• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Farmer Chan screw up egg supply, 250,000 eggs discarded!

in this raining season we have been doing that all the while to control water level. you mean....you don't know how it works? told you to stay in school....
of course lah must let go of rainwater otherwise ponding how? but rainwater is not the same as imported water that is piped from johor, moron. you just want to twist here twist there like a snake. if you don’t understand basic engrish you must be daft and need to go back to school instead.

Singapore spent money buying rain? Then throw the water from the rain to prove a point to Malaysia?

Eh can I sell rain to Singapore too? Next time it rains deposit $10,000,000 to my bank account ok?

Singapore so much money to spend on things to throw away! Awesome!
this vamjok i thought was a bookworm scholar wannabe. but now he convinces me he’s an unmitigated moron. how does sg gov hire this idiot i don’t fully understand.

actually this one I am on the govt side. this news has a hidden msg to malaysia and its citizen over panic buying. most importantly is actually to the malaysia side. I am quite surprised none of you pick it up.

few months ago before Singapore implement circuit breaker measures, when Covid19 hit Malaysia hard, the first thing Malaysia did was to cut egg supply to Singapore (even though their supplier insist they had more than enough). end up livelihood of the farmers got screw up, they beg the govt not to screw their income with petty politics with Singapore. Then our egg supply resume. Egg is one of the most vital food supply that is an key ingredient in many of the stuff we eat. At that very critical moment, Malaysia use that to threaten us, this is the exact thing with the water issue. its the same old game but instead of water, a key vital food ingredient; eggs.

So what you think is the real intention here purposely showing that we now have over 250 000 eggs in excess, so much so we have to throw it away? Now the bargaining power for price shifted almost immediately when this news is out.

The message of Singapore govt to Malaysia is this, you want to fuck with us, we will surely fuck you back. Now we are the one holding the bargaining power for the price of it. Don't fucking threatened us because we are a little red dot. Why do you guys think in our highly controlled media such news is out at the midst of a pandemic? wastage is also a sign also that we have more than enough.

Reasonable theory but bad in reality. This was the case of a private businessman
whose feathers kena pluck by gahmen via bad timing of imports. Gahmen should
have delayed the delivery of the eggs by a few weeks. CCS had no idea that there
was a egg-jam because of the CB and the resultant effects of no Hari Raya and
other celebrations as mentioned in the article. No, they could not wait to announce
what they thought was good news.

Recent examples of how businessmen were screwed by gahmen:
a) announce that full face shields can be used in lieu of masks. U-turn, importers
who rushed to order lost money even before the goods arrived.
b) the changing rules in PMDs last time resulted in one man having a $500,000
worth of machines which were suddenly deemed illegal, shortly after saying that
it was okay.

restaurants mostly closed during covid. though some open but not at full capacity,where got enough demand to match the keechiu eggsupply
plus hotels except those that are designated for quarantine are mostly in quiet mode. hotels and their food services use tons of eggs per day during normal days.

Yes.... looks like they are indeed eggs. Look at the joker behind smirking at him.

1592445141524.jpeg

next few weeks when everything open,shortage of eggs again
haaaaaaa
not so fast. sf and santa clara county started opening restaurants for sit down makan. sexcruciatingly slow service as workers have to wipe down every table and chair before and after each makan. moreover, have to sit 6.9 feet apart thus capacity is less than 36.9% during peak meal times. 69% will close for good.

kaninabuchaojibye

not so fast. sf and santa clara county started opening restaurants for sit down makan. sexcruciatingly slow service as workers have to wipe down every table and chair before and after each makan. moreover, have to sit 6.9 feet apart thus capacity is less than 36.9% during peak meal times. 69% will close for good.
pap same pattern
hdb prices go up previously, overbuilt and glut
then shrink supply, then cause price go up again
same for condo,oversupply cumming from this year onwards
haaaaa

no_faith

Buy and throw
Waste money waste eggs or both? :biggrin:
Can ask gin toxic to sit on it incubate see if hatched?

knnb40

Too many eggs in S'pore now due to oversupply from imports, 250,000 eggs thrown away

Singapore is facing an oversupply of eggs, suppliers say.

Egg prices falling due to oversupply

Egg prices temporarily rose in April due to a number of border restrictions that were imposed regionally due to the Covid-19 pandemic, raising questions on whether Singapore's food supply will be affected.

The issue was resolved with the diversification of imports, as Singapore sourced eggs from other countries as far as Poland and South Korea.
However, the situation has seemingly reversed.
Suppliers are now facing an oversupply of eggs, causing egg prices to plummet by at least two cents each, reported Lianhe Zaobao.

With import restrictions lifted, supplies from Malaysia, Thailand, and other countries have resumed, resulting in a surge in supply, said egg sellers.

Fall in demand for eggs by F&B businesses in recent months

Egg distributor Kai Young Huat (KYH) imports 80 per cent of its eggs from Malaysia.* (See correction note below.)

According to the company, recent sales have fallen by at least 10 per cent, citing reasons such as reduced demand from hotels, restaurants and hawkers.

The lack of celebrations during Hari Raya Puasa was also factored in as part of the slump in demand for eggs.

The spokesperson for KYH also told the Chinese daily that they could only reduce a limited number of eggs being imported, as they feared that the demand for eggs would spike again next month.

"While imported eggs can generally be kept in the chilled warehouse for four to six months, to ensure freshness, we try to sell them as quickly as possible even if it's not profitable.

At the moment, the eggs that were imported in May are being sold at a loss," the company shared.

Had to throw away 250,000 eggs
Kim Hock Egg Distributor's manager shared that their sales had fallen by around half during the last couple of months during the outbreak.
While they have cut their egg imports by roughly 50 per cent, prices were still reduced by around 10 per cent.

The manager added that some hawkers were using a lot fewer eggs due to the dip in customers, with some using 60 per day during the pandemic period from 300 eggs a day previously.

"We had to throw away 250,000 eggs imported from Thailand two weeks ago, as reluctant as we were," the manager lamented.

Egg suppliers estimated that it would take at least one more month to adjust accordingly to the market demand.

However, due to the volatile conditions at the moment, it is still tough for them to predict the right amount to supply.

Fluctuation in egg prices not uncommon

A spokesperson for NTUC Fairprice told the Chinese daily that it was not uncommon for fresh produce such as eggs to have volatile prices, due to several conditions that could affect the supply and demand.

They added that the price of every 30 eggs during the past one-and-a-half months had fluctuated between S$4.50 to S$5.05.

However, the situation seems to be a boon for consumers, as egg supplies are not just in abundance, but also fresh and at cheap prices.
A 48-year-old nurse told Zaobao that she found the eggs at supermarkets to be of much better quality compared to past months, and with more variety as well.

While a portion of Singapore's eggs are imported from Malaysia, Singapore has sought to diversify its supply of eggs, with nearly 30 million eggs imported from other countries.

On June 5, Singapore welcomed its first shipment of eggs from Poland.

In response to queries from Mothership.sg, a spokesperson from Singapore Food Rescue said: “For companies who need to discard excess food, we hope they can get in touch with us for possible alternative measures.”
sure or not,
I have been buying eye for the last 10-weeks, price of the eye up by 10~30-cents in wet market depend on the size.