• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Latest WC2010 bid FAILED

ChaoPappyPoodle

Sg definitely can afford but its a very high sum due to the two dumb bidders.
Who will pay for the high fees?
The citizens again!!!

This reminds me of introduce Pay and Pay policies!!!
COE, Casino Levy, 30 Year HDB Loans, TV Tax, GST blah blah

As far as the PAPies are concerned, these two have done their job. Now everyone wait to see the PAPies come iN and solve the problem.

If Mediacorp had sent in a smaller bid or even MDA, FIFA wuld have accepted. FIFA wants as many people to watch wc2010.

When private scums pay a lot, too much, for EPL and Champions League, then FIFA knows the game even better and will demand a commensurate fee for WC2010.

Expect Mediacorp or MDA to step in at an opportune time.

Sideswipe

Fifa sell WC to North Korea for peanuts. They want ransom money from us.
Fifa are demanding sky high $ from us, they sell to People Republic of China and United States for far less.
really cannot pay.

regarding EPL 2010-2013, the fucker Singtel pay the highest broadcasting fee ( $200M USD ). ST EPL Singapore rights was the same as what Abu Dhabi paid for Middle East and North Africa. China paid just USD$50M for their EPL.

jixiaolan

The right thing to do is for Starhub to unblock RTM2 so that all of us can watch Worldcup for free and not held ransom by FIFA. But will Starhub do the right thing?

ChaoPappyPoodle

Fifa sell WC to North Korea for peanuts. They want ransom money from us.
Fifa are demanding sky high $ from us, they sell to People Republic of China and United States for far less.
really cannot pay.

regarding EPL 2010-2013, the fucker Singtel pay the highest broadcasting fee ( $200M USD ). ST EPL Singapore rights was the same as what Abu Dhabi paid for Middle East and North Africa. China paid just USD$50M for their EPL.

This why SG has to vote out a ridiculously incompetent PAP. Whatever they pay, they will force it on the ctizens.

FIFA knows how much was paid for smaller competitions (epl ad Chaps League) and of course FIFA wants the same or more for WC2010. As far as the PAP (SingTel Starhub) are concrned, either the people pay today for WC2010 OR the people will pay later through other hidden costs.

ChaoPappyPoodle

The right thing to do is for Starhub to unblock RTM2 so that all of us can watch Worldcup for free and not held ransom by FIFA. But will Starhub do the right thing?

Starhub actually blocked signals from Malaysia during the last WC! FIFA is not holding us for ransom, blae the PAP croniesfor paying sky-high prices for EPL and Champions League and then passing the costs to us. When you allow a fascist political party to rule for so long, you should expect price mechanisms to run afoul of common sense.

Wake Up~ :oIo: You can onlywatch for free if Mediacorp airs the games. :oIo::oIo::oIo:

aurvandil

We have probably gone past the point of no return for Singtel and Starhub.

In terms of advertising revenue, this is a blood bath. Advertising campaigns for such a mega event take time to plan and execute. With so little time left, no major sponser will be able to have a campaign ready. The ad time will therefore have to be deeply discounted for anyone to want to pick it up.

Hence unless a major GLC is made to do national service or MDA does a U-turn on their funding policy, prepare to pay big $$$ to cover what FIFA is asking for and the lack of advertising revenue.

It is also a big embarassment for the admiral gaurding the rear. During the revent budget debate, he was positively gloating that he had this one in the bag. FIFA probably understands politics better than him and put a stiff one up his rear.

G

General Veers

Unless they come up with a last minute sweetener, in the end you guys have to watch via online streaming or visit mudland. Malaysia Truly Asia! Malaysia Boleh!

wrcboi

not so interest about all these world cup..football its fixed nowadays...its only giving money to those greedy euro white boys

Queen Seok Duk

You guys had better start your booking early if you want rooms in Eden Hotel, Johor Bahru. It's the idea location, with the night food market right in front of the hotel. In between matches, go down for teh tarik and kambing soup.

besotted

FIFA knows Singaporeans can be squeezed

Actually RCTI will show most of the matches and the signal is strong enough to receive clearly here

There is also the Internet although watching sports on PC is crap

Anyway whats the big deal about soccer

Those dumbs who think this is FIFA's fault should really think hard and kick themselves in the butt :P

FIFA know Singaporean are addict to football and gamble.
US and China the football is not their favourite game not even top 10.

aurvandil

FIFA probably knows that there will be an election this year and that the PAP can ill afford NOT to have live telecasts of WC2010. This was made all the more evident by the rear admiral's speech in Parliament which gave away the importance of WC2010 to the PAP.

By holding out and getting the highest possible price, FIFA will set the precedent for future world cups.

FIFA probably knows that there will be an election this year and that the PAP can ill afford NOT to have live telecasts of WC2010. This was made all the more evident by the rear admiral's speech in Parliament which gave away the importance of WC2010 to the PAP.

By holding out and getting the highest possible price, FIFA will set the precedent for future world cups.

You think too much of politcs. I don't think FIFA knows or cares what's PAP. They only know that there's this little country, stupid but rich enough to come up with two huge bids. Let's milk them dry!

aurvandil

You think too much of politcs. I don't think FIFA knows or cares what's PAP. They only know that there's this little country, stupid but rich enough to come up with two huge bids. Let's milk them dry!

I am very sure FIFA knows. We are not talking about a small $1 million or $2 million deal. Based on the last reported numbers, we are talking about something in the range of $40 million to $80 million. For a deal of that size, it would only make sense to do your homework before going to the discussion. Not everyone works like our PAP Ministers who

1) Charge in
2) Throw smoke
3) Ignore anyone who ask them for the data/methodology behind their assertions.

SneeringTree

It's a business decision. FIFA knows how much SInktel paid for the EPL, why would FIFA shortsell themselves?

Maintaining the prestige of the WC brand is at stake here, and far more important than the tens of millions that Sinkapore's market can earn for them.

It is stupidity on the part of Sinktel to pay a ridiculous price for EPL and we are all paying for that mistake...

Actually isn't this the story of Sinkies lives? Forever paying for the costly mistakes of PAPPIES.

numero uno

Ha. perfect retribution. last time they always block malaysian TV3 and other malaysian channels for fear of competition like 3/4 petrol tank rule. NOW they got @ssed and have to pay through their nose(or is it @ss) for watching WC2010 and lose alot of money to FIFA. if they haven't block, we could have watch for free and they saved alot of money!!!! sometimes I think alot of stupid people here

numero uno

Ha. perfect retribution. last time they always block malaysian TV3 and other malaysian channels for fear of competition like 3/4 petrol tank rule. NOW they got @ssed and have to pay through their nose(or is it @ss) for watching WC2010 and lose alot of money to FIFA. if they haven't block, we could have watch for free and they saved alot of money!!!! FIFA think alot of stupid people here(which may be correct).
pay and succumb to FIFA demands and definitely would end up looking STUPID paying ridiculous amount for such a small population of viewers. don't pay and don't get rights to watch WC2010, also looks very idiotic. Ha, ha, ha, hobson choice. checkmate!!!!!!