• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

[WC 2022] Once again, our kumgong telcos overpay FIFA for broadcast costs. Now trying to squeeze Sinkie viewers to recoup

Football: World Cup rights holders in Singapore face challenges in recouping fee of over $25m​

Sazali Abdul Aziz
Correspondent
PUBLISHED 7 HOURS AGO

SINGAPORE - Even after a drawn-out negotiation process that led to the latest announcement of World Cup broadcast rights here, the three parties that hold the rights are not out of the woods yet.

The joint announcement by StarHub, Singtel and Mediacorp on Sunday comes just 21 days till Qatar 2022 kicks off. This means they now face a race against time to recoup the estimated rights fee in excess of $25 million that they had forked out to global football body Fifa.

Mr James Walton, sports business group leader for Deloitte South-east Asia, said that the two main methods of getting revenue for broadcasters of major sports events like the World Cup are selling subscriptions and advertising space.

But he believes the late announcement of the deal, as well as the unique timing of the Qatar World Cup, will affect the broadcasters’ ability to attract customers.

“Number one is, we are 21 days out, which means less time to raise awareness and less time to get people signed up,” he said.

“Then there is... the factor that the World Cup is happening halfway through a season. Traditionally, a World Cup would happen in June to July, so they are able to link it to Premier League (which kicks off in August) rights for the next season. But this is all already done... so it does reduce the option of how you attract people.”

The timing of games may also be an issue. Out of the 64 matches, more than half – 33 – kick off at midnight (Singapore time) or later.

Describing the late kick-offs as “not optimal” for Singapore viewers and advertisers, Mr Walton said: “The difference between this and the Champions League is that the Champions League is just one night a week, whereas the World Cup is happening pretty much every night for a month.

“And unless you have very generous bosses or very flexible work hours, staying up until three or four in the morning every single night to watch the games is difficult.

“That timing will affect whether people are willing to spend, and maybe even the format too, in terms of whether they choose to buy the whole package, or pick individual games, or (streaming) options.”

He added: “There are a few other opportunities (for revenue) in terms of hosting events and things like that, but principally those are the ways.”

While telecommunication companies can curate events to drive interest, broadcast rights holders are limited in terms of how much they can leverage the tournament.

“At the end of the day, the rights of the World Cup still belong to Fifa,” said Mr Walton. “You are not a sponsor, so you don’t have the activation rights sponsors have. So there is a limit to what you can do in terms of branded merchandise and all that.”

But Dr Seshan Ramaswami, an associate professor of marketing education at Singapore Management University, said that despite the obstacles, a “longer-term objective” for rights holders would be to improve the brand image of the broadcasters to audiences and advertisers.

NEW221031ONLINE-World-Cup-broadcast-priceszsoc2028129_0.jpg

He suggested that business-to-business (B2B) deals could be another opportunity for broadcasters.

Said Dr Ramaswami: “There will also be a lot of communal viewing in restaurants and sports bars, and that could be another source of revenue – the B2B market where the subscription fees could be a lot higher.”

For the 2018 World Cup, businesses that screened the action from Russia paid $3,090 for a standard screen package, and $2,020 for each additional screen. For screens larger than 50 inches, or 127cm, the price was $5,230 and $3,090 for each additional screen.

Still, Dr Ramaswami noted that a lot has changed in the media landscape since 2018, with streaming platforms like Netflix, Amazon Prime and Disney+ establishing themselves as go-to platforms for audiences, especially in the key demographic of “young consumers with large spending capacity on products and services offered by the largest advertisers”.

He added: “In this new landscape, and with the cross-carriage rules which prevent the ability to be an exclusive broadcaster in Singapore, it is going to be a lot more difficult to get secondary strategic advantages, especially cross-selling a contract for cable TV, and bundling of mobile, broadband and other services.”

Why would anyone want to watch that boring game anyway? I wouldn't sit through a soccer match even if you paid me.

Singtel spoilt the market. Orbi good. These suckers can go fuck themselves. Dump their shares now while u can.

Daft Sinkies don't get it. :biggrin:

Squeezing was the original intention all along. It's just that with overpaying FIFA, it gives them the moral high ground and the justification to squeeze. The propagandists media will impress upon this while also doing free advertising, as you are witnessing now.

It's not hard to find high quality football streams online. I watch all PL and CL games that way. Only daft Sinkies continue to pay their enemy oppressors through the GLCs. Some payments can't be avoided. This can be avoided.

Anyway, I'm not particularly enthused about this year's World Cup. Evidently the host country had bribed FIFA to let it host the World Cup in their desert shithole country. The timing also disrupts the schedule of football leagues, and might cause more injuries and affect their pre-season next year.

metalrover

The games mostly played at midnight or early morning, watch already next day cho kang sure zombie. Old already cannot tahan

Watch from Live stream more better. I recommend Navmix. Can download their APK from Google. No lagging. Been watching the EPL for few years from Navmix. Fuck FIFA.

You don't even need an app. Everything can be viewed online, just need a browser.

Got ppl suggested rtm app stream. Dont know will tio block or not. Anybody know?

Just search for 'soccer streams' on Google and you can find plenty of links.

A few websites could be blocked at the ISP level but using a VPN or switching your DNS removes this restriction.

To switch your DNS easily without tweaking your IP settings everytime:

https://www.sordum.org/7952/dns-jumper-v2-2/

No need to install anything, just click and use.

mudhatter

now this is what you call jiakliaobees.

no need to stream either coz of lag or what not if ur using free provider.

In Malaysia, many matches can be shown free of charge to public.

Like in Malaysia, there exists free/low cost 1 ringgit/5 ringgit healthcare services for anyone.

stinkypura?

elderly chinks have to do cardboard exercises

211lcg.jpg

Just search for 'soccer streams' on Google and you can find plenty of links.

A few websites could be blocked at the ISP level but using a VPN or switching your DNS removes this restriction.

To switch your DNS easily without tweaking your IP settings everytime:

https://www.sordum.org/7952/dns-jumper-v2-2/

No need to install anything, just click and use.

https://1.1.1.1 is far better and works on all platforms.
1.1. 1.1 is the Cloudfare DNS, which is one of the many options available on DNSJumper. It's not necessarily always the fastest.

For Mac users, they can use this instead:

https://alternativeto.net/software/dns-jumper/?platform=mac
https://alternativeto.net/software/namebench/about/

What about those who watch everything on mobile platforms?