• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

China plans to build Kra Canal..end of Sinkapoor is near.

The Thai Government and especially the Military will condone this. So Kra canal can wait long long.

You think the Military give a flying fuck about what China thinks? Come on!!
[/COLOR]

China and Thailand have already started building a high speed railway.

It's only natural China wants easy access to shipping routes to complement that railway.

There's no need to stick your head in the sand. All good things will come to an end.

Semaj2357

From a macro point of view, China have their strategic considerations while Thai have their economic factors so it win-win for both. Condition like this didn't exist in the past. Thai public remain deeply polarize as proponents of the project flaunt it economic values while opponent fear that the Canal will create a physical separation from the restive southern province. The only uncertainty is the attitude of the Thai govt, whether if there is any policy continuation if a new govt is elected.

the japs and chinese had the resources to build this a long time ago, but it's the thais that have to consider whether they would be willing to secede the restive south to mudland or at best, autonomy. agree that the economic benefits are huge but at what cost?
this was discussed by yeo ning hong, tan chin tiong etc about 30 years ago, when the thais did not want to separate the capitalist north from the communist south. would this be a good time to reconsider? the thais have to consider this carefully.

Back in those days, only think of shipping route. Now the economic thinking is different. Onec open up the kra, can build Cssinos, resorts, more iarports. tourist attractions built new cities, and much much more?

Money can be printed and these days change codes and easily adds more 000,000,000 to the back of the numbers. The US can show you how to print digital money.

Can build a copy of Singapore there so you Sinkies feel comfortable living there and put in PAP there you will be happier like toad. Go there do NSF to protect the Kra lagi bestest.

From a macro point of view, China have their strategic considerations while Thai have their economic factors so it win-win for both. Condition like this didn't exist in the past. Thai public remain deeply polarize as proponents of the project flaunt it economic values while opponent fear that the Canal will create a physical separation from the restive southern province. The only uncertainty is the attitude of the Thai govt, whether if there is any policy continuation if a new govt is elected.

shittypore

It's only natural China wants easy access to shipping routes to complement that railway.

There's no need to stick your head in the sand. All good things will come to an end.

U think the Pappies are worried? they hve more than needed for life incl their
next Generation.

3_M

the japs and chinese had the resources to build this a long time ago, but it's the thais that have to consider whether they would be willing to secede the restive south to mudland or at best, autonomy. agree that the economic benefits are huge but at what cost?
this was discussed by yeo ning hong, tan chin tiong etc about 30 years ago, when the thais did not want to separate the capitalist north from the communist south. would this be a good time to reconsider? the thais have to consider this carefully.

Info extract from the consortium website.
泰国克拉运河筹建中心由中国多家知名企业代表和国内外专家组成,在泰国政府的大力支持下,目前对克拉运河进行了有效的调研论证。经过多年的实地考察,多方一致认为建设克拉运河是切实可行的

There is no point arguing about hindering factors like separatists when it obvious the Thai gov had decided to move forward.

Obviously all parties including the thai gov think the project is viable else why would they go to the extend of setting up a consortium right? Many sinkies are still living in denial thinking the status quo will remain forever.

泰国克拉运河筹建中心由中国多家知名企业代表和国内外专家组成,在泰国政府的大力支持下,目前对克拉运河进行了有效的调研论证。经过多年的实地考察,多方一致认为建设克拉运河是切实可行的

There is no point arguing about hindering factors like separatists when it obvious the Thai gov had decided to move forward.

Obviously all parties including the thai gov think the project is viable else why would they go to the extend of setting up a consortium right? Many sinkies are still living in denial thinking the status quo will remain forever.
Sinkees don't worry. We can hire the 3 bomohs! Confirm jalan one!

yeah, why wait, go build hotels for tourist attraction. Market the building of the Kra for tourists to come see how this Kra is building stage by stage.

Set up investment fund, go get back you CPF money from PAP or fuck PAP to let your HDB be refinancable for investments in Kra project. Don't let these army BGs turns crooks to use your HDB equity growth to make money for themselves in Kra.

机会来了。Wait for what?

Laksaboy there is no need to criticize others if you want to bring your point across.

You want to talk about High Speed Train, let me update you on what has happened to the High Speed Rail project.
B2trln Infrastructure bill ruled unconstitutional http://www.bangkokpost.com/news/pol...nst-b2-trillion-transport-infrastructure-bill

Yes Economic Benefit is important to any country, including Thailand, but politics plays a even major role.

Besides, linking the High Speed Train to the Kra canal is not comparing apples to apples in the geographical context. The Kra canal indeed separate the South from the rest of Thailand. Surely the Powerful Military and Elites are dead against this idea.

The Thai Government has decided to move on? The website you mentioned is from which website? Thai Government website or the Pheu Thai website?

Sorry lor, in Thai politics, anything goes. Is a cowboy town up there.

Don't believe, read this two articles:

04 Apr 13 - Thailand to link high speed train with Laos http://www.nst.com.my/latest/thailand-to-link-high-speed-train-with-laos-1.248026

12 Mar 14 - B2trln Infrastructure bill ruled unconstitutional http://www.bangkokpost.com/news/pol...nst-b2-trillion-transport-infrastructure-bill

3_M

The Thai Government has decided to move on? The website you mentioned is from which website? Thai Government website or the Pheu Thai website?

Sorry lor, in Thai politics, anything goes. Is a cowboy town up there.

Don't believe, read this two articles:

04 Apr 13 - Thailand to link high speed train with Laos http://www.nst.com.my/latest/thailand-to-link-high-speed-train-with-laos-1.248026

12 Mar 14 - B2trln Infrastructure bill ruled unconstitutional http://www.bangkokpost.com/news/pol...nst-b2-trillion-transport-infrastructure-bill

Don't think the democrats will want to torpedo a project that will bring much economic vibrancy and benefits to the southwhich has always been their traditional vote bank.

In any case the consortium wouldn't be there without the blessing of Thai govt.

Don't think the democrats will want to torpedo a project that will bring much economic vibrancy and benefits to the southwhich has always been their traditional vote bank.

In any case the consortium wouldn't be there without the blessing of Thai govt.

Not so much about the Thai Government, is the Elites and the Military (Junta).

Faidenk

Singapore is pragmatic. Was this attributed to Confucius - 'If rape is inevitable, lie down and enjoy it'.

If the Kra Canal is inevitable, Singapore will want a slice of the action. Port management is a forte of Singapore, for one. There are other areas it can participate in, buy up some equity in the venture for instance. Singapore will not take this lying down.

Of course the Chinese can and probably will fuck them up by denial of participation.

This is bound to happen. If not this 20 years, maybe the next. Once we are not on the trade route, gone are also our very lucrative petroleum cracker plants.

Singapore will be just a money laundering and prostitution hub then. I suggest we cheapen or legalise some more illicit activities a la Amsterdam. Alcohol and ciggies should be tax free. Porn and recreational drugs should be legalised. Then at least the muslims will come spend their $$$ here.

1. me really wish that the broken record can live to witness it hoh.
2. toothless and senile:biggrin:

Charlie99

By the time it's ready, unlikely for me to witness it. Grateful if some bros can bring the news and photos to my Mandai residence.

Difficult to tell, because the project may take less than 20 years to complete, and you will still be alive to see it.

... ASEAN, China and even Japan and the whole world will benefit from the canal ...
dey say asean wil benefit ... sinkielan wil thus hugely benefit from it ... no worries 4 sinkielan ...

3_M

dey say asean wil benefit ... sinkielan wil thus hugely benefit from it ... no worries 4 sinkielan ...

Actually everyone benefits except Sinkapore, Malaysia and USA. If u look at the map, the southern tip of Vietnam will be strategically ideal to become a regional port with the completion of Kra.

... If the Kra Canal is inevitable, Singapore will want a slice of the action. Port management is a forte of Singapore, for one. There are other areas it can participate in, buy up some equity in the venture for instance. Singapore will not take this lying down ...
juz like sinkielan boasted how gud n xperienced dey r in building industrial parks ... n so, dey build suzhou industrial park in china ...

Difficult to tell, because the project may take less than 20 years to complete, and you will still be alive to see it.
panama canal took oni 10yrs 2 build by ze usa n completed in 1914 ... iz length is 77km ...

width of kra is about 44km ... but length of iz canal is sumting from 50-100km ... wif modern technologies (n moni ofcos), shud take shorter time ...

according to wiki ... can b done in 10 yrs ...

In 2005 an internal report prepared for U.S. Secretary of Defense Donald Rumsfeld was leaked to The Washington Times, spelling out China's strategy of underwriting construction of the canal across the Kra Isthmus complete with Chinese port facilities and refineries, as part of its "string of pearls" strategy of forward bases and energy security.[4] The Chinese plan called for construction over ten years employing roughly 30,000 workers and costing between 20 and 25 billion American dollars