• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Forum points revamp?

Thick Face Black Heart

You totally overthink the whole issue and misunderstand the role given to mods by Sam. Let me put it here again:

My comment to Laksaboy was a personal appeal as his suggestive post will attract the same kind of shitstorm that we already see in various other threads. Look what has become of this one...

Me overthink the issue? In fact, I have to thank you for putting up Leongsam's post, as it concurs entirely with my view. Leongsam's approach is efficient and minimizes bias -- it places the emphasis on removing clear cases of spam and keeping discussion flowing, whatever the topic may be.

I am in full agreement with this, and am advocating a continuation of the approach. What some people are suggesting is for mods to take a more active role and going beyond housekeeping & maintenance. I don't agree with this. I think Leongsam's philosophy which has been tried and tested is the way to go.

Me overthink the issue? In fact, I have to thank you for putting up Leongsam's post, as it concurs entirely with my view. Leongsam's approach is efficient and minimizes bias -- it places the emphasis on removing clear cases of spam and keeping discussion flowing, whatever the topic may be.

I am in full agreement with this, and am advocating a continuation of the approach. What some people are suggesting is for mods to take a more active role and going beyond housekeeping & maintenance. I don't agree with this. I think Leongsam's philosophy which has been tried and tested is the way to go.

Why dun you just let him trial for 1 month and judge him later?

Frankly I do not see any reason for having a reputation or points or infraction system in the first place for a wholly generic forum. Its value is in forums that have a clear theme and where the subject matter experts are recognised. In a forum like this no one is an expert.

Since Sam introduced it I am trying to find a happy medium.

I suppose handling the obvious breaches would be a good start and with 3 mods there should be improvement. I know it will be hard but it will be a good start.

I am also keen to see racism being addressed. It just taints this forum to no end. It also led to demise of 3in 1 Kopitiam.

If you ask me, just get rid of the points system and let Mods send people to the sin bin. Eventually they will find the balance with all our help.

Scroobal:

How do you classify bad behaviour that warrants points deduction or censorship? Unauthorized commercial ads, huge fonts, obscene photos (pornography or pictures of shit, urine, etc), continuous stream of vulgarities, etc, are definitely no-nos. But what about those in between cases, like:

(a) Posting racist comments like PTADER or Jah Rastarfar? Jah was himself a mod, and he is the most racist member of the forum.

(b) Bringing in personal feuds to a couple of threads everyday but otherwise behaving well in other threads

(c) Posting multiple videos in a single thread which slows down page loading?

(d) Not spamming the thread or insulting anyone in particular, but keep posting one liners that don't convey any meaningful thought process. Think fuckwarezone where 50% of people just post one liners that don't add to content.

(e) Posting two or three off-topic posts in a thread, even though it did not disrupt the general flow?

(f) Writing full pages of nonsense like fivestars?

(g) Keep talking about how vegetarians are superior, meat eaters are sub human degenerates, sinkees are lower than animals?

I'm sure some of us would like to have some of (a)-(g) censored actively, but where to draw the line?

I_Hate_Pappies

Why dun you just let him trial for 1 month and judge him later?

What is there to trial for this kind of job scopes? I remember Raiders went MIA for a period last year and he was the only Moderator here. Business as usual here. Don't forget the INFP was ongoing too during that period when Raiders wasn't around.

I_Hate_Pappies

Frankly I do not see any reason for having a reputation or points or infraction system in the first place for a wholly generic forum. Its value is in forums that have a clear theme and where the subject matter experts are recognised. In a forum like this no one is an expert.

I suppose handling the obvious breaches would be a good start and with 3 mods there should be improvement. I know it will be hard but it will be a good start.

I am also keen to see racism being addressed. It just taints this forum to no end. It also led to demise of 3in 1 Kopitiam.

If you ask me, just get rid of the points system and let Mods send people to the sin bin. Eventually they will find the balance with all our help.

We already have a political folder here from more serious discussions.

MBSSLOTS

wahlan...still fighting...fucking cheebyekia Peppercrap not doing his job to dump this thread to rubbish dumpmto stopnthe fights ah!

:oIo:peppercrap! do your mod job ok! nabei...sibei idle!

Just prove me wrong. I sincerely hope you do and I will graciously apologise.

The first thing you should consider improving is yourself. Be more truthful. Be more compassionate. Be more forgiving. Be more magnanimous.And most important of all, be humble and be less vindictive and demonic. Good luck....because I know, you will never change because your brain is filled with intellectual m&d. A big clot there which cannot be removed...good luck nevertheless.

That's right scroo we need to stop the likes of racists like ptader.

As mentioned earlier to allow non-political threads and posting - informative, current affairs of a non political nature and even light-hearted matter in the coffeeshop folder. Sad to see too many feuds, cloning and serial infractions appearing.

We already have a political folder here from more serious discussions.

I_Hate_Pappies

As mentioned earlier to allow non-political threads and posting - informative, current affairs of a non political nature and even light-hearted matter in the coffeeshop folder. Sad to see too many feuds, cloning and serial infractions appearing.

Sadly, the moderated folder is being ignored. There's totally no hype over there. People wants excitement.

I see where you are coming from.

The thread like this generally gets heated but its an opportunity to consider options and possible solutions. Anyway the micro-manage comment by TFBH would be appropriate.

I am sure we will all get over this and it will go back to norm.

You totally overthink the whole issue and misunderstand the role given to mods by Sam. Let me put it here again:
My comment to Laksaboy was a personal appeal as his suggestive post will attract the same kind of shitstorm that we already see in various other threads. Look what has become of this one...

I_Hate_Pappies

If not potato then ladyboy lor! :oIo::biggrin:

Ning nao hiao, wait you kena inf. I already kena a few tonight.:biggrin: You wasted lah, never try your inf on me. So many chances tonight. he missed a couple of them, you can try to find them and test your inf on me. Swee boh? Wo ki koon liao, li bang bang cheh. :biggrin:

P.S
Remember to up Raiders, if not he will nag at you till kingdom come. :biggrin: