• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

GMS to leave NSP (as correctly predicted in SBF)

brocoli

Did you argue that two party system is in National interests in view of how the world is changing and moving away from that?

Two party or multi-party system is just a mean to an end. The only important National interest we are talking about as opposition members or even just as a concerned Singaporean over the democratic progress of the Nation is to reduce PAP's majority, not merely putting a few opposition members into parliament. The next aim is reduce PAP's two third majority and that's the National interest of political and democratic development for Singapore.

It would be totally self serving for you to say that two party system is best for Singapore and WP is the only one. WP didn't claim to champion two party system back in 1991 when SDP was the "biggest" opposition party with 3 seats in parliament! Well, it definitely leaves a bad taste on my tongue for such hypocrisy and self serving attitude to be said out loud by WP now.

The truth is, things are dynamic. You may think at this moment it is advantageous to sing the phrases of two party system but what happened to SDP back in the 90s could well happen to WP as well. If that day comes, would WP members continue to talk and chant about two party system when another opposition party won more seats than WP? Would WP members voluntarily resigned and work to dissolve WP when another opposition party becomes the eminent choice to be the second party? Absolutely no because as you and Ramseth have shown, WP puts party interest above all.

Goh Meng Seng

as far as any1 can see, I am the most virulent proponent of the 2 part system in this forum, not any WP member, certainly not WP leadership because they wun wan to be called cocky which you are already doin, is also not their style.... low style is to diam diam do work and let the result show itself... you are the exact opposite

I am not a WP member and i think all its member need to go back to uni to take econ 101 since their some of their policies are too damn hare brain socialist... I think most of Hazel and KJ polices proposals make more sense than WP... GMS is another hare brain socialist, keep using the word "socialist" in his GE speeches .... CHia Ti Lik is even worst... another hare brain lawyer... WP do attract this kind of hgare brain socialist

WP members should srsly shut up about 2 party system here because they are not the CEC and it provide ammunition for the enemy... but they are not even really supportive or vocal about it especially Locke...

As a member of the public, I still believe in the 2 party system even if NSP or SPP is the 2nd party .... SDP can never be the 2nd party because their ideas and methods are too extreme for sinkies

the best way to reduce PAP's majority is to not get out of WP way since they have shown the winning track record ...

@ the end of the day, you keep on harping the same point as if you are as electable as WP and have the same chance of winning, which is simply not true

only a few countries in the world is changing and moving away from 2 party system mostly because of the economic crisis ... and there are not even that many matured and developed economy with a viable 2 party system ...

PAP system is entrenched and the only way forward for National interest of political and democratic development is a 2 party system that can pool opp direction and resources together against the PAP
Opp unity and alliance is a myth and this disoriented and misguided strategy has brought 0 seats..

..and I dun follow sg politics in the past because of the mess but GE 2011 give sinkies hope in the form of CSM, Pritam, Gerald, WP even attract A*star researcher and another IPS researcher like Angela....

the only way forward for the PAP is the divide and conquer tactics used to much sucess in the PE and GMS, TKL and Tan Jee Say are their best accomplice in this..
it was also around the time I realise that the opp future cant be entrusted to NSP or SDP after the PE fiasco...

every 1 who support Tan Kin Lian and Tan Jee Say are the 1 who put their own personal interest above the country majority

Tan Kin Lian and Tan Jee Say are the worst egomaniaces and selfish cheebyes in the whole world

Please stop trying to distort and obsfuscate the reality to sarport your misguided POV anymore.....

just 1 year ago, RP could have been the party to become the 2nd party... not WP.... but they self implode....
NSP also have the chance to become the 2nd party with the RP defectors if they won CCK and 10 kkj......but they fark it up , much thanks to GMS imcompetance.... .... but with hindsights, thanks god they didnt because we saw how divided and useless they are now

Even if WP implode I wun worry because the development is that there is room for a 2 party system to develop...and it is only a matter of time, even if its delayed 10 years later...all of us suffer more only

sinkies got a rare chance now to entrench a 2 party system against the PAP and real opp sarporkers should do every thing to hasten it even if they are not with the WP

of course, 2 party system is not a reality, if it is I wun be so vocal about it..... other parties can still overtake WP if they replicate their methods in the other areas where WP do not have a pressence yet and there are many place indeed... for example RP and SDP wan to chop Tanjong Pagar... Kudos to them

BUT GMS choose to air his insecurities here and hide his ass in HK, even though he is not in any party .... this just show that he is in the ANti WP party rather than working his ass off here ....this sexpose that he is not really concerned about the democractic development here....

he got better things to do than to be involved in party politics... he rather come to forum and engage in forum mudslinging.....

I dun see Sylvia and WP candidates like Hong Boon having the luxury of taking political sabbaitical and retirement like GMS and Steve CHia... then come out when elections is near... WP got 1 but she seem to be working hard now so i shut my mouth ....no coincidence that she is from the same batch as JG, CTL and GMS....the 3 idiots whose greatest service to to humanity is quiting the WP and not dragging it down any further

since you like to talk so much cock about democray, then please listen to the people that they dun wan fly-bynight politicians like you, nicole and steve chia... please respect our choice and fark off from the earth...

I speak as 1 who is strongly against hare brain socialism but I am a political realist.... WP is the best chance against PAP... not those cocksters thats has already been sexpose during the PE, cocksters like nicole and jeanette and GMS who put their own interests above the country....

3_M

Problem is why should we allow a weaker party to contest at the expense of another better one? How does that serve opposition movement and national interests?

brocoli

Opposition unity is a madman's notion.

<object>
<param name="movie" value="http://image.razor.tv/site/flashplayer/razortv2.swf"></param>
<param name="wmode" value="transparent"></param>
<param name="flashvars" value="file=http%3A//www.razor.tv/site/servlet/stream/playerXml%3Frepeat%3Dfalse%26autostart%3Dfalse%26video%3Dcontentbean%3A62832%26browserUrl%3Dhttp%3A//www.razor.tv/site/servlet/segment/main/specials/General_Election/&adsurl=http%3A//www.razor.tv%3A80/site/servlet/adsVideo/%3Fstream%3Dcontentbean%3A62832%26channel%3Dcontentbean%3A59830&isembed=true&hideall=true&hidebnt=true"></param>
<embed allowfullscreen="true" width="576" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" height="382" src="http://image.razor.tv/site/flashplayer/razortv2.swf" flashvars="file=http%3A//www.razor.tv/site/servlet/stream/playerXml%3Frepeat%3Dfalse%26autostart%3Dfalse%26video%3Dcontentbean%3A62832%26browserUrl%3Dhttp%3A//www.razor.tv/site/servlet/segment/main/specials/General_Election/&adsurl=http%3A//www.razor.tv%3A80/site/servlet/adsVideo/%3Fstream%3Dcontentbean%3A62832%26channel%3Dcontentbean%3A59830&isembed=true&hideall=true&hidebnt=true"></embed>
</object>

from DPM Wong Kan Sing

Chia Ti Lik

Dear Perspective,

Not "grateful." but just remembering his work and acknowledging his part however small well perhaps medium. Life work, business changes your "perspective" and yes I would remember and acknowledge the work that CTL did. I would just say this that where you and I differ is that you see Eric as being given "something" by the party leadership and for which he should remember and be grateful. I see the underlying dynamics as political, as in Eric and LTK and SL were using each other for their own political calculations and benefit.

Cheers

Locke

Locke

Its a saturday afternoon and i am surfing around and i caught my name being mentioned.

Thank you for that nice comment. It brought a tear to my eye. Perhaps we should sit down for a coffee and reminisce the old days :smile:
As for Perspective, it would be nice to see you again too :smile:

Ti Lik

Thick Face Black Heart

Here again, I won't disagree with you too much because WP puts party interests above all.

Goh Meng Seng
'

Don't talk about national interest when you don't even seem to know how to address the issue.

Goldendragon is right, opposition unity is a madman's idea. It is the refuge of those who do not have the tenacity to build their own party.

If you spend half the time bickering here to build NSP instead, you won't need to bicker here. Of course, you have realized by now that NSP platform is counter to your own vision of political progress. That's why you decided to resigned in July (yes, I know you said you told Sebastian in October, but I know you already decided in July).

WP has never asked for favours. You don't see WP party members coming here to talk.

If you were serious about the national interest you would have put your best team in Tampines and concentrated on housing prices (minister specific strategy). Instead you let two scholars go to CCK and prove that your strategy is a failure compared to WP's strategy.

And for all your talk about M-K, you cannot even prove that you truly intended your A team to go to M-K. It is just an excuse to hit an WP for stationing themselves in M-K. You spread out whatever talents you had and squandered your opportunities.

And you're talking about WP compromising the national interest?

What bloody bollocks.

Thick Face Black Heart

Locke

Its a saturday afternoon and i am surfing around and i caught my name being mentioned.

Thank you for that nice comment. It brought a tear to my eye. Perhaps we should sit down for a coffee and reminisce the old days :smile:

Ti Lik

You should get Goh Meng Seng into socialist front.

He can be a counting agent.

Chia Ti Lik

I think all of you should cool off and let the matter rest.

The cards have been played out in GE2011. Let those who intend to continue the fight proceed to GE2016. There is no need to prove who is right and who is wrong.

elephanto

Many have made many cogent poignant points.Despite the virulence, brocoli hit home in some many ways.After 6 pages, the only delusional writer, despite his copious paragraphs, is bereft of political sense & like a scatchy repeating record sounds nauseating.'WP puts party interest above national interest...'' they shoud have gone into MP, natural blah blah' still s insistent.I have retain some last regard for GMS because he believes in some ideals. But this thread and his posts have totally bankrupted his credibility.Poor in public speaking can let go.But the pseudo arguments from him - grandiose motherhood statements but absurd vis-vis reality - , expose his political lunacy, not even naivette.Yet he still feel pleased with his 'insights' and 'intepretation' and basks in his own obstinacy.The greatest tragedy in life is when one's grasp of reality is actually far removed from actual reality.Delusion and self justification, all the rest of his press statement sounds good but is utterly hollow.Last word: GMS, listen to Sin KEk Tong's parting short when he finally decided to exit politics: ... Perhaps I am really not good enough .... Words to that effectTalk less, do more, less ego, more realpolitick conscious, or fuck using David Marshall 's memorable quote as your signature takes the cake, in sharp contrast to your inaptitude.You should learn from Marshall, at the end, he played to his strength beyond the heat and dust of political battle.Please reflect and don't play stubborn matyr, be happy as an arm chair analyst, even if you are not a very good one at that too.P.S. i have no personal meet up or scores against you - any criticism is in honest response to what I read and surmise in all your public communication over he years

OverTheCounter

Locke

Ti Lik

Happy Birthday!!

Pity GMS is in HK now or we can go down to his shop to pay him a visit.

The greatest tragedy in life is when one's grasp of reality is actually far removed from actual reality

If the above refers to a person of unsound mind, understandable. Pitiful too.

In the case of GMS, I do not know what to say! Here we have an NUS honors grad in economics. Someone who appears mentally sound. Physically, appears ok too. Yet when he opens his mouth or comment on general matters ................................

Perspective

Locke

Ti Lik

Hi Ti Lik, great to hear from you! Pai seh, use your name as a "whacking" base. What I meant was ieons ago.

Is it your birthday? Happy birthday and stay healthy!

brocoli

The cards have been played out in GE2011. Let those who intend to continue the fight proceed to GE2016. There is no need to prove who is right and who is wrong.

Happy Belated Birthday !!! :smile::smile::smile: Many Happy Returns!!!

are you going to So Nyuh Shi Dae concert on the 9th or 10th??? or both ? :eek::eek:

I email your party email add about membership and got a failed Notice......are you still taking in members ?

Failure Notice

<[email protected]>:
Remote host said: 550 5.1.1 http://mail.google.com/support/bin/answer.py?answer=6596 h6si12835550pbf.140 [RCPT_TO]

--- Below this line is a copy of the message.

Received: from [115.178.12.232] by nm2.bullet.mail.sg1.yahoo.com with NNFMP; 23 Sep 2011 15:35:14 -0000
Received: from [115.178.12.229] by tm4.bullet.mail.sg1.yahoo.com with NNFMP; 23 Sep 2011 15:35:14 -0000
Received: from [127.0.0.1] by omp1006.mail.sg1.yahoo.com with NNFMP; 23 Sep 2011 15:35:14 -0000
X-Yahoo-Newman-Property: ymail-3
X-Yahoo-Newman-Id: [email protected]
Received: (qmail 79394 invoked by uid 60001); 23 Sep 2011 15:35:14 -0000
DKIM-Signature: v=1; a=rsa-sha256; c=relaxed/relaxed; d=yahoo.com; s=s1024; t=1316792114; bh=5+IREFrJ5FtniQ7xC2T0pB5KA0lGC59NjW7ZglSi94Y=; h=X-YMail-OSG:Received:X-Mailer:Message-ID:biggrin:ate:From:Reply-To:Subject:To:MIME-Version:Content-Type; b=aNfgCae8lGs00C3pxdlei2WRlnGZRRJm/+eCjdXep6ht4cZRHx2eTlk8vJ2eNyh75UyRMXwdcrfbk+SzbgI9xM1AUSz8bBraN6b94C9krOCLtZVca+alF+683D7sslBThd9XpY/xCpcPP+DPJPTsMGtDzsWVRSWTh5VOpIcUt8k=
DomainKey-Signature:a=rsa-sha1; q=dns; c=nofws;
s=s1024; d=yahoo.com;
h=X-YMail-OSG:Received:X-Mailer:Message-ID:biggrin:ate:From:Reply-To:Subject:To:MIME-Version:Content-Type;
b=I2kzPwsMnryK3p4cDQ2Fpz2CV1eoHduVKCDbMCMWyf+7lAPBnQTrWgbtwuaP+BVMDsxFoFWeTY70+NTTrGpWGLpMiuaoFVr8KCLa24fGKoU4XLC7KQNS40K3nUGZsKSNPzP14ZRxfod0rPaoxlA0xckLh2V6TsazFsF69YJxY+o=;
X-YMail-OSG: ONkiWycVM1lGkEgyHgbq1AHVc.X__tXuETFREFNjVQI8S2x
TV_zvYm1QmGNCLWSwjK_5vQDlJW8KiktbAKK7wIC3dpG8f9V_kISYGHQy41d
omK.TuEqIJtZSAQoOnVIF.5PmAQheiIlHzeua__mlZrWqE2sglqyrfUzRvBr
HD_Pa07RczfOu91R2FFOO0L7VWiL0Gmw4Q5gFYQ9oKvz1LdBlGa1f.vUC6Zr
pE_uyqjvq9E0XmRc88_cBz8MsuiUhgV1O8th6eNFSojUBMduOQfuNkkuddmW
0yOYutTnePeIq3ItI3_y1.kyXzsZT0pW3aoTzQKlMjXZOdBjPybcZxufaJo6
8xKFCFnN9G2g7DQ--
Received: from [218.186.10.73] by web77407.mail.sg1.yahoo.com via HTTP; Fri, 23 Sep 2011 23:35:14 SGT
X-Mailer: YahooMailWebService/0.8.114.317681
Message-ID: <[email protected]>

The party and CHia ti Lik up lorry liao isjib !?!?!?!??!

OverTheCounter

Happy Belated Birthday !!! :smile::smile::smile: Many Happy Returns!!!

are you going to So Nyuh Shi Dae concert on the 9th or 10th??? or both ? :eek::eek:?

Don't pray pray, SNSD comes in power of nine, OK!

I watched their MTV, damn steam! Only thing lacking is sailor moon uniform.

Hi Ti Lik, great to hear from you! Pai seh, use your name as a "whacking" base. What I meant was ieons ago.

Is it your birthday? Happy birthday and stay healthy!

The most handsome has returned. As long as he's around, I dare not claim to be handsome anymore. Welcome back. All things must pass and what has passed was past. Let's look forward and move ahead.

Perspective

Actually after reading Gilbert Goh's piece, I have to recognise that the village idiot is rather consistent on principles. It's the application of these principles that is incoherent and double standard.

According to another NSP Tampines candidate Gilbert: "For example, he always felt that the success of the election campaigning boiled down to how much exposure we have gained through the media."

Good. Consistent because that was how the village idiot describes the WP MK team. Therefore the VI rated WP MK team as 3rd rate because they did not have media coverage. Fair enough.

However, Gilbert continues: "Many people knew by now that there was a news black-out on Tampines GRC for NSP during the 9 days of campaigning and except for the slight reporting on David’s death, we didn’t gain any fair media coverage through the mainstream media (MSM)."

Here, what Gilbert is saying is, if we go by the village idiot's logic, is that Tampines is also a 3rd rate team!

The continuing part is interesting:

"Sticking to his media-theme gun, he didn’t really have a Plan B when that didn’t work and we simply campaigned without any strategy at all after that. I could see though that his plan to use the media to his advantage eventually backfired on him badly."

lockeliberal

Dear Perspective,

Honestly there was no media black out per say as Gilbert was complaining, rather media interest is dependent on the "importance" of the fight and the "drama" and weight of people contesting. The fact that you exists does not make the media obliged to give you the time of day whether during the GE or Post or Pre. The East Coast team had as limited a coverage as MK vs sa vs Aljunied for good reasons. Similarly NS from NSP took away all the publicity but somehow the NS machine could not or was not capable of shining on NS per say.

Locke

Actually after reading Gilbert Goh's piece, I have to recognise that the village idiot is rather consistent on principles. It's the application of these principles that is incoherent and double standard.

According to another NSP Tampines candidate Gilbert: "For example, he always felt that the success of the election campaigning boiled down to how much exposure we have gained through the media."

Good. Consistent because that was how the village idiot describes the WP MK team. Therefore the VI rated WP MK team as 3rd rate because they did not have media coverage. Fair enough.

However, Gilbert continues: "Many people knew by now that there was a news black-out on Tampines GRC for NSP during the 9 days of campaigning and except for the slight reporting on David’s death, we didn’t gain any fair media coverage through the mainstream media (MSM)."

Here, what Gilbert is saying is, if we go by the village idiot's logic, is that Tampines is also a 3rd rate team!

The continuing part is interesting:

"Sticking to his media-theme gun, he didn’t really have a Plan B when that didn’t work and we simply campaigned without any strategy at all after that. I could see though that his plan to use the media to his advantage eventually backfired on him badly."