• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Enough! No more money to be given to have more kids

How much the govt pump in also no use.Sinkees are practical people.Only pap are stupid or act stupid .It's the high costs of living and job insecurity.Stupid pap !!!

you think PAP don't know the true cause of low birth rate ?

they're just trying to deflect blame away from themselves..........

the PAP want S'poreans to have low birth-rate...........just look at HDB flats..........so small with so little rooms, how to have more kids ?

PAP wanted to bring in foreigners long long ago............so now they use low birth-rate as excuse..........when they created this excuse

No, it was a short sighted & a biased policy.
How can it be short sighted when there were no jobs back 40 years ago?
The policy targeted at "lesser mortals" without degrees. Families with mothers who had degree were exempted.
There wasn't any direct control on births. I myself come from a family with 7 kids.

How can it be short sighted when there were no jobs back 40 years ago?

Were you around 40 years ago? How then can you claim that we had a problem with our population:confused:
Why don't you share your proof :confused:

It's strange that our neighbours in Malaysia, Indonesia, Thailand didn't see this problem. Why only Spore:confused:

There wasn't any direct control on births. I myself come from a family with 7 kids.

It's a fact that the policy didn't apply to mothers who had degrees. It only applied to mothers without degrees.

Hey all! Let's get back to my thread. All I am saying is that I oppose any more monies for this. I hope we get more kids and I don't want more FTs but I am against pumping more monies to resolve this, especially if it means we have to pay more taxes!!

now where's kimama?

LOL.. He..He..He..:D

Bro Zhihau, becareful.. I just kena zapped from someone for asking Kinana that innocuous question.. I was just curious about Kinana's complicated family background, thats all.. :D

My sincerest apologies to Kinana..:p

Hey all! Let's get back to my thread. All I am saying is that I oppose any more monies for this. I hope we get more kids and I don't want more FTs but I am against pumping more monies to resolve this, especially if it means we have to pay more taxes!!

So if no money (carrot), what do you propose they give? The stick, e.g. castration for those men who don't procreate and ligation for those women who don't?

They should just let nature take its course. If the environment in SG is not conducive for people to procreate, then let the population wilter.
If the government is really concerned about this matter, then make the environment and circumstances conducive, i.e. stop allocating resources in such a manner that only the connected and the elites benefit the most.

It's human nature and the nature of the beast/animal to want to procreate.
If the enviornment and circumstances are such that Singaporeans don't want to, then let those who are left find some other countries to be citizens of.
Most of the elites and the rich would probably have done that anyway.

So if no money (carrot), what do you propose they give? The stick, e.g. castration for those men who don't procreate and ligation for those women who don't?

They should just let nature take its course. If the environment in SG is not conducive for people to procreate, then let the population wilter.
If the government is really concerned about this matter, then make the environment and circumstances conducive, i.e. stop allocating resources in such a manner that only the connected and the elites benefit the most.

It's human nature and the nature of the beast/animal to want to procreate.
If the enviornment and circumstances are such that Singaporeans don't want to, then let those who are left find some other countries to be citizens of.
Most of the elites and the rich would probably have done that anyway.
That's what I am saying. I don't care how they do it, just don't pump in more public monies and make everyone pay as a result. It's their fault we ended like this so they have to fix this. That's what we paid million $ salaries to them for.

The PaP made a fatal error 30 years ago to get parents to stop at 2. .

People still don't get it. The stop at 2 policy wasn't designed for the whole population. It was targeted at the Malays who were already breeding at twice the rate of the Chinese at the time.

LKY asked his statisticians to do the Math and realised that it wouldn't take too long for the Malay/Muslims to displace the Chinese as the majority ethnic group.

Those who have an insight into the regional politics of the day would know that allowing this to happen would have had major implications on the Chinese population.

The flaw lay not in the policy but in the reaction to the policy. The Chinese obeyed LKY's command. The Malays ignored it and continued to have twice the number of babies as the Chinese population and they started at a much earlier age too.

The stop at 2 policy wasn't designed for the whole population. It was targeted at the Malays who were already breeding at twice the rate of the Chinese
The flaw lay not in the policy but in the reaction to the policy. The Chinese obeyed LKY's command. The Malays ignored it and continued to have twice the number of babies as the Chinese population and they started at a much earlier age too.

but the peektures showed two Chinese girls :confused:

And today the Chinese is still majority group ... The statisticians did the sum wrong

People that complains that we are spending too much on incentives should remember that without children now, the PAP will lose a lot more revenue in the form of income tax, CPF in the future! Having more kids will ensure there are more people to "tax" in the future for the government. I'm assuming the PAP believe they would still be in power at that point. Hence the urgency now to have more kids. They might already have some form of analysis that spending $X dollar now will mean $X*Y income revenue in the future. PAP should go back to what it does best in solving this problem, that is instead of the carrot, give the stick, "fine" couples without kids. Impose a Child Benefit Fund. For every working adult without kids, a percentage of his/her salary should go into a Child Bearing Fund. When the couple start having the first kid, they can stop contributing, but not take it out. When the 2nd kid comes along, you can start withdrawing it at a fixed amount per month etc. Of course, the rules will change due to "economics" and if HC needs to start spending. But you get the idea.

My point is that dont make everyone pay for this. I am not interested in whether the current or néw generations have more kids or not. I already raised mine with no help from anyone! Now I am thinking of retiring and I don't want to pay for some selfish strangers to have babies. Heck! I wouldn't pay my kids to have babies what more strangers!

The gahment have been pumping more monies, more incentives to get more people to get married and get more kids. I say enough is enough. Who is going to pay for this and why should these group of people get priority?? Are the rest of us supposed to pay more taxes, work longer to pay for these programs??

lianbeng asked: have u paid ur income tax yet? by april 15 midnight u know?:D

Another thing. I don't really care if my kids have their own kids. It's their choice. If they choose to stay single, thats fine too.