• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

COPR in Canada

exSINgaporean

exSINgaporean,

Mind if I ask, I will be taking 3 months long service leave and I am thinking of travelling across Canada by rail in Autumn (Halifax to Vancouver). Do you have any tips on this?

Honestly, I have no idea on how to advise you of this travel...I never even think of doing it...from Halifax to Vancouncer? It is like travalling from Singapore to Bejing!

You could ask a tour agent in Singapore to arrange.

I am on the facebook as Bernard Chan in Edmonton so if you want to contact me please log into facebook and I welcome you as a friend.

exSINgaporean

Hi Rabmon04,

I will be getting my COPR this year and plan to land in Nov 09 probably in Edmonton too, how are you getting on now....care to share your life in Edmonton so far......

:smile:

Pardon me, I did not know that the email addr is not yours, it belong to Sammyboy.

Well why don't you log in the facebook and invite me to be your friend. My name is Bernard Chan in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada.

In the facebook you will see all my snaps of my family and home. I just got the help of a qualified internal decorator to decorate my living room. WOW, just by re-arranging my furnitures and photos, it look so much more "high class". This interior designer is an ex-Singaporean.

ak168

Pardon me, I did not know that the email addr is not yours, it belong to Sammyboy.

Well why don't you log in the facebook and invite me to be your friend. My name is Bernard Chan in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada.

In the facebook you will see all my snaps of my family and home. I just got the help of a qualified internal decorator to decorate my living room. WOW, just by re-arranging my furnitures and photos, it look so much more "high class". This interior designer is an ex-Singaporean.

Hi Exsingaporean,

Appreciate your prompt response and wonderful help and advise. Will keep you posted.
Actually i was asking Rabmon04 on his status....do you happen to know ...how have you helped him.......? It good to know, to have buddy like you for advise....

Care to share about yourself......how have you been and what are you doing right now in Edmonton ??

ak168

Am afriad, I cannot find you in face book with that name and detail. An email from you would be better ?

Since your involvement in SBF, you have been outstanding. Wish your family and you great success in everything you do.

I hate to say this but the Canadian Singaporeans like Charlie, Asychee and you have been nothing but absolute kind hearts. You guys beat the aussie counterparts wholesale.

Would love to see NAYR69 (Doc) who has been sensational before leaving our shores to make an appearence in this forum. Another kind soul as well.

Yea, I got your reply from Sammyboy and I will send you a email.

If you intend to come in early Nov then prepare to get a rude shock as from Nov onwards the weather can be ver nasty...minus 10 to 15 C in the evenings...not eit is minus

You should plan to come in May so that you will get a "warm welcome".

Do you need me to fetch you from the airport?
Have you got an accomodation?
Are you coming alone or with your family?
Have you arranged for some job interviews?
What skills so you have and I can direct you to the right agency.
Register yourself for the job search ..."workapolis" in Edmonton and they will inform you of the jobs avaliable.

I have met up with a few Singaporeans who immigrated to Edmonton.

In fact next year summer I will be receiving a whole new family from Singapore. I got to know them via this Sammy boy...just like you the husband, Steve email me. The husband is a manager and they have 2 young girls...very decent family.

They came last summer and they love Edmonton.

I took them around to look at the elementary and Junior High schools, had lunch, came to my home, went to our church, introduced them to some exSingaporeans ... wounderful time.

They decided on Edmonton after visiting Calgary and VanCouver. The husband is a manager and they have 2 young girls...wounderful decent family.

In Edmonton we have only a handful of exSingaporeans and many of us are well qualified...at least a university degree. I know of a couple..the husband was a medical specialist in Ta Tock Seng Hospital and wife was a phamacist. Both challenged the professional exams in Canada and they passed with flying colours. After 3 years they surrendered their Singapore citizenships and took out all their CPF.

There is also Dr L. who is a well-know heart specialist; Dr C. who is very much loved by all his patients and of course Peter who is a lawyer and he is the legal advisor to almost all Chinese associations in Edmonton. These are a sample of exSingaporeans.

Well their off springs are even more established...all born in Singapore.
For eg Dr C's son is a lung specialist and daughter is another specialist.

Please note that I only use initials bec. it is not nice to give out their surname without their permission. But for me, I am Bernard CHAN..no secret. LKY can start to sue me if he wants to...sue me for welcoming "refugees" from Singapore.

Singapore's lost is Canada's BIG gain.

Welcome to Canada and when I see you I will give you a big hug...welcome to a free world.

axe168

You guys beat the aussie counterparts wholesale.

Yo Bro, it is not fair to comment on the aussie blokes when you did not experience their involvement. I knew a couple in Sammyboy who invited me to 'bunk' with them for 2 weeks when I relocated to Mel.. I am grateful even after 2yrs in Mel. They do not behave like a salesmen in the forum.. does not mean they are not helpful.

I've seen some ex-singaprean trying to get the newbies to buy a hse close to them.. juz becoz of the SG blood.. this is a disaster! you dont buy a hse becoz of emotional reasons.. Your decision shld be based on gd schools, suburbz, amenities and infrastructures.. ultimately, leads to good growth. Of course a good mix with the neighbours of diff nationality will broaden your thinking too.. learn the Australian way.. the 'Yes way' rather than the typical sinkies - no way..

We did what we cld in the past to encourage them to jump ship.. think outta the box.. enjoy the ceiling fan and be happy.. Despite the best efforts, there will be some left behind..

neddy

Since your involvement in SBF, you have been outstanding. Wish your family and you great success in everything you do.

I hate to say this but the Canadian Singaporeans like Charlie, Asychee and you have been nothing but absolute kind hearts. You guys beat the aussie counterparts wholesale.

Would love to see NAYR69 (Doc) who has been sensational before leaving our shores to make an appearence in this forum. Another kind soul as well.

No worries mate. The Canadians need the praise.
We Aussies do not need compliments for jobs well done.
We stay low-key and let other nationalities take the glory.

anim_roo-ted.jpg

exSINgaporean

Am afriad, I cannot find you in face book with that name and detail. An email from you would be better ?

I don't mind helping but I dare not reveal my email in this website. I did it once before in a Singapore forum blog and offered my help about 8 years ago (before the Newater) my email was immdiately flooded with hundreds of request for help to immigrate to Canada.

At the end I only have time to help a few poor souls and you know what, after helping them many of them never care to contact me let alone thank me. Just came and stayed away from us...the older exSingaporeans.

Is this the attitude of younger Singaporeans who are in their mid 30s and early 40s?

I don't know.

I am in the mid 50s.

Search again in the facebook or else you can tell me your facebook link and I will add you in.

The other alternative is write me. My office address is:

Bernard CHAN

9090-51 Ave
Edmonton, AB
Canada T6E 5X4

Please include your email address and then we can go from there. Any Singaporean who reads my forum is welcome to write me.

If you want to know who I am then go to your National library or MAIN branch libraries like the Jurong Library and look into the Straits Times Archies the LIFE page dated June 3, 1991. I was featured (full page) by the Straits Times ... only after I emigrated to Canada for good.

I do not hide myself and I also do not hide my feelings and opinions...I hate Lee Kuan Yew and I pity all those who are trapped in CHINgaPOOR. It is so obvious that the FTs have a huge advantage over the true-blue Singaporeans. The bloody N.S. reservist was very disruptive to my business and I am not sure whether other poor Singaporeans share my experience.

It's OK if you work for the govt. as the reservist might be just a "time off" from your office work. But for people like me who ran my own public speaking seminars, it suck big time.

I remembered the army took 3 weeks of my time for the reservist in-camp and I was to prove my income 6 months prior to the in-camp..it work out to be gross Sin few thousands of $ per month. They refused to pay me...only paid my N.S lance coporal pay of 3/4 of the $150! Their reason was that I could find a "replacement" for my work. A replacement to do my "public speaking" on study skills? Who can do it like me....failed primary 2 with perfect "x" scores and then later got my First Class Honours and follow on with a Master degree from the Imperial College, London U.?

I felt very much short-changed by "my own" country and the sacrifice was too much for me to bear...especially I saw many of the PR from Indonesia not having to do N.S. bec. Indonesia strongly opposes its citizens from serving a foreign army; they said and still maintaining it that it is against the international law to force a foreign citizen to serve a army.

Besides, my daughter was born with multiple illness...including a heart problem and back in 18 years ago I anticpated that the ocst of medical treatment will escalate in Singapore and I could be bankrupted by my daughter's medical bill. The obvious choice is to aa "escapee" as what Goh Chok Tong labelled us then.

The other factor was and still is the fact that Singapore was and is too HOT for us. 18 years ago I anticipated that it will not get cooler in Singapore 2 or 3 decades from then due to global warming. I was right. In fact yesterday in the CBC program on "ideas" it projected that in 10 years all the countries along the equator will see an increase of 4 degrees F in temp. Just a 2 degree F increase will destroy 80% of the rice crops if the heat is felt during the growing season! Extreme heat will be felt along the equator follow by increase of sea level.

Well that's 10 years from now and 30 years the most. I would be still alive to watch.

How's my life, well I am making big $ trading options...if you don't belive me then watch my tade..eg. I just bought 2 Call PBG Oct 35 @1.65. My BEP is thus $$36.65 and I predict that this stock (see it in Yahoofinance.com) will reach at least my target price of $40 which I will sell by the expiry date of Oct 09...i.e by the 3rd Friday of Oct 2009.

Watch for the rise to $40 before Oct 16, 2009 and then you know my worth and what Singapore has lost.

I got a A+ for my subject of Economatric in my MSc management science degree in Imperial College and I use the training in dealing with options.

If this failed then give me an chance...watch SBLK should reach US $5 by Oct 16, 09 and SU (Suncor Energy) drop to $28 by 3rd Friday of Sept 2009.

I am not giving options advice but I challenge all readers to monitor my ability in Yahoo Finance.

axe168

I don't mind helping but I dare not reveal my email in this website. I did it once before in a Singapore forum blog and offered my help about 8 years ago (before the Newater) my email was immdiately flooded with hundreds of request for help to immigrate to Canada.

At the end I only have time to help a few poor souls and you know what, after helping them many of them never care to contact me let alone thank me. Just came and stayed away from us...the older exSingaporeans.

Is this the attitude of younger Singaporeans who are in their mid 30s and early 40s?

I had similar experience.. I share your pain..

I know you are one the helpful ones. But you got to give it to the Canadian Singaporeans. They don't spend their time bagging singaporeans but provide very good help. They are few but always words of encouragement.

Yo Bro, it is not fair to comment on the aussie blokes when you did not experience their involvement. I knew a couple in Sammyboy who invited me to 'bunk' with them for 2 weeks when I relocated to Mel.. I am grateful even after 2yrs in Mel. They do not behave like a salesmen in the forum.. does not mean they are not helpful.

I've seen some ex-singaprean trying to get the newbies to buy a hse close to them.. juz becoz of the SG blood.. this is a disaster! you dont buy a hse becoz of emotional reasons.. Your decision shld be based on gd schools, suburbz, amenities and infrastructures.. ultimately, leads to good growth. Of course a good mix with the neighbours of diff nationality will broaden your thinking too.. learn the Australian way.. the 'Yes way' rather than the typical sinkies - no way..

We did what we cld in the past to encourage them to jump ship.. think outta the box.. enjoy the ceiling fan and be happy.. Despite the best efforts, there will be some left behind..

Aussie Prick

I don't know.

I am in the mid 50s.

Search again in the facebook or else you can tell me your facebook link and I will add you in.

The other alternative is write me. My office address is:

Bernard CHAN

9090-51 Ave
Edmonton, AB
Canada T6E 5X4

Please include your email address and then we can go from there. Any Singaporean who reads my forum is welcome to write me.

If you want to know who I am then go to your National library or MAIN branch libraries like the Jurong Library and look into the Straits Times Archies the LIFE page dated June 3, 1991. I was featured (full page) by the Straits Times ... only after I emigrated to Canada for good.

I do not hide myself and I also do not hide my feelings and opinions...I hate Lee Kuan Yew and I pity all those who are trapped in CHINgaPOOR. It is so obvious that the FTs have a huge advantage over the true-blue Singaporeans. The bloody N.S. reservist was very disruptive to my business and I am not sure whether other poor Singaporeans share my experience.

It's OK if you work for the govt. as the reservist might be just a "time off" from your office work. But for people like me who ran my own public speaking seminars, it suck big time.

I remembered the army took 3 weeks of my time for the reservist in-camp and I was to prove my income 6 months prior to the in-camp..it work out to be gross Sin few thousands of $ per month. They refused to pay me...only paid my N.S lance coporal pay of 3/4 of the $150! Their reason was that I could find a "replacement" for my work. A replacement to do my "public speaking" on study skills? Who can do it like me....failed primary 2 with perfect "x" scores and then later got my First Class Honours and follow on with a Master degree from the Imperial College, London U.?

I felt very much short-changed by "my own" country and the sacrifice was too much for me to bear...especially I saw many of the PR from Indonesia not having to do N.S. bec. Indonesia strongly opposes its citizens from serving a foreign army; they said and still maintaining it that it is against the international law to force a foreign citizen to serve a army.

Besides, my daughter was born with multiple illness...including a heart problem and back in 18 years ago I anticpated that the ocst of medical treatment will escalate in Singapore and I could be bankrupted by my daughter's medical bill. The obvious choice is to aa "escapee" as what Goh Chok Tong labelled us then.

The other factor was and still is the fact that Singapore was and is too HOT for us. 18 years ago I anticipated that it will not get cooler in Singapore 2 or 3 decades from then due to global warming. I was right. In fact yesterday in the CBC program on "ideas" it projected that in 10 years all the countries along the equator will see an increase of 4 degrees F in temp. Just a 2 degree F increase will destroy 80% of the rice crops if the heat is felt during the growing season! Extreme heat will be felt along the equator follow by increase of sea level.

Well that's 10 years from now and 30 years the most. I would be still alive to watch.

How's my life, well I am making big $ trading options...if you don't belive me then watch my tade..eg. I just bought 2 Call PBG Oct 35 @1.65. My BEP is thus $$36.65 and I predict that this stock (see it in Yahoofinance.com) will reach at least my target price of $40 which I will sell by the expiry date of Oct 09...i.e by the 3rd Friday of Oct 2009.

Watch for the rise to $40 before Oct 16, 2009 and then you know my worth and what Singapore has lost.

I got a A+ for my subject of Economatric in my MSc management science degree in Imperial College and I use the training in dealing with options.

If this failed then give me an chance...watch SBLK should reach US $5 by Oct 16, 09 and SU (Suncor Energy) drop to $28 by 3rd Friday of Sept 2009.

I am not giving options advice but I challenge all readers to monitor my ability in Yahoo Finance.

Just notice how different you are from the morons in Australia

People like you just confirm the environment is far superior to crappy Australia any day

You are a tribute to Canada and the adapability for Singapoeans to make it there unlike the sore losers in Australia

Congrats to you

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section

I don't know.

I am in the mid 50s."

You are a good man, i am in my 30s but i have learnt about gratitude since young. As someone who used to taught me, told me, gratitude is like the very rare flower amongst weeds. Most people who wants to make use of you would use the term "bro" etc.

Of course, there are genuine ones but you can easily tell the wheat from the chaff when once you have helped them, they disappear completely. I feel that even if they feel no need to thank you but at least they should keep in touch! Gratitude needs to be cultivated from young if not they will never learned to be grateful to others, instead they fail to recognise good deeds and take things for granted. This is one of the reasons why increasingly papers here are reporting abandoned parents.

That said, keep up the great work, you are like a beacon of light far away in Canada. Shining bright and beckoning others towards the right path. As usual, some sour grapes will talk about dangers, guns, cold weather, etc as they will always do.

Thank you for your selfless contributions to this forum. If i could, please let me say on behalf of those you have helped may have forgotten about you,
Thank you Bernard! Your deeds are appreciated!

neddy

Bro, you are certainly one of the better ones.

Thank you. I am in this forum to help those who wish to migrate to Australia.

All the bad publicity by our humorous trolls are helping the pre-selection process. :biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin:

Are Singaporeans easily fooled? I am not sure.

But resource-rich Australia is one destination to consider, in the world running out of oil.

exSINgaporean

Hi Exsingaporean,

Appreciate your prompt response and wonderful help and advise. Will keep you posted.
Actually i was asking Rabmon04 on his status....do you happen to know ...how have you helped him.......? It good to know, to have buddy like you for advise....

Care to share about yourself......how have you been and what are you doing right now in Edmonton ??

Alberta government is in a very bad shape...Can $6.9 billion budget deficit as compare to last year we had $8.2 billion surplus. Real bad. However the economy is pretty rubust and people are still buying. Retail shops do not have must drop in business. My wife works as a service advisor in a Toyota delearship; she is very busy everyday..lots of cars to repair.

When the oil price goes back to the range of $85 to $100 per barrel then good time will flow back to Alberta. I believe it will be very soon...especially if Israel are to strike Iran's nuclear bases; the oil price could shot up to $200 then lower down back to $100 to $120 and stay there for few years. That would boost our government coffer and add to our sustainabilty fund which presently stands at $13 billion only.

If we have $100 billion in our sustainability fund then the interest is enough to be pay for the essential ...like healthcare, education, and welfare... each takes about a billion dollars.

neddy

When the oil price goes back to the range of $85 to $100 per barrel then good time will flow back to Alberta. I believe it will be very soon...especially if Israel are to strike Iran's nuclear bases; the oil price could shot up to $200 then lower down back to $100 to $120 and stay there for few years. That would boost our government coffer and add to our sustainabilty fund which presently stands at $13 billion only.

If we have $100 billion in our sustainability fund then the interest is enough to be pay for the essential ...like healthcare, education, and welfare... each takes about a billion dollars.

My thoughts ................
Coming from a resource-rich state (Western Australia), I would like thought the best time to move to a state is when resource prices are lower and expected to go higher. By the time resource boom start, I will be ready for business.

For instance, we are back at the rusting stage of resource development (down 40%) but we are expecting recovery ahead of US.

I am busy buying gold now. The only gold, backed by a government, is sold here. I have until Q1 2010 to profit from this investment.

exSINgaporean

No worries mate. The Canadians need the praise.
We Aussies do not need compliments for jobs well done.
We stay low-key and let other nationalities take the glory.

anim_roo-ted.jpg

I have been to Perth, Australia for a week. It was a very decent place. It was clean and orderly. People there are like Canadians...very friendly....or in fact like some Singaporeans I met last year when I visited my dad in Singapore.

I could have immigrated to Australia but we prefer a winter Christmas and that's why my wife and I decided on Canada.

At that time, any "white" majority English speaking country was good enough for us; we just wanted to get out of the shit hole called Singapore! In fact my university professor was prepared to sponsor me to work and immigrate to England. However, we find that London and England on the whole was too crowded. We prefered big open space.

You in Australia will agree with me that as we drive out of the city and for hours on we are still in the same province, then we just wounder how can anyone compare Singapore with such huge country. Driving in an open road and among the snow-cap mountains is a form of meditation to me... my soul rests as I see the open field of wheats and corns. No thick jungles like those in Malaysia to congest your view...just vast open space stretching beyond the horizons.

Whenever, I drive to the lakes, which can easily as big as Singapore, I tell my son that the most I have is only about 40 more years to live...till the mid 90s. Our life is short; it's like a flower that blossom then it's gone. So why stress ourselves so much like Singaporeans. Everything a Singaporean dare not even dream off we already adquired...big bangulow with 3 cars garage and two big gardens and one minivan and a car both bought brand new. All these is the cost of a 3-room HDB flat.

What more do we need? My son and I continue with our fishing trip then followed with a paintball shooting game before driving back to the Edmonton city for a Chinese dinner in a resturant. There goes our weekend.

The most wounderful thing to me is that I can be under the sun the whole day and I don't sweat. I even need to wear a sweater for the temp. was about 25 degree C. Very nice summer weather.

In winter, we continue our passion for paintball game in the indoor stadium. Of course skiing trip is part of the game. This winter I will build a skating rink in my backyard. My dog can even run on the rink. Oh I almost forgot to mention the ice fishing.

So to those Singaporeans who do not want to emigrate and start comparing Singapore with other countries, I say to them: "Good for you, you don't know how much you miss in life." My contention is that if our parents dare to immigrate out of China or India to Singapore, why are we so hestitant to leave...especially that it is obvious the PAP govt. favours FT more. See how LKY and his cancer son Loong praise and adore the FTs and how after serving NS and continued with the reservist, true-blue Singapore even lost their jobs to these damn FTs.

Life is short. Why join the rat race; even if you win, you are just a rat. In Canada, Australia, NZ, England and USA you can buy your own home and not a leased flat. No need to show off...just lead a SIMPLE life in an bungalow!

neddy

I have been to Perth, Australia for a week. It was a very decent place. It was clean and orderly. People there are like Canadians...very friendly....or in fact like some Singaporeans I met last year when I visited my dad in Singapore.

I could have immigrated to Australia but we prefer a winter Christmas and that's why my wife and I decided on Canada.

At that time, any "white" majority English speaking country was good enough for us; we just wanted to get out of the shit hole called Singapore! In fact my university professor was prepared to sponsor me to work and immigrate to England. However, we find that London and England on the whole was too crowded. We prefered big open space.
The main thing is getting out of the sh!thole.

Perth may not suitable for people who prefer to see less Singaporeans.
There are a lot of other places on earth to migrate to. Canada is another huge diverse country where a Singaporean cannot stereotype. You are there to experience it all. Wow!

This reminds me of Italians who emigrate many decades ago to escape poverty and the war. These days, whether it is walking down Lygon St in Melbourne VIC Australia or Commercial Drive in Vancouver, BC Canada, you still get that familiar deja vu mama mia Italia feel.

I know how it is like to play the play when weekends comes ...

"Get out of the shopping centres and get a life"
Recently, I was at the Mundaring Truffle Festival when people went nuts over a black fungi grown in the region called the truffle. (http://trufflefestival.mundaring.wa.gov.au)

Hope you have a wonderful life in Canada (Edmonton?)

For people who can see their lives beyond Singapore and take the plunge, they deserve to live well.

Hock

You in Australia will agree with me that as we drive out of the city and for hours on we are still in the same province, then we just wounder how can anyone compare Singapore with such huge country. Driving in an open road and among the snow-cap mountains is a form of meditation to me... my soul rests as I see the open field of wheats and corns. No thick jungles like those in Malaysia to congest your view...just vast open space stretching beyond the horizons.

Whenever, I drive to the lakes, which can easily as big as Singapore, I tell my son that the most I have is only about 40 more years to live...till the mid 90s. Our life is short; it's like a flower that blossom then it's gone. So why stress ourselves so much like Singaporeans. Everything a Singaporean dare not even dream off we already adquired...big bangulow with 3 cars garage and two big gardens and one minivan and a car both bought brand new. All these is the cost of a 3-room HDB flat.

What more do we need? My son and I continue with our fishing trip then followed with a paintball shooting game before driving back to the Edmonton city for a Chinese dinner in a resturant. There goes our weekend.

The most wounderful thing to me is that I can be under the sun the whole day and I don't sweat. I even need to wear a sweater for the temp. was about 25 degree C. Very nice summer weather.

In winter, we continue our passion for paintball game in the indoor stadium. Of course skiing trip is part of the game. This winter I will build a skating rink in my backyard. My dog can even run on the rink. Oh I almost forgot to mention the ice fishing.

So to those Singaporeans who do not want to emigrate and start comparing Singapore with other countries, I say to them: "Good for you, you don't know how much you miss in life." My contention is that if our parents dare to immigrate out of China or India to Singapore, why are we so hestitant to leave...especially that it is obvious the PAP govt. favours FT more. See how LKY and his cancer son Loong praise and adore the FTs and how after serving NS and continued with the reservist, true-blue Singapore even lost their jobs to these damn FTs.

Life is short. Why join the rat race; even if you win, you are just a rat. In Canada, Australia, NZ, England and USA you can buy your own home and not a leased flat. No need to show off...just lead a SIMPLE life in an bungalow!

You are making those who are trapped in Sinkapore more depressed.:biggrin:

axe168

You are making those who are trapped in Sinkapore more depressed.:biggrin:

Haha.. no need to depress.. juz take you pen and application form and submit accordingly.. of course, I trust you are smart enough to tailor to their needs and requirement, in order to achieve a favourable outcome..

The joy and happiness we received are beyond words..