• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Just Arrived in Australia

thepill

No lah 37K-80K tax = approx 30% income tax

80K+ = 37% tax

180K (small money for live inside sydney) = 45% tax

+++ super, medi hospital tax, 10%GST, cig tax, alchohol tax, car import tax etc etc etc

Ozzieland = +++ tax no money one all go to garment

0 – $6,000
Nil

$6,001 – $37,000
15c for each $1 over $6,000

$37,001 – $80,000
$4,650 plus 30c for each $1 over $37,000

$80,001 – $180,000
$17,550 plus 37c for each $1 over $80,000

$180,001 and over
$54,550 plus 45c for each $1 over $180,000

Can you explain to me how do you arrive at a tax of 30% if I earn AUD$37,000 per annum? I may be new to this forum and Australia but I can do maths

thepill

9% super is standard.

Just general tips. not sure whether can help or not.

1. Relax. The interviewer just want to know whether you can do the job. Just highlight your strong points without offending or put off Aussies (eg asking for lower pay or show that you are too smart or too hardworking)

2. I have Indians who like to show me all their certificates. I am not interested. We will look at cert ,police clearance (if required), eligibility to work later. Basically, people like me just want to chat with you and see your response. I will see your physical features (whether you are on drugs, etc)

3. If you can describe what you do - give some examples of your experience. You can ask back if you see the interviewers getting bored. For me, I will gladly steer the interviewee back to relevance. If you see me nod my head, it means that I agree with your point.
Remember the construction is different from Singapore (clay) and Perth (sand pit). Why the Koreans tile pop in Singapore (too humid) we do not have a problem here with that same epoxy.

4. Singlish is very fast with intonation and stresses at the wrong place, try to speak slower. Don't answer too softly.

5. Dress neatly and appropriately.

Always treat the interview as an experience. You have nothing to lose and an interview experience to gain. Getting the job will be excellent of course.

Good luck!

At the end of the day, you need a job that the bank will dare to lent you money to buy house.

Thanks for your tips. You're right. I have nothing to lose. It'll make me less nervous adopting this mantra

neddy

Thanks for your tips. You're right. I have nothing to lose. It'll make me less nervous adopting this mantra

Try to project self-confidence. Believe in yourself.
Do not be afraid of mistakes. Perth people are more tolerant towards mistakes.

I have my share of mistakes due to ignorance.
I had a lucky break when I decided to buy into East Perth Development properties - not knowing that the place was notorious then. It was a time when Commbank was telling me, you are from Singapore, why not get 2 investment properties. I was still renting, $90 per week. It was a good mistake because Perth property boomed later and I sold. I will not buy apartments in Perth nowadays. Can't sell.

I did not buy my own house until I gave up citizenship and used the CPF money. My Kiwi friend is into buying old houses and renovating to sell at higher price as a hobby job. So,my house is a old cheap place owned by an widow that I renovated.

My take home pay would not have given me the kind of headstart.

You may want to think about investment when you have a chance.
Also, having a "second" job here is not unusual.

South Australia is beginning to boom. I smell opportunities. Seize the day! :cool:

londoncabby

0 – $6,000
Nil

$6,001 – $37,000

$37,001 – $80,000

$80,001 – $180,000

$180,001 and over

Can you explain to me how do you arrive at a tax of 30% if I earn AUD$37,000 per annum? I may be new to this forum and Australia but I can do maths

you earning 37K or $27.6 per hour?

If you earning 37K, good luck to you. This salary is cannot tahan one.

You state in post # 53 your pay =$27.6 per hour 40 hour week+ OT + bonus =53-63K salary range

Starting grad salary asking now is 80K, just to tahan

If you working first year and work less than six months than ATO have kenna whack many Singapore peoples on non-resident tax basis first year one. Got many case Singapore people comprain comprain Australia tax kenna cheated by garhment there.

http://www.taxrates.cc/html/australia-tax-rates.html

Tax Rates for Non-Residents

AUD$ 0 - 37,000 29c for each $1
AUD$ 37,001 - 80,000 AUD$ 10,730 plus 30c for each AUD$ 1 over AUD$ 35,000
AUD$ 80,001 - 180,000 AUD$ 23,630 plus 37c for each AUD$ 1 over AUD$ 80,000
AUD$ 180,001 and over AUD$ 60,630 plus 45c for each AUD$ 1 over AUD$ 180,000
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Some more If you want to buy avg 450K property bank require 100,000+ salary to qualify for loan.

http://www.propertytalk.com/forum/showthread.php?13089-Median-home-loan-needs-100-000-income

Median home loan needs $100,000 income

Jessica Irvine Economics Correspondent

First-home buyers now require a household income of more than $100,000 to qualify for a loan on the median-priced first home, a report from the Housing Industry Association and Commonwealth Bank has found.

This is up steeply from $80,000 two years ago, due to rising home prices and interest rates.

The figures showing housing affordability has plunged to another record low have reignited the election debate over who can best manage the "kitchen table" economy, in the face of rising cost-of-living pressures.

The chief economist at the association, Harley Dale, said borrowers were finding their own solutions to the housing affordability crisis, teaming up with a partner to meet the $104,200 income threshold required by bank lenders.

xenomorph

uncle cabby,
why you frighten runroader like that. as far as i know, australia illegal farm workers can earn big money build big house in china village, drive nice car. wat non-resident tax, only for dumb sinkees who alway follow law one?

post financial tsumani, banking system change in oz/nz. no more easy loans. but your data from 2007. got update or not?

how is london? if china rmb go up, uk also die. faster.

Aussie Prick

0 – $6,000
Nil

$6,001 – $37,000

$37,001 – $80,000

$80,001 – $180,000

$180,001 and over

Well my personal view is this tax is high when you compare it to Singapore's income tax bracket or the USA's for example. In the 37-80,000 range it works out to be about 21-22% tax on what the majority of taxpayers pay. In America for example 47% pay no tax, and the avg tax bill is only 5% compared to 20% in Australia - but then again America is broke so its a moot point. I guess its better to pay more and have a solvent government! Unfortunately in our society its everyone for themselves so socialism is not popular today.

BUT at least in Australia you have health care coverage which is a big bonus over Singapore or the USA, and with increasing health care costs, this is a big gain - which explains why the quality of living surveys always rank European, Canada, Australia at the tops because access to health coverage is universal unlike in Singapore where you can go to SGH, pay exorbitant fees to private hospitals or just die. What would you prefer?

If the majority in Australia are paying this 20% or so in tax, then in my view its worth it, for the health cover. I wonder how many in Singapore would embrace the same system?

My views on migration to Australia are simple - its a great country, many have migrated there over the years but in the past 5 years or so the cost of living has made migration there much more difficult then those who migrated in the 1990s or when Goh had the quitter speech. Those big houses have increased in price by 200-300%, House prices have skyrocketed past the affordable stage for most people. Those that migrated before the run up in prices are the "lucky ones" in my book, they paid alot less than those paying today. Its still a popular destination for Singaporeans due to its proximity, many wish to return in case they cant make it, but my personal opinion is that a migrant wishing to start over would face less hurdles in Canada, where costs are lower and the impetus to succeed is greater.

But then again Australia is the LEAST BROKE of all Western Nations and will likely weather financial storms better, so perhaps its better to pay more and be fiscally in better shape than the rest of the Western World.

I wonder what Singaporeans truly value? A country that's least broke and charges you more or one that's more broke and charges you less. I would love to hear your opinions on the matter.

Fook Seng

Aussie Prick said:
But then again Australia is the LEAST BROKE of all Western Nations and will likely weather financial storms better, so perhaps its better to pay more and be fiscally in better shape than the rest of the Western World.

I wonder what Singaporeans truly value? A country that's least broke and charges you more or one that's more broke and charges you less. I would love to hear your opinions on the matter.

Why western then if most are bloke? If 22% tax could mean 12% extra test on an income of 80k is 10k a year. 10k a year spent on medical is a high figure. You can do better buying an insurance.

neddy

Why western then if most are bloke? If 22% tax could mean 12% extra test on an income of 80k is 10k a year. 10k a year spent on medical is a high figure. You can do better buying an insurance.

The problem with a welfare state is that you can walk into a public hospital with an emergency case, and you will be treated within 4 hours free of charge.

There are 3 models of economic strategies in the world today to make the middle class people richer.

1 The Anglo-Saxon uses the Cheap Debt model, eg Aussie banks lending more than they should to undeserving people like me. The result, asset inflation such as high property prices.
2 The Continental European model of middle-class welfare. The French have been the prime example, and they ran a deficit since 1974!
3. The Asian Growth model. Japan, Korea, China. Singapore use this as well. Population growth, more FTs!

None of the models are working or substainable today. China cannot switch to domestic growth because the inefficient central capitialism made sure masses income always lag behind inflation. The Koreans are smarter, they overtook Japan and they diversify more.
Still, We see more protests everyday over income inequality around the world!

My views on migration to Australia are simple - its a great country, many have migrated there over the years but in the past 5 years or so the cost of living has made migration there much more difficult then those who migrated in the 1990s or when Goh had the quitter speech. Those big houses have increased in price by 200-300%, House prices have skyrocketed past the affordable stage for most people. Those that migrated before the run up in prices are the "lucky ones" in my book, they paid alot less than those paying today. Its still a popular destination for Singaporeans due to its proximity, many wish to return in case they cant make it, but my personal opinion is that a migrant wishing to start over would face less hurdles in Canada, where costs are lower and the impetus to succeed is greater.

I do not see it that way. I live here so I can say that Australia will be as broke as the Anglo-Saxon countries if not for the resources boom. The previous Liberal govt was able to accumulate savings because they are fiscally more competant than the current Labor govt.
Stagflation means that countries are broke (govt or private debts) and they will charge more and more.

New migrants should step into this resources gravy train as soon as they are ready. After 2007, migrating to Australia is a different ballgame.

Otherwise, they will be left behind until or unless a black swan event cause Aussie property price to fall. When that happens, a lot of DIY retirement funds will be in trouble.

First-home buyers now require a household income of more than $100,000 to qualify for a loan on the median-priced first home, a report from the Housing Industry Association and Commonwealth Bank has found.

This is up steeply from $80,000 two years ago, due to rising home prices and interest rates.

You really need to be resident for tax purpose. Otherwise, there is an amount withhold. Forget about non-resident tax, irrelevant in this case.

I previously wrote about $100,000 salary as comfortable. It should be at least $130,000.

As for taking a loan, http://www.yourmortgage.com.au/calculators/affordability/

Banks have returned to conservative lending. But competition is really heating up, banks are eating into mortgage brokers business and offering better deals. If the loan amount is >$250,000, you can negotiate the mortgage rates, just ask.

*** Apologies if I found pessimistic. It is the Mondays blue ***

ZorrorroZ

Neddy... Any idea how difficult or easy for an IT grad (with experience) to find work in AU, say in Western AU? Are there job agencies you could recommend who can find placement for me? If $100K or $130K per annum is the comfort range, I guess I got to hit those ranges soon after arrival, in order not to use up my savings capital too fast.

neddy

Neddy... Any idea how difficult or easy for an IT grad (with experience) to find work in AU, say in Western AU? Are there job agencies you could recommend who can find placement for me? If $100K or $130K per annum is the comfort range, I guess I got to hit those ranges soon after arrival, in order not to use up my savings capital too fast.

I am not confident of answering your question.

I attached a link for Peoples Bank last week? There are others like Talent International (approved for govt contractors), Robert Walters or even smaller firms like Trilogy.

http://searchperth.com/Recruitment-Agencies/index.html

They can find you jobs, but Don't depend too much on them. Because your job competitors are doing the same as you. The trick is to stay close to the top of the pool of candidates, eg your CV has more keywords then the other guys for a position - and the non-IT casual clerk or computer program pick them out.

Try seek.

thepill

you earning 37K or $27.6 per hour?

If you earning 37K, good luck to you. This salary is cannot tahan one.

You state in post # 53 your pay =$27.6 per hour 40 hour week+ OT + bonus =53-63K salary range

Starting grad salary asking now is 80K, just to tahan

If you working first year and work less than six months than ATO have kenna whack many Singapore peoples on non-resident tax basis first year one. Got many case Singapore people comprain comprain Australia tax kenna cheated by garhment there.

http://www.taxrates.cc/html/australia-tax-rates.html

Tax Rates for Non-Residents

AUD$ 0 - 37,000 29c for each $1
AUD$ 37,001 - 80,000 AUD$ 10,730 plus 30c for each AUD$ 1 over AUD$ 35,000
AUD$ 80,001 - 180,000 AUD$ 23,630 plus 37c for each AUD$ 1 over AUD$ 80,000
AUD$ 180,001 and over AUD$ 60,630 plus 45c for each AUD$ 1 over AUD$ 180,000
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Some more If you want to buy avg 450K property bank require 100,000+ salary to qualify for loan.

http://www.propertytalk.com/forum/showthread.php?13089-Median-home-loan-needs-100-000-income

The figures showing housing affordability has plunged to another record low have reignited the election debate over who can best manage the "kitchen table" economy, in the face of rising cost-of-living pressures.

The chief economist at the association, Harley Dale, said borrowers were finding their own solutions to the housing affordability crisis, teaming up with a partner to meet the $104,200 income threshold required by bank lenders.

I think you are overdoing it already. If you referred to what you posted previously, you claim that I will be paying 30% tax, which is wrong by all accounts. You are misleading.

That's all I'm trying to say. Whether I can survive in Australia or not, is my own problem.

londoncabby

I think you are overdoing it already. If you referred to what you posted previously, you claim that I will be paying 30% tax, which is wrong by all accounts. You are misleading.

That's all I'm trying to say. Whether I can survive in Australia or not, is my own problem.

Is correct your problem u can tahan or not

As you cannot read i state there "approx 30% tax". if you non resident tax is closer to 30% if you resident status tax is lesser based on your salary in post #53.

many peoples there cheated as non migrant tax on your first year setting up domicile one there by ATO what many cases many complaints lodged at embassy what

you can learn from other people mistake or you can maintain your sinkee attitude there

your choice one

thepill

Is correct your problem u can tahan or not

As you cannot read i state there "approx 30% tax". if you non resident tax is closer to 30% if you resident status tax is lesser based on your salary in post #53.

many peoples there cheated as non migrant tax on your first year setting up domicile one there by ATO what many cases many complaints lodged at embassy what

you can learn from other people mistake or you can maintain your sinkee attitude there

your choice one

and that's NOWHERE near 30%, approx or not. That's my point. You still don't get it?
If this is what you call Sinkee Attidude, yes I'm maintaining it. Jelly?

Ash007

Mate, don't play with the trolls if you don't want to. To each his own.

"How do you describe the colour of blue to a blind person?"

and that's NOWHERE near 30%, approx or not. That's my point. You still don't get it?

neddy

Hey thepill,

You are now in Perth, so please enjoy your time here.

Take time out to play tourist if you want. Eg Singaporeans need to travel here for farmstay. But you are here already, can visit Swan Valley, South-West, etc. Even taking the TransPerth ferry - esp when the Swan River dolphins are around. Weekend at the bay in UWA. Visit the Canning River shore. Go Rottnest Island overnight and see the natives hopping a over the place.

Look out for festivals, esp in Summer. Visit the farmers markets. Taste the seasonal fruits. LOL

Enjoy the "new migrant" days because once you settle down, you have your commitments and routine.

Do not take life too seriously, including taking the comments here seriously.

You yourself decide which comments are helpful and which are not.

Eg comfortable living is up to individual and my standard has been going up yearly.

There is a good forum you may want to visit as well. Very popular here.
http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/archive/744224

To have a feel of Perth life
http://www.myweyoflife.com/
http://www.karencheng.com.au/
or others ...
http://www.danielbowen.com/

*** I really missed my "new migrant" honeymoon days. I wish I can revisit those days. Loads of fond memories. ***

Farm stays prove to be a hit with Singaporeans
Published on Oct 17, 2011
Buy SPH photos

The draw of farm stays is among the reasons behind a record surge of Singaporean visitors to Western Australia state.

The 77,200 figure - from July last year to June this year - is the highest yearly number in the past decade, said Tourism Western Australia, the government agency that promotes travel to the region.

The figure represents an increase of 5.2 per cent - or 3,800 visitors - compared with last year. The state is well known for vineyards and dairy farms.

'Farm stays have become extra popular, especially with all the interest in TV shows like MasterChef Australia,' said Mr Tom Upson, Tourism Western Australia's contract manager for familiarisation.

londoncabby

So Sinkee one what you dont get is in post #53 your salary of $27.60 3PM-12AM 40 hour week plus 15% OT annual basis non resident your tax rate is approx 30%

Since your level ITE one math is simple, $10,730 + $8705 = 19,445 tax on 66K income on 52 week year = 29.46% tax

If you still do not understand no point waste any more time on you. Your education not very good.

ZorrorroZ

Hey all... I came across this website where they have done a nice breakdown on the costs of living in perth. Looks quite informative - updated to April this year.

http://www.aussiemove.com/aus/costlive.asp

Quite in line with what neddy has said - need about $100K or more to sustain a comfortable life for a family of 4.

neddy

Hey all... I came across this website where they have done a nice breakdown on the costs of living in perth. Looks quite informative - updated to April this year.

http://www.aussiemove.com/aus/costlive.asp

Quite in line with what neddy has said - need about $100K or more to sustain a comfortable life for a family of 4.

Thanks for the website.
Eg A fresh grad (accounting) earns $59,000. After taking a few Chartered Accountant papers and 3 years later, the salary hit $85-100,000. That is just 1 person. Spouse can work casual $40.000. Can live comfortably.

But for someone who migrate mid career, it may not follow the path.

Aussie Prick

Because migrants want a Western Lifestyle. Migrants still consider the West to provide the best education for our children and the highest quality of life going forward.

Europe has a Sovereign debt crisis. They can never pay it back, too many people collecting pensions and costs are too high. Bondholders worldwide likely to be bailed out by the next generation of young taxpayers, despite some haircuts on debt there

USA has a mortgage debt crisis, and insurance based health care system. 15% dont have insurance but to those that do, they have access to quality health care at a lower expense to the worker, high expense to the company. Problem is when you stop working you lose the benefit and if you pay out of pocket the cost there is very high without insurance.

Canada and Australia are in reasonably good shape though thanks to commodities. I wonder if more Singaporeans would consider migration to other nations, but for now it seems the West is still the most popular.