• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Italy's biathlon star Giacomel had heart surgery after he developed an arrhythmia during the recent Olympics. He collapsed and withdrew ...

Tragedeigh

Stupidman

Biathlon, heart ablation and season over for Giacomel: “I'm destroyed”​

The blue had been forced to stop in the Olympic Mass Start with a sudden malaise while leading. Now he will have to sit out at least two weeks and will not be able to win the World Cup: he was chasing in second position​

Screenshot 2026-02-24 at 23.53.45.png

tommaso-giacomel-25-anni copy.jpg

sport.quotidiano.net

Biathlon, ablazione al cuore e stagione finita per Giacomel: “Sono distrutto”

L’azzurro era stato costretto a fermarsi nella Mass Start olimpica per un improvviso malessere mentre era in testa. Ora dovrà stare fermo almeno due settimane e non potrà vincere la Coppa del Mondo: inseguiva in seconda posizione
sport.quotidiano.net

"Italy's biathlon star Giacomel had heart surgery after he developed an arrhythmia during the recent Olympics. He collapsed and withdrew in the mass start event while heading for Gold. His season is now likely over."

"Tommaso Giacomel, 25, was leading the Olympic biathlon mass start event when he started to experience side pain, malaise and shortness of breath. He had to withdraw while heading for a possible gold. In-depth exams revealed an arrhythmia and he underwent a cardiac ablation"
"While surgery was reportedly successful, Giacomel will be unable to take part in the forthcoming biathlon races, which will cost him the possibility to compete for the World cup (he is currently second)"

Giacomel has heart surgery after Olympics withdrawal​

Italian biathlete Tommaso Giacomel before the Olympic biathlon men's 15km mass start
Image source,Getty Images
Image caption,
Tommaso Giacomel won his first Olympic medal earlier this month
    • Published
      24 February 2026
Italian biathlete Tommaso Giacomel has had successful minor heart surgery after he dropped out when leading the Winter Olympic 15km mass start event.

Giacomel, who won mixed relay silver at the Milan-Cortina Games, had to stop during the 15km race as he struggled with breathing and movement problems.

He must rest for two weeks after being found to have an electrical conduction anomaly in one of his heart atria.

Giacomel, 25, had minor ablation surgery - a procedure used to treat irregular heart rhythms.

The surgery "has already been performed and was a complete success", the Italian Winter Sports Federation (FISI) said.

Giacomel wrote on Instagram on Tuesday: "My season is over. Gutted."
He said it was "devastating" to have to drop out of the Olympic race as he recounted what had happened to him during the event in a social media post last Friday.

"Right after the second prone shooting, my body somehow stopped functioning normally and I was really struggling to breathe and move, so I had to stop," said Giacomel.

"It was the worst feeling I've ever had. I tried to ski really slowly at the start of the third lap, but my body wouldn't let me."

The FISI said Giacomel would be discharged on Thursday morning but would have further checks in two weeks.

Should he pass those checks, Giacomel will be able to return to regular training.

But his recovery timeframe means he would miss the next stage of the World Cup in Kontiolahti, Finland.

Having won four individual World Cup races this season, Giacomel is second in the overall standings, 37 points behind French leader Eric Perrot.

Atrial fibrillation.... the golden question is what causes it...

@Sustanon
The naughty penguins were fighting in Antartica at that time and some penguins choot 万佛朝宗 and then another waddle of penguins choot 如来神掌 and accidently suay suay hit that guy on his chest which caused him to collapse. I very smart one, I one look I know he kena 如来神掌 liao... haiz.... 25 years old nia... 如来神掌 indeed is sibei powderful. Am I right Ministry Of Health???