Was LKY a waiter too?Gecko told her son Pinky that only chinese waiters have english names.

Same same. Its a name one can grow into.did you germanize the name and call yourself “unker?”
i think yah should have angmoh name but not anyhow adopt randomly, instead should derive by using your existing name.I just graduated and enter the job market in Singapore.
I don't have an English name.
My AMDL boss and some of my foreigner colleagues have difficulty in pronouncing my name which is in HanYuPinYin.
Sometimes, I feel that because they have difficulty in pronouncing my name, I am left out of their companionship.
I mean I can understand from their standpoint.
If an Indian introduces himself to me with a name like Venkata Narasimha Rajuvaripeta, I would also say Hi, smile at him but in my heart say Bye, and forget about him too.
Should I just adopt a stylo-milo English name like Oliver or George?
It sounds easy to remember for my AMDL boss and also other foreigner colleagues.
What do you think? Any helpful suggestions?
philemon being not common means might not be easy to remember (or pronounce for those who never heard of it before), and also somehow resembles filamentI like this idea of having a name that reflects Asian and yet easy to remember for foreigners. Aside from Kim, do you have any other options for me?
Are you suggesting that I should have an English name that resembles my facial and overall body features?
I like your good advice. I am thinking of Philemon. Do you think it's a good name?
Philemon is a good friend of Apostle Paul. Though Philemon is not a common name, it means love or friendliness.
Thank you for your kind advice. It's always advisable to ask for good advice from seniors like you because you guys got the benefit of hindsight.
English names are easier to remember. I always have problems remembering chinese names. Unless she is a super chio bu. I usually end up just calling them by their family name. Unless your chinese name ends with Ming, Yan, Hock, King or something similar (they can always use that single syllable), it is better to have an English name. Especially in your professional life.I just graduated and enter the job market in Singapore.
I don't have an English name.
My AMDL boss and some of my foreigner colleagues have difficulty in pronouncing my name which is in HanYuPinYin.
Sometimes, I feel that because they have difficulty in pronouncing my name, I am left out of their companionship.
I mean I can understand from their standpoint.
If an Indian introduces himself to me with a name like Venkata Narasimha Rajuvaripeta, I would also say Hi, smile at him but in my heart say Bye, and forget about him too.
Should I just adopt a stylo-milo English name like Oliver or George?
It sounds easy to remember for my AMDL boss and also other foreigner colleagues.
What do you think? Any helpful suggestions?
My surname is Pak. My dialect name is Chew Cheng. You can call me Pak Chew Cheng. 谢谢你.English names are easier to remember. I always have problems remembering chinese names. Unless she is a super chio bu. I usually end up just calling them by their family name. Unless your chinese name ends with Ming, Yan, Hock, King or something similar (they can always use that single syllable), it is better to have an English name. Especially in your professional life.
You can consider something catchy like Goldman, Longman, Cocksmith, Einstein, Newton, Elon, Barrack.![]()
KNN, people trying to be serious here and you disturb only.My surname is Pak. My dialect name is Chew Cheng. You can call me Pak Chew Cheng. 谢谢你.
Nothing in this forum is serious lah. We are all here to pass time and waiting for our turn to mati.KNN, people trying to be serious here and you disturb only.![]()
personally i think a better name (also sounds close to his canto name but without having to reverse) for him would be Macho, especially since he transformed from a geek/ nerd into a muscleman.Honkees love having weird and silly English names as they love to stand out from the crowd.
https://www.theatlantic.com/interna...0/hong-kong-loves-weird-english-names/263103/
The most ingenious name I've come across is comedian actor Chapman Toh. When you say his name backwards, you actually saying his name 杜汶泽 in Cantonese.
nah that one ask tin pei ling use then more accurateUse Oval Tan
Later your boss mistake you for a can of ovaltine
i think yah should have angmoh name but not anyhow adopt randomly, instead should derive by using your existing name.
e.g. i used to have a colleague called yiwen and she chose phyllis got no link, to me i felt a name like yvonne would make most sense.
so yep that's my suggestion on how u can also come up with a better choice.
philemon being not common means might not be easy to remember (or pronounce for those who never heard of it before), and also somehow resembles filament![]()
English names are easier to remember. I always have problems remembering chinese names. Unless she is a super chio bu. I usually end up just calling them by their family name. Unless your chinese name ends with Ming, Yan, Hock, King or something similar (they can always use that single syllable), it is better to have an English name. Especially in your professional life.
You can consider something catchy like Goldman, Longman, Cocksmith, Einstein, Newton, Elon, Barrack.![]()
Is John a good name to have. It's pretty neutral?personally i think a better name (also sounds close to his canto name but without having to reverse) for him would be Macho, especially since he transformed from a geek/ nerd into a muscleman.
other examples of creative (somehow derived instead of just randomly adopted) angmoh names used by chinese-speaking celebrities include:
- EASON (chen YIXUN)
- FAYE (wang FEI)
- GARY (cao GE)
- JAY (zhou JIElun)
- JET (li lianJIE)
- JJ (lin JunJie)
- KENJI (wu KEQUN)
- OCEAN (Ou deYANG)
- SKY (wu SIKAI)
- WILBUR (pan WEIBO)
- YOGA (lin YOUJIA)
Negative. Too common. If I were to throw a stone into a crowd, I'd probably hit 10 -20 John's.Is John a good name to have. It's pretty neutral?
Jonathan?Negative. Too common. If I were to throw a stone into a crowd, I'd probably hit 10 -20 John's.
Folks will just end up calling you Jon. Same thing lah. Have you considered the list of names I proposed for you?Jonathan?
These are weird names. I am usually an introverted person. These names sound to "big" for me.You can consider something catchy like Goldman, Longman, Cocksmith, Einstein, Newton, Elon, Barrack.
to me i would say yes if your chinese name has a Jun in itIs John a good name to have. It's pretty neutral?
Solomon is better. But you must have the wisdom to match that name.Jonathan?
If you're the backstabbing kind, Judas is a good name.Solomon is better. But you must have the wisdom to match that name.
I do have a J in my name but no Jun.to me i would say yes if your chinese name has a Jun in it