• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Fact: Outside S'pore, no one cares about the YOG

This YOG catastrophe has turned into a $400 million self masturbation exercise by the PAP. I have gone on a few short trips to other countries and there is absolutely no coverage of it. Newspaper and TV media in other countries have no mention of it, and there are no marketing of this event in other countries. In the large countries with strong sports traditions like the US, there is not even a whimper. CNN does not mention it in their sports coverage, nor does ESPN. BBC does not cover it either on their channels. Only in S'pore is it covered ad nauseum in the Shit Times and on TV. Even our closest neighbour Malaysia borchap about this event totally.

Broadcasting rights to Olympic events are heavily sought after and a major network can pay $billions for the rights to broadcast the event. In fact, broadcast rights are more important in some cases than ticket sales to recoup the cost of hosting the event. The PAP appears to have no game plan in place to offset the cost of the Olympics with such revenues. You never hear about how much the broadcast rights were sold for. In fact, its quite likely that this event is so insignificant that no foreign networks bidded on it for the broadcast rights. This is truly pathetic as it means the taxpayer eats the whole cost of the event. Also, other companies will be sold the "Exclusive Supplier to the YOG" label. This is another money making source. But a lot of these "Exclusive Supplier" labels are GLCs. eg. SIA is the airline of the YOG. So, this is just a shuffling of taxayers money around.

Lets face it for what it is. The International Olympic committee has simply conned the PAP into spending $400 million to host this loser of an Olympic event. I think the only other serious contender to host this event was a Russian city no one has heard off. The international community knows that if you kiss the right arse in S'pore, you can sell them anything. eg. Temasek and GIC. This event is a win win for the IOC. If it succeeds, they have another money maker after the Summer and Winter Olympics. If it fails, than oh well, S'pore is stucked with the bill. The spectre of losing $400 million on this event is unplatable to taxpayers in many world class cities. But in a dictatorship like S'pore, it is simply shafted down our throats. The IOC knows this. Since the LA Olympics in 1980, all following Olympics (both Summer or Winter) have strived to break even, and indeed some have succeeded in making money. There is no such accounting in S'pore. The final cost in lost productivity (people being "volunteered") is not factored in. But you can bet its much more than $400 million.

You can't blame them, YOG is like Junior World Cup or the Women's World Cup. Did Singapore care too much about the Junior World Cup or Women's World Cup like how they cared about the World Cup? I don't expect people to care too much about YOG.

It's to promote sports in Singapore. It'd be good if it can help promote outside Singapore too, but there's a limit to budget and resources.

0 here in US

Nobody cares about how young athletes do in world events.
It's not an indication of future performance since the competition is sorely lacking.

It's to promote sports in Singapore. It'd be good if it can help promote outside Singapore too, but there's a limit to budget and resources.
Promote sports? Then give us free BPL matches please, lol:D

You can't blame them, YOG is like Junior World Cup or the Women's World Cup. Did Singapore care too much about the Junior World Cup or Women's World Cup like how they cared about the World Cup? I don't expect people to care too much about YOG.

Its irrelevant to me if they care or don't care. What is relevant is that there is a $400 million price tag to the taxpayer. I already know that there will be little interest in the world, but the fuckng PAP has been selling it as the greatest sporting event in the world for the month of August.

If u really want to promote sports, you can funnel the $400 million directly into the various sports federations and they can use the money to develop local talent and promote their respective sports. Instead, waste it on feeding a bunch of VIPs, and putting them up in fancy hotels.

I think we have to be realistic

Singaporeans cannot really do well in lots of sports due to physical limitations

400 million is a waste of money for sports that have no returns at all

Outside S'pore, no one cares about the YOG

Poor English! Snook yourself.

The moment you said "no one" you are already wrong. No need to read the rest of your nonsense. Just ask those "outside" Singapore. Who are these people who came all the way to Singapore to compete? You saw ghosts?

China (CHN) 21 medals won
Russian Fed. 23
Italy (ITA) 12
Korea (KOR) 9
Azerbaijan (AZE) 6
Japan (JPN) 4
Australia (AUS) 14
Ukraine (UKR) 12
Thailand (THA) 6

swiss standard of living for the swiss, they can con people to buy a old fashion mechanical watch, they can con people to buy YOG.

The YOG is to foster good relationship with potential NEW CITIZENS who will find Singapore impressive and vote for PAP .

You Singaporeans are slaves who do " sai kang " for the Emperor .

Fair, yes to promote....but you go read BBC, CNN..etc...no mention of YOG, maybe to the far flung islands of Tonga, Vanuata, Fiji, Kiribati...Trinidad & Tobago...or to Africa...Kenya, Uganda, Ghana...

Really how many countries are here?...I notice slovenia on archery...looks like many of these participating are from third world countries, like slovenia..a former eastern block country...

YOG more like a thrird world olympics...with a token participation by established countries...

China will host the next YOG right...when it comes around, one can see the difference...we are made suckers!

Be interesting to see how the coverage of China YOG like in Singapore and else where.

there are photos in the obscure corner of yahoo's sports page, but you must find it under olympics. the "olympics" tab is removed from yahoo's sports front page, but you can search for it in subsequent pages. no blogs on yogs though. same thing with google sports news.

if neither news nor blogs show up on either yahoo or google, it means nobody (in the u.s.) cares any shit about it.

The guy who started this thread damn funny. Inside SG also we dun care about YOG, U think pple outside will care meh?

Wow Aussies won 14 medals. Nice. Where is USA? Over here we don't even have much of a coverage at all. I think channel 9 got the rights, but they shove it to the GO! channel which is basically a 2nd tier channel by them.

Poor English! Snook yourself.

The moment you said "no one" you are already wrong. No need to read the rest of your nonsense. Just ask those "outside" Singapore. Who are these people who came all the way to Singapore to compete? You saw ghosts?

China (CHN) 21 medals won
Russian Fed. 23
Italy (ITA) 12
Korea (KOR) 9
Azerbaijan (AZE) 6
Japan (JPN) 4
Australia (AUS) 14
Ukraine (UKR) 12
Thailand (THA) 6

Wow Aussies won 14 medals. Nice. Where is USA? Over here we don't even have much of a coverage at all. I think channel 9 got the rights, but they shove it to the GO! channel which is basically a 2nd tier channel by them.

I don't think my country men are so stupid to participate in a "global" kid's games
We already have NCAA and Professional Tournaments for kids to participate in

We aim for the real adult olympic medals :rolleyes:

Youth sports dun basically generate much interest. Look at those U-18, U-21 sports like football for example. Only countries with teams involve and only when they reach later stages then pple will take notice

Nobody cares about little league period. :rolleyes:

Besides, if they were really serious about it. They they should have treated it like it was a real big league event. However from what we can see so far only the opening was given big league treatment.

Seriously ..... $400 million .....

Good God .... it's like using a bazooka to kill a mosquito ....:(