticulously done to avoid taking out the wrong man. The kopi stall owner is the one who suspected and informed about him. They asked him to collect the glass to lift the fingerprints and it was confirmed that it was him. The only issue is everyone wanted their bullet in to claim credit which was quite childish. The guy had 9 bullets in him.

Stephen Lim though a senior officer is well known to mix with everyone freely.

This guy was a seow on PAP gung ho lackey. Shoot what notorious gangster? If the article is referring to the AH HUat shooting, it was more an execution than anything else. They shot him while he was having breakfast in a kopitiam, and he was unarmed. LOL. That's legendary meh? This gung ho idiot shot a bus hostage taker once, from the outside, with the bullet going thru the windscreen and splitting into 2, with one fragment hitting the hostage taker. He is lucky he did not kill or injure a hostage. I did not know he had ass cancer. Karma?

I believe it was 9 bullets from 5 or 6 chaps.

I know only two Chinese officers who could speak Tamil. Boo Tiang Huat and Choi Kam Kong, both around same age and rank.

Ah Huat body was riddled with bullets by 9 officers ambushing him and opening fire at the same time. Whose bullet actually killed him, even the pathologist didn't know.