is it 100% car driver fault?

Y'all are funny... it clear says it's a zebra crossings. Nuff said !

Under existing Singapore traffic law, cyclists and riders of personal mobility devices must dismount and push their bicycles or devices across. Speeding across a zebra crossing is a dangerous act punishable by a fine in Singapore.

1599783509923.png

That's out of date! There is no requirement to dismount. You are another twit who does not keep up with the times.

View attachment 90651
and btw, post #13 which i posted a screenshot of lta and traffic police guidelines with tampines gros are recent tripartite guidelines.
there is obviously some inconsistencies within lta and traffoc police themselves on the requirement to dismount or not.
fyi.

Under existing Singapore traffic law, cyclists and riders of personal mobility devices must dismount and push their bicycles or devices across. Speeding across a zebra crossing is a dangerous act punishable by a fine in Singapore.
source?

Drivers fault. On zebra crossings, pedestrians, which include cyclist and pmd's have right of way. But of course, when crossing, pedestrians must behave defensively as they are susceptible to injuries if knocked down.
of course driver is at fault
but is it absolutely 100% driver's fault?

4.—(1) Every cyclist, mobility vehicle user or PMD rider shall, before entering a bicycle crossing, stop his bicycle, power‑assisted bicycle, mobility vehicle or personal mobility device, as the case may be, at the crossing road sign as indicated by the diagram in Part III of the Schedule.
https://sso.agc.gov.sg/SL/RTA1961-R36?DocDate=20190131

https://www.google.com/search?sourc......1.1j2.64.psy-ab..3.1.58.0...33._jlyE7AYnnY
it is opposite from what you said must dismount
it says must stop, not mandatory dismount

You (CYCLIST) definitely must stop first before crossing that's forsho !

relax boss, cyclists definitely also have rights, including the right to die by car bang :biggrin:
surely that's what will happen if they think they have right of way on zebra crossing and chiong without stopping to look out for traffic. sort of deserve it i would agree.

You (CYCLIST) definitely must stop first before crossing that's forsho !
lta and traffic police is also at fault
inconsistent rules
sometime say dismount and push
sometime say no need to dismount
different officers inside lta and tp have different views
no consistency and adding to grey area

why the name calling insults?
i am merely researching on the net on this grey aspect as different jurisdictions have different rules on whether to dismount or not.
in new york, apparently, no dismount needed.
why so emo?

relax bro, the boss is an avid cyclist lah, so its natural to get emo over something ur passioante about :D

Cyclists are not required to dismount. Your ignorance is shocking and you should be stripped of your license and forced to re sit your highway code test.

It is fucked up drivers like yourself that are the cause of many injuries and deaths to innocent road users.

maybe the law or rule is diff for countries, nz maybe dont care u die your bizness but sg is aging population, cannot afford to let too many ppl hongkan, lol

i am relax
haaaa
just wanted to research on this topic and see if other jurisdictions have same problem

think this type of thing govts will see statistics, the law will auto act if too many die, if only a few die then nevermind lor, u die your bizness, lol..the bestest eg is pmd, one time say can then later change say cannot, public kpkb lives endangered so bopian

maybe the law or rule is diff for countries, nz maybe dont care u die your bizness but sg is aging population, cannot afford to let too many ppl hongkan, lol
i think the basic requirement is to stop and look out for traffic before riding across a zebra crossing.

to dismount, it is a grey area. different countries have different rules. anz and uk seems to require dismount and push.

new york doesn't need to as they is no dismount and push law

for singapore, lta and traffic police don't even know what the fuck they say as you get opposite views from them whether to dismount and push or not

it is opposite from what you said must dismount
it says must stop, not mandatory dismount

Yup u're right new rule no need dismount, my bad.

But they must stop first if not too fast and block by lamp post, signboards small trees when you just ride the bicycle and zoom across it might be too fast for car driver to see you and react.

If you type this and search :

must cyclist dismount while using zebra crossing singapore

This came out tops : Under existing Singapore traffic law, cyclists and riders of personal mobility devices must dismount and push their bicycles or devices across. Speeding across a zebra crossing is a dangerous act punishable by a fine in Singapore.Apr 17, 2017

https://www.google.com/search?sourc......1.1j2.64.psy-ab..3.1.58.0...33._jlyE7AYnnY

Yup u're right new rule no need dismount, my bad.

But they must stop first if not too fast and block by lamp post, signboards small trees when you just ride the bicycle and zoom across it might be too fast for car driver to see you and react.
that's why i say lta and tp inconsistent
my post #13 has that recent tripartite lta tp and tampimes gro guideline say must dismount.
really cockup ministry of transport
simple things cannot even put out message clearly
pay minister millions and you get this sort of inconsistent views from lta and traffic police

If you type this and search :

must cyclist dismount while using zebra crossing singapore

This came out tops : Under existing Singapore traffic law, cyclists and riders of personal mobility devices must dismount and push their bicycles or devices across. Speeding across a zebra crossing is a dangerous act punishable by a fine in Singapore.Apr 17, 2017

yep happily one day say must dismount and push
next day say no need
cockup