• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

I'm being offered a job overseas - need advice

BusNo64

Currently striving in my own company of 6 years, income quite ok but not consistent, lots of freedom (time and creativity).

Kenna head hunted by an agency, offering me 8k + accommodation in HK

Wanted to leave SG if there's opportunities, but i cant let go of many things...., my company... my family.... my friends..... -_-"

How arr .....................?

Go lah! there is plenty of gay bars in HK, so u shld feel at home there..:rolleyes::p:oIo:

Alamek, Vincent has made that announcement for me...

Just like any society, HK is made up of many different kinds of people.

Many Singaporeans are also very pragmatic and materialistic nowadays. But there are still some gems somewhere.

of course. i was generalising based on my observations. the Hongkies also have a stereotypical impression of singaporeans so there's no love lost. If you've married a gem, congrats. No offense intended to anyone.

Well, there is one distinctive difference though. Hong Kongers generally, both men and women, are more adventurous and risk taking lot. Daring in that sense. Meaning, they are not as risk adverse as Singaporeans. And Hong Kongers have a strong core values of democracy; social justice as well as human rights and civil liberties. They have higher standards on what constitutes "corruptions" or "inappropriate dealings" of abusing privileged information or positions by those politicians and civil servants.

Goh Meng Seng

this i have to add on to... The Hongkie society is no doubt more politically mature than us. From the Tiananmen incident to the 97 handover, to the SAP status today, we saw how have these people dealt with kwailo colonial masters and the communist leaders. These people are hardy survivors.

But I would take their worship of democracy with a pinch of salt. They can cite whichever principle that benefits them the most. In fact, most HK bankers I know, who are supposed to be the fiercest of capitalists, love the communist government because they do a good job maintaining social stability in the mainland. Corruption is no problem as long as everyone prospers. You have to be pragmatic to survive.

BusNo64

Sorry, i forgot some details.

1) Agency contract i have to close my company
2) My parents are old, 1 kenna mild stroke, 1 has a weak heart in the last 2 years
3) Overseas stint - 3-5 years, but still can support the Oranje there, LOL :biggrin::biggrin:
4) Am single, 38 years old, quite old liao hor :p:p
5) In my profession, weekend traveling back is impossible
6) No HDB, so gov didnt chain me for 40 years, LOL

What i'm worried most are my parent........ i havent told them yet.....

pls lah, ur gay escort agency can get a tuapekkong to take care lah...but i think u r more unwilling to part with ur gay bf instead of ur parents lah...knn hk to spore veri far meh? plane ride onli a few hrs so dont talk cock lah! :wink:

Yah lor, Hatyai also not very far mah, 18+ hours coach ride nia, hahahaha

bluewolf

8K SGD is not a lot in HK. Their rental is extremely high. You should do a cost analysis before going, you may not be saving any more money than you are here. But if its for the experience, then go for it.

Blazars

Alamaking. If i am in your position, i think i will not move to hkg. The S$8k is not alot. My bro-in-law is offer US$8k to go Matland. He rejected. Then, u already have a company here, with GLC customers somemore. Your career should be in your own company. Also, major reason is your elder parents. You shld get their blessing if you decided to move.

Jus my opinion.
!&!!

8K SGD is not a lot in HK. Their rental is extremely high. You should do a cost analysis before going, you may not be saving any more money than you are here. But if its for the experience, then go for it.
Accommodation provided lah, i said before liao -_-", LOL :biggrin:

Currently striving in my own company of 6 years, income quite ok but not consistent, lots of freedom (time and creativity).

Kenna head hunted by an agency, offering me 8k + accommodation in HK

Wanted to leave SG if there's opportunities, but i cant let go of many things...., my company... my family.... my friends..... -_-"

How arr .....................?
Is your company in direct competition with your prospective employer's?
If it is, you should be aware that they may be trying to "kill 2 birds with 1 stone" by offering you a job. They remove the competition and they also get an employee who can bring in his existing customers.
There's nothing wrong with that and nothing wrong for you to accept their job offer, but you just need to be aware. Read the employment contract carefully.