• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Latest WC2010 bid FAILED

cooleo

Wah lan eh....need to fly to malaysia to watch?! :oIo:

Where's our million dollar ministars?

Watchman

We should not be remember as a nation of football watchers !

We better more constructive things to do .

manokie

The latest bid for WC2010 has FAILED.

http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_506802.html

LOCAL telcos SingTel and StarHub still cannot meet the asking price for rights to broadcast the 2010 World Cup.

The Straits Times understands that the latest joint bid by the telcos was rejected recently by Fifa.

A person familiar with discussions, but who did not want to be named, said: 'The bids have not been accepted.

hahahaha this is the biggest joke in the world

only in Singapore u have 2 companies bidding SKY HIGH figures against each others and making the local sinkies pay for their stupidity

why not be smarter and take turns for contracts like this?

stupidity and sinkies goes hand in hand, how true. Lee aw is right!!!!

What is the cause of all the sinkie stupidity, their balless and follow-the-rule-without-using-brain culture causes it.. wahhaha..

you sinkies deserve it !!!!!!!

Sideswipe

We should give up on the ransom $ Fifa is asking for

The $$ Fifa is demanding from this small island is probably more than what they are asking from People Republic of China.

No, don't give in. No football to watch, cannot die.
GE2010, you vote wrongly for PAP again, this one confirm will die.

this is nothing compare to the reputation damage done by your PAP who sue others for so much money when they write the truth about them. Karma is coming .. WAHAHAHHA!!!!

You sinkies deserve it!!!!!! When you sinkies are too balless to throw out the PAP, they will continue to behave like shit and all the shit karma will come to you. Good Luck!!!!!!

Queen Seok Duk

We should give up on the ransom $ Fifa is asking for

The $$ Fifa is demanding from this small island is probably more than what they are asking from People Republic of China.

No, don't give in. No football to watch, cannot die.
GE2010, you vote wrongly for PAP again, this one confirm will die.

Are you just another Ramseth who happens to have a secret hideout somewhere in Thailand or Malaysia where you plan to watch WC 2010?

Sideswipe

Are you just another Ramseth who happens to have a secret hideout somewhere in Thailand or Malaysia where you plan to watch WC 2010?

no hideout... I might watch free online but again

no football or whatever, life goes on.

Fifa shouldn't ask for ransom money by right. English Premier League is a business corporation, money first but Fifa is a sport federation and shouldn't be profit driven. They have a moral duty to deliver World Cup to every countries at reasonable prices.

... A person familiar with discussions, but who did not want to be named, said: 'The bids have not been accepted. ...
wat a joke! ... y dun dey juz ask fifa how much dey want? ... wanna pay, pay ... dun wanna pay, f-o! ... wayang so much 4 wat? ...

VeryWise

Are we victims of our own success? For a small population, we shouldn't bid too high for the broadcast rights for BPL. The ones who are subsiding the premium bids are ppl like us. I have since stopped subscribing to sports channel when starhub wanted to raise price. I decided to use my action to tell them that it's not acceptable to throw good money into drains. Pay reasonably and not contribute too much to the fat pockets of the BPL players.

hahahaha this is the biggest joke in the world

only in Singapore u have 2 companies bidding SKY HIGH figures against each others and making the local sinkies pay for their stupidity

why not be smarter and take turns for contracts like this?

Yes, stupidity in the highest order. I can imagine what has happened. SingTel bidded $XXX, StarHub bidded $YYY. Now joint bid for $ZZZ (average of $XXX + $YYY / 2). Now then say joint bid, too late. FIFA already knows what both could afford pay. Now they want $XXX x 2 or $YYY x 2 whichever is higher (not average, divided by 2), i.e. both joint, pay double at the highest bid.

Brightkid

Yeh, just tell FIFA to fxxkoff rather then kwai-kwai (or lan lan) pay the amount they asked for. What about next WC then if we pay this time around ? Forever no WC then for Singapore ? No WC won't die.

At the most, those MIW, especially MBT who'd promised Singapore will be in WC as a competitive team will get a tight slap on his million-dollar face, which is worth it for all the miilions he had collected.

Ash007

So confirm no WC to see in Singapore? I thought already said this ages ago? Last minute ploy with Temasick to the "rescue"? Or sweetener for the erection?

manokie

North Korea is on the list of licensees.

Why NK can afford the broadcasting license, Sg couldn't ?

Sg definitely can afford but its a very high sum due to the two dumb bidders.
Who will pay for the high fees?
The citizens again!!!

This reminds me of introduce Pay and Pay policies!!!
COE, Casino Levy, 30 Year HDB Loans, TV Tax, GST blah blah

ChaoPappyPoodle

wat a joke! ... y dun dey juz ask fifa how much dey want? ... wanna pay, pay ... dun wanna pay, f-o! ... wayang so much 4 wat? ...

You dont know the OLD FART and his ways?

He will allow the problem to rise and then come in to solve the problem. You know of the commies in SG? BUkit ho Swee and countless other fires in SG?

We will get to watch WW2010. The scums just want to find a way to squeeze as much from the Sporns as possible. Their problem is to also score points with voters. They will give in but act like heroes.