• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Hell Minister paid only $8 for bypass due to MediShield

S

suicidalpap

More Singaporeans covered by health insurance

Health Minister Khaw Boon Wan said 88 per cent of all Singaporeans are now protected by MediShield, and that its coverage is growing.

Writing in his blog, the minister said the number of uninsured young Singaporeans has gone down by more than half to 17 per cent last year, as compared to the percentage in 2007.

This was done through reaching out to the young Singaporeans in schools.

Among MediShield policyholders, Mr Khaw said 58 per cent have topped up with a private shield plan for hospitalisation in Class A and private hospitals.

Meanwhile, subscription to ElderShield has increased from 789,000 in 2007 to 906,000.

He said few Singaporeans now opt out of ElderShield, when they cross the age of 40.

And among the ElderShield policyholders, 19 per cent have topped up with private ElderShield supplements, to enjoy a higher payout.

Mr Khaw also revealed that his out-of-pocket expense for his recent bypass surgery was only S$8.

He said his hospital bill was largely paid by MediShield and a private Shield supplement.

Medisave took care of the bill's co-payment.

The minister said he's looking at ways to strengthen health insurance further.

Mr Khaw said at an informal lunch with health insurers on Monday, that several ideas were floated.

They included extending MediShield to include mental illness, congenital illness and neo-natal treatment.

There were also comments on raising the claim limits on outpatient cancer care, so as to relieve the burden on cancer patients.

For ElderShield, Mr Khaw said there was discussion on how to raise the monthly basic payout from S$400 and to extend the payout period beyond six years.

He also said there was discussion on how to discourage over-charging, and how to take advantage of the lower cost providers overseas.

S

suicidalpap

He also said there was discussion on how to discourage over-charging, and how to take advantage of the lower cost providers overseas.>>>

He is implying that Singapre Hospitals are overcharging their patients.

Tristan

For someone who earns millions for doing practically nothing, talking cock and walking lazily around with hands behind the back when invited for some openings, this midget is now proud of the fact that he has paid only $8 for his bypass. Yup, welcome to paradise if you are a member of the ruling party!

He also said there was discussion on how to discourage over-charging, and how to take advantage of the lower cost providers overseas.>>>

He is implying that Singapre Hospitals are overcharging their patients.
no la ... he's still implying ... no moni? f**k off 2 jb ...

... For ElderShield, Mr Khaw said there was discussion on how to raise the monthly basic payout from S$400 and to extend the payout period beyond six years. ...
uh-oh! ...

gonna make u c less of ur cpf sum mor ... :(

COW flu

This is OBVIOUSLY LEEGALIZED CORRUPTION PROVEN, he took millions of dollars from us to be in-charge of the healthcare. And he paid only $8 for his own heart surgery!:mad::mad: The oppositions MUST play this up during GE, and make the bastards payback or else I will fuck the oppositions as well.:oIo:

Mr Khaw also revealed that his out-of-pocket expense for his recent bypass surgery was only S$8.

He said his hospital bill was largely paid by MediShield and a private Shield supplement.

Medisave took care of the bill's co-payment.

He has Medishield and a private shield. At his salary level, his Medisave hit the ceiling long ago. He should complain why still must pay S$8 cash. But wait, complain to who? He's the Health Minister himself.

Brightkid

Wonder if he was subjected to means testing ?

What was his original full costs of medical service and discount level from full cost before Medishield or whatever.

batman1

This is OBVIOUSLY LEEGALIZED CORRUPTION PROVEN, he took millions of dollars from us to be in-charge of the healthcare. And he paid only $8 for his own heart surgery!:mad::mad: The oppositions MUST play this up during GE, and make the bastards payback or else I will fuck the oppositions as well.:oIo:

Don't worry lah,when GE comes,MIW will surely give some sweets and the sinkees will forget their sufferings for 5 years and somemore say thank u !

loloba

For someone who earns millions for doing practically nothing, talking cock and walking lazily around with hands behind the back when invited for some openings, this midget is now proud of the fact that he has paid only $8 for his bypass. Yup, welcome to paradise if you are a member of the ruling party!

Not all Singaporeans are Ministers
Not all Singaporeans are pensionable
Not all Singaporeans are employed by the Government and are insured with NTUC.

Imagine with his Ministerial pay he paid a token sum of $8.00 whereas ordinary Singaporean has to pay 1st time consultation fees and not all subsequent tests can be paid by medisave. You bill will easily go up to thousands before the by pass. what is he talking about?

I have a goondu friend who went thru by pass she is so happy she paid only $2,000 after the subsidy believing that she was heavily subsidized.

silverfox@

Patient A: Doc, how come my bypass operation after medisave still have to pay $800? Dr KBW say he pay $8.

Doctor: You already say he is Dr KBW, who are you? :oIo:

silverfox@

He also said there was discussion on how to discourage over-charging, and how to take advantage of the lower cost providers overseas.

Discourage is not equivalent to no overcharging. 1 thing I don't understand is, if overseas is cheaper, how come there are many people from overseas coming to singapore to seek treatment for their illnesses.

Glaringly

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
First time I heard of private shield.

So, how much is paid by medishield and private shield respectively? And how much is the premium?

$8 for a op like this if it includes the full medical cost, is too good to be truth for the ordinary folks like us.

silverfox@

So, how much is paid by medishield and private shield respectively? And how much is the premium?

$8 for a op like this if it includes the full medical cost, is too good to be truth for the ordinary folks like us.

This kind of article is 蜻蜓点水,点到为止。Say until here, the rest ownself go find out.

$8 is tan ku ku. Wait long long. :mad:

You can only have one Medishield (paid from your CPF). But you can buy another private shield (paid in cash). Whatever deductitble and co-insurance that Medishield doesn't cover, you can claim from your private shield. Whatever both don't cover, then billed to your Medisave. Whatever Medisave doesn't cover or insufficient to cover, then pay cash.

Note that he's not saying that it costs S$8 for the operation. He said it's S$8 out of pocket after all the claims. Anyway in this case, I can't imagine what the S$8 cash bill was for. Perhaps as tips. :biggrin:

Glaringly

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
Wah Lau so complex!

Shield here, shield there and cover here and there, what the fcuk.

It's another of those talk cock sing song to hoodwink us.

As usual some $ fall through the crack. :mad:

You can only have one Medishield (paid from your CPF). But you can buy another private shield (paid in cash). Whatever deductitble and co-insurance that Medishield doesn't cover, you can claim from your private shield. Whatever both don't cover, then billed to your Medisave. Whatever Medisave doesn't cover or insufficient to cover, then pay cash.

Note that he's not saying that it costs S$8 for the operation. He said it's S$8 out of pocket after all the claims. Anyway in this case, I can't imagine what the S$8 cash bill was for. Perhaps as tips. :biggrin:

Insurance co-payment (govt plus private coverage) has been the mainstay of healthcare in 1st world countries except for the US.

This govt took years to do this. I have known reservists in my company who had to fork out a fortune to look after their sick kids.

Wah Lau so complex!

Shield here, shield there and cover here and there, what the fcuk.

It's another of those talk cock sing song to hoodwink us.

As usual some $ fall through the crack. :mad:

He has Medishield and a private shield. At his salary level, his Medisave hit the ceiling long ago. He should complain why still must pay S$8 cash. But wait, complain to who? He's the Health Minister himself.

Now you are getting the point, all the MIW's are takling to themselves in the mirror, for it their reflection that they see, certainly not yours or mine...and their mirror have two faces..:rolleyes:

Frankiestine

What cock he talking, he is under civil service, all his medical fee would have been taken care of by the government. He don't have to foot a single cents.

Wayang lah!..'tok, tok, tok tok..chiang'....you think the hospital dare to charge him excessively for the operation & the "SBO" he has to wear thereafter...wayang, wayang...who dare investigate his BILL!!:wink: it take 100 man years....and man!, you still want your job!..YOU DARE!