• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Is relying on "Old Money" acceptable?

bigcockman

If I don' want to work anymore and rely on parents" money (old money) is it very throw face?

Nowadays with so many foreigners in Singapore, opportunities for career growth are limited and it's more difficult to make "new money" in investments as compared to my grandparents' and parents' generation. They upgraded from kampong to HDB flat to Condo and now Bungalow and also own a few condos for rental.

I think it's impossible for my current generation to have such opportunities. Even working hard would not afford me a Bungalow and several condos to earn rental income like them.

I must as well rely on their "old money" and not work anymore.

micromachine

Lieutenant General
how old is old money? Some german billionaires choose to go underground because part of their inter-generational wealth was derived from the third reich

kaninabuchaojibye

If I don' want to work anymore and rely on parents" money (old money) is it very throw face?

Nowadays with so many foreigners in Singapore, opportunities for career growth are limited and it's more difficult to make "new money" in investments as compared to my grandparents' and parents' generation. They upgraded from kampong to HDB flat to Condo and now Bungalow and also own a few condos for rental.

I think it's impossible for my current generation to have such opportunities. Even working hard would not afford me a Bungalow and several condos to earn rental income like them.

Why work? | Pearson UK

www.pearson.com

Why do people go out to work?

Sometimes people choose a job that gives them a chance to make a difference to the community. Others follow their passion, even if it means they don’t earn as much as they could do. In fact, adults who aren't in a paid job will often still try and find something to do with their time to stay busy, like taking up hobbies or volunteering. Work gives people a structure to their lives, a reason to get up and dressed in the morning, and of course, money to pay the bills.

While you‘re still at school, it’s really important to spend time thinking about what you want out of life. Do you dream of having a big house, expensive cars and six holidays a year? Or perhaps you would be happy with a simpler, less extravagant lifestyle?

Be prepared to work hard

It might be nice to daydream about having lots of money, but it’s important to remember that often the jobs that earn people the most money are also the jobs that can cause people the most stress. No-one gets paid £100,000 a year for working 11am to 2pm three days a week, cuddling kittens and taste-testing chocolates. Often people who are earning a high wage will also be putting in some serious hours at work, perhaps including evenings and weekends. They may be expected to be ‘on call’ to sort things out 24/7, even when they’re on holiday.

It’s not easy to get a job that pays you lots of money. You might hear stories about people who left school with no GCSEs and went on to become millionaires – and it’s true that this can happen – but it’s very rare. Most of the time, the higher the level of qualifications someone has, the more money they will earn in their lifetime. If earning lots of money is important to you, be prepared to work hard for it!

What matters to you?

So you need to ask yourself – what is important to you? There’s nothing wrong with being motivated by money, as long as you’re willing to put in the work. There’s also nothing wrong with working for very little money, but either way it’s much nicer if you are enjoying the job you do. Of course, most people end up earning somewhere between the minimum wage (in summer 2015 this was £3.79 for under 18s) and earning millions or billions!

It’s also worth thinking about where you want to work. Do you want to be working in the same place every day, or travelling around the country, even the world? Will you be in an office, in a warehouse, in a laboratory or outdoors? These days, technology and the internet mean people can work from almost anywhere in the world. Perhaps you fancy running a business from a laptop in a beach hut in the Caribbean? This might sound like a great idea, but remember that in order to make a living in this way you need to have some kind of skill that other people will pay money for. Some types of jobs and industries are only available in certain areas, so you might need to consider moving to follow your career plans. For example, those interested in deep sea fishing won’t find work in central Manchester, and people working in finance are likely to find that a lot of vacancies are based in the City of London.

Do what you enjoy

If you’re really struggling to think of ideas, a good starting point might be to think of the words of the philosopher Alan Watts, who asked;

"What would you like to do if money were no object? How would you really enjoy spending your life?"

By asking yourself this, hopefully you can identify what really makes you buzz. Then you can start to build a career plan around what you are really interested in. Good luck.

kaninabuchaojibye

young man just to add ...
don't spend and waste so much time here in sbf
here the members mostly work for a large part of their life and retired or semi retired, so cum here tcss to pass time
better go build up your own new money when u are still young even though u may have lots of old money from your ancestors
spending your own hard earned money is better than spending old money because you will build in a mechanism to prevent u from becoming a 败家子

here the members mostly work for a large part of their life and retired or semi retired, so cum here tcss to pass time
better go build up your own new money when u are still young even though u may have lots of old money from your ancestors
spending your own hard earned money is better than spending old money because you will build in a mechanism to prevent u from becoming a 败家子
KNN my uncle think this is very ideal good advice but it only can be practiced by someone who is earning a fairly leecent celery KNN also he/she must separate the old money and new money and not to mix them up becas it will end up not sure spending old or new money KNN

KNN my uncle also doesn't believe many already got enough money people to continue work in a job that need to enslave for someone KNN but these people always tell my uncle don't work very boring KNN my uncle say fuck man KNN noone on this earth would want to be at the command by another person and adhering to working hours KNN you are simply greedy and just uncomfortable to see money flowing out without in leegardless of age and lying to my uncle and yourself KNN

There is another fucking loser of losers people who couldn't afford to leetire and need to work till death kind that will console themselves by telling my uncle you intend to leetire so young do what not boring meh KNN

bigcockman

Thanks for your kind advise. But I really do not want to wait until I am old and cannot walk properly to realise that I can no longer enjoy the old money. Isn't it better to start spending them now and pace over the rest of my life? Then I can have a slower pace life, appreciate the environment, go travelling and see the world, learn different cultures and languages, indulge in good food while I still can eat a lot.

bigcockman

I can go casino everyday if I don't need to work. Just enjoy myself and pass time. I am sure it there's excitement, I wouldn't be bored. Correct?

pvtpublic

Thanks for your kind advise. But I really do not want to wait until I am old and cannot walk properly to realise that I can no longer enjoy the old money. Isn't it better to start spending them now and pace over the rest of my life? Then I can have a slower pace life, appreciate the environment, go travelling and see the world, learn different cultures and languages, indulge in good food while I still can eat a lot.

sounds like you want to live like everyday is Sunday :biggrin:

try it for a 1000 days if you can afford to.

post and update us on your 1000 days of Sunday.

waitifcuk

KNN my uncle think this is very ideal good advice but it only can be practiced by someone who is earning a fairly leecent celery KNN also he/she must separate the old money and new money and not to mix them up becas it will end up not sure spending old or new money KNN

@glockman
and i
not working
he has a 3D printer
i have a 6.9D printer
to print $