Late 30s and Still Rejected: The Harsh Reality of Upskilling in Singapore

No leh but I like to go inside for their food and buy things to escape from this shithole in future may rent a house there
Sad reality of Sinkies to escape the cookhouse here for Bolehland life. Bolehland is indeed more peaceful than Sg. See lah how one ex Minister say elderly people pick cardboard to keep fit until people all thinking of retirement in Bolehland.

When I was a Xiao di poly intern, got Filipino n CECA colleagues told me they see too many Sg uncles and aunties still working at McDonald’s and KFC although they should be retiring

That time I 19 years old Xiao di, haven’t seen the world nor travel much so I thought it’s normal and the colleagues told me no it is not. They say in the Philippines and India, people retire by 50 and enjoy life and the fast food outlets counters are all manned by young people and students

The colleagues still keep in touch with me when I go NS and go Uni while they go another country to work instead with better life and flexibility. I guess now I realise they are right.

Kb no use. They also see and compare with china that they are also having many jobless issues. Then sinkie is still way better than them in solving the jobless problem.

There are quite a number of 50 plus years old jobless men staying in private condos & having difficulty in paying their monthly mortgages :frown:

The 50+ neighbours at my condo don't seem to have any difficulty continuing to own their home and a car or 2 after they opted for early retirement. They either set aside enough from their high paying former jobs or received a massive inheritance.

That feed to the ever inflating COE price
Who ask some Sinkies so generous to pay and pay for expensive cars and COEs. Next time cars reach 200K, people will also buy and show off got status like got car and got condo and live a life where they on large mortgage loan and debts. Super huat

For many career people, conspicuous consumption may boost their sense of identity and also project a certain standing as well as importance. In land-scarce S'pore, car ownership becomes a clear status symbol to the self-conscious, which can be literally displayed at different places to a wide audience throughout the day. Car owners may perceive themselves as wealthier and belonging to a higher social status group owing to their expensive possession.

Quite true. I do know some as well in their 50s, suddenly lost job or ill, cannot work, need that condo, got helper, 2 cars and 3 kids to feed. All kinds of people. Get used to it

The 50+ neighbours at my condo don't seem to have any difficulty continuing to own their home and a car or 2 after they opted for early retirement. They either set aside enough from their high paying former jobs or received a massive inheritance.

That not entirely true cos quite a number of 50 plus jobless men are digging into savings to pay their monthly mortgages ..

They now lived a miserable life :cry:

Quite true. I do know some as well in their 50s, suddenly lost job or ill, cannot work, need that condo, got helper, 2 cars and 3 kids to feed. All kinds of people. Get used to it
These relatively young seniors must have saved for a rainy day. They probably did advanced planning and are now sheltered from the storm.

That not entirely true cos quite a number of 50 plus jobless men are digging into savings to pay their monthly mortgages . They now lived a miserable life :cry:
How long can these 50+ unemployed men sustain their lifestyle w/o a job if they didn't plan for a rainy day well in advance?

For many career people, conspicuous consumption may boost their sense of identity and also project a certain standing as well as importance. In land-scarce S'pore, car ownership becomes a clear status symbol to the self-conscious, which can be literally displayed at different places to a wide audience throughout the day. Car owners may perceive themselves as wealthier and belonging to a higher social status group owing to their expensive possession.
Let these people go ahead, they can afford all these luxuries let them be. When the time of the month to pay car mortgage and other loans, some of these people become monkeys and scare already, here and there hide

They can only drive Grab .. but then not many people willing to spend on Grab :unsure:

Let these people go ahead, they can afford all these luxuries let them be. When the time of the month to pay car mortgage and other loans, some of these people become monkeys and scare already, here and there hide
Based on current prices, we have reached the day when only the top earners are able to possess a set of 4 wheels. This will in fact make car ownership even more attractive to those who can afford it.

How long can these 50+ unemployed men sustain their lifestyle w/o a job if they didn't plan for a rainy day well in advance?

At these 50 plus age .. many of their kids study in university or polytechnic now so dun assume their little cash savings is enough for a longer term :frown:

They can only drive Grab .. but then not many people willing to spend on Grab :unsure:
Because Grab fare is $9 on starting vs ppl take bus maybe $1.20. Can take 7 to 8 times the trip for $9. For me I don’t admire people with cars and condos because me and my classmates know enough from sch and work.