• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Jo Teo says Sinkies must not be picky. Many jobs available.

nayr69sg

Staff member
I think we should stay out of IT jobs ..not saying import more ah nehs..but no way we can compete with Tiong and ah nehs ...for every 1 grad we produce they produce a 100k at least

Import more IT grads. That will drive demand for property up. Sinkies will be happy when they can sell their HDB flats for 3 times the price! They can always live in a tent at Changi Beach after selling.

Yah lor , even my time people quit for a job 50 more dollars ..,try paying a wage they can live comfortably
"living comfortably" for sinkies these days is very different from days of old. for example, after promoting long time delivery worker to manager of warehouse and increasing his pay handsomely, he quit, citing inflexible working hours and work pressure. on further investigation we found out that he was flirting with aunties at retail stores and food center warehouses when he was a delivery driver. after loading boxes into trucks before noon, every driver goes to his designated retail outlets and warehouses to deliver products and help some retailers stack food on shelves when they are shorthanded. they would finish their jobs by 3pm, and they are allowed to go home from there or return to warehouse with trucks if they cannot park their vehicles at their residences. this chap who got promoted drove an air conned van with only a small space for goods and products. thus, his deliveries are few and lighter, covering selected retail stores that require closer attention and service. only senior drivers get to drive vans as their routes are flexible and destinations fewer. his life was sextremely comfortable as he had a vehicle to drive around for personal use besides deliveries. as a senior driver and warehouse worker he was paid at least $3.69k. he's quite tall and good looking, thus he was a favorite among retail ladies. no complaints from him for over a decade. now we know what he was up to. he had been banging some aunties on his work time as his hours were sextremely flexible. the only thing not flexible was his hard dick inside these retail aunties. after promoting him and requiring him to manage the warehouse full time from 8 to 5, he'd would rather forego a $4k job than losing his flexibility and freedom to bang aunties. now jobless, he can bang them all he wishes but without pay which auntie wants to suck his dick? or perhaps many aunties are hooked and are giving him a buck for a bang.

Nice-Gook

Just need to change a few things. Increase the pay. Make the shifts shorter. Get the customers to pay more.

Sinkies are rich. Instead of buying expensive cars and going on many holidays they can afford to pay more for other services to allow their fellow sinkies to have higher pay.
you see, a tiong or an ah nehs is willing to work longer hours for even lesser pay ...if PAP opens this jobs for foreigners than no more taxi drivers, security guard and such jobs for locals

the real problem ,I figure, so long as cheap labour is made avilable than that's what market will flow ...so all that adjustments would be circumvented

eg ,say you need to hire 5 locals to qualify 1 foreign worker...but your pay is 1k or even 3k for a local ...the employer will get 5 retired sinkie IC paying them a copy money of say 200 bucks and hire an ah nehs or tiong for 800 bucks ...and he will be as good as 3 sinkie ..

the problem is structural...you need to tackle it not by piece meal

Nice-Gook

Import more IT grads. That will drive demand for property up. Sinkies will be happy when they can sell their HDB flats for 3 times the price! They can always live in a tent at Changi Beach after selling.
oii doc ,read my post plopolly can ?

Thanks for the field report! :thumbsup:

"living comfortably" for sinkies these days is very different from days of old. for example, after promoting long time delivery worker to manager of warehouse and increasing his pay handsomely, he quit, citing inflexible working hours and work pressure. on further investigation we found out that he was flirting with aunties at retail stores and food center warehouses when he was a delivery driver. after loading boxes into trucks before noon, every driver goes to his designated retail outlets and warehouses to deliver products and help some retailers stack food on shelves when they are shorthanded. they would finish their jobs by 3pm, and they are allowed to go home from there or return to warehouse with trucks if they cannot park their vehicles at their residences. this chap who got promoted drove an air conned van with only a small space for goods and products. thus, his deliveries are few and lighter, covering selected retail stores that require closer attention and service. only senior drivers get to drive vans as their routes are flexible and destinations fewer. his life was sextremely comfortable as he had a vehicle to drive around for personal use besides deliveries. as a senior driver and warehouse worker he was paid at least $3.69k. he's quite tall and good looking, thus he was a favorite among retail ladies. no complaints from him for over a decade. now we know what he was up to. he had been banging some aunties on his work time as his hours were sextremely flexible. the only thing not flexible was his hard dick inside these retail aunties. after promoting him and requiring him to manage the warehouse full time from 8 to 5, he'd would rather forego a $4k job than losing his flexibility and freedom to bang aunties. now jobless, he can bang them all he wishes but without pay which auntie wants to suck his dick? or perhaps many aunties are hooked and are giving him a buck for a bang.

Nice-Gook

than change the man lah

nayr69sg

Staff member
if PAP institute minimum wage then it will solve a few problems

For one there is no difference hiring local vs foreign if there is minimum wage.

Probably make it $25/hr minimum wage.

Then less foreigners. Or those that come in will be higher SES foreigners.

Next economic boom in sg will be immigration and property fueled.

Nice-Gook

of course, but new warehouse manager is no sinkie.
that's how sinkie came to be ..since ,your family business in warehousing..you must know local prime truck drivers earned about 5k per month before ..the same job done by tiong today is for 1.5k ..but lot more accidents and logistical nightmare ...but that begets the question how did busineeses survived previously paying 5k salary before but cannot operate today at more than even 3 k

Nice-Gook

if PAP institute minimum wage then it will solve a few problems

For one there is no difference hiring local vs foreign if there is minimum wage.

Probably make it $25/hr minimum wage.

Then less foreigners. Or those that come in will be higher SES foreigners.

Next economic boom in sg will be immigration and property fueled.
please lah ,can stick to KPKB ,can ?

A Singaporean

Who the fuck care about work permit jobs going to foreigners? It is the PMET jobs whereby priorities should go to citizens. Many foreigners are allowed in to replace citizens and many citizens now end up as grab drivers. The cost of living in Singapore is one of the highest in the world and can you blame citizens for asking for a living wage to raise a family here? But it is OK for ministers to be paid millions? No doubt foreigners' expectations are lower but many are not raising a family here.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Who the fuck care about work permit jobs going to foreigners? It is the PMET jobs whereby priorities should go to citizens. Many foreigners are allowed in to replace citizens and many citizens now end up as grab drivers. The cost of living in Singapore is one of the highest in the world and can you blame citizens for asking for a living wage to raise a family here? But it is OK for ministers to be paid millions? No doubt foreigners' expectations are lower but many are not raising a family here.

Institute minimum wage. The problem as you said is living wage.

Just make ALL jobs pay a living wage. Say $25/hr.

There will be less obsession with PMET jobs. PMET job obsession is really cos of the $$$ right?

Just put min wage lah.

that's how sinkie came to be ..since ,your family business in warehousing..you must know local prime truck drivers earned about 5k per month ..the same job done by tiong today is for 1.5k ..but lot more accidents and logistical nightmare ...but that begets the question how did busineeses survived previously paying 5k salary before but cannot operate today at more than even 3 k
aiyah, i know this biz more intimately than you lah. prime truck drivers are mainly those who drive very heavy rigs and vehicles for special goods and services. we have shipping contractors that hire drivers to drive 40-foot long container trucks from jiuhu factories to sg warehouses. they have to be on longer jiuhu roads for hours, driving mostly in the night and wee hours in the morning. by the time we're at the warehouse at 6.9am, they are already there, waiting and sleeping at the dock. they are paid handsomely as one full container can cost several tens of thousands and sextisfies the tastebuds of hundreds of sinkies. local drivers of small trucks and vans are happy with $3.69k. but if advertise for $2.69k, no sinkie takers. we are looking for young ah beng sinkie drivers so they can be groomed for the biz as they age. moreover they need to haul boxes and hand-truck pull pallets. what's the point of hiring old sinkie (prime truck) drivers who are happier elsewhere in other more lucrative businesses? contrary to what you claim about tiongs, the few tiongs we hired were actually safer drivers and more reliable workers than jiuhukias and sinkies. they returned to china after making their money and after mom increased the sinkie-fw ratio some years ago. we actually miss them dearly. so good and so cheap. now jiuhukias take their spots and are happy with $2.4k. that's the ongoing rate for light truck and van drivers. biggest truck we have is the 20-foot container truck. these are for bigger deliveries to major food provider warehouses. drivers of these trucks are paid more as they have to deal with overbearing personnel and idiosyncrasies of each retail outlet warehouse. it's not just all about driving.

bobby

Institute minimum wage. The problem as you said is living wage.

Just make ALL jobs pay a living wage. Say $25/hr.

There will be less obsession with PMET jobs. PMET job obsession is really cos of the $$$ right?

Just put min wage lah.

To institute a min wage policy you need strong unions to fight for their workers...but the useless Sinkie unions are toothless and puppets of the gahmen.

Nice-Gook

aiyah, i know this biz more intimately than you lah. prime truck drivers are mainly those who drive very heavy rigs and vehicles for special goods and services. we have shipping contractors that hire drivers to drive 40-foot long container trucks from jiuhu factories to sg warehouses. they have to be on longer jiuhu roads for hours, driving mostly in the night and wee hours in the morning. by the time we're at the warehouse at 6.9am, they are already there, waiting and sleeping at the dock. they are paid handsomely as one full container can cost several tens of thousands and sextisfies the tastebuds of hundreds of sinkies. local drivers of small trucks and vans are happy with $3.69k. but if advertise for $2.69k, no sinkie takers. we are looking for young ah beng sinkie drivers so they can be groomed for the biz as they age. moreover they need to haul boxes and hand-truck pull pallets. what's the point of hiring old sinkie (prime truck) drivers who are happier elsewhere in other more lucrative businesses? contrary to what you claim about tiongs, the few tiongs we hired were actually safer drivers and more reliable workers than jiuhukias and sinkies. they returned to china after making their money and after mom increased the sinkie-fw ratio some years ago. we actually miss them dearly. so good and so cheap. now jiuhukias take their spots and are happy with $2.4k. that's the ongoing rate for light truck and van drivers. biggest truck we have is the 20-foot container truck. these are for bigger deliveries to major food provider warehouses. drivers of these trucks are paid more as they have to deal with overbearing personnel and idiosyncrasies of each retail outlet warehouse. it's not just all about driving.
great ,but my question still remains ...how is it that busineeses paid 5k monthly to local prime mover truckers yesrs before and made profits but now cannot ,so importing foreign workers and paying them about 2k and still complaining ?

now ,about container trucking ...since your family businesse is foodstuff ,your interaction might be more with jiu hu kia truckers ...yes,mostly ah nehs and paid by trips depending on the distance ....but containrisation and trucking is far more complex

e.g., 20 foot container truck of yours ...it's totally redundant today ...all containers in sinkie road are 40 footer ...the very first container ship arrived in sinkie was Illoyds shipping ..and the very first prime mover trucking company belonged to an ah neh...in fact most of the ship handling businesses and tongkangs that shuttle cargoes to and fro singapore river to break bulk vessels belonged to ah nehs

the container and warehousing is far far more complex...depending on the cargo ..since your family dealt on food stuff may not be that familiar

containers are not all box type you regularly see ,,they flip type ,open container refrigerated containers and so on ..so ,stuffing and unstuffing is a very specialised jobs warehousing people do ...e.g. you cannot play with very very expensive oil machines that is shipped from Germany but has to transit in sinkie and shipped to a remote part of indonesia ...thus ,warehousing ,stuffing and unstuffing and trucking is far far more specialized than you would think ...if you load and unload and damage any of these highly specialised machines ,it's gonna cost millions ...whreas food stuff can handle roughly

all kinds of logistics and the control room came under my watch...so ,I do know bit here and there