• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious [GPGT] The colour of my dental implant bridge does not match the colour of my surrounding real teeth, pls help

orpisia

Just now I asked Dr Auntie, what if this time round, the colour doesn't match again or if it comes back unsatisfactory? She kena stunned, looked at me dunno how to answer.

Then later when Dr Specialist came out, then Dr Auntie asked Dr Specialist to choose the colour. Dr Specialist asked her why? She told him because I trust Dr Specialist.

Dr Specialist: no no, this 1 very simple what, u can do it(referring to Dr Auntie)

Dr Specialist: u using the same lab right? my lab is different from your lab. you know your lab better. If I give u the colour then how? Criss crossing

Went to see both the auntie dentist and the specialist just now.

Went to see Dr Auntie dentist first. I told her the colour doesn't match. She said few weeks back when she asked me to choose 1 of the sample tooth colours, was to match the upper teeth. At that time few weeks back, I remember she didn't even ask me, she didn't tell me also that she wanted to match the upper teeth.

Then I told her, I want it to match the lower teeth now. But she sort of warned me, told me that she can do that, but the difference would be obvious. This was something I don't understand. If she means by matching with the lower teeth, it won't match the top teeth and it'll be obvious; what's the problem? I want it to match the lower teeth is enough what, what has it got to do with matching the top teeth? If bottom and top look different colour, it's not a problem what. The problem is, now the crowns colour don't match the bottom teeth and the difference is obvious. So if change to all bottom teeth including crowns to the same colour, what's it got to do with top teeth?

So I suggested to her that we seek the opinion of Dr Specialist(whose clinic is located just few doors away). Dr Auntie dentist agreed.

I also showed Dr Auntie the picture of my old bridge. The old bridge was yellow and I wanted the implant crowns yellow also, just like my lower teeth are all yellow. I told her that old bridge was in my mouth for over 10 years and no one looked or stared at it or came up to ask me if it was fake.

Dr Auntie took several sample tooths, put it beside the lower teeth to compare, and used her hp to take pics.

Then Dr Auntie, Dr Specialist and myself met up.

Dr Auntie explained to Dr Specialist that she made the crowns to match the upper teeth, and that now I wanted to match the lower teeth.

After talking back and forth, Dr Specialist said it's like my black tshirt and blue jeans. If it was him, he would like to match my blue jeans. He said if it was him, he prefers it to match my lower teeth. I immediately concurred.

Anyway, when Dr Auntie told me my next appointment would be in October because she busy fully booked, I immediately reacted "huh so long!". Then I somehow couldn't tahan, I told her because of all this dragging and uncompleted dental stuff, I cannot move on in my life. Then my eyes turned red and teary just now. Then I left.

Then 1 hr later her assistant called me to tell me got patient cancel his appointment, then told me tomorrow I can go back to Dr Auntie to get the crowns removed. She gotta make new crowns again.
Glad to know you are finally getting the solution you need. It will all be fixed and you can move on! No need to pay extra, right?

orpisia

I'll ask Dr Auntie if i have to pay for the new crowns, and if it's possible to go down to the lab myself.

orpisia

She's clearly not able to properly match teeth colours. I hope she is more apt at other aspects of dentistry.

It's because she explained that she wanted it to match the upper teeth. Dr Auntie even told this to Dr Specialist while they met yesterday. That's something I don't understand. Why she wanna match upper teeth for what, when the crowns is in the lower? Why didn't she choose to match it with the lower teeth in the first place?

Just visited her again.

She removed the crowns(what u see in the pic in post #1), put in back the healing screws while I wait for the new crowns. She chose another colour code.

I asked if need to pay? They said no need.

I asked if can I go to the lab? Dr Auntie told me the lab is in korea.

That's about it for today's visit. And I also voiced out my concerns about the top part being white, if u all see the pic in post #1. I said I don't like the whiteness, it doesn't match my lower canines, which is yellow.

So when the new product comes in a few weeks' time and she has to "adjust" or shave off or thin out more crown material again, then if it becomes white because of that, then I told her the whiteness will screw up the look of the entire thing again.

So she told me that she told the lab that they'll make it such that the inside and outside are all that chosen colour, so even if she has to shave off material, it should still be that colour and not white.

Another thing is I told her that I don't want danger of cement dripping down, because cement can damage and harm and cause big problems, like bone loss and eventually lose everything in future.

So she said with the screw-retained crowns, got no cement.

Honestly I don’t think people will notice the color mismatch. U are not going to keep your mouth open long enough for that.

I am surprised that w the covid, u are not worried about other things like ur job stability and other important matters.

It's because she explained that she wanted it to match the upper teeth. Dr Auntie even told this to Dr Specialist while they met yesterday. That's something I don't understand. Why she wanna match upper teeth for what, when the crowns is in the lower? Why didn't she choose to match it with the lower teeth in the first place?

Just visited her again.

She removed the crowns(what u see in the pic in post #1), put in back the healing screws while I wait for the new crowns. She chose another colour code.

I asked if need to pay? They said no need.

I asked if can I go to the lab? Dr Auntie told me the lab is in korea.

That's about it for today's visit. And I also voiced out my concerns about the top part being white, if u all see the pic in post #1. I said I don't like the whiteness, it doesn't match my lower canines, which is yellow.

So when the new product comes in a few weeks' time and she has to "adjust" or shave off or thin out more crown material again, then if it becomes white because of that, then I told her the whiteness will screw up the look of the entire thing again.

So she told me that she told the lab that they'll make it such that the inside and outside are all that chosen colour, so even if she has to shave off material, it should still be that colour and not white.

Another thing is I told her that I don't want danger of cement dripping down, because cement can damage and harm and cause big problems, like bone loss and eventually lose everything in future.

So she said with the screw-retained crowns, got no cement.
Good that you don't have to pay for her to rectify the problem. I thought the inside and outside of a crown will always be the same colour, by default? The colour and material (mixture) is derived and then set into the mould. In any case, at least you are getting things done right this time.:thumbsup:

orpisia

Honestly I don’t think people will notice the color mismatch. U are not going to keep your mouth open long enough for that.

I am surprised that w the covid, u are not worried about other things like ur job stability and other important matters.

I not happy about this doesn't mean there are not any other things in my life which I am not worried about.

You also mentioned in your 1st reply few days back in this thread that you guessed this cost at least $4k.

It's actually $10k at least, $11k if you include cost of dentures made in the past. $10k because like I said, it's an implant bridge. 2 implants, 1 false tooth.

Because I started this journey right back during 1 year ago, gone through all the bone grafting + implants surgeries, all the follow-up appointments, and if it all comes down to this unsatisfactory-looking product, you expect me not to make noise just because you think this is covid time, I need to care abt other things in life and this crowns colour mismatch I can let it slide and forget about it? No. This is after all still $10k expense and something must be done.

I don't think anyone else would be so flippant and could care less if it's a $10k product screwed up.

orpisia

Good that you don't have to pay for her to rectify the problem. I thought the inside and outside of a crown will always be the same colour, by default? The colour and material (mixture) is derived and then set into the mould. In any case, at least you are getting things done right this time.:thumbsup:

That's what I don't know, or maybe there was something Dr Auntie didn't tell me.

If I remember correctly, it could be possible she used polishing material to polish it. I remember that day she asked her assistant to pass her some material. Just a bit of the material. Then Dr auntie took some of it, applied on the crowns and used the instruments.

So far, I think this is the possible reason why it's white.

If this was so, she screwed up on 2 fronts.

1stly, chose to match upper teeth, which was a wrong decision obviously.

2ndly, polished the top part, which made everything worse. The white is too white, makes the difference even more noticeable, making the look much worse.

That's what I don't know, or maybe there was something Dr Auntie didn't tell me.

If I remember correctly, it could be possible she used polishing material to polish it. I remember that day she asked her assistant to pass her some material. Just a bit of the material. Then Dr auntie took some of it, applied on the crowns and used the instruments.

So far, I think this is the possible reason why it's white.

If this was so, she screwed up on 2 fronts.

1stly, chose to match upper teeth, which was a wrong decision obviously.

2ndly, polished the top part, which made everything worse. The white is too white, makes the difference even more noticeable, making the look much worse.
The crown needs to be homogeneous, to allow for consistency of colour throughout. Filling material is different.

Then how else to explain the whiteness?
I suspect the crown was not made with homogeneous material throughout, if its possible at all. Means they made the thing, then coated it with colour on the outside. Go do a google lah.

after so many pages still so drama. get someone to sucker punch your teeth and redo all over again, this time with implant and bad breath specialist dr dontoktomi.

orpisia

I suspect the crown was not made with homogeneous material throughout, if its possible at all. Means they made the thing, then coated it with colour on the outside. Go do a google lah.

I asked dr auntie yesterday, she said she tell the lab to make it same colour outside and inside. So even if she has to shave off, the chosen colour should still be there and not show the white colour.

So if it's possible now, means she tried to cut corner la with the last one?

I asked dr auntie yesterday, she said she tell the lab to make it same colour outside and inside. So even if she has to shave off, the chosen colour should still be there and not show the white colour.

So if it's possible now, means she tried to cut corner la with the last one?
Yes, she probably tried to cut corner with the previous crowns.

Semaj2357

after so many pages still so drama. get someone to sucker punch your teeth and redo all over again, this time with implant and bad breath specialist dr dontoktomi.
agree absolutely, seems this saga about $10k spent on those fucking implants merits center-stage.
wait till another one about cars that costs ten times that becomes another saga - just coz the fucking car colour doesn't match the fucking rims.
enuff aaaaawreddy! :redface: